WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Filmmaker Killed Making Gang Documentary

Posted: September 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Filmmaker Killed Making Gang DocumentarySubmit Comment
Christian Poveda, a French filmmaker who has spent years gathering footage of a brutally violent Salvadoran street gang for his "La Vida Loca" documentary, has been found dead (shot in the head) in a gang-riddled El Salvador neighborhood.

Poveda practically lived among members of one gang, the Mara 18, filming gang initiations, drug use, tattoo session and funerals. On the day of his death, he had set out to visit the gang-dominated area of Soyapango, just outside the capital, to arrange an interview with female gang members.

In April, Poveda told the Los Angeles Times that despite the drugs, shootings, beatings and cruelty he captured on film, he had sympathy for many of the gang members, whom he described as "victims of society." He placed the blame for their violence on US policies, and said he "was never afraid of them."

"As savage as they can be, they're people of their word. The gangs are very well-structured organizations and the decision made by a gang is the final one. From the moment I understood that, I had no problems," he said.

Police have now announced that they have arrested a member of the feared Mara 18 gang in the killing of Poveda.

Source: Associated Press


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 5:37:49 PM

So, I guess he's in his own movie then?
The_Joker writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 5:45:28 PM

Shot in the head
Ai dios mio
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 6:12:07 PM

Aww man that's just sad. He died doing what he loved though, the man was brave to say the least.
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 6:32:41 PM

Gangs can be so mean.
TheCount writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 6:57:12 PM

It's like the filmaker who died while doc*menting his time living with bears...What did you think was gona happen?
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 7:11:06 PM

Was he bear raped?

I hate it when that happens (sort of)!
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 7:29:00 PM

what doesn't kill you makes you stronger...oh wait...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 7:35:06 PM

"whom he described as "victims of society.""

Or, as I would call them: "dumb [insert racial slur here]".
ian_918 writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 7:44:27 PM

i like how everyone blames u.s. policies..yeah..its the policies' fault that stupid ass f*ck-tards joined gangs..riiight.
masKritic writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 8:10:09 PM

just like Grizzly Man
Monroe writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 8:16:22 PM

This is so unfortunate.
mdp711 writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 8:23:44 PM

"victims of society?" I have no idea what that even means....
mdp711 writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 9:01:58 PM

Since when do perpetrators of violence become victims?

Don't worry. Under Obama's administration these "victims of society" will be protected.

Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 9:21:03 PM

I'm guessing that's a 'before' picture of him then?
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 9:23:19 PM

@spooky...is moon cricket acceptable?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 9:44:38 PM

Victims of violence my ass!!!
Jeesus, as soon as we begint o feel sympathetic towards these pathetic street gangs, is the day the earth looses it's morality!!

Perhaps we should send 3 religious Irishmen with guns, on a misson from God to deal with these street gangs! If only though!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 9:46:14 PM

@THORD

Why yes! It perfectly is!
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 10:34:57 PM

I guess he would reconsider being afraid of them now, but how could the gang members have even let him film all that stuff. It says that he filmed gang initiations, has anyone ever seen Death Sentence with Kevin Bacon? That means he filmed new gang members kill random innocents. How could the gang let this one guy get away with all this footage of drugs and murder? I mean its terrible that he got killed, but he couldnt have expected to get his footage out of there with him still breathing.

@Ranger: Haha...thats a pretty f*cked up pic
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 11:11:32 PM

I do agree with him on the point that they are victims of society but with that being said that does not clear them of their wrong doings. The concept of a gang is amicable, but it's execution is a different animal all in itself. I wonder if the footage he got will ever make it to see the light of day.
aarttyst writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 1:13:52 AM

this dude took four bullets to the face, none of his expensive equipment was missing, sounds like he pissed someone off. I guess if you look down the throat of the lion long enough, eventually he will eat you
Ranger writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 1:26:44 AM

Kind of like going down on Lindsay Lohan.
dandythelion writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 1:53:38 AM

i've worked in a program that rehabilitates drug adicts and gang members back into normal society and some of the succesful one were murdered while living as normal citizens, crime free by thier ex-comrades. i hope that this doc*mentary really sheds light on the gang dynamic and not just the violence themselves. i doa gree that some are victims of society. the ones i've known certainly would not have done such things had they been born into wealth. race has nothing to do with it. "dumb [insert racial slur here] need not apply.

i will admit it's alot like the Tomothy Treadwell case albeit he wasn't with wild animals, but with human beings.
Ranger writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 2:04:34 AM

What we really need is a great doc*mentary on the Gang-Bang!
vwkombi writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 2:15:54 AM

f*cking gangs, should shoot them all. "Victims of society" my hairy white ass.
Ryanlawson writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 3:00:03 AM

u cant trust bears, gorillas, and gangs... yea id put them in the same catagory.. gang members are just animals. actualy they are worse cause they can actualy make choices for themselves cause they are human. stupid f*cks.
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 6:02:09 AM

Thug Liiiife!
SACdaddy writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 9:37:50 AM

You play with fire, you might get burned. Guess someone will try to blame America for cappin his ass too.

acslaterson writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 10:48:14 AM

I think the US Policies he was talking about was the "War on Drugs", which is a f*cking joke.
timex89 writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 2:48:09 PM

Victims of society? You're kidding, right? They chose that path, that is their problem if they don't want to succeed in life and have a normal job (electrician, countability) or a popular job (sports, acting). Of course, Lindsay Lohan fits neither!
McD writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 2:55:03 PM

so that would make him a victim of the victims of society? wait i'm lost..
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 3:35:01 PM

Man a lot of you people need to watch The Wire. They are victims of society- they may be pieces of sh*t as well in most cases- but they ARE victims of an environment that THEY themselves didn't create. If you're born in a slum, that is overlooked by a government which refuses to develop jobs and the possibilities of alternate lifestyles, then citizens of said slum WILL live like a slum if no other support is put in place.

Most gang infested areas the world over are offered no support or facilities to change things. They wake up and think do I rob tourists or other gang members? Why? Because there ARE NO other opportunities to make a living. They have no money to move or relocate...they're adrift in a criminal community where people are so far gone you live to simply outlive others. What do you expect them to become in their spare time fater dodging bullets and shaking down dealers? A f*ckin doctor?

Or maybe they'll be lucky and land that elusive seven figure success story job that's offered to every uneducated go getter that can be found in AIDS and Crack town...
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 3:37:27 PM

WalMart is now hiring in El Salvador slums AND ALL refugee camps the world over...

...oh wait...no they f*cking aren't.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 5:26:36 PM

Come on Prevalent its obvious that a lot of people here are sheltered folks and come from small towns. They obviously don't have much experience with what happens in the REAL world beyond the circ*mference of their town.
Kingrixy writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 10:11:16 PM

If you play with fire you get......?
The_Joker writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 10:42:32 PM

sad but like he was putting himself at risk
acslaterson writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 1:09:47 AM

"The Wire" is the sh*t! I want to re-watch the series now, haha. Still haven't learned how to whistle "The Farmer in the Dell" yet, haha.
padfootbob writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:34:56 AM

Ahhhh.... this is really upsetting.
Stuntastic writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 3:31:28 AM

You speak the truth Prev
FBO writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 1:32:31 PM

I don't know about gangs in other countries but I grow up around gangs and I swear I get more respect given me from gang bangers then I did from a lot of the people in normal society. That being said, we know what causes young kids to join gangs. It's a disentagration of the family unit. No Father or having a Father that doesn't care means the need to find a role model, and in the cases that there is no Father it also means that the Mother has to work two jobs... If she's lucky. None of these things come from US policies. They come from coward teenagers who know how to have sex but not how to use a rubber or who to man up when you make a mistake. They come from households that blame everyone else for their situation instead of teaching their kids how to avoid those problems. And they come from persons how don't pay attention to their children.

It all boils down to Personal Responsibility.
FBO writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 1:34:07 PM

*how* to man up; not who to man up
lawman writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 2:38:21 PM

Good riddence. Anyone who blames US policies for the sub-human animals that will kill just because you have and they want, deserves what he got!!!
KidCarib writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 4:38:59 AM

there is no one to blame except the person who joins the gang. plenty of people have problems, how you deal with them is your own decision. i feel sorry that this guy sympathized with gang members. i do feel soory to in the fact that they fail to realize they are continuing a cycle that is only detrimental to themselves as well as society.
Black_Jack writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 2:31:32 AM

I-RON-Y!
entropyMUSE writes:
on September 14th, 2009 at 10:20:38 AM

Is the guy that made the doc*mentary about gang bangers died ... ?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved