WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Patrick Stewart on "X-Men" and "Star Trek" Films

Posted: September 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Patrick Stewart on "X-Men" and "Star Trek" FilmsSubmit Comment
Patrick Stewart appeared at a convention in Atlanta on Saturday and answered some questions about his future in the "X-Men" and "Star Trek" film franchises.

Stewart recently did a cameo as a younger Professor Charles Xavier in "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" and is looking forward to appearing in other "X-Men" spin-offs. He said that he just co-starred in a production of "Waiting for Godot" with Ian McKellen and the two agreed that they would like to continue exploring the relationship between Xavier and Magneto.

Regarding "Star Trek," Stewart said that JJ Abrams' film was "terrific," but didn't see a future for Jean-Luc Picard in the franchise. He did, however, say that he would consider doing a cameo in the sequel.

Answering other questions, Stewart said that when he started work on "Star Trek: The Next Generation," the show's uniforms were so horribly uncomfortable that he had to ask his doctor to contact the production office demanding that they be changed.

When the conversation turned to Leonard Nimoy and William Shatner, Stewart talked about how much he respected Nimoy. As for Shatner, he paused and said: "He's a piece of work, isn't he?"

Source: CNN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 7:20:57 PM

Hahaha, the Brits sure know how to subtly insult people! I hope Stewart finds another great role in a franchise. He is a great actor.
SeWerin writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 7:25:56 PM

"and the two agreed that they would like to continue exploring the relationship between Xavier and Magneto."

That would be really interesting but Ratner made sure that that doesn't happen. Way to go man!
darkraven28 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 7:55:40 PM

That's what prequels are for, SeWerin. There are years worth of interactions they could cover with Xavier and Magneto. And bring back Bryan Singer for Christs sake! He made the best X-Men films!
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 7:56:30 PM

Since when did Brett Ratner WRITE X3?

Give the sh*t to who it belongs on- say these names with me now:

"ZAK PENN & SIMON KINBERG"
"ZAK PENN & SIMON KINBERG"

Damn those two must be sooo happy Ratner eats the career sh*t for the rushed crap they wrote.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:02:59 PM

haha this man rocks, especially as Director Bullock in American Dad!
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:04:50 PM

I like Stewart a lot. When he started in TNG, I didn't like Picard. Not because anything Patrick was or wasn't doing. I just didn't like another Captain in the seat other that Kirk. But Picard/Stewart won me over.

As for his comment re: Shatner! Nice, classy, subtle body slam to Shatner... I like it! Shatner needs a kick to the nuts now and again.
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:07:44 PM

Anyone see Patrick on 'Safe House'?

His line: 'Go f*ck yourself!' - coming from his mouth... I was shocked! lol!
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:09:46 PM

I should be waiting until Shatner is long dead before I say this...

...but Stewart was the better actor, the better captain, and lead the better show.

Take away TNG's computer effects and you still have better writing, better relationships, and better conflicts performed by better actors.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:11:29 PM

The original series should be required viewing in all acting classes.

"Posturing 101"
Mixmasta01 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:15:03 PM

I'm not a trekki but I thoroughly enjoyed TNG. I get into arguments with my mother-in-law because she is Shatner fan and I always tell her Picard was the best Captain out of all the Star Trek shows (Deep space 9, Voyager, Enterprise, Original, etc). She has memorabilia (a shrine if you will) in a room that I laugh at everytime I pass by.
mdp711 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:15:13 PM

I love Patrick. Hollywood had better hurry though, he's almost 70 yrs. old.
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:17:56 PM

@PM - I do not disagree.

But TNG was BUILT ON (by Roddenberry) all the things the first series started. Shatner WAS acting for the 60's (watch most movies from that era). So depending on your age, and what influenced you at that age would determine which you'd prefer. I agree though... Stewart is the better actor. But let's also be honest... the first season of TNG was mostly remakes of the original series episodes, the actors didn't find their true characters until the 2nd. season (although Patrick was the most consistent). So... for their time... both series have their places in history. Even the separating hulls of the Enterprise, Roddenberry wanted that in the first series, they just couldn't pull it off (mostly budget restraints), etc. I like both series and both captains for different reasons.
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:20:29 PM

Mixmasta01 - good post.

1. You should 'laugh' at someone's 'shrine' as it is obviously important to them. They have the right to have it. You could have the right to respect what you like.

2. Please don't mention Deep Space 9 ever again... please! Ever! On here, on any other blog site... in public... ugh! Ever! lol! Wiping my ass is more fun than having to sit through any 2 minutes of that show.
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:20:57 PM

Sorry... 'should' SHOULD HAVE BEEN 'shouldn't'

TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 9:59:30 PM

@PrevalentMind,

Bryan Singer has revealed that at the time of his departure they had partially completed a story treatment for the film which would have focused exclusively on Jean Grey's resurrection with the new villain Emma Frost, a role intended for Sigourney Weaver. Also, Zak Penn only wrote a treatment and when Ratner and Simon decided to f*ck around with it because a good movie in general isn't a Ratner movie at all...is when it all went to sh*t
johnny_boy writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 1:05:14 AM

i like patrick stewart. great actor. he always makes me laugh my ass off whenever he uses his voice for American Dad.
James.Speed writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 1:14:56 AM

I agree with PrevalentMind! I'm no Ranter fan, but it was Penn and the other d*ckface who killed X3, just as much, if not more than Ranter.

As for Stewart, I'd love to see him back as Xavier for First Class, with Singer as director, and all new casting for Cyclops (as I was not a fan of that Poc*ck guy).
NatG83 writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 1:17:12 AM

Patrick Stewart has always been a classy guy. As others have stated, I enjoy the little jab at Shatner.

I really hope that Disney/Marvel/Fox holds on to Stewart for an Xavier film, and Mckellen for the Magneto project. I can't seem them playing the rolls for 2 origins films, though. They are getting a bit up there.
c-prime writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 2:33:42 AM

PrevalentMind, you raise an excellent point. They did pen the script and, accordingly, deserve a hefty amount of censuring for their blunder. But as I so frequently assert to anyone who brings up that fact, Ratner is not completely without fault in the matter, either. Let the record show that he supervised the making of "The Last Stand" and, therefore, deserves to take several licks (for this and innumerable other shortcomings in his career). Did he screw up for deciding to take the director's chair and replace the far more capable hands of Bryan Singer? No. It was a tremendous opportunity that I doubt hardly anybody would refuse. Did he screw up for failing to suggest revisions to the script and neglecting to leave certain scenes on the cutting room floor? Absolutely positively. And now for the million-dollar question: Does Brett Ratner deserve to be hounded his entire life for the floundering flop that was "X-Men 3"? Eh, probably not, but I'm so mired in my dislike of him and his abominably imbecilic machinations to succ*mb to being magnanimous, so I say an indubitable, resounding "f*ck yeah."

As for Patrick Stewart, it's pretty refreshing to see him in action from time to time. I'm not a big fan of any incarnation of "Star Trek", but if anybody could turn me around, he probably could.

Oh, by the way, DoucheNozzle, I finally picked out that avatar. It took me a bit, but my insignia has been chose at long last.
rjd040487 writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 3:40:15 AM

ahhh man i almost caught a show of "waiting for godot", woulda been awesome had i gone.
just kinda wondering aloud but how much does the reverse ageing effects cost as in X3 it was only a short scene but for a prequel its a hell of a lot longer.

if u like stewart in hilarious roles i def recommend tv series "extras" season 1 episode 6, his funniest work yet i believe
makingcircles writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 10:09:52 AM

Patrick has done no wrong in my book. I will see anything with him or Ian McKellan in it. TNG was the sh*t (coming from a non-Trekkie)
Lordchristo writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 11:27:42 AM

Patrick Stewart is a golden god. He is so fine an actor, he can be in franchises such as Trek and X-Men, but then you go back and watch some movie called 'Safe House' where he's just a bad ass assassin (maybe! Dun dun dun!) and you don't even blink. He is officially type-cast-proof.
rabid writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 12:46:21 PM

X3 was excellent. IF you watched closely enough, you'd have seen that Prof X is not dead. Nor is Cyclops. It very neatly set up for part 4. FOX were idiots for not taking the chance. Now I fear both Stewart and McKellen are too ld for the roles.
CjR writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 1:25:56 PM

I hope that in the future, Bryan Singer returns to the franchise, because that last movie sucked without him.
StrongR3tard writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 2:55:08 PM

great actor. loved his cameo on the Extras. haha
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 4:31:44 PM

@ rabid, how is cyclops not dead?....and how is jean grey not dead....please explain how these characters are perfectly set up for x-men 4 because right now, all i can see is that they ruined it completely...gambit would not fit in, age-wise, like how he fits in on the 90s cartoon...not trying to bag on you, just trying to figure out what's goin on.....and FOX is idiotic for waiting the chance to have x-men 4 out before 'wolverine' at least
bluemeenie writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 11:30:06 AM

Why all the Shatner bashing? Picard you're bigger than that??
Ranger writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 2:40:57 PM

Well... it was a classy bash. And Shatner can be a c*nt at (most) times.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved