WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro on "The Hobbit" Rumors

Posted: August 31st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro on "The Hobbit" RumorsSubmit Comment
For the past month, we have been discussing the many rumors that are circling "The Hobbit" films. Reports have suggested that both Peter Jackson and director Guillermo del Toro have been thinking about going 3-D, and that Tom Cruise's trip to New Zealand to meet with Jackson suggests that he is considering the role of Bilbo Baggins.

Del Toro has now taken some time to comment on TheOneRing.net boards to clarify what's really been going on. And according to him, all those rumors are completely untrue.

He explains: "As a co-writer and director of this film (who works with the design teams, costume teams, creature teams, VFX teams every day of the week), let me be very clear one more time: we are not talking about 3D, we are NOT writing the screenplay for 3D right now - we are hiring my DoP Guillermo Navarro to shoot the film and we are not discussing 3D with him either or with WETA digital or WB or anyone else."

Del Toro added that he may, however, consider 3-D in the future: "If after AVATAR the market may change and demands are put upon us, etc that is in the future. But if such things happen and we start discussing 3D down the line, I'll let it be know here at TORN because that's the proper way of doing things. But make no mistake- I've been living in NZ for almost a year now and we have not been discussing 3D."

And regarding the casting rumors: "Neither David Tennant nor Tom Cruise are Bilbo and we are not redesigning Gollum."

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: TheOneRing.net


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:38:24 PM

maybe it's time for these two to take a damn shower once in a while.. their dirtiness forces me to wipe off my screen
IRONDAN writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:41:02 PM

they do look like the richest hobos ever... the picture just needs Michael Moore to be complet
mdp711 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:42:28 PM

STOP with the 3D sh*t already!! I don't know about anyone else, but most theaters in southern Florida don't even offer the 3D experience.
FBO writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:47:09 PM

Those damn 3D glasses make my eyes hurt something terrible.
swoooop writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:15:07 PM

Hahaha, the little scientologist as Bilbo? Sorry for laughing at a mans religion, or inn this case "religion", but I have a go at any man or womans religion if the core value of their beliefs is "join us, or f*ck of" or inn Toms case, "pay us, shutt up, or WE f*ck your life up"
AP102390 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 7:20:01 PM

thank god... no tom cruise as bilbo is good news.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:46:08 PM

screw 3d!...stupid hollywood in a desperate economy desperately forcing the 3d thinking that people prefer that over 2d...i think that sh*t seriously f*cks up your eyes....especially if you wear glasses or contacts...and they're thinking the general audiences really buys this sh*t??...i mean buying as in it's the best fad to ever happen in the history of hollywood?? haha...somebody fire these idiots in hollywood please?...they obviously don't know what they're fiddling with...pissing the public off doesn't make better money...because they only appeal to young crowds mostly...somebody has been tea-bagging hollywood for too long
minkowski writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 11:35:59 PM

The title should've read: Two Hobos making a Hobbit.

"Neither David Tennant nor Tom Cruise are Bilbo and we are not redesigning Gollum."

Yeah, I agree, you should leave the design alone, but additionally, I'd suggest you rework the CGI significantly. Gollum's initial appearance in the Two Towers was and is terrible work. Hopefully, WETA has matured in the past four or five years.

c-prime writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:53:23 AM

How can Tom Cruise not be playing a hobbit? He's the perfect size for one!
FBO writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 1:35:59 AM

Maybe Tom Cruise will be the voice for Gollum. Notice, he didn't say; "We are not changing Gollum." He said; "...We are not redesigning Gollum." I am just saying, it's a possibility
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:45:46 AM

I think Tom Cruise would be better suited playing the role of E.T. in any remake of that film. That way, he can get paid for his role AND conform to Scientology.
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 4:41:09 AM

I like how they are sitting on their thumbs waiting for Avatar to be a hit so they can use 3D and make billions.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:08:09 PM

"If after AVATAR the market may change and demands are put upon us, etc that is in the future."

Don't worry, I can assure you that nothing will change
Eben1277 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 7:00:53 AM

@C-Prime: Well said! I was about to say (and now I'm saying it anyway)... Tom Cruise could play Bilbo without a stand in or any kind of forced perspective.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved