WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Moore Trashes Studio Executives

Posted: September 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Moore Trashes Studio ExecutivesSubmit Comment
Michael Moore made an appearance at the Venice Film Festival to promote his new documentary "Capitalism: A Love Story" and to publicly trash the executives from Paramount, the studio that financed his movie.

"Why would these companies give money to me, a guy who is diametrically opposed to everything they stand for?" he asked in front of a roomful of executives. "One of the beautiful flaws of capitalism is they will use the rope you give them to hang themselves if you can make a buck."

He went on to say that after getting a better idea of how America's Wall Street bankers function, he may never make another Hollywood-backed film again. And what better way to cut his ties with the studios than by making a film that targets them?

"I got the sense that they [Hollywood's moneymen] don't care what I think or feel ... I thought, 'why don't I make a movie that will guarantee me never getting a dime from them again?,'" he said. "I think this is the last time they will give me that money."

Moore added that it may be impossible to insult the studios if your track-record is as good as his. "They are not an ideology, they are just about money. I can imagine the conversation - 'Look what he's said about us' says one man, and other says 'But look how much money he made'," he said.

So after taking the time to embarrass and mock the executives who have been backing and supporting his projects, Moore revealed that even though he will never accept another penny from studios, it doesn't mean that he will stop making documentaries.

"I have been saving up my money since 'Sicko' to get to this day," he said. "I will always make my own movies. Now I have my own money to make them."

Source: NZ Herald


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 5:13:39 AM

so hes complaining about the studio execs. just wanting money? im sure he didnt do this project for free and isnt opposed to making money from this film. studio or not, money is money and thats why we work hard so we can get some of it.
mdp711 writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 5:34:32 AM

Michael is a millionaire and a fat pig. He has a lot of nerve to complain. Why not donate his millions to people like me without health insurance. When he first arrived on the scene in Hollywood, I kind of dug him. Now, I can't stand him.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 6:01:19 AM

Michael Moore is one annoying, hideous chud. Does he every stfu? i thought he died in Team America for GOOD...
dandythelion writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 6:54:36 AM

he could donate his millions of dollars to people who need it, like yourself. or he could use it to make a film that will convince people thigns need to changed so that people in need will have what they need and never NEED it again.

i think people give him too much of a hard time. I have a friend who was a die hard republican who refused to watch any of his films (including canadian bacon) but thta friend is now campaigning just as strongly as I for universal healthcare after i made him watch one of his films (not Sicko, he watched that on his own). he's still a republican mind you.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 9:19:14 AM

This guy doesn't understand that you can't have it both ways.

On a seperate note, I think he likes it both ways.
acslaterson writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 9:48:32 AM

"Why not donate his millions to people like me without health insurance."

That quote coupled with your avatar picture is extremely ironic.
vicoa2 writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 9:56:07 AM

This and other socialist/progressive/communists/statists never quite catch on. Capitalism--investors, entrepenuers provide the jobs and the economy we all live on. I can't recall a single person who live in public housing providing a job for anyone. Admittedly Government can provide jobs--so long as there are capitalists to tax.
Gumps Waal writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 10:31:10 AM

... and the corporations sit there in their... in their corporation buildings, and... and, and see, they're all corporation-y... and they make money.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:27:34 AM

He's not f*cking complaining, I don't know why johnny_boy said that.

mdp711 is extremely ironic or just stupid (but since he has a jokerized version of the president as his avatar, i'm going to go with the latter), Ted Mosby can only make childish jokes instead of addressing the article at hand, guitar_dudester2389429835879235 obviously didn't read the article at ALL.

I'm just pointing out flaws, but I can't wait till people say "STOP UR BITCHINGGG!!!!!!!11!!1!!1!11! WHHY DO U GOTTA HAVE SUCH A DIFFERENT GODDAMN OPINIOPN FOR?!?!?!?!"
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:27:39 AM

He's not f*cking complaining, I don't know why johnny_boy said that.

mdp711 is extremely ironic or just stupid (but since he has a jokerized version of the president as his avatar, i'm going to go with the latter), Ted Mosby can only make childish jokes instead of addressing the article at hand, guitar_dudester2389429835879235 obviously didn't read the article at ALL.

I'm just pointing out flaws, but I can't wait till people say "STOP UR BITCHINGGG!!!!!!!11!!1!!1!11! WHHY DO U GOTTA HAVE SUCH A DIFFERENT GODDAMN OPINIOPN FOR?!?!?!?!"
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:31:03 AM

"On a seperate note, I think he likes it both ways."

facepalm....

WP members should NOT be allowed to post comments without reading the article first. guitar_dudester1937373378 is the perfect example of a kid who just blindly follows his parent's political views without putting any thought into anything.
StrongR3tard writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 12:14:25 PM

bo i love free healthcare. and not gettin trouble for smokin dope. yah canada!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 12:35:07 PM

Ino rite?
rabid writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 12:38:46 PM

Michael Moore does donate millions to charities every year. That's part of his schtick. So is making fun of Paramount. He's done it before, and it's all pretty tongue-in-cheek. Whoever wrote this article is wording it a bit spitefully. They must not be a fan.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 1:17:47 PM

Umm who didn't know this all already lol. I hope he's not just discovering this.
In_my_humble_opinion... writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 1:20:29 PM

"I got the sense that they [Hollywood's moneymen] don't care what I think or feel [...] they are just about money."
No kidding? And just caring about money seems like an ideology to me.

I think Moore 's just one of those directors who make bullsh*t comments to help sell their work, like Gallo, Herzog or Von Trier. Which is not a bad thing per se.

Good for him if he's planning to make movies with his own money.
swoooop writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 1:43:38 PM

Probably gonna get trashed for saying this, but I love Moores moves. Ok, you could argue that he is a rich motherf*cker who sells socialism, and act like a capitalist, but as a Norwegian, who lives in a socialistic country, I understand what he`s talking about, Im not blinded by the negative socialistic propaganda americans live under, I know in other words what`s it like to live under that kind of goverment. And its not perfect.
We are free, we have freedom of speech, and we have free elections. Even the parties on the right are pretty much for the universal healthcare, free elementary schools, and all the other benefits we have. Except one.
Norway have used all the years since WW2 to build up the country we have now, and with all our oil, we are a nation who has a balance between private and public practice.

My point is, you can have values witch are socialistic, and still earn great money. There are no rule that say different. We have big private investors here in norway, who defend our social system. They may not agree on everything, but as I said, the system is not perfect. So give Moore a break. He points out flaws inn the capitalistic system, he raises some important questions, and you should relay be glad that somebody dears to stick their heads out for the amusement and benefit for the masses.
To be fare here, not everybody inn Norway agrees with me. But I pay taxes with a smile on my face, and I pay alot. I earn about 4200 dollars a mnd, and i pay about 30 % inn taxes. And I dont have a problem with that, cause the money is used on schools, roads, healthcare ect.
Dealey writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 2:17:05 PM

I'm sure he has enough money to make his own movies, but that doesn't mean people will ever see them. If he's only been saving since Sicko, I doubt he has enough cash to back distribution costs like Paramount or any other studio.

He seems like a douche anyway...
acslaterson writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 2:31:42 PM

@Swoooop,

Thanks for the post man, I am always interested in what people outside the US think of our politics. Very insightful stuff.
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 3:13:54 PM

i hate this peter griffin looking basterd
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 5:24:56 PM

I'm with you swoop and I'm American LOL. Most of the people in power in this country are ignorant to be honest.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 6:18:41 PM

Well said, swoooop.

Being a Canadian, I can't understand why americans are so, i dont know, immovable over socialistic views, they think the word "socialist" and then they think we are immoral demons or some sh*t.
Deathscythe writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 6:56:36 PM

Michael Moore is everything wrong with this country, period. He complains causes others to complain using one sided proganda and gives no realistic solution to fix them. I wish he'd just kill himself so someone doesn't have to go to prison for doing what needs to be done.
scarface85 writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 9:10:53 PM

wow hes a real man
Ranger writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 10:59:44 PM

Sure you can afford to make you own movies now Moore, but you'll need distribution. And if the big studios tell the distributors not to touch your stuff... you'll be projecting it on the outside wall of your garage for $1. per seat.
rabid writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 11:44:20 PM

... but that's the joke he's making. They wouldn't dare ignore his work because they know how much money he can make them.
Ranger writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:00:39 AM

Yep.
acslaterson writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 12:50:35 AM

@ Deathscythe
"Michael Moore is everything wrong with this country, period. He complains causes others to complain using one sided proganda and gives no realistic solution to fix them."

Like everyone on FOX News?

"I wish he'd just kill himself so someone doesn't have to go to prison for doing what needs to be done."

I said this on a previous Moore thread, calling for someone's death because they have different ideas then you is f*cking retarded. Remember the 1st Amendment? It is the one BEFORE the 2nd Amendment(I bet you know that one).

By the way, while on the subject of the 2nd Amendment. Why is it that anti-war protesters wearing pink shirts were removed from Bush rallies and speeches but Obama allows people to bear arms? Who really is more of a fascist?

No my friend, you are what is wrong with America. An ignorant sh*t that gets so infuriated with other people's ideas, that instead of having reasonable discussions, you just call for their deaths.

But I am sure you will not read this and think, but instead run off to a Beck or Rush thread to search for some illogical rebuttals.


FBO writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 3:28:30 AM

Americans get timid with socialistic ideoligies because socialism is seen as a step removed from total governmental control. AKA communism. America became America because of the amount of control England was exercising over us. And Michael Moore is an idiot, but very intelligent at the same time (I know confusing isn't it). Universal Health Care IS NOT FREE. It's a way of forcing Americans to pay for Insurance in the form of taxes, or in simpler terms; Pay for insurance for everyone or go to jail for tax evasion. See under our currant system if you can't afford insurance you don't get insurance. Under universal health care you don't get a choice. We, here in America, love having choices.
buttabean writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 8:58:45 AM

Well said FBO. I think also a problem people have is well their sick of paying for freeloaders in America. In NY I hear all the time of people on disability, unemployed, or whatever and working off the books. Who's paying the bill for them? Hell even my next door neighbor is apparently on disability but has a motorcycle and works off the books. So many people cheat the system and I think that's part of the problem.

People are just sick of paying for lazy people. I'm disabled and I can't even get disability lol

Also our unemployment is what 14%? Our system is all about rewarding people for not doing anything. Hell I can't even get a job with the way Medicaid's setup or I'll lose my benefits...
FBO writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 1:15:41 PM

Have you ever talked to some of those guys at the gym that are completely ripped? Some of them get disability for some lame claim and use the money to enter contests. There was a big deal about it five years or so ago in South Florida. The problem down there was that the state government seemed to make it easy for these guys to do.
swoooop writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:23:23 PM

Hehe, you right SpookyCupcakes. They think we are the big scary communists :)

TRUEMAN writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 4:18:46 PM

The best way is the socialist, thats a fact, of course only theory, no one wants to have only one car, or only one tv, or only one pair of shoes, we want to have more and more, and the people of africa and Latin america who cares? NO?

The real thing is, if all the people in world have the same things, houses, cars, we wouldn`t have more poverty, hungry and robery dont you think? we are so selfish, thats the reason why our race will disapear we are just dust in the wind
Black_Jack writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 2:30:39 AM

God, what a self-indulgent prick.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved