WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Fantastic Four" Reboot is Greenlit

Posted: September 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Fantastic Four" Reboot is GreenlitSubmit Comment
Disney might have acquired Marvel Entertainment, but it will honor the contracts Marvel has with third-party studios. That works out great for 20th Century Fox, because the studio has now announced that it is moving forward with a reboot of "Fantastic Four."

Michael Green, the executive producer of TV's "Heroes" and writer of "Green Lantern," will pen the script for the new "Fantastic Four." Fox did not disclose any other details.

Last we heard, Fox is looking to start the franchise from scratch and will not bring back any of the stars of the first two, poorly-reviewed films. The studio is planning to go in a "less bubble gum" direction, but not be as dark as "The Dark Knight." More like "Iron Man," as far as action, humor and tone.

Back in April, Vin Diesel revealed that he would love to play a villain like Doctor Doom in the "Fantastic Four" reboot.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Lowryder writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:52:59 AM

omg, im sick of these reboots, especially since the second movie came out like what 4 years ago? and already a reboot? just make a damn sequel or maybe a prequel if u have to
nope.com writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:56:48 AM

Vin Diesel can play Silver Surfer... who should have no lines which would be perfect for him

Since it's Fox my expectations are low... Transformers 2 low
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 3:03:02 AM

Well that was fast. Leave it to FOX to f*ck up a franchise like the Fantastic Four, not once, but twice, and then decide, oops, it needs a reboot. Idiots. They have to be the most incompetent film studio in the world, right after Destination Films.

"Back in April, Vin Diesel revealed that he would love to play a villain like Doctor Doom in the "Fantastic Four" reboot. "

Yeah, well, see, here's the deal chromedome. They're trying to make series BETTER. They aren't trying to churn out another turd like Babylon AD. I mean, sure, a steel hood makes you look better, but we can still hear you talking.

So, well, you might want to stick to beating the XXX and Fast and Furious 'franchises' to death.

I mean, hey, there's always a Pacifier 2 in your future, you poor man's retarded Telly Savalas. Just find a film that only requires grunting, and you'll have an easy paycheck.
dandythelion writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 3:24:49 AM

THIS NEEDED TO BE DONE. but unfortunatly i don't think a serious, reallly goog F4 movie could ever be made
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 3:44:45 AM

"THIS NEEDED TO BE DONE"

Um really? This needs to just go away.
VDODSON writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 4:44:10 AM

Its about time! The first two I wanted to like so much, but dissapointment and shame followed after the release. This is a great story, but it was cheesier than the cancelled show Mutant X. Yes, I would suck the farts out of Jessica Alba's butt, but she should not be in this movie.
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 4:47:44 AM

Tim Story f*cked the thing up. when the guy behind Taxi directs movies like that.
vwkombi writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 4:59:25 AM

Mink, i'm going to take a major leap here, but i disagree with you. For two reasons:

- It wasn't Vins fault that Babylon A.D sucked, once again it was Fox interfering.

- Vin is pretty soild, just look at him in Pitch Black. He just never did anything that could show what a good actor he really is.

I guess that's what he gets for the poor career choices.
johnny_boy writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 5:04:40 AM

reboot huh? the only way a reboot would work is if marvel got back the rights and did it their way,much like how they did with the hulk.i dont know. FF just seems too corny,plus it consists of too much science, which will confuse alot of teens considering how dumb they are now. FF might have been cool back in the days,but now its just done.
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 5:06:04 AM

I know, vkwombi, but I just wanted to slap him around a bit. He deserves that much just for ever THINKING about starring in The Pacifier.

The sad thing is, he's one of the last action hero's we have, so it's kinda lame when he does sh*t films.
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 5:09:33 AM

"I guess that's what he gets for the poor career choices."

Wellllll, let's face it, be honest, the guy doesn't have leading man looks, and he doesn't have much a range. I'm not saying he's either unattractive or a bad actor, but in Hollywood, those two deficiences can seriously hinder a male actor's career. He's good at what he does, when he does it and when he's allowed to do it. Unfortunately, for some anyway, what he is good at hasn't been in high demand recently, and by recently, I mean the last ten years.
vwkombi writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 5:21:23 AM

Yes, it is kind of sad that all the great potential action stars are only put in sh*t (Statham, Diesal. To a lesser extent The Rock and Stone Cold).
japaninmotion writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 5:29:20 AM

I liked the actors who played jonny storm and the thing and doom ....but the stories were just awful. the fight betweeen doom in the first was lame and over in 5 minutes...and how can you show galactus as a giant cloud...He si the eater of worlds not the engulfer of them
Ted Mosby writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 5:44:12 AM

Fox will never learn...
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 5:48:30 AM

Yeah, I'm definitely a fan of Statham. And unlike most, not because of Guy Ritchie. He's a great action actor, and he seems eminently likeable. Hopefully he'll finally get some justice with Stallone's Expendables. I just hope Sly doesn't f*ck it up.
Sonic writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:27:44 AM

I hope the Thing is CGI.
RepoMan20 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 8:41:44 AM

Studios should get yellow cards for rebooting films they did less than 5 years ago
WeThePeople writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 9:55:22 AM

Did they really need Favreau to figure out that there are more tones than bubblegum and dark. Even if it is done well, I don't think I can sit through the exploration of the standard issues of the F4. How many times can we be expected to watch Ben deal with his appearance?!
HAL writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 10:29:02 AM

I like pasta. I really like pasta. I don't want pasta over and over every night. FF has been done. Twice. Regardless of the quality (and we can debate that ad infinitum), didn't we just eat this pasta? Next course please...maybe a nice steak, please.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 10:55:11 AM

I never really minded the first 2 films. The F4 were just as quirky in the comics as they were in the movies. The casting was right on and Doctor Doom character was pretty cool. Why the f*ck are they rebooting it? They can't really expect to get that much more from this just by changing the cast.

@Mink: I gave up on Vin a long time ago. The guy must have the worst agent in Hollywood considering his career started with great roles in Saving Private Ryan, Boiler Room, and Pitch Black, and now he's still doing crappy XXX and F&F movies. He'll never get back to doing any real acting.
WV-Films writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 11:35:04 AM

Can't they just sequel this thing with Galactus? Make it a tight trilogy. I mean yes it's cheesy, but we're already 2 in the hole. It's just way too soon to start from scratch.
tcu21 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 11:44:05 AM

Just let Edward Norton rewrite the script for this reboot too.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 11:54:47 AM

changing the cast isn't the source of the problem...the problem is that studios never listen to fans....so like i said one time before...they'll either learn the easy or the hard way...and it'll be the hard way if this reboot sucks more so than the last two
c-prime writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:09:14 PM

I couldn't care less if Vin Diesel were to star. To me, the Fantastic 4 is such a lame adventure saga anyway that I doubt his inclusion could cause anymore damage than what's already been wreaked. Hell, he might even be the spark that's need to boost these films to a caliber of decency. You make some good points about Diesel, vwkombi and minkowski. I, too, wish I could appreciate him more as an actor, but the persuasive haze of stiff barroom drinks and glittery, coke-fiend strippers has made him too content to say "no" to a crappy screenplay. His roles in "Pitch Black", "Saving Private Ryan", and even the forgettable "A Man Apart" show some amount of range, but I get sidetracked. He's been laying it heavy on the trash for quite some time now. I often forget that he was once a very in-demand star and showed promise to a lot of Hollywood filmmakers. Minkowski, your "good at what he does" comment reminded me of a quote from Wolverine that really feels applicable to Diesel's situation (not just 'cause this is a Marvel thread): "I'm the best there is at what I do, but what I do isn't very nice."

"They're [FOX] trying to make series BETTER. They aren't trying to churn out another turd like Babylon AD."

Also, Minkowski, I don't really think the studio cares whether or not the new flick is an improvement on the Tim Story ones. Regardless of whether its a total dud or a redemption from the bowels of festering inadequacy, it's still gonna get asses in seats. To say FOX is concerned with making a better ANYTHING (in terms of quality, not box office performance) is a gross miscalculation (e.g., the follow-up to "The Last Stand" and staggeringly clichéd, cinematic abortion that is "X-Men Origins: Wolverine"). Plus, having never really cared about the cast of characters in The Fantastic 4, I don't really think it can be elevated above the drabness and mediocrity of its past incarnations, not just in film but in every medium (TV and comics).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:10:26 PM

You know what? If a franchise sucks, the reboot is going to suck too.

Hulk was sh*t, the incredible hulk was basically a sh*tty sequel.
Lt. Mike Harrigan writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:10:27 PM

Greedy little bastards!
gitrmnky7 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:36:25 PM

Its ridiculous how much money studios have wasted on completely terrible comic book movies. Honestly the first two fantastic four's where two of the worst movies i have EVER seen. So it makes sense to try it again. Oh wait it doesn't.
gitrmnky7 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:38:31 PM

And Vin Diesel should just stick to XXX movies. The world needs a lot more of Xander Cage. hahahahha. Its gonna be tough for him to top himself in Saving Private Ryan.
acslaterson writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:43:25 PM

Can we get an actual blonde to play Sue Storm now? I bet they cast Beyonce though, haha. Skrulls maybe? Or Namor and the Atlantis?
n/a writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 1:02:03 PM

I think Fox olny has the Super Skrull... not all of them.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 1:08:50 PM

i think it's sad that some of those old people who got to live long enough to see fantastic 4 get made into a movie were nothing more than disappointed, only to die before they made it better...so yea f*ck you 20th century fox
NatG83 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 1:57:55 PM

I hope they keep Chris Evans for Johnny Storm. I think Chris nailed that role.

With Marvel being acquired by Disney, they'll probably have the guy who voices Mickey voice the Thing.

I might be alone on this, but I'd like to see Clive Owen for Doctor Doom. Probably a bit early to star making suggestions.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:06:59 PM

Wow, great post C-Prime. You seem to be one of the smart posters who we need to hear more of. Oh, get a cool avatar, pronto. Again, great post. *Golf claps*
Jedimax writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:26:12 PM

why don't they ever understand! A) once you mess up once, its hard to get us to embrace something again...please take in mind there was like an 8 year difference between batman and robin with batman begins, not like a couple years after silver surfer.

AND sometimes the material is just broken. Have they thought for one second that maybe fantastic four is just to silly in general to make a good movie out of. I cannot even imagine a fantastic four that could have the cynicism of iron man.
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:26:49 PM

The Silver Surfer was not the enemy to go with. He's invincible. He can fly through suns. Fly faster than the speed of light... etc. The FF were no match for him. And the battle between FF and SS in FF comics 48-50 was a hell of a lot more interesting.

@sonic - you're right - The Thing should be CG because he's the size of the Hulk in the comics.

@nat - I think Chris Evans did nail The Human Torch as well.

@c-prime - you're right. They don't care if this reboot is any good. Ass's in the seats is all that matter.

@acslaterson - I agree. Namor for the villain.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:35:12 PM

I liked Chris Evans as the Human Torch... that's about it. Then again I know jack sh*t about Fantastic Four (not much of a Marvel guy, besides Spiderman) so his interpretation could have been horrid (compared to the comics) for all I know.
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:37:12 PM

No he was good. And the FF are good. Just the movies sucked are aren't representing them better.
c-prime writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 3:03:59 PM

Thanks a lot, DoucheNozzle. I really appreciate it, man. And I will try to find a good avatar this week.

And though I detested the "Fantastic 4" movie, I will give major props to Michael Chiklis for trying to overcome the wretched material he was given. He was, hands down, the best actor, in those joints and should, rightfully, be asked to return (if the studio knows what's good for 'em). I see lots of support for Chris Evans, but I haven't heard any approval of "The Chik Magnet"? Show Vic Mackey some love, you guys! C'mon!
KirkLazerus writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 3:16:50 PM

i think they are gonna reboot Avatar after it comes out, f*cking reboots
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 3:24:22 PM

They should just accept the fact that they failed with this franchise. It could have and should have been a huge success and been dealt with more carefully, i liked the first one when i saw it in theaters but upon a second viewing realized how painfully childish it was. The sequel was horrendous, cant hold a candle to the first one (which is saying something). A reboot is unnecessary, they should just come to terms with their failure and move on. If a reboot should ever be attempted, it shouldnt be for another few years, the film franchise is only 5 years old or something. As for Vin Diesel playing Doctor Doom, that would be awful he just doesnt fit at all.
dlrippr writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 3:27:47 PM

Way too soon for a re-boot, but, there is potential with this story, if done right it could be a cool movie. But why re-do this so fast, there is a 100 marvel comics stories to tell, pick a different one. Maybe re-boot DD, that could have been way better. Or punisher, damn it why cant they make one solid punisher movie!!??

Wait.... disney owns Marvel? Is this for real, can somebody please give me a little more info on this?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 3:37:17 PM

@dlrppr: Agreed, a reboot of the DD franchise is more necessary than a reboot of the FF. Ghost Rider needs to be redone as well, both of those films were awful, worse than the FF by far. Unfortunately, I dont agree with your statement about the Punisher. I thought the first Punisher was solid, very entertaining, brutal, and captured a good performance by Thomas Jane. Sure it wasnt perfect, but its one of the better Marvel films. The sequel though...well thats a different story.

And yes, Marvel is being bought by Disney for $4 billion. Theres a story about it here on WP.
triggax writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 5:00:16 PM

I think the most appropriate reboot would come in the form of a Ghost Rider reboot.. If someone made it and took it seriously it could be extremely f*cking hardcore awesome..

Both Fantastic 4 films accomplished exactly what they should have, they were eye f*cking spectacles, that were not only campy and full of sh*t they were sappy and full of horrible acting.....

What's the difference between that and the comics?

Regardless of what they did with the films most or all of the characters in the Fantastic 4 comics dealt with their own sh*t in other franchises.. does anyone really care that galactus was a giant cloud? Eventually a Silver Surfer film will be made and I hope that will do justice to the particular story.. But C-Prime said it all too well the F4 series has always been lame.. Its as bad as spiderman was..

As for Vin Diesel... He's good enough.. The pacifier sucked but, can you really blame the guy... Disney was just padding his bank account.. As much as I hate to say it there isn't a lot the Diesels done that I dont, on some level enjoy.. whether its all of the ridd*ck garbage or The Fast and furious series.. its all mind numbing and he does ever so often throw a role out thats worthy of mentioning... A Man Apart, decent, Pitch Black he was excellent.. Knockaround Guys he was great.. What about Find Me Guilty? Did anyone see that.. he was fantastic..

Either way... I see no need to reboot the franchise, they both made money and they were both about as much as you would hope to be able to get out of a fantastic 4... anything.
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 5:56:05 PM

What about Vin in Saving Private Ryan?
OneTime writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:34:48 PM

they f*cked this franchise up...GIVE UP
triggax writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:49:48 PM

He was f*cking terrible in SPR...

Just Cause.
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:03:43 AM

I didn't think he was around long enough in that movie to f*ck anything up... lol.
triggax writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:24:13 AM

True... How about that Matt Damon though HUH?

What a character that guy is. Private Ryan... Good Will Hunting.. Is there anything he can't do?
bacci40 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 2:52:46 AM

oh please...rothman hates the comic book related movies...he just wants another crack at effing with the fans...can we get that filipino mob to go after rothman?
Eben1277 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 6:26:28 AM

Find Me Guilty was f*cking awesome. I can even get past the bad toupee. Every movie fan needs to see this movie, it's just a great movie... they especially have to see it if they want to trash Diesels abilities. Career choices... yes, ability, no.
Kill-the-director writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 7:42:08 AM

i liked the fantastic four movies. why bother rebooting/remaking them.
Eben1277 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 8:30:40 AM

@Ranger: You're totally on point about Silver Surfer being too out of their league for a villain. This is a guy who is on a level with Superman. If they give him a standalone, I just hope it's a huge cosmic epic and not some Superman-esque romance sh*t with Norrin Radd and Shalla Bal, which is exactly the stupid sh*t Hollywood is known for.

FF Villain should be Doom or Namor, f*ck even the Mole Man would be tolerable, as long as it's done right. And if they do Doom again, we need to have the real Doom (basically Eastern European Iron Man, only smarter, with the added ability to perform feats of mysticism) not a cosmic radiation powered Doom. That was bullsh*t. I understand certain liberties need to be taken when converting a comic to a movie, but there was nothing un-cinematic about the real Doom origin, and it's just plain better than the gay one they threw in the movie.
watchman writes:
on September 4th, 2009 at 10:23:20 PM

dude the thing was what ruined the movies..he was worst the basterd child of league of extrodinary gentlemen and guy who writes music for holleywood undead
Black_Jack writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 2:53:17 AM

DAMMIT! But it was FOX that f*cked up FF in the first place!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved