WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney to Acquire Marvel for $4 Billion

Posted: August 31st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney to Acquire Marvel for $4 BillionSubmit Comment
The Walt Disney Company has announced that it will acquire Marvel Entertainment in a stock and cash transaction worth $4 billion by the end of the year.

"This transaction combines Marvel's strong global brand and world-renowned library of characters including Iron Man, Spider-Man, X-Men, Captain America, Fantastic Four and Thor with Disney's creative skills, unparalleled global portfolio of entertainment properties, and a business structure that maximizes the value of creative properties across multiple platforms and territories," said Robert A. Iger, President and Chief Executive Officer of The Walt Disney Company.

Under the Deal:

* Disney will honor Marvel's third-party deals with 20th Century Fox (X-Men, Fantastic Four), Sony (Spider-Man) and Paramount (Hulk, Thor, Captain America, Iron Man), but will eventually look to bring those characters in-house. It was stated that Paramount's deal includes five films, which means that there will be one more after "The Avengers."

* Disney has acquire over 5,000 Marvel characters that will be overseen by Marvel CEO Ike Perlmutter.

* Marvel characters will show up in Disney's video games, online content and television, but there are currently no plans to include them in Disney theme parks.

* Pixar's John Lasseter met with Marvel last week about a possible team-up between Marvel and Pixar. "The group got pretty excited pretty fast," Iger said.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 119 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
autiger10 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:23:10 PM

holy sh*t. that sucks
Lister writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:23:30 PM

No...
secondbest writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:24:26 PM

* Pixar's John Lasseter met with Marvel last week about a possible team-up between Marvel and Pixar. "The group got pretty excited pretty fast," Iger said.

Meh.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:26:38 PM

Miley Cyrus is... Wonder Woman! *Comic book fans slit wrists*
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:28:04 PM

Nic Jonas is... Captain America! *Comic book fans slit throats*
BigUnit writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:28:28 PM

i dont know about this
nope.com writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:34:53 PM

lol if you thought Xmen Origins was tame... wait till you see the next one

Captain Jack Sparrow vs. Cyclops, who will win?
WV-Films writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:35:26 PM

So what happens to the spider-man ride at Universal Studios?
nope.com writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:35:43 PM

lol and people thought Fox was having atight hold on Marvel characters
BrandoFresh writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:37:04 PM

I'm ok with this but they better not f*ck anything up.
ian_918 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:37:12 PM

oh f*ck me sideways. this is about the dumbest sh*t ive ever heard of. iron man will now be rated G along with spider man fantasic 4. etc. i will stick my head in a meat grinder before i go see this sh*t now.
swoooop writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:39:32 PM

Does this mean that all future Marvel based movies will be non violent? Or will the Hulk get Mickey ears? Or will Spiderman start to speak with a Donald Duck voice?

This suck asssss form this universe, to the next.
nope.com writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:41:34 PM

BrandoFresh I'm afraid the days where we have great stories based on realism is about to end.

I've been teetering in which brand was better in terms of quality stories in the past year and now this pushes me to fully join the DC side and canceling subs for Marvel.
Even with Batman dead at least I don't have to read kiddie friendly stories.

Dc's 'Blackest Night', best story in comics currently
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:42:39 PM

They sold out already? WOW Marvel...you'll be kicking yourselves in due time.
renzzoe writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:43:35 PM

I don't get it. Marvel was doing just fine on their own. Why bring Disney into the mix...
Lowryder writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:44:41 PM

omg no!!! now we are gonna start seeing G rated superhero movies! spiderman 4 will probably be rated G, and so will iron man 3!!!! ahhhhh what is the world coming to?!?
SACdaddy writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:45:17 PM

Marvel-Pixar could be very interesting. The Incredibles was a great superhero platform. The right Marvel characters and stories might look good in this animated format. Better than that Ultimate Avengers sh*tty animation anyway.
IRONDAN writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:45:18 PM

all this means is we may bet some sweet pixar Marvel strait to Davd movies

The comics will stay the same and the Movies will still be the violent they will just put out with the touchstone banner like other action movies like The Rock
swoooop writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:49:26 PM

"The comics will stay the same and the Movies will still be the violent they will just put out with the touchstone banner like other action movies like The Rock"

Yes, you are of course right Irondan....I hope.
FBO writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:54:16 PM

BAD IDEA, BAD BAD IDEA. No Bueno. Marvel pull out, Pull out like a sobering man would when he realized he was in Lindsey Lohan. Pull Out.
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:56:39 PM

(acquire should be acquired Alex...yes?).

I'm glad to read this.

Disney is a marketing genius Co.

Marvel bankrupted themselves in the past, and only started to produce themselves with Iron Man.

This may not be all bad folks! And Disney sure has the $'s to throw behind their budgets!

SACdaddy writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:57:13 PM

So Marvel literally Sold Out to the mouse. What happened all that hype about their new found independence and all the great possibilities that could arise from complete creative control? All this deal adds up to is a lot more asses for Marvel to kiss every time it wants to take a piss.
FBO writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:59:35 PM

I really don't want to hate comic book movies
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:59:37 PM

I'm pretty sure there are some bailing with golden parachutes on this deal.

TRUEMAN writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:03:57 PM

OMG the economic crysis is f*cking the industries DiE Disney diE!
lostwarrior writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:09:06 PM

@ranger your right on about the budget factor but what about the story line and character developement.... thats what im pissed about...
KHRIS writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:17:14 PM

I agree with IRONDAN. Nothing will change except maybe the money that gets put into the movies. This could be a great thing. I doubt Disney would mess with things much. This isnt bad news at all. :)
bale01289 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:20:39 PM

I don't think we have too much to worry about. Disney is smart enough to make all the fanboys happy. Comics won't change to the point of turning its main consumers away, and to be honest, Ranger is right about Marvel going in and out of financial trouble. Smart move for them. Now they can buy their happiness and say f*ck all the fans! Kudos to them! Just keep the movies half way decent, since only half of them are worth a sh*t!
KirkLazerus writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:33:01 PM

yesssss more MONEYYYYY for Disney, cant wait to see X-Men and Mickey look for Pluto in theaters, it may work Disney knows how to make money
Strider23 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:33:53 PM

Alright well that certainly is some terrible news why would marvel do this for 4 bil?
unbeleivable and ridiculas they could make twice as much in a year if they put there minds to it
KirkLazerus writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:35:00 PM

"Miley Cyrus is... Wonder Woman! *Comic book fans slit wrists*"

DoucheNozzle Wonder Woman is DC duh
Nimzabaat writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:40:11 PM

I was just thinking of starting a petiton to get X Men out of the hands of 20th Century Fox... but not like this, not like this...
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:42:51 PM

No sh*t Douche (re: your Wonder Woman comment). You into my felt pens Bro?!

@LW - I'm pretty positive Disney will keep the key brains of Marvel in the purchase. Feige there is the only 1 I've seen (at Marvel altogether) with some cohesive thinking... to just bring The Avengers together alone. Buying a Co. doesn't mean canning all the staff. I actually (so far) like the idea of Disney buying Marvel. And as someone has already posted, all the Marvel people can take their cash, get out of the business that quite honestly, Marvel hasn't been that good at... ONLY since Iron Man have they truly gotten into the game. Look at the billions they have lost licensing out their characters!

So despite Marvel having an unstoppable juggernaut that were Lee's, Kirby and Ditko's characters. It has still pretty much been run by the same bad decision-making types that ran it into the ground before (with the exception of Feige).

So good on Disney.

Marvel... f*ck you!

Lohan... you're a c*nt!

Have a nice day!
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:43:27 PM

@Nim - nice Matrix quote... lol.
c-prime writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:45:41 PM

I wish I shared your optimism about this, Ranger. However, I'm just not eager to see a potential bastardized hybrid of "X-Men" and "The Mickey Mouse Club" anytime soon. We shall see what the future holds, I guess.
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:51:42 PM

Well... we now know Marvel will never go bankrupt.

And we see that Disney see's more of a future for Marvel than even Marvel does.

But I couldn't agree more. Let's see what we'll see.

dandythelion writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:58:44 PM

disney isn't incapable of making good films. Pirates of the Carribean was disney so is miramax, wich means Clerks, Reservoir Dogs,The Crow, Pulp Fiction, and Dogma are disney too.
RepoMan20 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 6:59:32 PM

Mickey Mouse is now an avenger, Jaffar vs Doctor Strange, The little mermaid vs the sub mariner, Howard the duck meets donald duck, Mulan vs the mandarin, Wolverine vs bambi
Gumps Waal writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 7:06:53 PM

The Mouse will prob f*ck this up. Casting Sigourney Weaver as Wolverine covered in raw red hamburger meat.

Totally irrelevant but whatev...
johnny_boy writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 7:08:33 PM

this is not good.august 31, 2009, the beginning of the end for marvel. had such high hopes for marvel since they became their own independent studios. now disneys gonna be on their asses when they make movies to tone down the violence and adult content.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 7:17:06 PM

who wants to bet that in marvels comics now, we're gonna see that whore hanna montana or those queers jonas bros.just like eminem was in a punisher comic.its true,real money talks.guess marvel already lost their way and thoughts of fans who of course wont like this. guess they'd rather sell out to make money rather than working for it.
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 7:23:36 PM

i really dont know what to say to this article....i mean im glad they will have the money backup to budget there films....but on the other hand im worried they will make there comic story lines more "family friendly" and making there movies all with pixar, i mean seriously Disney over uses them "up" "cars" "toy story" "nemo" exct. i would rather see live action films
LegacyAR writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 7:24:55 PM

I don't know why everyone is so pissed about this. Think about it. Disney has the money to buy X-Men and Fantastic Four back from Fox so those dumbasses can't screw anything else up for us Marvel fans as well as Spider-Man from Sony. They will not start putting mickey mouse in any marvel sh*t. Don't worry about that. Disney knows what they are doing. They're not dumb. They will leave Marvel do what they've been doing except Marvel will now have a lot more money to help out!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 7:35:39 PM

they just f*cked up pretty bad... goddamn it! I have a really bad f*cking feeling about this sh*t! In these days Disney f*ckin sucks! If I hear a rumor about Miley Cirus or Jonas Brothers or whatever those f*ckin morons being in any Marvel Movie pretty much says they f*cked up!
AP102390 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:01:48 PM

god dammit, they better not put mickey in the iron man suit or some sh*t like that.
kevo10183 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:02:38 PM

I bet DC comics is loving this sh*t
OneTime writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:05:15 PM

this is terrible... :(
padfootbob writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:08:16 PM

Since they're all going to be in the same company from now on, does that mean that Spider-Man could actually be in The Avengers??
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:16:45 PM

Wow, did I say Wonder Woman? Damn, time to lay off the blow. Now, a Miley Cyrus Dazzler movie would be the tits (heavy sarcasm).
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:19:00 PM

Maybe, just maybe Disney will do the right thing and actually not change the characters to tone it down to a kid freidnly level.

I DONT WANT TO SEE A PG or G COMIC BOOK FILM WITH ZAC EFFRON, VANESSA HUDGENS OR f*ckING MILEY CYRUS!!!!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:19:32 PM

I can't f*ckin' believe I said Wonder Woman. I guess my name fits.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:35:16 PM

all i can say is DO NOT forget about original fans...you know, the ones that actually still give a sh*t about staying true to source material...and then i'll be fine...but if these people from disney f*ck that up and can't get the more important comics done right, well, even walt himself would say these people have no imagination...but in all honesty...i think there should be two different types of comic movies for each good one...a kiddy version, and an adult version....and by adult i mean everything and anything shown in the comics....it really pisses me off when they add in a bunch of unnecessary sh*t especially when it has nothing to do with the comics...like fads, as in tobey maguire's hair in spiderman 3
johnny_boy writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:03:57 PM

well said synthetic
hope they will let marvel at least do their own thing. i really don't want to see something pathetic like Avengers Musical.
Burdman writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:14:17 PM

Hey this might not be too bad. Not only does Disney have loads of cash they own Miramax Films and No country for old men was rated PG. The one thing Disney is good at is Marketing and getting paid. If they leave some of the original peices in place things should turn out ok.
Burdman writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:15:19 PM

LOL No country for old men wasnt rated Pg was what I meant to say...
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:22:32 PM

@Douche - LOL!

FOLKS!

Disney is buying Marvel because... ugh!

They're NOT going to make Marvel into Disney. They're brighter than that. In fact the people at Disney are a hell of a lot brighter than the people at Marvel that RAN IT INTO THE GROUND! Hollywood AND Marvel's characters made Marvel what it is today, NOT it's management.

Disney isn't going to mess with a winning formula.

Look... Spielberg owns WB Animation. And you didn't see f*cking Bugs Bunny in f*cking Saving Private Ryan did you?! SHEESH!

I think this is a savvy buy for Disney (they can produce and market like no one's business), and the Marvel folk knew they were over their head, so they sell out and retire. How great is that?!

Let's give Mickey and the gang a kick at this cat. If they f*ck up... we'll be the FIRST ON THE INTERNET... RIGHT HERE BUDDIES BASHING THE sh*t OUTTA 'EM!
Aido4258 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:26:18 PM

f*ck NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Burdman writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:41:07 PM

Ranger is 100% right Disney didnt get to where they are running sh*t into the ground. Marvel was just starting to come out of its hole and make good movies and Disney knows what sells and they wont f*ck up their Check. They just paid 4 billion and they didnt do that to throw a pg on every marvel movie. They know the superhero movies are blowing up and they are just looking to make a good buy and put out good movies for you and them.
Foxyllama5 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:47:12 PM

....................... No effing way....... this sucks....why!!!!! why does disney have to take Marvel???? i really hope they don't make some rated G super hero crap! i really hope they don't F this up!
Foxyllama5 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:49:32 PM

I really hope you're right Ranger.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:54:50 PM

yea i agree Ranger...i'll give them a chance...after all, disney IS NOT 20th century fox...aside from that, i really didn't know disney owned miramax....i mean i didn't realize it till now since like years and years ago...holy sh*t! lol...so f*ck yea i'll give disney a chance...besides...whether or not all 3 pirates of the carribean was good or not, they were the most graphic thing disney has ever shown since...and first time ever to use pg-13 ratings...so i'll definitely give them a chance...walt built disney from the ground up...and i don't think his successors will disappoint in any way shape or form like fox does....it's not disney's fault that some people don't like miley cyrus or zac efron or vanessa hudgens....whatever...there's still talent out there and there's still great things to offer...there's just way to many people in these companies with money on their mind instead of passion
bacci40 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 10:03:59 PM

the only think i hope to see come out of this, is disney destroying fox and wresting their control of ff and xmen

but i will blow my brains out at the fist crossover pr bit with the jonas bros and spidey
Gumps Waal writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 10:07:30 PM

soon all heros AND villains are mandated to wear "purity rings" in Marvel movies.
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 10:10:44 PM

@bacci - lol.

To others... thx.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 10:17:32 PM

also, until disney f*cks it up...then i'll complain...but right now...they have better respect from me at the moment...superman 1 and 2 was only pg and look how great that was compared to other superman films...disney and pixar are lately the only companies that make anything huge on g or pg films on a regular basis...it's been that way for decades for disney anyway...and for their first few times in pg-13 ratings....that's pretty intense too...i think they'll leave other companies like miramax and others to do any R rated films because that's the way of disney and i respect them for never changing that since then....so let's be fair here...people at disney haven't ruined anything in marvel yet, so give them a chance...i don't think anything in marvel comics is really necessary to be R-rated for the sake of staying true to source material...and disney is perfect to pull that off...but that's just me...i think people know what they're doing at disney...they got lots of peoples' eyes on them and i'm sure they're very aware of that...i just got shocked when i heard this...but now that i've had time to think it over...all we can really do is just see what happens....so either way i'll still give them a chance...it's better than seeing 20th century fox change a bunch of silly stuff...besides...with disney involved, we got another grand wish granted....lots of characters looks would ACTUALLY look like in the comics...you know, the cheesy ones that we still love????...bring on the fun disney!!...just don't use miley cyrus or zac efron or people that depend on good looks for acting
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 10:21:08 PM

i don't mind if they use miley or whoever...but i do mind them using stars like that on a regular basis for mainstream flicks and not giving other people a chance....this gives many characters in marvel that chance to people i hope
cbpv writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 10:39:30 PM

It's a sad day. I grew up loving Marvel and disliking Disney. sh*t happens!!!!
Burdman writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 10:51:20 PM

Im not a Disney fan for most things. I tend not to like kids movies that much but there are occasions where ive sit through a Disney film and they havent been bad, there just not my taste. Again ill say Disney knows how to market to the people. And they might promote spidey with the jonas bros or miley but it wont be for movies it will be a seperate market when it comes to that. They know these superhero movies are the "IN" thing right now and they know how to make something successful usually without having to rebuild from the ground up.
If the people at marvel who know what there doing stay in place then Disney should only be able to help make these movies even better to turn profits.
Im not saying that I think all marvel movies will benifit from Disney. The source material is there and if its followed im saying that the mins and MONEY at Disney can only help.
Burdman writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 10:53:27 PM

*sorry minds and MONEY.
japaninmotion writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 10:56:32 PM

what a joke...lets see how long this turns into crap
Burdman writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 11:02:04 PM

If they did have to cross promote in movies tho i wouldnt mind
The Punisher vs Jonas Brothers...
minkowski writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 11:23:31 PM

I wonder if they'll retain Marvel as a label, or use Touchstone or Miramax, or another label. Certainly doesn't rule out R -rated comic flicks. And they do have some deep pockets. Better than getting bought by WB, or *shudders* FOX. And other than trash like Race to Witch, a film that didn't do well at the BO, even with adjusted for foreign revenues, I don't see Disney having a heavy hand. I AM worried that Disney's business practices will corrupt Marvel's, just when Marvel was starting to get the hang on selling their intellectual property. Seeing some of the influence Disney is applying to Pixar, leaves me with mixed feelings. It's a somewaht bittersweet deal, but, mostly sweet for everyone involved.
minkowski writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 11:24:02 PM

Now they just need to buy DC. I'd love to see some good crossover films.
minkowski writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 11:28:47 PM

"And other than trash like Race to Witch, a film that didn't do well at the BO, even with adjusted for foreign revenues, I don't see Disney putting out many rockbottom awful films. They've done well in that respect. So the quality of Marvel films should remain the same or increase."
Ranger writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 11:37:28 PM

@Mink - the way DC is f*cking things up... I'm sure their sale isn't that far away, and it sure as hell won't be anywhere near $4Bil.
KaloVisor writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 11:47:11 PM

Okay at first I was freaked out by it to. Marvel being bought by Disney??! what could be worse will be seeing nothing but G & PG Marvel films from now on! but then after thinking about it it gave me time to, well think.

Disney Knows how to Advertise and they've got money lots and lots of it which means bigger budget films, and possibly more.

Potc was PG-13 and regardless if it was good or not(the first was The other 2 were okay), it wouldn't be a stretch for them to make some PG-13 Marvel films, also they own Touchstone and Miramax and they release PG-13 and R all the time.

with one company own all marvel martial the possibilities are endless for merging superheroes story together no more dividers to X-Men and Avengers and why start over just pick up where marvel left off (on the good stuff anyway)

but if Disney is retarded and Does only make G and PG films and isn't true to the source martial, reboots all of the already existing films. adds Hannah Montana, and the Jonas Brothers and makes Pixer animations with Marvel. well okay a marvel animated Pixar film could be really awesome just so they don't make them all like that. they will not last long but that is very unlikely there's one thing they love and that is money and most of Disney films are actually not half bad. but if it did that than well at least we have Iron Man 2, Thor Captain America and The Avengers to look forward too. (and Hopefully Deadpool and Spider-man 4)

I think Marvel Probably knows what they're doing and they wouldn't hand it over to just anyone, I hope. so at best Marvel films could be Incredible and
and make things possible that marvel fans have only dreamed of, and not intefier too much, just make them even better.

at Worst Spider-Girl Rated G Staring Miley Cyrus
KaloVisor writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 11:47:48 PM

Okay at first I was freaked out by it to. Marvel being bought by Disney??! what could be worse will be seeing nothing but G & PG Marvel films from now on! but then after thinking about it it gave me time to, well think.

Disney Knows how to Advertise and they've got money lots and lots of it which means bigger budget films, and possibly more.

Potc was PG-13 and regardless if it was good or not(the first was The other 2 were okay), it wouldn't be a stretch for them to make some PG-13 Marvel films, also they own Touchstone and Miramax and they release PG-13 and R all the time.

with one company own all marvel martial the possibilities are endless for merging superheroes story together no more dividers to X-Men and Avengers and why start over just pick up where marvel left off (on the good stuff anyway)

but if Disney is retarded and Does only make G and PG films and isn't true to the source martial, reboots all of the already existing films. adds Hannah Montana, and the Jonas Brothers and makes Pixer animations with Marvel. well okay a marvel animated Pixar film could be really awesome just so they don't make them all like that. they will not last long but that is very unlikely there's one thing they love and that is money and most of Disney films are actually not half bad. but if it did that than well at least we have Iron Man 2, Thor Captain America and The Avengers to look forward too. (and Hopefully Deadpool and Spider-man 4)

I think Marvel Probably knows what they're doing and they wouldn't hand it over to just anyone, I hope. so at best Marvel films could be Incredible and
and make things possible that marvel fans have only dreamed of, and not intefier too much, just make them even better.

at Worst Spider-Girl Rated G Staring Miley Cyrus.
Horsemoney5 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 11:53:38 PM

Kingdom hearts three will now be epic with the xmen!!!!
minkowski writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 11:55:26 PM

"@Mink - the way DC is f*cking things up... I'm sure their sale isn't that far away, and it sure as hell won't be anywhere near $4Bil."

Unfortunately, DC isn't nearly as tightly packaged and coherent as Marvel. Marvel's a carton of jumbo eggs, ready to be sold, DC's an egged SUV stranded on the interstate.
Ravethebutcher writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 11:55:43 PM

f*cking shoot me.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:10:54 AM

If anyone should have an opinion on this it's me. I'm fine with it. You know Disney released Kill Bill, Sin City and Pulp Fiction, right? They won't cut down any Marvel films to make them less violent. Disney likes money a whole lot, so why fix something that isn't broke?
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:18:52 AM

Well, if Stan Lee thinks it's a swell deal, who are any of you to argue? And some of you guys are proably nutting off sooner than the situation allows:

"There will be some lag before Marvel’s trove of characters are fully developed at Disney, because of licensing deals Marvel has with other studios.

For example, Sony Corp.’s Columbia Pictures is developing the next three “Spider-Man” sequels, starting with “Spider-Man 4” set for a May 2011 release. News Corp.’s 20th Century Fox has the long-term movie rights to the “X-Men,” “Fantastic Four,” “Silver Surfer” and “Daredevil” franchises.

Both studios maintain those rights in perpetuity unless they fail to make more movies.

Separately, Viacom Inc.’s Paramount Pictures has a five-picture distribution deal for Marvel-made movies, the first of which will be “Iron Man 2,” set for release next May. Paramount said it expects to continue working with Marvel and Disney."
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:22:42 AM

And when I say why fix something that isn't broke I mean the good movies (Iron Man, Hulk, etc.) Wolverine and Fantastic Four are broke as f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:23:30 AM

And you know Isaac Perlmutter, Marvel CEO, is going to bank his ass off with this deal. He owns almost forty percent of Marvel, and with shareholders receiving almost fifty dollars per Marvel share, yeah, he's going to bank big f*cking time.
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:25:36 AM

"Wolverine and Fantastic Four are broke as f*ck."

Yeah, well, look at who owns the rights. Don't f*cking blame Marvel. I mean, FOX could and would f*ck up a Rupert Murdoch biopic.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 12:55:09 AM

Don't put words in my mouth I didn't blame Marvel I blame who made them. All I'm saying is if Disney wants to take a crack at making those better then by all means.
skatemaster62 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 1:12:21 AM

@Ranger..buddy you are my best friend when im in doubts about sh*t i read your coments and i have a faith again so thank you bro
murphyslaw93 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 1:12:49 AM

A company that turned out a minor number of successes in comparison to its number of complete bombs (in regards to quality and relation to its source material). Maybe being bought by Disney won't be the worst thing that could happen...Disney disappoints a lot less than Marvel
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 1:21:05 AM

"Don't put words in my mouth"

I didn't 'put words in your mouth'. It was a rhetorical statement. I'd hope to think you could see that. I wasn't even speaking directly to you, instead using your comment to reply to a wider audience.

"All I'm saying is if Disney wants to take a crack at making those better then by all means."

If you had read, you'd see that not only will Disney not be making theatrical Marvel films any time soon, no more than Disney currently makes theatrical Pixar films, but OTHER studios still have rights to make several more Marvel films.

So you're not going to see a direct Disney-made theatrical film for probably another fifteen years. If then.

And the word is 'broken, not broke. Hillbillies use the word broke when instead they mean broken. Capiche?
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:09:46 AM

@skate - that's very nice of you... thank you.

There's always a silver lining (unless we're talking about Lohan).
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:12:02 AM

Let's not forget the merchandising machine that is Disney. They're going to make back their $4bil on Superhero toys, McDonald's drinking cups... ANYthing. In only a few years, this $4bil will be back in their pockets.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:19:33 AM

well peace out marvel comics its been fun, i think the superhero movies need to start declining anyway...

and we still got DC, which I've always preferred, honestly Batman B/TDK and Watchmen, are far superior to any marvel series. I also really enjoyed Constantine (Depite Keanu, but thats a good universe) and V for Vendetta.

I think most of the better comic movies coming are gonna be Dark Horse, etc anyway.
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:23:45 AM

Hasbro still owns the rights to a number of highly lucrative toy lines. It seesm this merger won't mean much for the consumer for a number of years.

"and we still got DC, which I've always preferred, honestly Batman B/TDK and Watchmen, are far superior to any marvel series."

To true. Batman f*cking rocks. Kicks the ass off any Marvel character anyday.


skatemaster62 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:25:05 AM

hahaha i have to say i agree with the lohan(yes i know i didnt capitalize the last name...but lets face it its a matter of restpect but seriously who wants to respect a slut-bag-whore who is covered in houndreds of vd's) i just hope they dont lose there contract with hasbro toys for the action figures, because they do pretty well with them, with the exception of the action figures for X-Men Origons: Wolverine. i didnt like how small they made them considering the 12 inch figures for Iorn Man, Spiderman 1,2, and 3, X-Men 1, 2, and 3, The Incredible Hulk. but ill give Disney a shot.
skatemaster62 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:32:25 AM

im acctually a fan of both dc and marvel, and i never really understood why a lot of people took sides? i mean the characters are meant to be enjoyed
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:33:01 AM

"i just hope they dont lose there contract with hasbro toys for the action figures"

Hasbro's 2006 contract with Marvel runs for five years. The contract began January 1, 2007 and expires January 1, 2012. I don't think it's an exclusive license, but I'm not sure. Even if it is, I think Disney will be ok until then.

I mean, hell, they'll have some eleven, twelve months to make and sell toys, until the world ends.
skatemaster62 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:38:52 AM

thanks mink
nriq writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:42:41 AM

I hope they just don´t start making Marvel attractions and characters appereances on the Disney Theme Parks... That would be a letdown and a BAAAAAAAD marketing move... Let´s keep finger´s crossed...

Nriq
A Mexican Fan
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:43:48 AM

"i mean the characters are meant to be enjoyed "

Sure they are, I just enjoy DC a whole lot f*cking more.

What I'd like to see is an Image/Marvel Crossover. Have Supreme come back in and do to the X-Men what he did to Youngblood. That'll teach those smarmy mutants a few lessons, yes-sir-ee.
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:49:04 AM

Just kidding. Sort of.

But I always did like Supreme. What a violent, bloody nasty crazy sonofabitch. Slaughtered Team Youngblood like they were the A-Team. Jesus. Shame though, Image always had to resort to extreme violence because they couldn't push a story worth a damn. Not even in Spawn, their crown jewel series.
vwkombi writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 4:38:55 AM

f*cking hell, i don't think someone at Disney is going to look at the current trend of superhero films and say "Hey, you know what the next Iron Man film could use? A duet with Mickey Mouse". Disney have just forked out 4 BILLION DOLLARS, they are not going to make dumbass decisions.

It doesn't take a geunius to know that more adult-orientated superhero films sell (Spiderman 1 and 2, Dark Knight, Iron Man, X-men). I don't think Disney are going to completely ignore that information and have Silver Surfer played by Zac Efron sing about equality amongst men.
thedudeman69 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 4:42:35 AM

uhm, jesus christ. that is alot of character trademarks.
Gaudion93 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 5:45:01 AM

Don't know how this is going to go really but I do like the idea of Pixar teaming up with them, that could be pretty cool, depends what character they do...
Sonic writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 7:10:29 AM

If it don't mess up the movie's who cares.
Sev writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 11:38:25 AM

Can't see this working well at all.
synthetic1985 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 1:19:44 PM

it sucks that fox owns longterm rights for x-men....the only reason they keep making movies is to keep that right...so they make it sh*tty rather than good, deliberately to piss the fans off...so they can make more money and wait till our generation becomes old farts to start doing it right...f*ck that
scarface85 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 1:56:03 PM

this is not cool, fuking gaysney, WTF omg they r turning now every marvel character GAY, wolverine... ironman... spiderman... this is not f*cking fair!!!!!!!!!!
scarface85 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 1:56:35 PM

this is sooo frustrating, i hate disney. now i hate it wayyyyyyyyyyyy more
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:34:22 PM

These last bunch of posts CLEARLY haven't read ALL the posts.

Disney is a much smarter run company than Marvel EVER was. Disney knows what they're doing. And if you KNEW business... you would KNOW they're going to run Marvel SEPARATE of Disney.

Disney knows what sells. Marvel had done NONE of it's own producing EVER, and ONLY started with Iron Man.

Give Disney a chance. They know what they're doing. Marvel never did.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:43:18 PM

Oh well, marvels fault. I don't feel sorry for marvel in any way shape or form. Iron man, and any marvel franchise will suck now.

f*ck marvel, DC hasn't f*cked up yet.
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 2:45:57 PM

@Spooky - I'm not a fan of DC right now.

They miscast Reynolds for GL instead of The Flash.

I believe they don't have that much control over Supes anymore (and his features have been splintered in Court).

They really need to get the pickle out of their ass and start making movies.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 3:25:41 PM

Hey ranger, Can you point out to me what was so wrong about Terminator Salvation? I'm rewatching it the only thing that annoys me is Connors batman voice, other than that it's not bad.
dlrippr writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 3:41:16 PM

First reaction is that this sucks big time.

Disney has big money, maybe we can hope to see spiderman and the xmen fighting alongside the avengers and FF in the future? Thats is all i can think of as a benefitm is disneys money. Damn it disney, why do you have to be a big evil corporation?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 4:00:12 PM

BECAUSE IT'S BEING RUN BY JEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWS!
bluemeenie writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 4:06:53 PM

I give Disney ONE year before costumed guys show up in Orlando.
Ranger writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 4:52:50 PM

@BM? One year Bro? I give then 'til the ink dries on the Sales Papers!

@Spooky... lol. Oh, re: Salvation - haven't seen it yet.

But I DO know that DC is getting their ass handed to them on the playing field that is SuperHero Movies.
vip3r22 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 6:42:35 PM

I agree that this has major potential to bring big budgets to awesome stories. And if one day Disney would be able to buy back the likes of X-Men, FF, and Spider-man, we could definately see some great crossover stories. We might also begin to see some more superhero cartoons brought back to television, although cartoons nowadays are nowhere near as good as they were back in the early '90s. Most people are quick to believe that because Disney is synonymous with children's entertainment, they believe that Disney's children 'cash cows' will start raining in on the Marvel universe. As stated in previous posts, Disney is not going to spend $4 billion just so that they can pair Hannah Montana with Iron Man. Instead, they'll probably market new cartoon series with Pixar to put out on the Disney Channel, and keep making Marvel movies for the adults.
wow92 writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 1:11:26 AM

Marvel is offically gay now
Ranger writes:
on September 2nd, 2009 at 6:16:46 PM

Dis-gay?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved