WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Final Destination" Beats "Halloween 2" at the Box Office

Posted: August 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Final Destination" Beats "Halloween 2" at the Box OfficeSubmit Comment
The fourth installment in the "Final Destination" franchise easily beat Rob Zombie's "Halloween" sequel by grossing over $28 million from 3,121 locations. The new film marks the best opening in the series.

"Halloween" grossed $17.4 million from 3,025 theaters to come in No. 3, behind "Destination" and Quentin Tarantino's "Inglourious Basterds," which placed No. 2 in its second weekend.

"Halloween 2" couldn't top the results of the first installment, which opened to $26 million exactly two years ago, but it has already made back its $15 million budget.

Weekend's other new entry, "Taking Woodstock," proved to be a disappointment. Directed by Ang Lee (Hulk), "Woodstock" grossed an estimated $3.7 million from 1,393 theaters. Film placed No. 9 for the weekend and cost $30 million to make.

Click here to read our "The Final Destination" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety, THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 5:41:59 PM

It's like a schoolyard fight between one retard and another. No matter who wins, no one cares.
BondMcClane007 writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 5:48:33 PM

agreed mink.. the only movie i really did care about that came out this weekend was taking woodstock.. i have no idea how much the critics liked it tho
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 5:53:09 PM

Tracking 50% on RT.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 5:55:12 PM

Slow weekend.
KirkLazerus writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 5:56:19 PM

next week it will drop by 60%
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 6:03:01 PM

"next week it will drop by 60%"

60% of 50% is 30%. 50% - 30% = 20%. Are you saying that Taking Woodstock will hit a low of 20% by next week?
Lowryder writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 6:04:34 PM

eh who cares, both movies failed
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 6:15:05 PM

Off-topic:

Well this is funny. Hitler reacts to Cameron's Avatar trailer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAPyipuT-Jg
KirkLazerus writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 6:20:19 PM

no i was talking about Final Destination, hahah Hitler
triggax writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 6:37:50 PM

Atleast it's in 3D... But who really gives a f*ck...? Unless I was being offered the chance to see some actual celebs get butchered in hilariously gruesome and inventive ways, IN f*ckING 3D!! YAH, Then I wouldn't give a flying sh*t.. Which I dont... Which makes this comment completely pointless...

This comment would probably be much better in 3D!!!!
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 7:07:07 PM

What an awful weekend, two awful horror franchise sequels and a disappointment by Ang Lee. Good thing Tarantino's still hangin' in there, Basterds and District 9 is the only thing anyone should see right now.
dandythelion writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 7:31:27 PM

taking woodstock was great.
lost_addict writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 7:38:46 PM

does it mean we'll get 'final destination 5-the search for more money'?
triggax writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 7:42:48 PM

"does it mean we'll get 'final destination 5-the search for more money'?"

Early rumors indicate that it will be more of a "QUEST", or an "JOURNEY".. vs... A "search".. which can be.... just so boring.. Think Goonies man.. think EPIC.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 7:44:36 PM

Honestly who the f*ck with 1/2 a brain would see this trite ass sh*t. Huffing gas and being held at gun point while listening to ted haggard speak would probably be a better time than watching pretty much anything hollywood has made in the past couple of years, with exceptions to watchman,and the hangover.... and honestly the guy whose film got beat by a f*cking final destination movie thinks he has the chops to make a POTC4 wht the f*ck is that. Hey rob, your music sucks your films infest society better than lohans c*nt. just drop off the face of the earth.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 7:49:56 PM

By the way Mink, man sorry about being a d*ck last week, had some real f*cked up sh*t happen and I was just being a c*nt berry to everyone and anyone. I ended up taking down two walls in my house with a sledge hammer....
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 8:30:09 PM

Hitler pretty much sums up my feelings.

OK SO IF ANYONE WANTS TO BE STUPID AND SAY AVATAR WILL BE GOOD WATCH "Hitler learns that the Avatar trailer sucks." VIDEO!
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 8:58:14 PM

"By the way Mink, man sorry about being a d*ck last week, had some real f*cked up sh*t happen and I was just being a c*nt berry to everyone and anyone"

Life happens. I understand. No hard feelings, but I'm sure we will butt heads again soon. C'est la vie. Or, as they say in the US, 'what the f*ck ever'. Anyway, no problem.
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 8:59:03 PM

Spooky: I posted that just for you.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 9:04:17 PM

Thanks, it really does sum up how I feel. I thought about doing the hitler reaction video but I was going to branch off too far into the whole technical part. I like what this guy did instead.
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 9:34:39 PM

It's pretty damned funny. Much of what he had Hitler 'say' is true. Like: save the 'Ferngully: The Last Rainforest' remake for Lucas. lol.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 10:09:58 PM

I laughed so hard at that part, I had to pause it to wipe my eyes of tears because I couldn't read the subtitles!
telur writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 10:17:12 PM

so there are will be Final Destination 5 and Halloween 3
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 10:28:24 PM

"They said the 3D would be so good it would be like having your eyeballs f*cked!". lol.

And telur, I don't know if you've been told, but there's no God, only Satan. So yes, you can expect a Final Destination 5 and a Halloween 3 at some point. And a Saw 10. And a PotC 7. And a Transporter 6. And somewhere after all that, maybe, just maybe, a Sin City 2.
rob writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 10:57:49 PM

I watched an encore of College Football this weekend. I don't regret not seeing either of these "films".

Hurry up 24!
FBO writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 12:15:33 AM

It's comfirmed, There will be a halloween 3; It PROBABLY won't be directed by Zombie but it will be in 3D.
Burdman writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 1:14:30 AM

You know ive been on here saying the quality of movies should be better considering how much everyone gets paid these days. However today I realized its not just the quality of movies that blows anymore. Its simply that entertainment has changed to where if its been ppular before it will be popular again.
H2 FD4 all these remakes its because there is no place for true talent in entertainment. If its new or original its gets a sh*tty budget and goes to sundance, and if its a remake or REIMAGINAGING it gets an oversized budget and is pushed out in a year.
Tv is almost entirly reality shows and game shows because there are no original ideas and when there are they get 3 eps and are replaced by the new dancing with hasbeens.
Even something as simple as a f*cking music station like mtv vh1 doesnt even play music.
WTF.........
ksplatt writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 2:16:26 AM

FBO, just to back you up: "The Weinstein Co. plans to release "Halloween 3" in 3-D next summer, said Bob Weinstein, who co-founded the company with brother Harvey. While Zombie will not be back to direct, the next sequel will pick up from his story and give a new twist on slasher Myers, Weinstein said."

mink, i know you'll rip this apart better than me, but i wanna give a shot anyway, haha. soooo are they going to have michael come back or have laurie or w/e the f*ck her name is be the killer in h3? it just gives me a headache when i think about how they can do this. are we looking at another my bloody valentine type movie but halloween-based? hm. weinstein will make up some bullsh*t way to have myers come back or have the bitch sister be the killer. again, what are we in for? a movie like texas chainsaw massacre: the next generation where they stupidly made a girl the killer? or like american pyscho 2 where a bitch was the killer? (both terribad movies) ....i kinda just puked in my mouth a little thinkin, 'what if i'm right?'
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 3:26:15 AM

eh...well things happen in weird ways...besides...they had texas chainsaw massacre 3 didn't they?...and didn't that suck?...what about all those hellraiser sequels like after 3?...or after the 3rd friday?...or the 3rd halloween and after except H20?...another thing i don't understand when i watch the 4th halloween go into the 6th...is that the little girl jaime...in the 4th is in the 80s time setting for when it was released right?...we don't know how she's connected to him or where she came from in the story, but we are told she is michael myer's niece...then in the 5th it picks up exactly where the 4th left off, but then when the 6th comes...it's supposed to be mid 90s but she looks like she's more in her 20s than in her teens, it was like she aged 20 years in 10 years...wtf?...could be wrong...but still, no explanation of how jaime is his niece
Kid_A writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 5:30:11 AM

In my honest opinion (if you care), 28 million dollars is the only and highest gross FD4 can make after its release. Next week it will be like 3 or 4 million dollars at most. Why it made 28 million dollars is that if I had to choice between these two films, FD4 will always be the first and only one - hate of Halloween after all, the new installments suck! Downloaded the first movie of new installment, and all those rape and violence scenes... I found out that I have no need to learn why Michael Myers turned out to be an evil.
mdp711 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:25:14 AM

For the 45+ crowd like me, Julie and Julia has been the most enjoyable this summer.

I love a good horror flick, but the days of Hell Raiser, Nightmare.O.E.S., Evil Dead, and even the silly ones like Basket Case will never be recreated and maintain the same originality.

Haven't seen Taking Woodstock, but it looks OK. It's a sucky time in Hollywood right now especially when the only thing coming out that looks remotely interesting is Zombieland.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 1:56:24 PM

you know what's interesting about the original halloween?...myers never talked at all!...not at least after 6 years old or whatever young age that was...i mean when i watched zombie's remake of the first one...when young myers is beating up that bully...it made me think more along the lines of how we feel when we get picked on so much...and how much we'd LOVE to do what he did there....but that's not the right thing to do...there's other ways to handle bullies...and you don't have to kill them...humiliation is much more rewarding...especially when the bully can't handle it

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved