WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photo: Giant "Avatar" Powersuit at Panasonic Event

Posted: September 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photo: Giant "Avatar" Powersuit at Panasonic EventSubmit Comment
Two weeks ago, we learned that Panasonic signed director James Cameron to give it's engineers ideas for technological improvements to their 3-D TVs. The company is also planning to drive several vans around the US and Europe with large-screen 3-D TVs inside showing "Avatar."

Now, during Panasonic's IFA press event, the company is using Cameron's new movie to push their product. Upon entering the Panasonic booth, people are presented with an enormous, fully-armed "Avatar" Powersuit that we have seen in the teaser trailer. Check out the photo of the suit below.

Panasonic will also use footage from "Avatar" in their Japanese ads for 3-D TVs.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Avatar."

Source: Engadget


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mdp711 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 5:06:57 AM

Waste of money. I love new technology but owning a 3D television is not on my priority tech-list. Plus, I have never had good luck with any Panasonic product.

I'm starting to lose respect for Cameron, I sure do hope Avatar isn't the nightmare everyone is saying it will be.
WV-Films writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 11:15:31 AM

So Panasonic's "Ideas for life" involve walking around in a robot with mini-guns attached to, it in public places.
....got it.....
Pepeman writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 11:21:28 AM

I have nothing against good looking 3D technology that works well. That time may not be now, but we ALL now it's coming sooner or later. in 5-10 years 3D-tv's are quite popular choise for many.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 11:41:09 AM

Still a big fan of Sigorney's fight with the queen alien. That mech suit was badass and very realistic!
TRUEMAN writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:07:43 PM

I'm starting to lose respect for Cameron, I sure do hope Avatar isn't the nightmare everyone is saying it will be.

YES YES MORE people to the gang anti-cameron, and the move is going to suck thats for sure!
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:19:48 PM

hmm...3D tv...something i'll probably never own...i'll bet they'll cost thousands before the price goes down in several hundreds of years...let's all clap for cameron because everybody is as rich as he is and agrees that we all need 3D TVs to make our lives full and complete...well you know what i still say to that?....f*ck 3D!!....f*ck IT UP ITS 3D ASS!
NatG83 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:29:14 PM

I can't help but think of the Aliens movies when looking at the suit.

I also think about the last Matrix movie, which also reminded me of Aliens.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:48:29 PM

Guess I'll never understand all the Cameron hate. All he does is make great movies and advance film technology. Do you just need something to bitch about or do you genuinely hate that he doesn't suck?
rabid writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:51:22 PM

You'll have about as much choice in owning a 3dtv as you did in switching from analog to digital cable.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 3:30:46 PM

I'm gonna own a 3D TV but because of games. Got a chance to check out Wipeout HD in 3D on Playstation 3... toooooo cool. The technology works much better for games than for films.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 3:42:00 PM

Giant waste of money, they should have put that towards improving the cgi on the suits (instead of their gun clipping errors, LOL!).

"All he does is make great movies"

Xenogenesis, The Abyss, True Lies, Aliens of the Deep.

"and advance film technology."

Gluing 2 cameras together =/= Advancement.

CGI errors in a movie with a 237 million dollar budget =/= revolutionary

Getting your lead star to say that the trailer sucked on purpose, and waste money on a not even to scale suit DOES NOT f*ckING= Smart marketing!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 3:42:43 PM

"I'm gonna own a 3D TV but because of games. Got a chance to check out Wipeout HD in 3D on Playstation 3... toooooo cool. The technology works much better for games than for films."

Difference is, we aren't living in 2029, are we?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 3:43:39 PM

"Panasonic will also use footage from "Avatar" in their Japanese ads for 3-D TVs."

I can't WAIT to see this fail!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 3:45:28 PM

"or do you genuinely hate that he doesn't suck?"

No, I genuinely hate that he used to not suck (only here and there, like with movies mentioned), then goes on a 12 year hiatus, and comes back with smurfs meets thundercats, when he could have directed T3 and made some other good original sci fi, not this unispired, boring piece of sh*t.
NatG83 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 5:33:21 PM

@SACdaddy: It's not that I hate James Cameron. Frankly, the guy gave us Terminator and Terminator 2. He also gave us the second-half of Titanic. That was great film making. It's more than I have ever contributed to the industry.

I just don't think it's that original, and the trailer didn't impress me. I'll give the movie a shot, but I'm not expecting anything great.
Lister writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 5:53:02 PM

*Sigh* here we go again. Spooky is a huge pain in the ass.

"Xenogenesis, The Abyss, True Lies, Aliens of the Deep"

Since when did Xenogenesis or Aliens of the Deep even count as films? The first one was only 12 minutes long for god's sake.
TRUEMAN writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 5:55:11 PM

NatG83 agree, its not hate is only love for the true! Tell the true cameron! it is time! this is no the super movie that you talk about!
m3talface writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 5:57:05 PM

Spookycupcakes, True lies is a classic. So what the f*ck are you talkin about? Also the constant hating on a movie you haven't even seen is getting pretty old. What's the point?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 6:55:40 PM

Who said anything about hating on the movie before seeing it? You fanboys are putting words in my mouth! I'm merely expressing my views on it, which happen to be critical, and my critical points (or 'hate', as you Cameron c*cksuckers like to mislabel it as), happen to be justified by what we've seen so far.

Asking my why I'm hating on a movie is incorrect, I'm not hating on the movie, I'm hating on everything that I've seen, and giving my predictions on the movie based on what we've seen.

So, why blindly love a movie without having seen it yet?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 6:57:58 PM

"Since when did Xenogenesis or Aliens of the Deep even count as films? The first one was only 12 minutes long for god's sake."

and? I know you're too young to understand, but there is sometimes film makers make "short films", which are films, but short, you see?

If xenogenesis was a full length movie, it would just suck harder, so saying that it doesn't count as a movie because it was 12 minutes is disrespectful to short film makers. But since it sucked so hard, I guess they would dispell it as a film altogether.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 7:00:02 PM

"Spooky is a huge pain in the ass."

Why's that? because I have a critical outlook on movies altogether and get a little peeved if one of the best Sci Fi filmmakers takes 12 years to make this halo and return of the jedi rip-off?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 7:00:46 PM

is it because I disrupt your Avatar Love Bubble and make my criticisms heard and using fact and previous examples to compare with this movie?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 7:02:10 PM

"Cameron hate"

Why would I hate the guy that made T1 and T2?!

No, I don't hate cameron, I hate the decisions he's made as a film maker in the past 12 years.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 7:59:04 PM

Aliens of the Deep and True Lies were cool movies I don't know what the f*ck you're talking about lol. Aliens of the Deep was a doc*mentary really and I was totally interested in it without giving two f*cks about the Titanic. Also Cameron has constantly revolutionized filmmaking with computer generated effects and robotics (T1, T2, Titanic, and now Avatar).

Once again you make the same ignorant statement and claim "OH he stuck two cameras together"... totally not the important part of the new technology. The important part as I've stated numerous times is the ability to see your rendered CGI world in real time as you shoot different scenes of the movie.

Instead of having to shoot everything and then wait till you hit post to see rough cuts, you see it right there in real time. That's what Spielberg and Jackson went ape sh*t about. THAT IS something to go ape sh*t about, if you're a director. Which you aren't.

Also, I totally didn't see the point of your post on my Wipeout HD comment, what did you mean or were you trying to hint at?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 8:29:07 PM

"if you're a director. Which you aren't."

I'm a director, but I don't need to use CGI to make a good movie.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 8:34:29 PM

You aren't a director because real directors get excited about things that push the craft forward. Real directors appreciate men who go out there and make the film they want to make. Real directors appreciate directors who take their time and don't rush to put something out just because people want them to. He doesn't NEED CGI to make a great film, he uses CGI to tell stories. He uses CGI to take his audience to different places. It's about an experience. Let's see your short films. Let's see what you've created. Let's see how many filmmakers out there in the world respect what you do. Like I said, you aren't a REAL director. You're just another critic with a keyboard and an internet connection.
Jamall316 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 8:36:45 PM

I rather see/have the mech-suit in District 9
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 9:09:13 PM

Instant CGI rendering does balls-all for me, since I don't use CGI to "tell a story", I can use real things, such as plot, tension, drama, character development, etc. But I'm talking to an avatar fan so obviously those things mean nothing to you.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 9:10:13 PM

"Real directors appreciate directors who take their time and don't rush to put something out just because people want them to."

This looks, sounds, and reads as if it was rushed, but he took 12 years to make it, and near a quarter of a billion to do so.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 9:11:59 PM

"Let's see how many filmmakers out there in the world respect what you do."

Alright, sorry that my movies don't involve visual eye candy over story.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 9:13:17 PM

Also, like I would give a sh*t what a guy named "TH3D4RKKN1GH7" would think about my movies.
minkowski writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 10:37:10 PM

Directing is nothing more than telling a story with images. Period. Period!

CGI is not required to tell a good story. If it was, we'd all still be waiting for Hollywood to push it's first good film into theaters. CGI is only relevant when a director has ideas that are either fantastic or difficult to achieve in an analog medium like cardboard and styrofoam props. Or when it's cost effective to substitute analog for digital.

Ising CGI to sell the story, as Cameron is apparently doing, without having a solid story is a f*cking gimmick, and many of us know it, we just refuse to admit that fact because we place such enormous faith in Cameron, and also, perhaps feel we owe him for all the stellar films he's made in the last thirty years.
minkowski writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 10:38:36 PM

Arggggh.

"Or when it's cost effective to substitute digital for analog."

Lister writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 11:47:17 PM

"Directing is nothing more than telling a story with images."

What he said.

"because I have a critical outlook on movies altogether?"

Since when did "critical outlook" substitute for bitching?

"Who said anything about hating on the movie before seeing it?"

You did.

"Instant CGI rendering does balls-all for me, since I don't use CGI to "tell a story", I can use real things, such as plot, tension, drama, character development, etc. But I'm talking to an avatar fan so obviously those things mean nothing to you."

So since a movie has CGI everything the director has accomplished in the past, except for a short film and a doc*mentary, suddenly means squat. And you've only seen 2 minutes of it. With the last 40 seconds being 2 second shots from completely unrelated scenes. Nice logic there.

If you weren't such a moaning bitch all the time I think people would respect you a little bit more. But that's just my opinion.
minkowski writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 12:10:09 AM

Well, in all fairness, some of us have read the scriptment and the story does pretty much stink. Whether Cameron has radically altered that scriptment in order to deliver a film with a better plot is unknown.

And Titanic wasn't exactly James Cameron's storytelling high water mark either.

So, is Avatar going to be more like Terminator 2, or more like Titanic? Ask yourself that question. I think everyone interested in Cameron and/or Avatar should ask that question. Don't just answer immediately, think about it and then answer.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved