WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith to Rename "A Couple of Dicks"?

Posted: September 3rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith to Rename "A Couple of Dicks"?Submit Comment
When Kevin Smith first announced his new detective movie, he said the name will be "A Couple Dicks," but Warner Bros later changed it to "A Couple of Cops" due to advertising constraints with a title that has the word "Dicks" in it.

Now, Adam Brody tells MTV News that as much as everyone would love to keep the original title, "I don't think it's gonna happen. We were talking about [changing the name]; you can't really advertise that before 9[pm on TV] if that's the case, so that really hampers [the studio]."

He added that Smith fought to keep the studio from changing the title of "Zack and Miri Make a Porno," but the movie ended up doing poorly. "This time he's like 'f*ck the title, you can call it 'Cream Cheese,' I don't care,'" said Brody. "So, I'd be surprised [if he kept it]."

Brody went on to say that everyone has been thinking of titles that would be just as catchy as "Couple of Dicks," but "we've got no good runner-ups so far." So he's asking the fans for help.

Source: MTV News

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 6:49:22 PM

So... a generation of people are to grow up now not knowing the Private d*ck - mean private eye now because Warner Bros. are book-burning Nazi's?!

Yeah... keep up the censorship f*ckers!

So... anyone named Richard we can't nickname 'd*ck' anymore either, we have to call them 'cops'?!

Warner Bros... f*ck OFF!

mattjudge62 writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:04:00 PM

ranger I agree with you 100% Political correctness

Ari Gold writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:09:56 PM

Can we still call roosters c*cks?
What about another Beethoven movie? 'Beethoven and his bitches' It could be about Beethoven and his daughters?
ugh writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:15:40 PM

@ Ranger, not that you're gonna listen..
But it's not Warner Bros thats the problem.
It's the censorship in the USA.Warnes Bros is just a business and they are trying to make the most money of the movie.

They can't do that if they are not allowed to promote it because it has a 'inapropriate' word in the title.

It's not the company it's idiotic censorship in America.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:22:12 PM

Political Correctness going too far yet again!!

You know in England they were going to ban the use of 'the three little pigs' as a christmas pagent flaot because, get this, they thought it would be offensive to the muslim community (the 3 pigs that is) and might intice violence!!!

Needless to say, teh Muslim community laughed at this idea and called it pathetic, and so teh children got to see an all time tradition of the three little pigs at a christmas pagent!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:26:10 PM

Is he gonna call it "Milhouse and Onthejon" instead?
mdp711 writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:39:43 PM

Two d*cks and a Chick
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:44:49 PM

@ugh - I hear you... but I've got to point the finger somewhere (we ALL do).

d*cks is NOT an 'inappropriate' word, just because these f*cks with too much time on their hands that won some piss-poor victory up the road say it's do. Probably the same group that won't allow 'fag' to be used as a word meaning cigarette as it is in the UK.

d*ck - has been another name for Richard for EVER!

Private d*ck = Private Eye... same thing.

I wonder if calling a Private Eye a 'Gumshoe' will offend Wrigley's next?

Ari added a good point: so we can't call roosters, c*cks anymore?

Same as Skippy's story about they banning (or considering it) the 3 Little Pigs. f*ck IN THE ASS to WHOMEVER the 3 Little Pigs offends! How about The 3 Little Oinkers... whoops... offending Peace Officers now!

When is enough? WHEN?! There are activists out there that want to lower the speed limit on highways to save insects (I'm NOT f*cking joking). I step on ants... INTENTIONALLY! If you love ants and don't like that I do that... deal with it! LOL! I also have mouse trap in my garage... I'M A RODENT KILLER!!!

I watched a movie last month. The bleeped out 'sh*t' but left in 'Jesus Christ.' NOW... WHO decides that one?!

I don't care if it's Warner Bros. giving in. I don't care if it's some group with a f*cking Bible jammed up their c*nt. I don't care!

This same censorship board that has decided that 'd*ck' (also means RICHARD!) is inappropriate had better get their f*cking paint rollers and paint over every TIT shown on priceless painting in every art gallery and private collection in the world, because HEY... in MY book... that's porn... and it's out in the public. So start rolling on the paint, you f*cking Nazi's!

synthetic1985 writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 8:17:14 PM

yea what the hell is up with this silly censorship going backwards?...i've seen the TNT tv channel say 'f*ck' in the movie 'return of the living dead'....the USA channel played '50 first dates' many many times, and all those times i saw the same part never censored when it cussed...i wish they would stop making themselves look stupid
Milhouse writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 8:25:58 PM

Awwwww, Spooky's feelers are hurt. He mad! Grrrrr!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 8:42:26 PM

Wow, nice comeback milhouse, I'm speechless.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 8:42:32 PM

Speechless at your stupidity*
c-prime writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 8:56:38 PM

Damn, Ranger, this issue must be really important to you - probably because some uptight, self-righteous twats go to great lengths to get you censored on here all the time. I agree with everything you're saying, man. Wrote a five-page essay on censorship back in high school that would be really appropriate here. If people would stop hiking their pants so f*cking high, reduce the chafing on their camel toes, and stop claiming to take the fictitious moral "high ground", maybe they wouldn't find fault with the media so often. These are just words. Mere words. Sure, they have the power to inflict hurt and sadness from time to time, but they're still just words. For example, I'm black. I've been called the "n-word" in the past. Does that piss me off? Not really, no. Because I don't identify myself as one. Frankly, I don't care who uses the word: white, black, whoever (for the record, I say it constantly). It simply means "an ignorant person" and, therefore, can be used in reference to any kind of individual. Unless you presume yourself to be that type of person, then there isn't really any harm done. (Maybe the type of people who are liable to be offended by Smith's movie recognize that they're actually d*cks.)

Soon enough, censorship will be applicable in pretty much in scenario. Suppose it's a particularly lovely spring day and I wear my favorite tie to work one day, but a coworker doesn't approve of it because the floral pattern doesn't include lilacs (outlandish but hypothetical). Does that mean I have to change my tie? After all, by basic definition, art is any form of expression, and the tie is a loose form of expression. Do I have to apply a "Parental Advisory" label or the like to gain their approbation? f*cking ridiculous.

And, yeah, a lot of the strife that's being raised by this is most likely because of youngsters who may inadvertently be exposed to the words. But c'mon! The average kid nowadays probably utters his first curse word sometime around 7 or 8 years old and progresses on his "corrupted" path from there - hell, I started in second grade. Don't mistake me - I'm not an advocate for the perversion of children. I know some words seem inappropriate for children, but they're gonna pick up on 'em eventually anyway, so I ask what's with all the safeguards?
Lowryder writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 9:38:08 PM

ever heard of "Fun With d*ck and Jane"???
acslaterson writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 9:49:53 PM

Just call it "A Couple of Richards", adults get it, young kids don't.
Milhouse writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 10:11:23 PM

Touche Cupcake...although I doubt you are EVER speechless buttercup.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 10:17:50 PM

well i dunno what'll work...maybe change the name to a couple d*cktectives?...i mean, ace ventura was a pet-d*ck lol
vwkombi writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 10:29:42 PM

I am in complete agreement with Ranger. Censorship itself is bad enough without all this bullsh*t political correctness.

Did anyone hear about the f*ckstain who thought Left4Dead 2 was racist because (i bullsh*t you not) "several of the zombies appear to be African-American". http://blogs.chron.com/gamehacks/2009/07/racism_in_video_games_the_new.html#more

I seriously think the human race needs to be culled to keep the number of stupid people down.
c-prime writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 10:38:42 PM

That doesn't surprise me much, vwkombi. Some d*ckless clowns did the same thing with "Resident Evil 5".

The title should stay "A Couple of d*cks". If you think about it, it'd be very useful in teaching children English and the meaning of puns.
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 10:51:12 PM

Good post folks (not just for agreeing)... but great additional examples.

An offensive movie title because some of the zombies look African American... f*ck me!

OK... I find the word 'the' offensive. It offends me to the very core. It's against my... religion. Yeah... that's it... MY religion!!! I do NOT want to hear see the word 'the' in a movie... EVER!!!!

Like... who decides this sh*t?!?!? I'd like to have a civil sit-down with these 'people' and ask why THEY get to decide why a censorship board will allow 'Jesus Christ' to be said on a movie, yet they bleep out 'sh*t!' Hey... were I a Bible thumper, JC would offend me a hell of a lot more than sh*t. So... who chooses? f*ck them.

They're so Lohan.
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 11:04:02 PM

Are these self-righteous groups so sure that parents can't tell their kids that A Couple of d*cks is about 2 Private Eyes?!?!? There done. And guess what... a younger generation is education, and NO CENSORSHIP!!!

When censorship came up on here before, I was reminded of a story a best friend told me.

You know those warning on cigarette and cigar packs? They started out when I was a kid as ONE SIMPLE LINE! NOW... they cover half the f*cking pack! I manufacturer goods. Were an outside element to come in and tell ME I had to put a warning on MY product... you couldn't imagine just how far my boot would be driven up their ass!!!

Anywhore (no, no Lohan this time), it's about these cigarettes. A manufacture overseas made their own brand called 'DEATH CIGARETTES!' SOLID Black pack - white skull and crossbones. Basically telling ANY customer that smokes... these could eventually kill you! And the people responsible for those sh*t banners on other brands (with the pictures of rotting teeth, lungs... whatever) couldn't make a move on this Company because they had already outdid them. Now that's priceless.
halostingray87 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:10:56 AM

Finally the version I've been waiting for!! "A Couple Vaginas"... *reads article*

acslaterson writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:11:53 AM

@Ranger, One of the f*cking organizations that you can blame:


And if you look at who appears on the board on wiki it will make you cream your pants:


And I know you will love this, Smallville has won their "Seal of Approval".

Read the whole wiki page, it will piss you off.
Ranger writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:20:50 AM

I will look at those links... thx.

And do these 'keepers of humanity' think sh*t like parenting controls work? NetNanny, etc. my f*cking ass! And their argument: 'True... we know these safeguards are not foolproof (no sh*t Sherlock!), so we do the best we can with what we can.'

Hey Princess... yank the Bible outta yer box and take a hard one up the sh*tter!
halostingray87 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:21:08 AM

I honestly think these people who get so caught up in attacking one thing after the next are just sad. They try to tell everyone how to act and how to think. Defining and Re-Defining what's 'OK' and not. Always losing in the end just so that they can move on to the next thing. It's almost like they live off of the attention and causing chaos/backlass. People need to just ignore them and stop feeding into their narcissism
dandythelion writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:24:22 AM

don't f*cking change the title.
Ranger writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:42:57 AM

No, do change the title to:

'Two Guys'

Then this self-righteous group that decides this censorship sh*t can write Warner Bros. a check for all the money it lost BECAUSE THE f*ckING TITLE SUCKS!!!!
Ranger writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:52:09 AM

Clearly I have an issue with people that have NO vested interested (financially) in a business that ANYone should give them the time of day to listen to them gripe as to how that business should be run.

If these 'groups' want to bring back The Waltons and Little House on the Prairie... have at'er. Unless you're putting up the $'s to have these movies made... put up or shut up.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 1:12:39 AM

i remembered seeing another movie called 'd*ck'....no kidding lol....kirsten dunst is in it
Ranger writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 1:19:07 AM



Comedy about two high school girls who wander off during a class trip to the White House and meet President Richard Nixon.
Gumps Waal writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 1:25:34 AM

sell outs
wonderBOY writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 1:43:51 AM

what about Tricky d*cks or Police Cops
abhisal writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 1:55:57 AM

My Favorite Privates
Ranger writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 2:19:20 AM

I guess d*ck Tracy can never be spoken of again then.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:26:11 PM

lol...man some people have their heads so far up their asses...all they see and think and say and hear and feel is basically sh*t!....that's five senses of bullsh*t if you ask me
WeThePeople writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 2:00:52 PM

I think they're saving the title for the doc*mentary about the Warner Bros studio "heads".
onthejon writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 5:21:23 PM

Hopefully, whatever the title works out to be, the movie will do well. I would not mind a 3rd Clerks movie.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 8:04:29 PM

good idea....i wouldn't mind a clerks 3 either...they could make it take place in this current economy with the seriousness of the business closing or something, and not just that...but figuring out a way to get things back on track to keep that from happening...and jay & silent bob could be the ones to figure that out lol
Eben1277 writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 9:32:39 PM

Those PTC *ssholes stupify me, complaining that the V-chip and a ratings system aren't effective enough to "safeguard" children from adult content. maybe if they weren't so busy whining about sh*t they would have the time to actually try out the great parental control idea that has always worked best: GOOD f*ckING ACTIVE PARENTING!!! If these motherf*ckers spent time with there kids teaching them right from wrong instead of using their televisions as f*ckin babysitters it wouldn't even be an issue!
Ranger writes:
on September 5th, 2009 at 9:57:38 PM

Well said.
SlinginRock writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 2:14:01 PM

a couple of pigs

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved