WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matthew Vaughn Wants to Direct "The Avengers"

Posted: August 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matthew Vaughn Wants to Direct "The Avengers"Submit Comment
Director Matthew Vaughn (Layer Cake, Stardust) is no stranger to comic-book movies. He is currently adapting "Kick-Ass" and is attached to the adaptation of "American Jesus."

Regarding the world of superheroes, Vaughn was supposed to direct the upcoming "Thor" movie before leaving the project and getting replaced by Kenneth Branagh.

He was also one of the first people to consider developing an "Iron Man" movie. "I was desperate to do 'Iron Man' about 8 years ago, and everyone was like, 'Iron Man, no one will go watch that,'" he told MTV News. "Cut to now, and it's a huge hit."

And more recently, Vaughn and Mark Millar have been pitching ideas to Warner Bros for a Superman reboot with Vaughn attached to direct. Unfortunately, all the meetings with the studio went nowhere.

"Kick-Ass" is a hot property right now that will turn Vaughn into a more recognizable name. So if everything goes well, what would be the one project that he would be interested in taking on? "[I'd] love to do 'The Avengers,'" Vaughn revealed.

There is currently no director attached to "The Avengers," but "Iron Man" helmer Jon Favreau has been rumored to take on the challenge of bringing the Marvel superheroes together. Unfortunately, his busy schedule has created some doubt whether he'll be able to find the time for another massive project.

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 5:08:18 AM

Oh yes yes and yes.I think he would do a great job.From the foottage of Kick Ass i've seen he understands comics.Bring in Mark Millar as consultant,stick close to the Ultimates storyline and you will have an Epic superhero film/s that would be well up there with Supes 1,DK etc
Ranger writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 5:47:17 AM

And I'm pretty sure Favreau would make the time from his 'busy schedule' to Direct were he asked.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 6:19:18 AM

@ rocketman, i say no no and no!.... jon favreau all the way.if he can't, maybe at least split directing time with johnston or branagh.this movie is gonna be so big 2 directors will b needed. but matthew vaughn, no.
Sonic writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 6:46:00 AM

NO Favreau no Avengers.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 6:54:59 AM

both of them could direct the movie.

Matthew Vaughn is an awesome director but I do agree Jon Favreau is needed!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 9:35:33 AM

Kick ass will be great, I want this guy for my superhero movies.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 9:36:03 AM

Favreau can suck a d*ck at this point, Vaughn would have made an oscar winner if he directed Iron Man.
rocketman writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 9:44:47 AM

Agreed Spooky.Iron Man was a good solid film,could have been better though. 4/5...Vaughn from what i've seen(layer cake)could craft a less cartoony,grittier film whilst still staying faithfull if the Kick Ass clips are anything to go by.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 12:54:59 PM

american jesus?...i hope that's not what i think it is
slusho writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 1:15:33 PM

Regrettably, I must actually agree with spooky.
I believe Vaughn would be a better choice of director but we'll just have to wait and see Kick-Ass and Iron Man 2, but Kick-Ass seems to have alot more going for it right now..
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 2:18:58 PM

kick ass will be the superhero movie that everybody will know about, even your grandparents.

It's gonna be so awesome and hilarious, it'll make like 4 billion dollars on opening day
rfernandez writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 4:50:38 PM

Layer Cake was bad ass i loved it. With a movie like The Avengers there is going to be alot of sub plot, the movie is going to have to work on alot of different levels with so many focal characters. Seems like it could be right up Vaughn's alley. Either way Vaughn or Fav's are some of the best choices to pull it off.
Rich k writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 9:24:40 PM

I think Jon Favreau should do it, as long as he doesnt f*ck up iron man 2.
BrandoFresh writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 1:21:04 AM

Screw that. I've gotten used to the idea of Jon Favreau directing.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 1:32:16 AM

^true
johnny_boy writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 1:32:36 AM

^true
lost_addict writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 2:04:41 AM

nobody wants pitof?
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 2:49:23 AM

"nobody wants pitof?"

Are you f*cking serious?
lost_addict writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 3:20:33 AM

come on,mink,you know me better then that :-)
triggax writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 2:41:14 PM

What if Kick Ass sucks?...Hmm? The clips look convincing but Stardust was the biggest pile of sh*t i've seen since I pulled out of your mothers ass. So he's got mediocre credibility as a producer and has basically made one good movie.. arguably.. Yes definitely! lets get matthew vaughn to direct.. He's such a f*cking awesome director with such amazing credentials, why would you ever even think of using a seasoned film maker with something of this caliber?...
I mean really... Iron Man, for what it was, was pretty good BUT did any of you see Zathura!!! f*ck yeah! Best movie ever?!?!

Personally I think Park-Chan Wook should direct.
slusho writes:
on August 30th, 2009 at 4:06:16 PM

haha,
Park-Chan Wook,
Thats a much better fit then Vaughn.
Why didnt i think of that???..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved