WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Monster from "The Host 2"

Posted: September 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Monster from "The Host 2"Submit Comment
The prequel to Bong Joon-Ho's Korean film "The Host" is currently in the works, and we now have the first shot of one of the multiple monsters from the new movie. Check out the photo below.

"The Host 2" will take place in Cheonggyecheon (or Cheonggye Stream), a creek running through the downtown of Seoul that leads to the Han River. Cheonggyecheon was covered with concrete between the 1950s and 70s to build a road, but restored in 2005. The story is set in 2003 when the restoration was at an early stage. Principal characters, such as street vendors, demolition contractors, and policemen are involved with the disorder and conflict caused by the restoration— one of which is, of course, the monsters from underground.

Bong Joon-Ho will not return to direct the prequel, which has a reported $5 million budget.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: Twitch


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mdp711 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:43:16 PM

Looks like a retarded fish with legs.
super_suck writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:51:54 PM

all fish look retarded...
Dr.G writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:28:02 PM

You both are retarded.
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:36:11 PM

Looks like the monster from the first one. Fake.
triggax writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:46:58 PM

"Looks like the monster from the first one. Fake."

Did you expect them to use a REAL walking fish monster from the sewer?.... Cause it may have been to hard to control while shooting the picture... don't you think?
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:53:44 PM

He's got a point this time- even though he usually rambles nonsense. The rendering did come out unconvincingly in several low key scenes- BUT the pivotal scenes had fantastic rendering such as the first massacre at the canal, the moment the father dies, and the finale (though the fire looked fake)...

...but the lighting on the monster in the lair and other quiet scenes was kinda pathetic in places. It was if they cheaped out on those scenes because they weren't the main showstoppers. I still loved the movie.
triggax writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:57:08 PM

Yeah.. thats good... People on this site are far too literal...

It was just a bit of sarcasm.
I thought it looked pretty good in the first one. Like you said though, there were definitely scenes that looked worse than others...

This one looks even cheaper though...
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:19:56 PM

@ triggax....i haven't seen the first...and just judging on what you said and the picture above...it makes me think of how people were trying harder...like on 'aliens'...and they didn't even need cgi...they were using their brains is what they were doing....cgi is like the dark side of the force of movies lol
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:23:35 PM

i hate it when films use too much cgi and use that stupid excuse 'we couldn't pull it off with electronic devices'....that's like seeing a remake of 'child's play' but with chuckie as a cgi doll
blinkbomber writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:34:20 PM

I enjoyed the first one... and looks as though I could enjoy this one too. Kinda cool how they wrote it to take place during that whole restoration thing.
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:59:04 PM

"Did you expect them to use a REAL walking fish monster from the sewer?.... Cause it may have been to hard to control while shooting the picture... don't you think?"

No, what I expect, in the age of hundred node renderfarms, is an image that tries to transcend either Men in Black CGI, or Doom 3 visuals rendered out on on an Nvidia 8800GTX.

Of course an image of a non-existent creature is fake, but only because what we know that what we're seeing isn't real. This is the intuitive thinking part of the brain doing its job.

The role of CGI, usually anyway, in films like The Host, is to trick the brain into silencing the rational part of our mind with convincing visual data. Like when people claim they see a ghost. Their mind's rational center rebels, and yet the eyes do not lie. The schism in the mind is a battle, and for filmmakers, CGI is supposed to be the Maxim gun in that battle.

Now, looking at that image, can you tell me that you're seeing anything else than a computer rendered image, compositied on top of a motion blurred live action plate? No, you can't. And that ruins the illusion of the monster as a central plot device and character.

Look at the lighting: for the monster, the lighting is semmingly originating from above, near the noon time zenith, yet in the live action plate, the light is more towards the foreground. Look at the monsters highlights. Do those look convincing? It's clear bright day, the sun is shining high above, and yet the highlights are over-saturated hotspots. There should be some diffusion of the light. I don't see much. Where's the subsurface scattering? And why is the road more blurred out than the background? The road has lost almost all detail, and the monsters shadow doesn't nestle into the road because there's no detail to anchor into.

So, it's a poor image IMO. I hope it's an early image. Possibly, it's not from actual footage, but a quick Photoshop composite. More than likely, they took a matted monster render and composited it into a background image, hit the background image with some 2D motion blur, and called it a day.

As for the original Host, I can't talk about it like I recall any of the scenes with clarity, unlike Prevalent Mind. I watched it three years ago, or more, and most of the details of the film are beyond my recollection. I do recall that some scenes were more convincing than others, possibly because they had two teams working on the CGI. One for the central shots, and one for the secondary or filler shots. I doubt the disparity had much to do with either the production team being lazy or a scarcity of money, but more to do with the cost analysis of being efficient and meeting a deadline.

"He's got a point this time- even though he usually rambles nonsense."

You're quite right. I'm increasingly finding WP more of a bore. It's providing diminishing stimulation and my laziness and indifference are on the rise.
triggax writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:27:12 PM

^^
I suppose it is unfortunate that unlike barry levinson, the creators of the new Host film lack in attention to detail.

Honestly though. Once again an absolutely unnecessary post. We all gathered that by looking at the image, I completely agree with you...
And as I've said before we all know how big your d*ck is now, so there's no need to hammer it home... oh so eloquently might I add....

Well maybe there is. I am rather impressed at your knowledge for pointless bullsh*t..

It looks retarded.. It does..
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:45:18 PM

That's an unused model from half life 2.

minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 10:23:14 PM

"We all gathered that by looking at the image"

I doubt that very much Triggax. Most of the people on here, judging from past threads covering almost a year, seem to know very little about CGI, other than what they see in a Pixar film. They couldn't tell you the difference between a 3D motion blur and a guassian filter.

"Once again an absolutely unnecessary post."

Was my informative post more 'absolutely unecessary' than your post telling me my post was useless? Certainly I think providing information and fodder for discussion, even if it's a demolition derby like in that insipidly whining Entourage thread, is far superior to fifty "this will suck" or "this will rock" posts, much like you see at AICN.

Everybody wants to bitch. They used to bitch when Ranger posted too much. They bitch when someone criticizes 'their' film, or when a post exceeds what they consider the sentence limit. Or when someone, like me, takes the time to actually LOOK at what was posted by Alex and THINK about what's going on in the image (or the trailer, actor quotes, movie news, et cetera). god forbid I use my brain.

So, in your opinion, Triggax, a comment thread should consist of what? Two dozen "looks like a retarded fish with wings" comments? How's that informative? How is that fodder for discussion?
triggax writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 10:29:46 PM

"So, in your opinion, Triggax, a comment thread should consist of what? Two dozen "looks like a retarded fish with wings" comments? How's that informative? How is that fodder for discussion?"

Dude.. Im just messing around. It makes for more entertaining banter for myself...

Didn't mean for you to take it so personally. I do appreciate your knowledge and your willingness to share said knowledge. So drop the seriousness buddy... Relax lets talk movies man.. thats why were here...

It was sarcasm... Im sure that, including myself absolutely nobody on here gathered all of that just by looking at the picture man..

So cheeelll Winston... Ill be sure not to send any sort of ignorance your direction in the future as I see that your belt is a little too tight friend...

This is me backing up Mink... This is me backing up.
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 10:51:06 PM

Granted, but you've got to understand that I'm used to sudden gutter fights on here, so I stay on edge.
KaloVisor writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 10:58:15 PM

wow that's really scary. seriously who is gonna wanna see something that looks like that?
triggax writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:20:55 AM

"Granted, but you've got to understand that I'm used to sudden gutter fights on here, so I stay on edge."

Understandably so...
Porter Montoya writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:34:17 AM

So, what's the plot? The monster takes a road trip?
I honestly thought that the less you saw of the monster in the first film, the better it was. Broad daylight is an awful place for a poor looking CGI image such as this. If they couldn't scrape up more money to make this sequel then they should have left the creature in the shadows.
Charlie9 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:58:46 AM

The shadow completely doesn't fit, just like minkowski's ego on this site
minkowski writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:05:02 AM

Minkowski: Do not try and view my ego. That's impossible. Instead... only try to realize the truth.

Charlie9: What truth?

Minkowski: There is no ego.

Charlie9 : There is no ego?

Minkowski: Then you'll see, that it is not the ego that offends, it is only yourself.
minkowski writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:09:59 AM

"So, what's the plot? The monster takes a road trip?
I honestly thought that the less you saw of the monster in the first film, the better it was. Broad daylight is an awful place for a poor looking CGI image such as this. If they couldn't scrape up more money to make this sequel then they should have left the creature in the shadows."

Looks like just a demonstration of concept shot, and not necessarily anything from the actual film. I don't know anything about Korean botany, but there's a fifty-fifty chance those trees are not indigenous to the Korean peninsula.
Charlie9 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:29:45 AM

Wait, don't tell me..just wait a sec....The Matrix. Brilliant! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Charlie9 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:32:57 AM

Sorry Mink, sometimes I enjoy what you say, and other times you annoy the f*ck out of me. No offense. I haven't even seen the first one, is it worth it? It's in Tarantino's top 20, that probably doesn't mean sh*t tho, he's also got Dogville in there.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 3:17:21 AM

haha....interesting posts....anyway...i gotta say...we all get a little heated here and there...but it's fun to make up for it...i gotta relax more...i miss being a kid when i was much happier...but man some people are really really dumb...and i'm talking about the people that produce stupid unfitting and unnecessary sequels and remakes...their heads are so far up their ass beyond pulling back out lol
lawman writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 11:34:53 AM

Jesus Christ Minkowski, What the f*ck do you do all day that you have time to post novels on here? I find most of them entertaining but holy sh*t man, you have to be a self made millionaire to have that much f*cking time. Good for you!
lawman writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 11:40:01 AM

Hey mink, Not to be an ass but the knowledge and study of trees is Dendrology not botany. Just thought you would want to know.
lawman writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 11:40:39 AM

.....Dont know I knew that. sh*t I gotta get out more!
BlueJulias writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:24:20 PM

10 years ago this kind of rendering on-screen would have been state-of-the-art and immensely expensive (e.g. Men in Black)and now it is ridiculed mercilesslyfor its lack of realism. Moore's Law is awesome.
eddie499 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 4:10:03 PM

This movie doesn't make any sense. A prequel in this case completely negates the continuity with the first movie.

The events of the original indicated that there had never been any contact with this monster before. By making a prequel, you're establishing that there was contact that occurred prior to the events of the first, which would mean that the people would/should have been prepared for monsters to jump out of the Han, thus preventing those events.

Damn...even foreign film makers will do anything for a buck.
BREALZ writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 7:58:18 PM

i smell a lawsuit coming from the creators of hellboy. looks exactly the same.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved