WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Children of the Corn" Remake in the Works

Posted: September 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Children of the Corn" Remake in the WorksSubmit Comment
Back in October, Dimension Films revealed that it was planning to greenlight eighteen direct-to-video films, including remakes, sequels and prequel to "Pulse," "Feast," "Hell Ride" and "Children of the Corn."

Now, Bob Weinstein from The Weinstein Company has revealed that the "Children of the Corn" remake will soon be heading to theaters and that Ehren Kruger (The Skeleton Key, The Ring) has already been hired to adapt the Stephen King short story.

"We felt the 1984 film was a missed opportunity," said Weinstein. "If you read the short story, it's got such a strong feeling to it and there's this religious overtone to it as well. Ehren wants to hit it hard. It's popular in Hollywood to say you re-envisioning a project but a lot of the time they're just carbon copying the original. We are bringing something new to the story."

King's "Children of the Corn" tells the story of a boy preacher who persuades the children in a Nebraska town to kill all the adults.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 7:24:40 PM

I never saw the original, I guess I will now that they are re-making it so I can bitch about the re-make! Hahaha!
mdp711 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 7:27:55 PM

Hollywood seems to be hung-up on remaking every movie that's ever been made including remaking the remakes, many of which weren't great adapations to begin with. I'm bored with all of these.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:02:00 PM

'"Children of the Corn" Remake in the Works'

Of course it is.

It's going to be in 3-D too.
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:06:30 PM

Sounds like a great snuff film for Lohan to make an appearance... then disappearance in.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:08:12 PM

sweet...another movie i can't wait to miss
ian_918 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:40:52 PM

I never watched the original so i'll probably see it. But yeah just like SpookyCupcakes said it will more than likely be in 3D...GAY.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 10:04:15 PM

Ehren Kruger...rele...that dumb *sshole also wrote a little movie some of you may have heard of called "Transformers: Revenge OF The Fallen"...way to go in not mentioning that part WP
BigUnit writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 12:18:54 AM

hope is a good remake, i was a fan of the first one. Even though i was like 5 lol
johnny_boy writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 1:18:16 AM

its about time. i've been waiting for them to remake this film since rebooting became a fad in hollywood. im sure it'll be interesting if done right.
dandythelion writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 4:06:47 AM

good. this movie NEEDS to be remade.
rabid writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 12:34:29 PM

This is great news! The original is one of the creepiest horror films around. But they can top it now. We want to see He-Who-Walks-Behind-The-Rows.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 9:38:33 PM

how about they come up with NEW ideas, instead of remaking everything?! WHY IS THIS f*ckING NECESSARY?!
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 1:59:06 AM

is hollywood THAT short on scripts...ive written two full 120-150 page ones if they want them...and i have a dozen others that are just 20 or so pages in...havent had time to write scripts for no reason for a while

seriously ill sell em to you hollywood and u can put out some original sh*t
vwkombi writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 3:47:45 AM

While i am usually against remakes, i think that this one has potential. The original Children of the Corn had an interesting concept that could've been a brilliant thought-provoking and confronting piece of horror. Instead it was campy and unintentionally hilarious, hopefully they do it right. I'll bet it turns out similar to the remake of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre though.
bluemeenie writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 11:05:55 AM

I know the new title:
"Children of the 10% of Ethanol"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved