WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stan Lee Comments on Disney/Marvel Deal

Posted: September 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stan Lee Comments on Disney/Marvel DealSubmit Comment
It was recently announced that Disney is in the middle of acquiring Marvel Entertainment for $4 billion. Fans have been both excited and disappointed by the deal, and now legendary Marvel creator Stan Lee has joined in on the conversation.

"I couldn't be happier with this agreement," said Lee. "It's [a] great move for Disney, for Marvel and for my company Pow! Entertainment since Pow! has a first-look deal with Disney. From every point of view, the merger of Disney and Marvel is a match made in heaven."

He continued: "Just imagine, with this deal Marvel gives Disney a library of literally hundreds of unique and colorful characters that have the potential to make great, high-concept movies and long-lasting franchises—and nobody knows how to play in that ball park better than Disney."

"This is a great day for the two companies and for the entertainment community as a whole. To sum it up as simply as possible, when you combine the best with the best, everyone wins!
"

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 75 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:33:56 PM

i pray all the marvel movies arent made for a younger audience...bo-urns
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:41:28 PM

Am I the only one that wouldn't mind seeing Pixar take a crack at an Avengers movie? Or oooo maybe a Runaways movie? Considering how awesome Incredibles was I'm sure they could do it.
jjjjjoey writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:44:22 PM

Hopefully Disney will slow down the output of marvel movies.
rzmsauce writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:45:49 PM

The only way this could work is if they use the Disney Pixar brand to create animated verisons for younger audiences, and yet somewhat entertaining for adults, but market the rest under the touchstone name and keep things more mature, "I dont want to say dark" but more adult themed such as the last superhero movies we have been treated to.

|Anyway keep your fingers crossed or were f*cked!
vip3r22 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:48:09 PM

I wouldn't be surprised to see Disney/Pixar bring some of these characters back to television as cartoon series. Either that or start making the DVD animated movies.
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:02:14 PM

@rzm - why would Disney market Marvel movies under Touchstone, when they now own Marvel? Why wouldn't Disney just market Marvel movies under Marvel Entertainment the way Marvel has been doing?

Disney isn't absorbing Marvel. They're BUYING Marvel. It'll be a stand alone Co. with the marketing machine of Disney behind it.

Stan Lee said it very clear and well (pretty much the same stuff I posted on WP here yesterday). This is win-win for everyone... even the fans (because Marvel has been a clusterf*ck for decades now). Hollywood has made Marvel (again) what it was these past few years... it wasn't Marvel.
skatemaster62 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:05:10 PM

I just don't want them making them more family friendly. They need to just let marvel do there thing
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:09:03 PM

They will SM... trust me.

Disney knows what they have now with Marvel.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:18:08 PM

This f*cking makes me hate Disney even more...
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:29:26 PM

Okay I'm really tired of people saying Disney is going to turn Marvel into kiddy family friendly stuff. Where's the reasoning? Why would they? Do you know how many adult/violent movies they've produced with their other companies? Disney knows what sells, and that's synonymous with giving the fans what they want (idealy and to an extent). Don't cry over something that hasn't, and with current evidence, won't.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:01:59 PM

I wouldnt say its good for the entertainment crowd who wants their superheroes as intense as the most violent comic depictions...

...but hey Stan- It's great for you. Add another dollar to the money clip. Ya might as well sell these concepts and enjoy the money before we're on this site giving you RIPs.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:05:01 PM

But Scrooge- yeah sure they could release through Hollywood Pictures or something like Buena Vista Entertainment...

BUT- this is a company that goes for the widest demographic out there...so if you dont think a lot of interesting concepts could be watered down to cash in big as a family friendly film, you have way too much faith in big business.

Disney never got rich, expanded, and stayed immensely rich by catering to mature adults. Fact.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:06:06 PM

Although we're bound to get some awesome f*cking rides at DisneyLand with this merger.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:13:53 PM

like i said before....we finally get to see those cheesy costumes that actually LOOK like in the comics....something that 20th century fox never had the balls to do with certain important x-men characters...and just because disney owns marvel...doesn't mean all marvel comics will be made into disney films...i needed time to think that over...and stan's right too...many other marvel comics were not even getting eyeballed because stupid executives felt they never had a chance or any potential...well they got one now...some executives really suck
acslaterson writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:38:41 PM

I don't know why everyone is freaking out, WB didnt neuter DC creatively, why would Disney do it to Marvel? If they were smart they would let Marvel do there thing. Movie wise? Pixar for the PG releases and Marvel Studios for the PG-13, Marvel MAX for the R Rated stuff.

You have to think about this, I heard that Disney is losing all of the rights to characters that Walt came up by himself in 5 or 6 years(I have no reference, I just read it yesterday on a thread). If that is true Mickey, Goofy, etc. might be in jeporady so Marvel needs bankable characters that they own the rights to. This deal with Marvel has accomplished that. 10 years when all of the characters have been consolidated under the Marvel/Disney banner for live action movies everyone will sing a different tune. Fingers crossed for a Moon Knight live action from Marel MAX!!!
acslaterson writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:06:57 PM

Sorry for the type-o's, had a few beers for the World Tour of Beers.
nope.com writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:07:54 PM

It's been suspected but Stan Lee's senile dementia has gotten the best of him I'm afraid
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:18:16 PM

@ acslaterson....what??...disney is gonna lose rights to characters that walt created?...f*cking a, i hope that is not true...walt would be tossing and turning in his grave...maybe he'll come out as a zombie and eat these rich *ssholes' brains for being so stupid
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:36:51 PM

God damnit, do you guys really think Disney will try to pussify Marvels movies? You guys have to be crazy. Yeah, Iron Man will only shoot bibles at the bad guys in the next one and will begin the movie by telling children the dangers of drugs. They own Dimension, Dreamworks, and Touchstone pictures. You know what recent comic book movie Dimension put out? Oh yeah, it was the kid friendly Sin City. They can release them from any of those studios. Calm down, guys. I highly doubt Disney would try to influence the comic book division at all. They aren't that stupid. The biggest change will be the f*ck-load of merchandising they will do with the characters. Ranger, Scrooge McDuck and others have the idea.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:49:16 PM

"I couldn't be happier with marvel selling out," said Lee. "It's [a] great move for Disney, for Marvel and for me since I get a lot of money in royalties from Disney. From every point of view, the merger of Disney and Marvel is a match made in heaven. Except for fans!"

There, I made a few corrections
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:51:17 PM

"why would Disney do it to Marvel?"

because disney is a f*cking kids thing. Unless all the marvel movies are made through Touchstone (which is owned by disney), these movies will suck big ol' nuggets! We'll be seeing disney stars play upcoming superheroes and whatnot! CAPTAIN AMERICA WILL BE LISTENING TO THE JONAS BROTHERS.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 10:00:01 PM

See you guys are generalizing us...Whatever Disney makes is usually entertaining, BUT live actions are usually a hit or miss.

Disney hasn't HAD any properties like this, so you cant give them heat like Fox who have had the chance to butcher.

But there IS a reason why Pixar left Disney and its because execs were just as much a bunch of *ssholes to them as Fox was to ALL their directors. They wanted Toy Story 2 to be driect to DVD and Pixar had to fight all the way until mid production for a theatrical release.

Even when Pixar comes out with a coproduction with Disney they make sure they're distinguished as a separate entity so the suits didnt have control. This is FACT.

So its not hate- or disappointment...but Marvel should have went for a similar deal as Pixar's because we could just have an over saturation of material with some Marvel comics being adapted well and others that get dumped directly to DVD without their full due.

I just liked how Marvel was pacing themselves and building...not saying these movies will suck.
acslaterson writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 10:17:40 PM

http://articles.latimes.com/2008/aug/22/business/fi-mickey22

This is the closest reference I found to what I have stated above, seems extremely flimsy though...
scarface85 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 11:08:25 PM

oh God this is a mistake... this world is coming to an end
Lowryder writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 11:38:17 PM

@scrooge McDuck...yes u are the only one, nobody wants to see little kid action superhero movies okay, and i seen ur a donald duck fan or w/e and im sure ur like 10 years old but still, ur the only one
wow92 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:16:00 AM

marvel movies is probably now just gonna for kids and take all the good stuff out of the movies also STAN LEE IS JUST A TOOL!!!
onthejon writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:30:30 AM

Honestly, Marvel will always be first and foremost a COMICS group. I love comic books, they are a great form of literature and I hope it continues into the foreseeable future. Let Disney make all the movies they want, that will keep the comic industry thriving.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:35:54 AM

@wow - Good post... except...

Stan Lee is a genius.

NONE of the Marvel Comics, Cartoons or Movies would exist were it not for him (and Kirby and Ditko - add two more 'tools' to your list).
entropyMUSE writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:08:10 AM

DEADPOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL ... Who else wants to see a f*cked up scarred cancer face Ryan Reynolds ?
bacci40 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:43:41 AM

will this old f*cker die already?
Sonic writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 7:03:27 AM

Bad idea because i'm hoping to see 18 rated marvel movies.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 10:53:23 AM

Just make sure the Marvel movies are better than they have been and I will be content
rabid writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 11:52:57 AM

This is the best thing that could ever happen to Marvel.
priello writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 12:30:51 PM

I don't understand how everyone would think Pixar would make movies for Marvel. Pixar is it's own company and makes only movies that they develop in-house. Making a movie using Marvel's characters doesn't sound like something they would do, looking at the history of Pixar.
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 12:45:35 PM

after that interview he cashed his gigantic check
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:12:26 PM

Yep! And well-deserved too.
eddie499 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 3:41:48 PM

Think of all the money that will be pumped into Marvel Animation now. Pixar + Marvel Characters = A potential for awesome that no person can truly understand.
japaninmotion writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 5:24:52 PM

just with out looking at the pic or knowing who stan the man is you can tell that he is pre internet everything he says is so possitive
Ranger writes:
on September 3rd, 2009 at 1:19:52 AM

Exactly.
Black_Jack writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 2:51:26 AM

Yeah, but Lee can't speak against Marvel.

He never has, he never will.
cosplay writes:
on August 3rd, 2010 at 2:52:56 AM

Am I the only one that wouldn't mind seeing Pixar take a crack at an Avengers movie? Or oooo maybe a Runaways movie? Considering how awesome Incredibles was I'm sure they could do it.

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=14904#ixzz0vWVgrZdi
japan.comp234 writes:
on January 17th, 2017 at 2:37:57 AM

I read that Post and got it fine and useful. logo design services
japan.comp234 writes:
on January 21st, 2017 at 9:01:08 AM

howdy, your websites are really good. I appreciate your work. Hero Instinct
Inwood writes:
on January 21st, 2017 at 3:24:17 PM

Wonderful saying

- buyinstfollowers
japan.comp234 writes:
on January 26th, 2017 at 1:46:55 PM

An intriguing dialog is cost remark. I feel that it is best to compose more on this matter, it may not be a forbidden point however for the most part people are insufficient to chat on such subjects. To the following. Here's to you. His Secret Obsession
Robinjack writes:
on January 27th, 2017 at 12:29:08 PM

Thank you for another great article. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a perfect way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such information. How to Make Yourself Pee
japan.comp234 writes:
on January 28th, 2017 at 6:17:06 AM

Extraordinary post, and awesome site. A debt of gratitude is in order for the data!
Obsession Phrases
japan.comp234 writes:
on January 31st, 2017 at 2:38:23 AM

I can set up my new idea from this post. It gives in depth information. Thanks for this valuable information for all,.. blog
japan.comp234 writes:
on January 31st, 2017 at 4:39:28 AM

Super-Duper site! I am Loving it!! Will come back again, Im taking your feed also, Thanks. credit report gov
japan.comp234 writes:
on February 1st, 2017 at 7:49:44 AM

This is a smart blog. I mean it. You have so much knowledge about this issue, and so much passion. You also know how to make people rally behind it, obviously from the responses. Las Vegas Concerts in March
japan.comp234 writes:
on February 2nd, 2017 at 11:01:23 AM

Truly an extraordinary expansion. I have perused this magnificent post. A debt of gratitude is in order for sharing data about it. I truly like that. Much appreciated so parcel for your meet. chaturbate hack token generator xbox live customer support
japan.comp234 writes:
on February 7th, 2017 at 4:31:13 AM

That gives off an impression of being brilliant anyway i am still not very beyond any doubt that I like it. At any rate will look significantly more into it and choose by and by! importation business
japan.comp234 writes:
on February 8th, 2017 at 8:43:07 AM

Someone Sometimes with visits your blog regularly and recommended it in my experience to read as well. The way of writing is excellent and also the content is top-notch. Thanks for that insight you provide the readers! houston search engine optimization submission 
japan.comp234 writes:
on February 11th, 2017 at 7:26:12 AM

I can see that you are a specialist at your field! I am propelling a site soon, and your data will be exceptionally valuable for me.. A debt of gratitude is in order for all your assistance and wishing all of you the accomplishment in your business. free trial
japan.comp234 writes:
on February 16th, 2017 at 4:18:44 AM

I as of late went over your online journal and have been perusing along. I thought I would leave my first remark. I don't realize what to say with the exception of that I have appreciated perusing. Decent blog. I will continue going to this online journal frequently. premier one payments
Robinjack writes:
on February 16th, 2017 at 11:37:52 AM

I felt exceptionally cheerful while perusing this site. This was truly extremely instructive site for me. I truly loved it. This was truly a welcoming post. Much appreciated!. Questions to Ask a Guy
japan.comp234 writes:
on February 17th, 2017 at 4:42:00 AM

If you don't mind share more like that. Download Xender Apk
japan.comp234 writes:
on February 18th, 2017 at 9:03:36 AM

I went over this site and I trust you have a ton of brilliant data, spared to my bookmarks download sb game hacker apk
japan.comp234 writes:
on February 22nd, 2017 at 3:10:46 AM

Decent to peruse your article! I am anticipating sharing your undertakings and encounters. local internet marketing company
japan.comp234 writes:
on February 23rd, 2017 at 5:03:19 AM

Impressive web site, Distinguished feedback that I can tackle. Im moving forward and may apply to my current job as a pet sitter, which is very enjoyable, but I need to additional expand. Regards. download vidmate
Robinjack writes:
on February 24th, 2017 at 1:30:25 PM

I read your website as often as possible and I just thought I'd say keep up the astonishing work! Make Women Want You
Robinjack writes:
on February 26th, 2017 at 12:58:32 PM

Yes i am completely concurred with this article and i simply need say this article is exceptionally pleasant and extremely instructive article.I will make a point to be perusing your blog more. You made a decent point however I can't resist the urge to ponder, shouldn't something be said about the other side? !!!!!!THANKS!!!!!! Language of Desire
Robinjack writes:
on February 28th, 2017 at 12:14:05 PM

These are some incredible instruments that i certainly use for SEO work. This is an incredible rundown to use later on.. beirut escort
japan.comp234 writes:
on March 8th, 2017 at 1:49:32 AM

This blog is so nice to me. I will keep on coming here again and again. Visit my link as well.. voyance en direct
japan.comp234 writes:
on March 8th, 2017 at 3:03:11 AM

i love reading this article so beautiful!!great job! minecraft accessories netflix login account
japan.comp234 writes:
on March 26th, 2017 at 4:32:16 AM

I just found this blog and have high hopes for it to continue. Keep up the great work, its hard to find good ones. I have added to my favorites. Thank You. Sweden organisations
japan.comp234 writes:
on March 28th, 2017 at 6:34:55 PM

I just found this blog and have high hopes for it to continue. Keep up the great work, its hard to find good ones. I have added to my favorites. Thank You. Cuba trade directory
japan.comp234 writes:
on March 31st, 2017 at 10:51:17 PM

I just found this blog and have high hopes for it to continue. Keep up the great work, its hard to find good ones. I have added to my favorites. Thank You. top attractions to Mauritius
japan.comp234 writes:
on April 1st, 2017 at 4:03:18 PM

I just found this blog and have high hopes for it to continue. Keep up the great work, its hard to find good ones. I have added to my favorites. Thank You. travel Tanzania
japan.comp234 writes:
on April 6th, 2017 at 5:47:34 PM

Really a great addition. I have read this marvelous post. Thanks for sharing information about it. I really like that. Thanks so lot for your convene. etosha game reserve
Alberta writes:
on April 7th, 2017 at 1:38:29 AM

I am hoping the same best effort from you in the future as well. In fact your creative writing skills has inspired me. www.cleanenergyco.com.au
japan.comp234 writes:
on April 9th, 2017 at 7:22:35 PM

very interesting keep posting. career advice
japan.comp234 writes:
on April 30th, 2017 at 7:35:11 AM

Positive site, where did u come up with the information on this posting? I'm pleased I discovered it though, ill be checking back soon to find out what additional posts you include. animals in Okavango Delta
holder writes:
on May 3rd, 2017 at 8:09:01 AM

Thanks for a wonderful share. Your article has proved your hard work and experience you have got in this field. Brilliant .i love it reading.
women's designer sandals
Skylar Marcus writes:
on May 14th, 2017 at 4:18:31 AM

Thanks for a wonderful share. Your article has proved your hard work and experience you have got in this field. Brilliant .i love it reading. best vacate cleaning melbourne

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved