WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Final Destination" is Still #1 in Theaters

Posted: September 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Final Destination" is Still #1 in TheatersSubmit Comment
Women were the primary moviegoers this weekend, with females under 25-years-old making "The Final Destination" number one at the domestic box office and females over 25-years-old making "All About Steve" number two.

The 3-D format gave the edge to "Final Destination," which earned $12.4 million for a ten-day total of $47 million. The film has now earned back its $40 million budget. "Steve," starring Sandra Bullock and Bradley Cooper, took in $11.2 million.

Gerard Butler's "Gamer" earned $9 million from 2,502 theaters, taking fourth place. The other wide release "Extract," directed by Mike Judge (Office Space, Idiocracy), appeared on only 1,611 screens, but still ended up in tenth place with $4.19 million.

Click here to read our "The Final Destination" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
otis writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 10:11:14 PM

It's a slow weekend if 12.4 mill is the top bracket. And surprising that women would be attracted to FD. Sounds like a date movie to me, I guess?
Gumps Waal writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:23:13 PM

(the sound of a pair of hands clapping)
borat writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:27:51 PM

sh*tty movie season in full swing
acslaterson writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:34:08 PM

Whoever promoted Gamer did a horrible job. I saw a TV spot watching football on Thursday(only reason I watch live TV) and the announcer said something like "You haven't seen Butler like this for 300 years". Way to compare it to a movie that was fictionally set about 2,500 years ago douche.
Coasterkid345 writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:38:57 PM

Yes! Hahaha! Take that H2 lovers!
Popcorn101 writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:41:38 PM

It's prolly because people heard how muched it sucked and then was like "No way!!!!" so they went to see it, but I'm sure they were disappointed. Yeah I heard the Gamer thing too, but I saw it Friday and well, I actually loved it, it was idfferent from the movies that came out recently.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:29:11 AM

I suppose this is only in America though! God dam it don't people understadn that a far better film like 'Inglorious Basterds' is playing as well??
dandythelion writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:00:20 AM

The Final Destination is jus tpure, gory, masturbation on the viewers part. It's aimed at high school kids looking for a quick good time. Inglourious Basterds, though a far superior film, would be torture to the average high school couple looking for a movie that doesn't challenge thier intelect.

it's a sad state of affairs when the box office turns like this. I work as a substitute teacher and have been trying to get a film class started. even though I'd supply everything and there are more than enough kids i know willing to do it. I couldn't get it going.

sigh.
acslaterson writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:06:28 AM

I think I am going to do a double feature tomorrow, Gamer and my third viewing of Inglorius Basterds.
TGDirector writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:40:25 AM

Something's wrong with this world if a movie like Final Destination is at the top of the box office....
telur writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:46:27 AM

obviously not a final movie for destination
TGDirector writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 3:17:29 AM

Even though had like 4 movies and nothing was final...
lost_addict writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 3:21:55 AM

any ideas for final destination 5 title?

how about 'les destination finale'?
mdp711 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 5:11:13 AM

A slow Labor Day weekend. I'm actually suprised Extract did as poorly as it did. I thought it would have been #6 or #7. All About Steve got such horrible reviews, some citing it as one of the worst movies ever and yet it came in at #2. Go figure....
thysmn writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 7:11:51 AM

How much cost the 3D gear stuff? I can't see how they have spent $40M in this movie?
Sonic writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 7:49:07 AM

Why?.............................
SACdaddy writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 9:13:33 AM

If Gamer wasn't so much like the Crank movies it would have dominated the weekend. Unfortunately, the word probably got out that it was basically Crank 3: The Sims and completely wasted any of Gerard Butler's talent. Who the f*ck wants to see Crank 3?

Its too bad, the movie had a lot of potential with Butler fighting his way through a Running Man/Death Race-like plot. However, the shaky digital cam, frantic pace, and sh*tty acting via Dexter completely tanked the film and Butler's performance. I just hope this doesn't deter GB from doing more action films. With The Ugly Truth blowing this away in the box office you can probably guess what the Hollywood vampires want to do with Butler's career. Next stop, some sh*tty romantic comedy starring him and Renee Zellweger. Just kill me now.
Popcorn101 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 10:11:24 AM

^SAC it wasn't so much like Crank, only the camera is what made me think of it(like when he was in the club, I never saw Crank 2). But Butler has that one good ass movie coming out with Chris Brides(Luda) where he's in jail and killing people. But Gamer, it was somewhat different especially if you play games, I liked how everyone in the beginning was jumping like Halo and when the guy teabag'd lol.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 10:30:38 AM

When I refer to Crank movies its basically the shooting stlye I'm talking about. At least in Gamer there is some reason for shooting like this if you want to give it a first person shooter game feel. But that doesn't make it better. It still makes the action hard to follow and completely distracts you from the actors performances.
triggax writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 11:05:41 AM

"Who the f*ck wants to see Crank 3?"

IIIIIII DO....

Gamer was sick.. dot dot dot...
mattcl23 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:17:33 PM

Does this mean were going to get The Final Final Destination?
SACdaddy writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 1:24:49 PM

Wow, big surprise, a Crank fan liked Gamer. At least that's a good answer to my question.
Popcorn101 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 1:29:10 PM

How could you not like Gamer, it was just plain fun. You knew that it wasn't going to be an oscar performence, if you did your somewhat retarded. But the movie was awesome, had good action, quite funny(Micheal C Hall's accent was terribly funny), had Butler, C. Hall, Luda, and f*cking Terry Crews!!!!
OneTime writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 1:52:38 PM

HORRIBLE 3d glasses...so uncomfortable and a small range of site :(...terrible movie..but the 3d aspect was pretty cool.
Dealey writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 3:24:34 PM

I liked the first Crank. It was fun, nothing spectacular. I just watched the 2nd one and I kept wondering what the hell they were thinking. I'll see Gamer on DVD, but its sad that Gerard Butler and Michael C. Hall's (Dexter is f*ckin awesome) talents were wasted.
Popcorn101 writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 3:37:55 PM

^^How can you say they were wasted if you never saw it?
Dealey writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 10:41:03 PM

Meant to say it's sad based on what other people were saying about the movie. I hope their talents weren't wasted, cuz I really enjoy those two actors, and from what people were saying made it sound like the movie sucked.
seveltoto writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 9:35:16 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved