WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Cove" Stops Dolphin Slaughter in Japan

Posted: September 3rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Cove" Stops Dolphin Slaughter in JapanSubmit Comment
Once in a while a documentary comes out that shines a spotlight on an issue that has the entire world take notice. McDonalds changed a large part of their menu after "Super Size Me," and the Green movement became a top priority after "An Inconvenient Truth."

You can add another movie to that list, "The Cove," which exposed the annual slaughter of thousands of dolphins in the small fishing town of Taiji, Japan.

Upon returning to Taiji, Ric O'Barry, who became an activist after his work with Flipper, noticed that "there were no dolphin killers in sight." While it's still too early to know whether the illegal activity will ever pick up again, at least "The Cove" documentary can be credited with saving several dozen dolphins.

"The Cove" Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dandythelion writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 4:59:59 AM

good!
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 5:21:37 AM

You'd think the dolphins would just place signs under water to warn the other dolphins to just avoid that town.
thysmn writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 6:45:54 AM

Japan isn't McDonalds, I don't think they will change their taste for delicious cute marine mammals.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:24:07 AM

Why can't they just eat tuna?

OH WAIT CUZ THEY ARE SEA KITTENS D:

http://www.peta2.com/Sea_Kittens/

Peta2 (Which is I'm guessing some sort of bastard child of Peta [which also sucks]) Is actually trying to get people to stop eating f*cking fish.

Not dogs.

Not cats.

Not f*cking horses. Fish.

Those little f*ckers, there's about 12462 billion of them? Yea, apparently to Peta2, it's morally wrong to eat fish, those smelly, stupid looking, but tasty fish.

It's a damn shame that I'm all for animal rights, and I've been a vegetarian for 4 years now, and I still get lumped in with those Petards.
tino78 writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:40:23 AM

dont get me wrong i think its wrong how they kills dolphins and whales. i dont eat them and will never but what i dont get is why is not bad to eat pigs and cows? they are mammals too
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 8:00:33 AM

"i dont eat them and will never but what i dont get is why is not bad to eat pigs and cows?"

Dolphins are endangered, Cows and Pigs are breeded to be eaten.

But, do dolphins have a big impact on the ecosystem? I'm pretty sure they don't. If they're endangered then it's not our fault, Natural Selection has deemed them inferior.
j-man writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 9:30:24 AM

jw, but is that the character that was in a few episodes of the superman cartoon?
acslaterson writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 11:07:38 AM

@ Spooky Cupcakes

"If they're endangered then it's not our fault, Natural Selection has deemed them inferior."

In regards to Dolphins? You are f*cking retarded.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 12:29:42 PM

"In regards to Dolphins? You are f*cking retarded."

I was saying that if they don't have that big of an impact on the ecosystem, then they technically don't matter and will eventually die out.

But if they do, then it's wrong and f*ck japanese dolphin killers and otaku's and such.
LukeM writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 1:10:23 PM

Awesome news. Keep spreading the word about The Cove, it's an eye opening experience and it has a very real impact!
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 1:38:10 PM

don't they need dolphins to fight sharks, what would happen if Mega shark was real we would all be f*cked
mattcl23 writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 1:52:54 PM

That's great to hear.
n/a writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 2:08:50 PM

I would try dolphin. just to see what all the fus is about.
october_midnight writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 2:46:45 PM

Did someone use the word 'breeded'? Wow.
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 2:52:17 PM

@Tino - I hope Spooky answered your question?

Cows and pigs are raised for food. We control their numbers. Dolphins are not controlled (except when man slaughters them).

And everything is important in this Eco-System... it's not for us to decide what is and isn't.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 3:16:21 PM

I think the world could do without squirms.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 3:30:26 PM

Sorry some idiot at work caught me away from my computer. It wont happen again.
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 3:53:23 PM

@SAC - did you go Lohan, or go home?
tino78 writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 4:00:18 PM

ok i get it. i see ur points im a dumbass. didnt see it in that way.
Popcorn101 writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 5:12:26 PM

I thought dolphins were the 2nd smartest thing on this earth. And dolphins are also known to save humans from shark attacks..I think there pretty needed in this world.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 5:36:58 PM

@ranger: No Lo yet but I've got the entire weekend to devote to her. Its a holiday weekend and the opening week for college football so I imagine I'll be drinking all over town. It shouldn't be hard finding her. I'll just follow my nose and the cirling buzzards right to that treasure chest. Wish me lick! (and yes that's what I meant)
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:03:40 PM

No need. I hear she leaves slug tracks.
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:06:16 PM

@tino - you're NOT a dumbass my friend. You asked a question, and hopefully some of us answered it to your satisfaction. I didn't think you were being a smart(or dumb)ass at all. If you don't know... ask, right?

@Popcorn - you're right... they are - that smart AND needed. And, well... actually, they're more social than humans. So in that rating... they're smarter than us.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 8:46:18 PM

Flies.

Flies are f*cking useless. There goes your "BUT EVRYTHINS IMPRTNT!" theory.
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 10:57:59 PM

lol.
TeemSelami writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:43:20 AM

hollywood dolphins suck they always play a p*ssy. except sea quest he was rad
TeemSelami writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 12:43:20 AM

hollywood dolphins suck they always play a p*ssy. except sea quest he was rad
Jensama writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 2:39:51 AM

"The rock and pool, is nice and cool, so juicy sweet. Our only wish, *whacks the fish on the rock* to catch a fish, *whack* so juicy sweet"....
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on September 7th, 2009 at 2:27:09 PM

Mmm thats awesome! I remember seeing something about dolphin slaughters last year. I guess they round them up and injure a few of them (because a 'pack' won't leave an injured dolphin behind), drive them into a cove with confusing bings and sounds underwater, then drag them out and basically half cut off their heads and let them bleed out on the sidewalk.

We unfortunately do need to keep this human mass well fed, but f*ck man at least keep it to the mindless masses of fish and livestock, if its needed. If youve ever been on a whale watch and seen the dolphins swim in the wake of the boat, playing and looking at you you know theyre not stupid pieces of meat awaiting death from a predator... theyre fairly human.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved