WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Luxo Lamp Manufacturer is Suing Pixar

Posted: September 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Luxo Lamp Manufacturer is Suing PixarSubmit Comment
"Luxo Jr," the squeaky desk-lamp character which was created by John Lasseter in 1986 for a short computer-animated movie, has become the corporate mascot for Pixar Animation Studios.

Lasseter has previously revealed that he came up with the character from his own Luxo lamp, which is manufactured by the Norwegian lampmaker Luxo AS.

The company is now suing Disney/Pixar for infringing on its copyright by selling a limited-edition "Luxo Jr" lamp packaged with a Blu-ray version of the Disney-Pixar "Up." The complaint also cites a new attraction at Walt Disney World that is a six-foot animatronic version of the lamp.

Luxo AS, which has been in business since 1939 and has sold more than 25 million lamps, said that the sale of the Pixar lamps would "cause devastating damage to Luxo and dilute the goodwill which Luxo has built up."

Blu-ray Package: (click to enlarge)


Source: Bloomberg, LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 9:51:39 PM

f*ck yea, I'm buying this! I've always wanted that f*cking lamp!
Kingrixy writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 10:02:18 PM

True, they will win this case and deserve to, imagine if luxo made a mickey mouse doll to sold millions of them do you think disney would be happy, I think not!
Ranger writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 10:46:34 PM

'...said that the sale of the Pixar lamps would "cause devastating damage to Luxo...'

'devasting'?!

'DEVASTING'?!

The bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki was 'devasting!

9/11 was 'devasting'

Finding out Lindsay Lohan has a 'career' is 'devasting!'

Selling a f*cking look-alike lamp?!

Blow me.


Can I have some of what they're smoking?!
buttabean writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:00:48 PM

The only way I can see it harming their name is if people think pixar came up with the design so they think luxo is a imitator. What they should do is come up with a marketing deal and it would be free advertising for Luxo instead. Sell the lamp with Luxo name on it bundled with UP or sell it as a variation with pixar characters on it.
Gumps Waal writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:18:21 PM

they'll prob get their money too.

ROT!
Tyrkae writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:39:54 PM

Really REALLY they should ask thier customers if they would have bought the lamp if it looked like the one in pixar's opening for the last 10 years really they got balls and really they wont ever will win against disney.lindsey lohan suein 'joes crab shack 'for getting crabs would have more of a chance
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:00:12 AM

lol... crab shack.
dandythelion writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:02:02 AM

luxo does have a case. pixar should have just made a deal with Luxo. like the swingline stapler deal.
Lordchristo writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:06:29 AM

Oh, hell's yeah, Luxo is getting paid! Ain't nothing gonna stop that. You'd think with their army of lawyers that Disney could have seen this coming. . .
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:15:33 AM

As much as i want to insult this, yeah Spooky i want the lamp too!

'I LOVE LAMP!'
padfootbob writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:37:32 AM

I need that lamp.
dbreuning writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 5:35:32 AM

A Blu-ray already? And to think that they still need to release this movie in THEATERS where I live (The Netherlands):(!
KellyRiot writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 5:57:23 AM

Jesus Christ, that was f*ckin' fast. How long ago did this release in theaters? God.
Fabian writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 6:45:14 AM

I agree with Kingrixy. But since Luxo and Disney are companies that makes millions a year, i really dont care if one of them wins this case. Being a broke norwegian student, i would rather have that lamp on my nightstand, then "witnessing justice"..
scarface85 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 9:21:51 AM

i didnt even knew luxo existed. he should be thankful
FBO writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 1:37:29 PM

They'll lose. Whether that's right or wrong they will lose.
BlueMobius writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 1:41:38 PM

Wow...this is the first time I'm supporting a lawsuit. It looks like the Luxo company was cool and let PIXAR use the image (probably realizing that it would only serve to advertise for their company) but are drawing the line. I respect that. Hopefully, this doesn't get ugly because Disney/PIXAR pretty much can destroy any lawsuit and will do so without hesitating.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 3:42:25 PM

oh, cooome ooooon... he must be giving thanks to pixar for making that his creation was in a lot of their movies and shorts... if i invented something and then saw in a pixar movie, i would be very happy and excited!!
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 3:48:13 PM

and by the way... my god, i want that damned lamp
telur writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 10:51:40 PM

^you're lying
if you creating something or invented something and appear in a pixar movie, you would be very happy and excited, but also sue pixar too
Lordchristo writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 11:30:25 AM

Everyone could be as happy as a clam about their creation showing up in popular films, but riddle me this : Did you ever, _ever_ hear about this company, or that this lamp was an actual product, before this? No, you did not. This company was basically getting the shaft from day one.
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 11:45:13 AM

I don't blame them, that went too far.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved