WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guy Ritchie to Direct "Lobo" Comic Book Adaptation

Posted: September 2nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guy Ritchie to Direct "Lobo" Comic Book AdaptationSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has signed Guy Ritchie (Snatch, RocknRolla) to direct "Lobo," the live action adaptation of the DC Comics drama about an alien interstellar bounty hunter. Don Payne wrote the most recent script draft.

The character originated in 1983 in "Omega Men," written by Roger Slifer and Keith Giffen. Lobo has had several comic incarnations. In the film, he is a seven-foot tall, blue-skinned, indestructible and heavily muscled anti-hero who drives a pimped out motorcycle, and lands on Earth in search of four fugitives who are bent on wreaking havoc. Lobo teams with a small town teenaged girl to stop the creatures.

WB is aiming for a PG-13 rating. Pic will be strong on visual effects and will begin filming early next year.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Post_Man_87 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 7:29:14 PM

As a big fans of comics I can only think of about 1000 other books I'd rather see made before Lobo.

I have absolutely zero interest in seeing this, despite liking the majority of Ritchies work. Blah.....
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 7:45:58 PM

what about The Real RocknRolla!?
rabid writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 7:47:32 PM

Ritchie will make the perfect director for a Lobo film. This is excellent news... not sure how they'll keep it PG13 though, they should really rethink that.
vwkombi writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 7:47:39 PM

What? I'm not a comic book reader, but even i know Lobo kicks serious ass. A movie about him would rock.

But PG-13, yeah fail.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:03:39 PM

Where's Maddox NOW?!

http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=dare_devil
Ari Gold writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:03:49 PM

@Ted

f*ck yeah! Surely he could use some of the funds he got from Madonna to make that!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:04:22 PM

A teenage girl, really? Do today's filmmakers think the audience is too stupid to care and grow attached to a supernatural/extraterrestrial character, so much so that they have to give that character a human companion to fight side-by-side or some sh*t like that? Yeah, that worked wonders in Hellboy, with that p*ssy, human agent (don't remember his name because he was vapid and unecessary). Just make movies about the character and don't give a sh*t if the audience is too stupid to place emotions on a non-human character. Same thing with Transformers, we don't give a flying f*ck about Sam, we want more Optimus, damnit.
whoever writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:08:43 PM

Ritchie should film it as a herd R rated film and then show WB both the R and PG cuts. I am sure the R rated will win the day, after all taking violence out of Lobo is like taking gadgets off Batman. Your just not loosing the a part of the character but part of the story.
whoever writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:09:49 PM

"a hard R"*
Batarang16 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:32:47 PM

This is not the direction WB's needs to go with, although I think Lobo is a cool character in the DC universe, he should NOT have a feature film...this is very saddening news
James.Speed writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:51:39 PM

Awesome!
onthejon writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:54:10 PM

They are hoping Lobo = Wolverine
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:56:35 PM

He should have a feature film, but it should be a hard motherf*cking R

I guess WB is staying away from R rated comic book movies since Watchmen turned out to not be in their favour
dandythelion writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 9:05:50 PM

Guy Ritchies films are terrible. but he has skills. i just think he should expand his repertoir as much as possible so maybe he pumps out a few decent films. Sherlock Holmes looks great though
minkowski writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 1:30:00 AM

"Do today's filmmakers think the audience is too stupid to care and grow attached to a supernatural/extraterrestrial character, so much so that they have to give that character a human companion to fight side-by-side or some sh*t like that?"

Funny you say that, huh, considering how often Disney's and Pixar's non-human characters are so celebrated and cherished.

But I do believe you're way off with Hellboy. They had to have some human characters. Hellboy is and always was, set in a human world. It's like saying that Batman 3 should get daring and what not by focusing on the bats in Batman's cave.

You have to give people something they can relate to. No one wants to see a Short Cicuit film with nothing but f*cking Johnny Five in it. And transformers always had humans in the story, even in the cartoon, which was nothing but a commercial to sell robot toys, like that approach would work in a film that costs 150 million.

You have to have humans because the audience is human and expects a live action film to be more realistic and appealing to their all too human ego, especially when the film is based on something not entirely well accepted by the mainstream. Transformers is an excellent example.

I mean, do you go the cartoon route, or do you draw the audience in with relatable human characters? And how could you not have Marvel's Sam Witwicky or the Spike in the film?

As for Pixar and the like, they're seen as well-rendered modern cartoons, so films like Cars and Wall-E can easily get away with it.

"Just make movies about the character and don't give a sh*t if the audience is too stupid to place emotions on a non-human character. "

We can expect you to pay for these films, then, right?

I do agree, though that from the sound of it, a Lobo film with just him and without the teenage girl character sounds tremendously more appealing.

I hope they decide to drop her from the film, but I doubt it. I would assume they're tacking her on because the film centers around a little known DC character, one that's not even that popular with comic fans. Lack of confidence and all that, like they added her for fear of immediate rejection by potential audiences. They have to have something relatable rather than hoping moviegoers will care about some obscure DC character.

Anyway, my suggestions: Drop the chick. Period. And after that, come up with a good trailer showing Lobo being badass and whatnot, lots of action, carnage, whatever. People will get hooked, especially the guys, and the teenage girl character will have been totally forgotten.
rabid writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 2:17:16 AM

Lobo does = Wolverine.
VDODSON writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 2:27:12 AM

You cant make Lobo PG-13, that is the first f*cking mistake. Guy Ritchie has made some quality flicks, but a comic book adaptation director he is not. Give it to Snyder, or Vaughn.
minkowski writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 2:53:09 AM

"You cant make Lobo PG-13, that is the first f*cking mistake. "

Damn straight. Every panel of the comics has a corpse or mutilation.

And, for the record, Douche, Lobo has always had some sort of human companion, assistance, whatever, so the addition of this teenage girl isn't entirely unwarranted.
minkowski writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 3:57:56 AM

Oh:

Wasn't trying to sound snarky, Douche. Just trying go tet some edge back, thats' all.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 4:10:59 AM

Mink, I get there has to be some human characters in these films, of course. I was trying to say that these films generally focus way to much on the human characters and sort of put the more interesting non-human characters in the background. I was talking about live-action genre films, not Disney or Pixar joints. I was trying to say that the new agent guy who tags along with Helboy in the film was useless, mearly a conduit to which the audience could place their emotions upon; if you took that useless human character out, the film could have focused more on Hellboy and been a better film. I was arguing that useless human tag-along characters should be scapped from these films, not that there be no human characters.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 4:15:10 AM

Also, again, a f*ckin' teenage girl?!? Let me guess, Lobo will help her "find herself" as a woman or some corn-ball sh*t. If Lobo went along with a Clint Eastwood-type badass, I wouldn't have a problem, since he would have a purpose and not feel gimmicky. You get what I'm saying?
Kill-the-director writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 4:37:47 AM

i hate guy ritchie
rocketman writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 7:02:15 AM

first thing i thought of was the crap Master of the Universe film when i read the plot outline
lawman writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 1:55:40 PM

As a Lobo fan I can tell you that the teenage girls should get the boot. The only way she could be viable would be with an end most viewers wouldnt watch. Lobo, if kept true to his comic form, would kill her in the end. Its easier than saying goodbye! That is how he is. They need to make it DARK, he is a nasty sc*mbag who on occasion does some good. I hope they dont pussify him. BTW, I have been posting to make this move for weeks, I had NO idea it was in the works. I AM PSYCHED!!!
n/a writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 2:27:42 PM

he comes from comic books, they arent R rated, and they work. pg13 could work is they bring a good story.

And I want a Question movie!!!
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 4:01:16 PM

I'd definitely LOVE to see a Real RockNRolla first. But Lobo is pretty fitting for Ritchie's badass rough house style.
Attos writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 6:23:05 PM

Wolverine?
Anti-hero who drives a pimped out motorcycle to stop four people wreaking havoc?

That's got Ghost Rider written all over it.

Which should never be written on anything.
Ever.
tolgaboy writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 3:41:02 AM

where is superman
Black_Jack writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 2:42:33 AM

PG-f*ckING-13!?

This film has already failed. I was suspicious at "blue-skinned" (as you can see in the pic, Lobo is white-skinned). I cringed at "Teams up with a small-town teenaged girl". And the rating has cinched it. Way to go, Warner Bros. You killed what could have been a great film.
Black_Jack writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 2:45:20 AM

And as long as that "small-town teenaged girl" isn't that damn Megan Fox.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved