WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Soderbergh to Helm "Knockout" with MMA Fighter in the Lead

Posted: September 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Soderbergh to Helm "Knockout" with MMA Fighter in the LeadSubmit Comment
Director Steven Soderbergh (Ocean's Eleven, Traffic) has committed to next direct "Knockout," a spy thriller that will mark the screen starring debut of Gina Carano, the mixed martial arts circuit fighter who was also Crush on "American Gladiators."

Scripted by Lem Dobbs (Dark City, The Score), "Knockout" stars Carano as a girl from the wrong side of the tracks who is given a second chance to use her skills for constructive purposes. Soderbergh considers the film as a flat out action film in the James Bond mold, and will shoot in locations around the world that include Ireland, Turkey and the US.

Soderbergh will surround Carano with name actors in supporting roles and will begin shooting the film in January.

The MMA circuit is where Soderbergh discovered Carano, a lightweight division slugger with movie star good looks. The Muay Thai-trained fighter has compiled a 7-1 record. Though Carano suffered her first loss in a title fight last month, she is considered the face of the fledgling women's mixed martial arts fighting circuit.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 9:40:27 PM

"mixed martial arts"

facepalm...

Can't wait for all the gung ho american gladiator fans to tell me to stop 'bitching'
dandythelion writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:03:23 AM

it could be good. but didn't soderbergh just quit? come on.

at least it's written by Lem Dobbs
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:18:15 AM

Hell yeah, i like Gina Corano, I think she is hot!

The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:21:50 AM

When ever is ee her i think of her in Red Alert 3!
Ari Gold writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:48:25 AM

This guy has interesting casting, first a pornstar for 'The Girlfriend Experience' and now this.. I kind of see where he is coming from, but, seriously.. What are you doing?

And yes, I would touch her vulva.
acslaterson writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:03:40 AM

@Spooky

What the f*ck is with the new facepalm sh*t? Hahaha, I chuckle every time I see it.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:07:00 AM

She is hotttt. Man check out those round, firm tits. All women should strive to have tits like that.
lost_addict writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 3:23:49 AM

'steven soderbergh has...'

EPIC FAIL
ZombieKingz writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 3:38:21 AM

Man, canīt wait for it...seems like a script right from the 80ies! And i hope she gets one hell of a shower scene!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 9:58:10 AM

At least someone finally found female lead that should be believable doing fight scenes on camera. I'm getting so tired of Hollywood force feeding us action films starring 110 lb twats kicking a lot of ass. Sure the dorks get off on it but you can't really take any of these films even remotely serious. In fact, T2 and Million Dollar Baby are the only movies I can think of that actually respect the audience's intelligence enough to buff up their female leads and create more believable characters. I've seen Gina Carona drop some serious bombs in and outside(saw her choke out some poor guy on the History Chan.,looked pretty freakin scary) of the ring, so I can accept her kicking a little ass on film. We need more of this in Hollywood.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 11:47:02 AM

No SAC, we don't need more dykes in action films, we need a higher standard in movie quality.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:38:47 PM

Hmmm sounds mindless but who knows
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:48:20 PM

Ummmmm Could Soderbergh stop tossing out disposable movies that no one but himself cares about? It's like he sees something for the first time and has a movie about it two weeks later.

Take your time dude! No wonder you feel like a burnout who wants to quit all the time. Wait for a passion project...all these HDV experiments are getting OLD.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 1:06:36 PM

Well he does have the Informant coming. I don't know I thought the Girlfriend Experiment was interesting. It was just feature length which I thought was weird though, but I enjoyed it. Although I hate his lighting technique or lack thereof in these films. Some bits were just blown out (airplane bits in GE and there seems to be some shots of that in the Informant) Like wtf are him and the gaffer smoking.
october_midnight writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:02:01 PM

No one's gonna tell SpookyCupcakes to 'stop bitching'...though a hearty "GET A f*ckING SOCIAL LIFE AND STOP SITTING ON THIS ONE RANDOM WEBSITE EVERY DAY OF YOUR LIFE" wouldn't hurt.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:35:03 PM

Welcome to WP
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 6:04:39 PM

hahahah

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved