WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Rescue Me" to End in 2011

Posted: August 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Rescue Me" to End in 2011Submit Comment
FX's "Rescue Me" is set to end its run in 2011, 10 years after the 9/11 terrorist attacks that provided the creative impetus for the series.

The New York-shot drama will continue for 19 more episodes after the current season finale airs on Tuesday. It's undetermined how the network will release the final shows, though most likely in two different seasons of 10 and nine episodes, or vice versa. Production on the final episodes begins in September.

Before this season began, the series was on an 18-month hiatus due to the writers strike. In between seasons, several "minisodes" were done to whet the appetite of fans.

Dennis Leary, who stars as a hard-drinking conflicted fireman who begins dating the wife of his cousin who died in the World Trade Center, has twice been Emmy nominated for his performance, and once for co-writing with Peter Tolan.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 5:20:36 AM

This thing was still on? Hmph, surprised it lasted a decade.
acslaterson writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 9:39:17 AM

This is probably my favorite cable(non HBO or Showtime) show. Love the firehouse bantering, "My penis is orange", haha.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 10:02:59 AM

This is by far the best show on television right now in my opinion. I might be biased because I'm a Phoenix Firefighter, but this is my new addiction ever since the Sopranos went away.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 11:24:15 AM

ehh, never watched it, bunch of firemen talking about their emotions, with dennis leary...

Sounds gay.
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 12:18:01 PM

Good. Dennis Leary is one of the biggest *ssholes on the planet. I'd like to see him go a decade without a paycheck, especially after he wrote that nausea-inducing hateful scribbling of a book 'Why We Suck'. He thinks brutally assaulting a person's love of children and pets makes for fine humor.

f*ck him and f*ck 'Rescue Me', a show I've never seen and never will. Anything with Dennis Leary should hit fahrenheit 451 and keep going.
stg1264 writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 12:24:18 PM

Here we go again. FX is going into the toilet, they keep letting good shows slip away. Offer more money. More money, I tell you.
lost_addict writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 12:58:15 PM

Dennis Leary does suck.I don't understand people that like him.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 12:58:57 PM

Because he "tells it like it is" apparently.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 12:59:12 PM

Like how Glenn Beck and O'Reilly do.
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 1:12:36 PM

Spooky, you seem to think that my issue with Leary is that he's political. He's not. Well, sometimes he goes that route, but not as often as you think. Sure, he tells it like he sees it, and I of course can respect that, but when he writes books viciously trashing people's love of their kids and their love of pets, he's not funny anymore, he's a mean hateful c*cksucking bastard that's trying to shock people, not by telling the truth as he sees it, but by destroying what people love most in their lives. It's just not f*cking funny, and he goes too far.

The thing is, he writes a book called 'Why We Suck', but somehow leaves himself out. What the f*ck ever. Like he doesn't suck, with his nerdy, masculine but nasally, voice. His voice soounds like someone took the gravel the gravel that crusted up his face, and shoved it down his damn throat. He's a bitch, hating people's kids and pets but he can't say one damned thing negative about himself. He's a goddamned ugly *sshole hypocrite, and I wished he'd f*cking die.

How's that for hateful, Leary?

And Spooky, you should read his book. If you've already read the book, and STILL think the man's awesome, then I have nothing left to say. To you anyway. Sorry bud. Hating people's pets and kids isn't funny, it's downright brutally hateful. And I don't want to share the world with people like him. Or Rob Zombie.
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 1:13:55 PM

"His voice sounds like someone took some gravel, the same gravel that crusted up his crack-lined face, and shoved it down his damn throat."

The5thBeatle5 writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 1:19:49 PM

I know its not for a while but it sucks to hear theres an end in sight! Its such a kick ass show and im a huge fan of Denis Leary! Hopefully he can get himself another show or atleast do more movies!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 1:21:43 PM

And its one "N" in "Denis" there WP....but you probably dont care....cuz im an *sshole e o e o e ooo!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 1:27:40 PM

Yeah I haven't read his book- didn't even actually know he had one- but he seemed like a funny fella when I watched him on Mike and Mike in the Morning on ESPN.
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 1:30:19 PM

He's funny when he's not thrashing what people love the most in their lives. Like anyone cares about that though, just keep their visual drug of choice on air.
mariachi writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 1:40:51 PM

HAHA! You're upset because a comedian made fun of peoples love for their pets?? Of all the things comedians make fun of... jerking off, abortion, jerking off TO abortion, 9/11... Comedians make jokes about sensative topics all the time and rarely are they ever being serious about their feelings on the subjects. I suggust you stay away from any stand-up with George Carlin, Eddie Murphy, Chris Rock, or Richard Pryor. Bill Cosby should be a safe bet, though.

Anyways, I love this show but I'm glad they're calling it quits before it starts going downhill.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 2:03:14 PM

Great show, it'll be sad to see it go
L Z writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 4:02:45 PM

GrandpasWeiner...I too am from Phoenix...I got a cousin that works for the Avondale Fire Dept.
Any who..."Rescue Me" is one of the best shows on T.V.!
It's good...but it's no "Entourage"!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 4:16:01 PM

"Anyways, I love this show but I'm glad they're calling it quits before it starts going downhill."

Well they still have 19 episodes to do that lol.
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 5:16:30 PM

He's a hateful *sshole. If YOU find hateful *ssholes funny, then that's YOUR deal.

And it wasn't standup in front of a fluid audience one night at The Improv, it's a mass produced book. Kind of a difference, no? But I should be a nice guy and just laugh it off. i mean, it's funny top hate your fellow man and what he does so much to write a f*cking book about it, right? hahahhahaha!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 5:58:24 PM

The only hateful *sshole I like is me.
acslaterson writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 6:21:19 PM

I thought the big issue with his book was that he criticized medicating children and said if a kid that doesn't do well in school that they medicate them when most of the time instead of admitting that their kids are just stupid. I agree on his assessment of how ridiculous it is how much kids are getting medicated. I really don't think behavior modifying drugs should be given to anyone under 18(besides extreme cases of depression). Maybe kids wouldn't have to be medicated if they actually had recess and gym and 1/3 of them weren't obese? Why are they obese? Because parents let the TV babysit their children rather then making them go outside and play. I never heard any of the stuff about hating pets and hating kids, just the point that I touched on. Of course I haven't actually read the book though and just heard of the one point I have described above.
acslaterson writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 6:23:25 PM

Sorry about the sentence structure in my comment, I had to piss and just hurried up and posted it without reading it first.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 7:37:19 PM

If you haven't seen it yet - give it a shot or chill out. This series might actually surprise you. It was alot better then I thought it was going to be - and it continues to get better and better.

Despite not being the biggest Leary fan myself....I was very surprised on how great a job he actually did/does in this series.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 7:52:47 PM

minkowski - sound like you keep bringing up the sam two things, pets and animals. And tho I haven't read his book, I'd like to hear the specific comments he's made about these specific kids and/or animals. Unless they are blanket statements (which I'm guessing they are). But I'd like to know what they are.

And correct me if I'm wrong here minkowski, but you've made your fair share of hateful comments to specific ppl on this website alone - under the guise of an alas to boot - so I'm kind seeing a bit of the pot and the kettle here dude.

Not defending Leary, just curious.
tswan2076 writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 8:02:33 PM

I really love this show. This season has been one of the best, but you can kind of feel the energy going away from the series. Leary's character needs to make a choice about whom he's gonna f*ck for the rest of his life. Lou suprised me by screwing over his old hooker/girlfriend so maybe there's a little bit of life left yet.
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 8:46:13 PM

"And correct me if I'm wrong here minkowski, but you've made your fair share of hateful comments to specific ppl on this website alone - under the guise of an alas to boot - so I'm kind seeing a bit of the pot and the kettle here dude."

I was wondering when someone would bring that up. Anyway, do you see me selling f*cking books? These are my personal comments. I'm calling one person stupid or saying how much I dislike a particular film or actor. I'm not carpet bombing the entire f*cking human race just because I'm a self-centered d*ckhead like Leary. Big f*cking difference. People like Leary don't deserve a soap box.

And I don't have the book. It was a library checkout. I started to read it because I thought some cynical humor, being who I am, would make me laugh. I was struck by the book's unfunny, mean and downright hateful content. One other person I know read the book and felt the same way. That person checked the damn thing out, and I just picked it up by chance. I didn't like the guy to begin with.

Now up until I had the book, I had the guy pegged as just a loudmouth with a hardcore opinion. After I read the f*cking book, I changed my evaluation considerably.

Anyway, there's always apologists. There's always someone to say that what someone else did isn't that bad. Whatever. You can have him. I'll not blight my existence with another thing the man says.

"minkowski - sound like you keep bringing up the sam two things, pets and animals"

That's right, those were the two chapters I explicitly recall reading. What about it, exactly? I don't see your point.

"And tho I haven't read his book, I'd like to hear the specific comments he's made about these specific kids and/or animals. "

Check the book out yourself. What am I, your librarian?
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 8:54:42 PM

And despite the fact I'm often and angry and cynical individual, I'd never publish, or think to publish, hatred and tactless criticism as humor. There's things you can do as a streetfighter, and get away with them, but when you get professional, when you get up there, you're supoosed to have some class. Leary has no class whatsoever. It's like fighting. On the street, you can groin punch and bite and claw eyes. Street fighting is unrestrained warfare. But when you go professional, when you enter the realm of tact and grace and rules, you're supposed to display your manners. You're supposed to play like a civilized human being, even if the game isn't always considered civilized. Leary just comes off like another spolied *sshole, an *sshole with more money than he deserves and another venue to run his mouth. Now he's into books. He can't create anything beautiful, he's no f*cking artist, so he has to tear everything down and build nothing in return. He calls that comedy. Rob Zombie calls it filmmaking. Man, has the world changed in just thirty years.
KirkLazerus writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 9:24:56 PM

f*ck this show, Denis Leary blows, Always Sunny is the best show on FX anyways
Post_Man_87 writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 11:18:35 PM

....but ppl on the net get free reign, right minkowski?

At least he put something out there, with his real name on it. Good or Bad (and I've read reviews that praise & despise the book) he actually created something ppl enjoy. Some ppl are going to hate it as well. That's the way the beast goes.

minkowski - why not try putting something out there instead of judging from that mighty tower you're perched up on? You have some interesting ideas half the time. Put it to paper.
Popcorn101 writes:
on September 1st, 2009 at 11:14:00 PM

Dennis Leary is a hilarious comedian and a great actor, if you don't think so, then I don't think your old enough to understand what he talks about. And Rescue Me is one of the best drama's on tv.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved