WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Online Film Critic Found Dead

Posted: September 2nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Online Film Critic Found DeadSubmit Comment
Local reports say that Filipino-Canadian film critic Alexis Tioseco and his partner Nina Bohinc (pictured), a Slovenian freelance writer, were shot dead by one of three gunmen who burst into their home in Quezon City, Manila after the door was opened by a maid. After taking valuables and a laptop computer, the assailants made a getaway in the couple's car.

Tioseco was the founder of Criticine.com, a Web site critiquing Southeast Asian cinema, and was a regular contributor to publications including the Philippine Star, Screen International, Senses of Cinema and Osian's Cinema. Bohinc, who lived between Slovenia and Manila, was editor in chief of Ekran film magazine.

Editor's Note: I just want to take the time to apologize to anyone who has found WorstPreviews.com in any way offensive, boring or unpleasant to the eye.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dandythelion writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:14:29 AM

she's cute. i don't like it when cute girls get murdered. : /
Porter Montoya writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:21:22 AM

It was probably those jackasses, Jason Friedberg and
Aaron Seltzer. This is the start of a revenge spree for every critic that's taken a sh*t on their godawful movies. That said, every goddam critic had better watch their asses.
minkowski writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:24:17 AM

Damn. That sucks. Obviously, the gunmen did not have to kill them, and for what? Some junk? A car? Not that any items of any value would justify what these three monsters did to two people.

And I'm aware the story claims only one person committed the shooting, but in the United States at least, the other two are guilty of capital murder just as if they had pulled the trigger.

I hope these gunmen are found, summarily tried and then quietly executed.

"she's cute. i don't like it when cute girls get murdered. : /"

So if she was fat and ugly, you'd have less an issue with her head getting filled with a hot lead salad? Right?
Porter Montoya writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:26:35 AM

^^So you're for capital punishment?
vwkombi writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:42:57 AM

Capital Punishment is the best idea in the world. It stops the guy from ever committing another crime, scares others who think about committing crimes and saves taxpayer money going to "rehabilitating" criminals, therefore more money for important things.

And to those who say "but it costs less to keep a criminal alive for 20 years than to give him the lethal injection" i say this. It costs $40 for a machete or even 50c for a plastic bag. You can execute many criminals with them, saving millions in tax.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:45:45 AM

man i hate saddening news...it's traumatizing and sad what happened to these people...i hope those 3 gunmen are found get what they deserve...life in prison getting raped by prisoners sounds fitting, at least before they die
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:55:39 AM

See!

Give one bad movie review and your ass is grass!
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 3:12:01 AM

@vw - I agree with most you said, except execution by machete or plastic bag has to be done by someone. And that someone may have guilty feelings (afterward), even if they signed up for it. Plus some religious beliefs are then the executioner would be a murderer and banned from heaven.

'...scares others who think about committing crimes.' It may or it may not. Texas knocks off a person a week, and they have a line-up for executions. So it hasn't deterred anyone in Texas from thinking of committing a murder.

Then there's the possibility of executing an innocent person.

Don't get me wrong. I'm for it (Capital Punishment) - I'm just illustrating the other side of the coin here.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 3:29:32 AM

Thats sad, and an utter waste of two good lives. Hopefully those responsible are caught, charged thrown in prison, and if deemed fit, executed!

And yeah, iam pro for capital punishment, in Australia we don't have it anymroe, but i think it nees to come back, be mroe harsh on criminals. Seriously i was reading in the paper that a dude got 2 years for murder???? does that sound fair???
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 3:40:46 AM

"So if she was fat and ugly, you'd have less an issue with her head getting filled with a hot lead salad? Right?"

Umm...pretty much my theory
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 3:44:34 AM

@ The Skippy Spartan...hell no that is not right....and why are psychopaths and murderers getting released before druggies?....doesn't the government understand that druggies are not murderers?...i know they could easily BECOME murderers...but releasing them first is a much safer route than releasing the more harmful ones....sheesh
FBO writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 4:20:40 AM

I hate stories like these. Makes you wish you could have done something to stop it. I am all for Capital Punishment as long as there is NO doubt.

@1985, I ve never understood drugs, I guess it's not my vice in life, but I agree drug lords belong in jail; Druggies belong in rehab. Legalize pot and then tax the hell out of it. We'd stop the drug war in Mexico and stop Obama from over taxing the middle class.
Charlie9 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 4:38:25 AM

dandythelion and herpes = f*cktards
you think coz this is just a moviesite you can show no respect. idiots.
vwkombi writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 4:38:29 AM

I agree with your points Ranger, and i feel that only people caught red handed or have 100% undeniable evidence brought against them should really have to suffer execution.

I'm really not aware of how it works in Texas (i'm Australian) but i think that if people actually got punished for their crimes, the Australian crime rate would go down. People over here really don't get punished over here, it's like an unfunny joke.

But i am completely for the idea of executing criminals with machetes and plastic bags. There's always a bunch of closted sociopaths out there who would be more than willing to kill people and get paid for it.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 4:46:21 AM

@ vwkombi.....dang...well i guess your country as well as our country or any other country can relate...every country's government is getting psycho on us sane people lol...can we get more sane people in the governments please?
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 5:06:42 AM

Charlie9 = f*cking idiot...respect this(whips out fat d*ck and puts it on table)
Charlie9 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 5:37:57 AM

I rest my case.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 7:30:53 AM

Why couldn't it have been Armond White?
lawman writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:50:33 AM

WHY WHY WHY COULD'NT IT HAVE BEEN THAT QUEER AS TITS c*nt PEREZ HILTON??? THERE IS NO JUSTICE IN THE WORLD!!!
thedotsays writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 9:03:03 AM

I really hope that "editor's note" wasn't a lame attempt at humor at the expense of the tragic loss of life.
I checked the site and don't see any mention of this or any type of dedication on their main page. Strange and pretty weak in my opinion.
Shame those two lost their lives needlesly. Prayers go out to their families.
RoorToken writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 9:04:10 AM

well said FBO, well said.
Clarence Worley writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 9:44:30 AM

How tragic. RIP fellow Filipino Alexis and Nina. The crime rate has gone down here in recent years (Philippines), however, there are still crimes and criminals that fall through the cracks all the time. There's just not enough funding from the government to afford the proper technology and manpower to catch these guys. It's these damned politicians sucking up all the money around. I hate that we're still a 3rd world country but what I hate more is that most of us are already resigned to let it stay that way. I guess what we'll need here is a real superhero. Hopefully, news will soon surface about the capture of these f*cks...
smokemouth writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 10:45:20 AM

Wow, Worst Previews' "apology" in this post was in appallingly bad taste. I hope the same fate befalls you.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 11:08:34 AM

f*ck you WP, your apology is not accepted, what a story to tag that note onto
triggax writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 11:32:59 AM

"But i am completely for the idea of executing criminals with machetes and plastic bags. There's always a bunch of closted sociopaths out there who would be more than willing to kill people and get paid for it."

Absolutely agree in every way. It doesn't cost a god damn thing. It doesn't cost sh*t for a bullet either. Or a rope. You can hang 15 people at the same f*cking time and its just as humane as the chair, or gassing their asses... short of a machete. What's the difference between executioners really? Whether they're hooking them up to a lethal injection unit, or they're kicking the bucket out from underneath. Are they not still burdened with the death of that person? I think that most of these guys have learned a long time ago not to give a f*ck about the people on the receiving end... How could you? You couldn't live with yourself.

"Why couldn't it have been Armond White?"

Agreed. That guys a waste of f*cking air
space..

This is extremely unfortunate and rather frightening news. Perhaps ill even lock my house a little tighter tonight. This is terrible.




rabid writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 11:45:37 AM

Harry Knowles did it.
Lordchristo writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 11:45:47 AM

I think the Editor's Note is there because Alex (Alex, right?) assumes people not familiar with this site's 'colorful' gang of comment makers would be appalled at what they saw and not come back. And then half of you proved him right.

Shame about the couple, though. A bullet still is cheap these days, so capital punishment should always go that route. Or the ever popular hanging. That never goes outta style.
timex89 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 12:25:01 PM

"Capital Punishment is the best idea in the world. It stops the guy from ever committing another crime, scares others who think about committing crimes"

What if the person is innocent?

"I agree with your points Ranger, and i feel that only people caught red handed or have 100% undeniable evidence brought against them should really have to suffer execution."

The 100% sure is rare when some innocent people have spent 25 years in jail for a crime they never committed.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:00:52 PM

Rabid, I agree. That fat f*cker probably raided the fridge afterwards and used the money from the stolen goods to buy a faster HoverRound and a full year's supply of Cheetos. Fat, Cheetos-grubing bastard.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:09:00 PM

I think the reasons Capital Punishment isn't in effect everywhere are:

1. They could bump off an innocent person. They shouldn't should only consider DNA evidence. But if a person shoots up a bar full of people and there are people that can identify him in a line-up (Tip: he's the one in the line-up holding the smoking Uzi).

2. It's a fact that CP does not deter crime (and that's a shame). And people that don't understand that, don't think like a murderous criminal.

3. As far as the executioner. Well... employing psychos to do the job... lol. I don't know how one would screen those resumes. Even with an automated system, someone has to push a button to start a clock for it to happen at some time, thus making them a murder. Then there is there (the Executioners) concern about not making it to Heaven because they themselves become murders.

4. I'm all for carnivorous pigs. Throw the 100% guilty person in a pen with meat-eating pigs. No wait... that would halt Disney's movie 'All Pigs go to Heaven!'

5. Let 'em bone Lohan. Then just wait for parts to fall off the guy.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:32:45 PM

Honestly... I zipped right over to this thread upon reading the headline, because I too hoped (seriously) that it was Perez Hilton (and it's NOT because he's gay... it's because he's an *sshole).

When someone bumps off Perez... I'll bring the beer!
thedotsays writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:38:09 PM

' I think the Editor's Note is there because Alex (Alex, right?) assumes people not familiar with this site's 'colorful' gang of comment makers would be appalled at what they saw and not come back. And then half of you proved him right. '

Naw, it was an attempt at humor, plain and simple. Very bad humor.Yes there will be posters who will make off color comments about this tragedy, but as the site owner/operator I would think Alexwould take the non-commentary road and just report the facts rather than try to make light of the situation in a very unfunny way.
As a fellow editor, the note should have paid respects to the fallen peer and offer condolences rather than basically say "Hey, don't kill me or anything you don't like on WP"

And if WP were to apologize for it's "colorful" group of comment makers, there'd be an editor's note on EVERY article.
akumavern writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:38:13 PM

Where was Uwe Boll? Someone plant some evidence and get him off the streets...
onthejon writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:45:34 PM

I found the editor's note to be quite funny actually. We all have times when our humor is pretty warped and you guys need to quit busting Alex's balls about it. Especially when you will just go and make a joke like that tomorrow.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:53:59 PM

EXACTLY!
kgoding writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:37:54 PM

I was hoping for Armond White...
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:40:50 PM

Perez Hilton has my vote! The guy makes his living on 'Freedom of Speech' then jumps all over Ms. California at the Pageant for expressing her views on same-sex marriage.

Perez - you're a double-standard living d*ck!
minkowski writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:50:37 PM

'The 100% sure is rare when some innocent people have spent 25 years in jail for a crime they never committed."

Yes, most those cases were not death row. They were life imprisonment without parole. They have no bearing on the morality, legality and ethics of capital punishment. Even if you abrogate capital punishment, the system will still imprison innocent people. Are you advocating the abolishment of life terms, as well?

Furthermore, those convicts, even if they are truly innocent, were convicted before the advent of DNA testing. DNA is slowly rendering obsolete false imprisonment. Lab technicians, using a variety of techniques, can get DNA not just from semen, but from skin-to-skin contact. So if you abraided your hand on the victims skin, a lab tech can take a sample, process it, and determine, via DNA, who last touched the victim.

In the future, DNA testing and other forensic techniques will very likely render cases of false imprisonment and false execution moot.

Not to mention this: most death row inmates have some twenty years before they're executed! They are given several rounds of appeals. Sure, in some sh*thole states like Texas, prisoners are denied a chance for a retrial just on the harsness of the penal system, and possibly for good reason.

(Texas wasn't always this strict. Read up on Kenneth McDuff to understand why exactly)

But I digress. Fifty years ago, a convicted murderer's execution date was set within a year. There were few appeals. You were convicted, sat in a jail while the papers processed, and in approximately a year, you either hung or were fried like KFC. Now, death row convicts get decades to languish at the taxpayers expense, even when they are convicted on the most convincing evidence: multiple eye witnesses, a recorded confession, surveillence video, et cetera.

Not to mention that the imposition of a death sentence is rendered and upheld in only a small percentage of cases that warrant its application. Often times, the sentence is commuted to life in prison with no parole.

I think the argument for the application of capital punishment is getting stronger, not weaker. Monsters shouldn't be allowed to live.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 3:44:22 PM

Well said Mink.
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 3:58:10 PM

that's awful. a new online magazine serial killer on the loose?
scarface85 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 6:04:52 PM

wow thats mental sickness. poor cople
scarface85 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 6:08:47 PM

minkowski, a good punishment is get them 2 jail. not a regular one but a piece of sh*tting one. one that make them suffer alot
minkowski writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 6:17:17 PM

"minkowski, a good punishment is get them 2 jail. not a regular one but a piece of sh*tting one. one that make them suffer alot"

So, you aren't in favor of swift capital punishment, but you are in favor of a lifetime of revenge through cruel and unusual punishment?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 7:38:18 PM

I KNOW NOSSING!
BondMcClane007 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:04:28 PM

sad story.. wats w/ the editors note?
m3talface writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:11:21 PM

Editor's Note: I just want to take the time to apologize to anyone who has found WorstPreviews.com in any way offensive, boring or unpleasant to the eye.

HA HA HA. Hilarious.
smokemouth writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 9:02:38 PM

"wats w/ the editors note?"

A pathetic attempt at humor, no doubt.

Funny thing is WP isn't read by enough people to get the anonymous hack who posts this garbage killed.
vwkombi writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 11:43:33 PM

I also thought the editors note was funny. Screw all you boring, double standard hypocrites. Since you all go to your houses and tell racists and tastless jokes with your friends.
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 11:43:53 PM

So there's a Priest, a Rabi, and a Mexican on a plane...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved