WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Anchorman" Sequel in Two Years?

Posted: September 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Anchorman" Sequel in Two Years?Submit Comment
MTV News caught up with director Adam McKay to find out if there is any movement on the "Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy" sequel. "We have an idea, we love it, we've talked to the cast and they all love it," he said. "It's all about the scheduling now."

One idea that been kicked around by McKay and producer Judd Apatow is to bring back the characters a decade after the events of the first film. "We're kinda playing with that a little bit," said McKay. "I can't quite comment on that. But yeah, we're goofing with that."

At this point McKay and Will Ferrell are working on "The Other Guy," which is currently filming. "We're doing this movie, so that knocks us to another year from now," McKay said of when "Anchorman 2" will start filming. "Maybe we'll start writing the script during post-production on this. Movies take awhile, so probably the closest you would ever see it happening is two years from now. But we are definitely doing it. It's just a matter of when, and scheduling."

McKay wouldn't reveal any story details, but had the following to say: "All I can tell you is I know it's going to be a letdown. Always, the first one's the big one. So, we've taken that into account, and we're trying to do an extra crazy idea. That's all I can tell you."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:35:26 PM

two years i got till i hang myself i guess.
mdp711 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:35:57 PM

Isn't it going to be in 3D like the rest of the crap coming out??
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:38:33 PM

If it's in 3D there'll probably be another boner seen. And then he'll say don't act like you're not impressed. And then it will suck really bad.

An extra crazy idea? Ugh...
jjjjjoey writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:50:40 PM

They can take all the time they need. This movies has to be as funny as possible. Dorthy Mantooth is a saint!
october_midnight writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:02:25 PM

Why is it that every time there's an update of like 5 new stories, the same moronic idiots feel compelled to post an idiotic 'this is gonna suck boohoo' comment in EVERY DAMN ONE? Ugh, this place is turning in to AICN.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:14:04 PM

Sky rockets in flight! Afternoon delight!!
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:23:22 PM

What Baxter...you ate a whole wheel of cheese...and you pooped in the refrigerator...I'm not even mad, I'm impressed!!!
triggax writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:33:08 PM

Im game... That sounds spectacular... I'd watch paul rudd with a mustache do pretty much anything.

I enjoy pretty much everything Adam McKay does.. hes f*cking wonderful... Step Brothers was the funniest movie ever...

I hope they use Rob Riggle if they make a new one... He's so awesome... and loud.
ian_918 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:10:13 PM

Hell yeah dude im so siked for this! Adam Mckay is the only director that can make a funny as hell PG-13 and R. Talladega nights, Step brothers. To this day i still quote both movies lol.
acslaterson writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:24:56 PM

Mr. Burgandy, you have a massive erection.

Hahaha, this will be awesome. Favorite movie to fall asleep to when drunk ever! And if you disagree I will punch you right in the babymaker!

Seriously, I am glad they are making this. Especially with how well Rudd and Carrell's careers have been I am glad no one is having a huge ego about coming back. Good times!
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:17:33 PM

By far, Will Ferrell's best film is the one where he avoids pandering to the comedy-demanding demographic, drops his often misguided attempts at humorous body gestures and witless lines of profuse inanity, and plays the only role he can play with any level of convincing conviction: himself. And he did that, for the most part, in the film Stranger than Fiction.

On the other hand, I conceded the possibility that the real Ferrell is the lackluster comedian he almost always portrays, and his role in Stranger than Fiction was forced with great resolve, restraint and determination. Either way, that film led him to his best role yet. To slide back down the evolutionary pole and revisit 'The Anchorman' is a poor career decision.
triggax writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:32:22 PM

Correction.

Land of the Lost was a poor career decision.

If anything, the f*cker needs another hit under his belt sooner than later.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:53:03 PM

This movie will be the title of the poster 7 posts above this one.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:53:19 PM

i mean 6*
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 10:00:10 PM

"Land of the Lost was a poor career decision."

Very true. That was will Ferrell hitting his filmographic bottom. It was like he dived into a half-filled swimming pool, face first. You could almost hear his teeth scraping cement.

(Recall the sound effects in that particularly nasty scene in American History X.)

I would have to guess, after his latest cinematic truck bomb, Ferrell's trying to rebound by revisiting a film that helped give him something of a fan base.

In the end, though, by reprising his role for an Anchorman sequel, he's just stalling the inevitable while circling the drain.

And I do admit, at this point in his rather brazenly lackluster career, anything would temporarily forestall total obscurity. Certainly, nabbing a role where he can show the audience either some genuine humor or growth as an actor is a far better choice than gasping and grabbing for the ropes, which is what I see him doing by taking on an Anchorman sequel.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 10:03:44 PM

I pooped a hammer!
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 10:32:37 PM

^^That's probably because you're always getting nailed.
Lowryder writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 11:42:11 PM

this will be epic, nuff said
Lowryder writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 11:43:39 PM

@minkowski, LMAO, buuuuurn
Osiris3eagle writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 12:42:29 AM

They should have Chad Smith, drummer of the Chili Peppers, play Ron Burgundy.
Porter Montoya writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:50:21 AM

Stranger than fiction was a great role for him, and I really haven't given a damn about anything he's done since.

I worry when actors feel the need to revisit a character like this only five years later. It reminds me of what happened to Nicholas Cage after his brief string of better than average films --Adaptation, the Weatherman, Lord of War-- before turning into the poster boy for bad career choices, ie National Treasure 1 and 2.

It's not that I dislike Ferrell, it's just that he's proving that he really only has one gear as an actor. Not that branching out is always beneficial, however--Robin Williams playing villains didn't seem to please his fans and did little to win over critics or skeptics. I just think that Ferrell could try his hand at something more challenging than rehashing, essentially, his role as Alex Trebek from SNL.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 4:19:39 AM

'LOUD NOISES!!'
Clarence Worley writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 4:58:01 AM

'They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time it works, every time.'
dandythelion writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 5:19:10 AM

anchor man is an incredibly overrated movie. i didn't like it very much but i'd be interested ins eeing what they do with a sequel.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 7:40:14 AM

Keep talking Mink- we all know you're the most sexually repressed fag in here. You spend all day on the site, so unless your mom is blowing you under your desk in the basement while you constantly rant like a 40 Year Old Virgin with the rest of the unsexed nerds, we're all pretty sure the only kind of sex you see is the self inflicted kind when you and Ranger get each other off talking dirty to each other. Then Spooky c*ms in and butters ya off.

One "You guys are hilarious..." comment and Mink strokes for three hours while hitting F5.
entropyMUSE writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:38:18 AM

f*ckING ZING, GOOD SIR! ... Now all we need is a healthy dose of "Yo Mama" jokes thrown on the fire ... * sits back on his trusty sun lounger ... aaaand GO!
thedotsays writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:52:25 AM

I'm sure he's going to get a hefty check for this sh*t bomb, so I can't knock his hustle.

And wow, there are some seriously emotional folks on here. It's seriously getting lame.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 9:02:28 AM

As long as they bring back the Sex Panther it can't fail. 90% of the time it works everytime.
The-BRAD writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 10:41:23 AM

"BEAR FIGHT"
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 11:02:16 AM

McKay even says he knows its gonna be a letdown. Then dont make the sequel! The first Anchorman is great and it totally fine by itself, just leave it alone.
timex89 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 11:38:43 AM

"All I can tell you is I know it's going to be a letdown."

Yup. You can tell that to Michael Bay's TF2. You put in the action, but you forgot to put THE story ya idiot!
lawman writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 12:06:54 PM

I think it will be GREAT. Wonderful story...Compelling and rich!
lostwarrior writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 6:32:02 PM

the main reason why the 1st was a success wasnt because of Will Ferrell, he didnt do anything new like he did with stranger with fiction. It was the supporting cast, they all had great timing. Right down to vince vaughn, fred willardI(pretty much anything this guy is in is f*cking awesome, film wise) tim robbins, and honestly he was the best part of high fedility if you ask me. But it was not Will, honestly he was just the lead character, but his acting was not the reason why this was successful.. and honestly the jokes and improve were perfect... will they capture it again, most likely not, but with the same supporting cast involved and hopefully a few others because its a sequel, this will be good entertainment.......
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 2:45:27 AM

"Maybe don't wear a bra next time..." lmao, EPIC!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved