WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Rob Zombie to Remake "The Blob"

Posted: August 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Rob Zombie to Remake "The Blob"Submit Comment
Rob Zombie (Halloween) has signed on to write, direct and produce a remake of the 1958 horror classic "The Blob" that launched the career of Steve McQueen. Production will begin next spring.

In the original "Blob," an object from space crashes into a field, containing a red blob-like substance that absorbs the humans it contacts and grows exponentially. While Zombie was a fan of the original, he's formulated a decidedly different take that he would not reveal.

"My intention is not to have a big red blobby thing -- that's the first thing I want to change," Zombie said. "That gigantic Jello-looking thing might have been scary to audiences in the 1950s, but people would laugh now."

He continued: "I'd been looking to break out of the horror genre, and this really is a science fiction movie about a thing from outer space," Zombie said. "I intend to make it scary, and the great thing is I have the freedom once again to take it in any crazy direction I want to."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 6:16:21 AM

Ok i think this would actually be badass. I love The Blob.
Snarebeast writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 6:22:50 AM

I loved House of 1000 Corpses and Devil's Rejects. I really don't care how many people bash them, I thought they were both cool throwbacks to dirt and grindhouse horror movies. And his white trash horrible hillbilly characters were fine in those because dirt and grindhouse movies are filled with them. Halloween, not so much. Halloween 2, I'm sure will be even worse.

And now this is just ridiculous. It's like Rob Zombie has become the go-to guy for dirty gritty horror remakes. And I'm sure this one will be filled with white trash horrible hillbilly characters because it turns out that's about the only kind of character he can write. If this movie actually happens I'm pretty much swearing off Rob Zombie movies. This is his third strike for me. He's out.
Javicon writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 7:27:52 AM

No word about the remake Chuck Russel did in 1988?? I really liked it!!
This one can be good but Zombie should focus on original ideas.
What about that T-Rex thing??
m3talface writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 8:22:37 AM

The Blog? Fix it WP.
lawman writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 8:33:33 AM

I think if he does it right it could be CRAZY! Make the thing MOVE! Not just slosh around. I would like to see it thinner and able to shoot out and grab people. Show someone getting grabbed and having the skin stripped off rather than disolved. Maybe a close up shot of it as it grabs the person and lets the audience see that there are tons of small teeth on itd surface!
mdp711 writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 8:35:34 AM

I like the idea. Devil's Rejects was better than most horror flicks. To each his own when it comes to what is deemed good or bad. No need to go on and on about why, it is what it is.

Zombie remaking the blob (which was already done) doesn't sound any better or worse than the rest of sh*t that comes out of Hollywood.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 10:23:52 AM

The gory Blob remake was already pretty damn good seeing how it was made at the height of prosthetic effects...We're in the CGI days- so even though I like Zombie, if this comes out lookin like Flubber I'll be ranting.

It's a very unneeded remake- even as far as remakes go.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 10:59:23 AM

You can't know how f*cking fuming I am right now.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 11:05:40 AM

Let's see, who will be in the blob for half the movie? Oh yeah, Sherie Moon Zombie.

is it gonna be about the blob killing people? No, it's going to be about how the blob was formed, and then all of a sudden at the last 20 minutes its going to be rushed and trying to fit the theater scene in there.

"My intention is not to have a big red blobby thing -- that's the first thing I want to change," Zombie said. "That gigantic Jello-looking thing might have been scary to audiences in the 1950s, but people would laugh now."

OH WELL YOU MIGHT WANT TO LOOK AT THE f*ckING TITLE ZOMBIE.

Who the f*ck said the blob was ever scary? Gory? yes, but Scary?

Oh, oh, oh and then he follows it up with this: "I'd been looking to break out of the horror genre,"

So what, "The Blob", which was originally a semi self aware low budget kinda-horror-kinda-comedy flick, was a great movie, and didn't go anywhere near science fiction (If anything it was science retardation), and your new spin on it will be the only thing you can do, zombie. It'll be stupid not-even-that-scary horror with Sherie Moon running around half naked in it for more than half the movie.

Zombie, just don't do it. Yer an idiot.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 11:07:53 AM

"My intention is not to have a big"

WAT

"red"

THE

"blobby thing"

f*ck?

What's the title of this called again? Is it "THE NOT THE BIG RED BLOBBY THING"?! No, it's called the f*cking "Blob".

f*cking asshat Zombie.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 11:30:31 AM

Well we all saw how his last remake turned out. f*cking weak ass director.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 11:34:38 AM

"The Blob" is one of my favourite films, it was such a creative experiment and it ended up working. Now Zombie wants to f*ck that up by adding "Realism" to it.

What's up with all this "Realistic" sh*t in movies nowadays, I mean if we have f*cking G.I. Joe and Transformers in theaters, then do we really need "Realism" for something called The Blob?!
Koolkrazykid55 writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 11:35:43 AM

after seeing halloween 2, i have no respect for rob zombie. i hated house of 1000 corpes and devil rejects, but i loved halloween. i saw H2 at midnight last night, and rob completely butchered it. micheal has hardly in his mask. thats the scariest thing about him. im done with rob zombie
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 11:41:15 AM

"micheal has hardly in his mask."

WAT.

No f*cking way.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 12:21:03 PM

haha....so did anybody else dislike H2?...i guess i should wait for the 'H2: What did you think?' article
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 12:21:43 PM

as for the 80s remake of this....i saw that when i was 5 and i gotta admit i was pretty scared...80s graphics were always a bit freaky to me
SACdaddy writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 12:25:50 PM

Javicon and PrevalentMind are right, the 1988 remake was already pretty damn good! I gonna assume Rob Zombie has never seen this film. Somebody better show it to him before he starts filming and ends up with an inferior movie.

Don't forget, the 1988 version of The Blob launched Johnnie Drama's leading man career. lol
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 12:45:38 PM

The one with Steve McQueen, the original in fact, is a better film.

I'd rather see a big budget of It than Rob Zombie making any more films. And to save money, he can just use macrophotography of his wife's stretch marks, instead of CGI.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 1:23:07 PM

He already said way before the film was going to be released that he would be out of his mask 60% of the film. The movie looked like sh*t from day one.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 1:53:08 PM

i must admit...since i did finally watch the first halloween remake not too long ago...the only thing i liked was young michael gets his revenge on that school bully...and if that isn't clear enough for a bully to realize just the damage they cause when they treat people like that...well all i can say is that they brought it upon themselves...i just hate how it sucks when you're young and dunno how to handle those situations...as for another blob movie?...not necessary...really doesn't matter what i say or what anyone says...he's got the money and the fame...he has the right i guess...and i have to right to avoid paying for it
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 1:56:26 PM

The Blog? for shame WP
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 2:10:42 PM

The Blog, the Blob, does it really matter? It's a goddamned Rob Zombie film. Like the title matters much.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 3:20:36 PM

Yea, it only matters if they're talking about any Blob before this one.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 3:22:30 PM

"I have the freedom once again to take it in any crazy direction I want to."

Yea, like up your ass.
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 3:32:40 PM

"Yea, it only matters if they're talking about any Blob before this one."

Agreed.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 4:55:40 PM

I like Rob Zomie way more as a filmmaker than as a musician, and thats how I'll remember him when he's gone.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 5:18:38 PM

It's obvious that Zombie will cast Sheri Moon as The Blob after she goes method and gains 400 pounds to get the role.
slusho writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 6:05:14 PM

Man, someone stop spooky cupcakes bitching..
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 6:18:56 PM

"Man, someone stop spooky cupcakes bitching.."

Man, someone has to teach slusho some culture about classic cinema..
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 6:57:40 PM

@ spooky....that's an easy fix, continue reading this and you'll see why...@ slusho...these comments are here for peoples' thoughts...and as rude or offensive as any may be...you can always choose to not read it at anytime...so let the bitching continue lol...i wouldn't even calling bitching anyway, just harsh but honest criticism...so to rob zombie...have fun with your remake, but after watching your remake of halloween...i can already see what your remake of the blob would be like...it won't surpass the original, because that was already done with the 80s version...and even the 80s version couldn't surpass the original by all means...geez, how many times are people gonna make this same mistake in hollywood?...zombie should stick to making originals like 'house of 1000 corpses'...i'll credit anybody for originality, but doing remakes all the time?...just not worth my time
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 7:46:28 PM

I didn't mind Rob Zombie until he touched Michael Myers. That film has a special place in my little film making heart, and when he spewed his trailer trash sh*t all over it- it made me so f*cking angry. What's up with that btw? Like all his white characters are so trashy and disgusting like wtf. I mean I don't know much about his upbringing but does he come from trailer trash or like a place like that?
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 8:10:05 PM

"Man, someone stop spooky cupcakes bitching.."

Sure. Just lemme crawl through my f*cking monitor, up Alex's server and out Spooky's cable modem, and I'll ask him to stop bitching. Just because you asked.
slusho writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 8:32:39 PM

Thats the most intelligent idea you have ever shared Mink :)..
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 8:43:45 PM

Do you suppose it's because you're an imbecile you think that? I mean, we've all heard your brilliant thoughts. You know, the whining bleeding ass 'please Spooky, hush up' post you just made. Dare I say, I await your next insightfully intelligent remark, Slusho. The anticipation is killing me.

f*ck with the bull, you'll get the horns.
dandythelion writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 8:50:29 PM

well, i'd be much more interested in seeing this than the Halloween movies.
OneTime writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 8:53:07 PM

this is a kick ass movie for him to make. :) cant wait
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 9:23:45 PM

Slusho is a manwhore who rubs himself with cloverfield dvd's
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 9:35:01 PM

lol
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 10:11:35 PM

He probably thinks that bitching over a citezen kane remake would be a bad thing too.
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 10:26:20 PM

Well, I'll enumerate his last, and perhaps only, three posts:

1. He posts one sentence in a Rob Zombie thread, questioning the source of 'all the Zombie hate'. I'm pretty sure the source of all the hate is Zombie's sh*tty white trash wifewhore-laden films.

2. He posts, asking someone to magically silence you, Spooky. Like I, or anyone else, can silence someone over the internet. Such a suggestion questions Slusho's intelligence and the number of testicles still attached to his effeminate frame.

3. He states that I've never posted anything intelligent, save my sarcastic reply to his post that bitched about your 'bitching' posts. This coming from a guy that admires Zombie and has never posted much of anything at all.

Confused yet? People like him or her need to get dragged out into the street and f*cked by a team of race horses.
rob writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 10:50:47 PM

I love it. "After seeing Halloween 2 I have no respect for Rob Zombie". Hahaha. Why did you see Halloween 2 when you knew it was directed by him? His movies are lazy junk. He has no real imagination. He borrows and remakes over and over. He constantly comes out with shock value crap.

After all this, half of you will see it anyway.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 10:51:11 PM

slusho is like j*zzwhinger
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 10:55:08 PM

"I'd been looking to break out of the horror genre, and this really is a science fiction movie about a thing from outer space,"

No, you f*cking idiot fool moron, The Blob is HORROR. That's why it features a monster (from space) eating people in nefarious and devious ways. So I guess Jason X is science fiction, right? Just because all the gore and spatter is on a futuristic space station. Jesus Christ, Zombie, you're an idiot.

The blob has one connection to science fiction: a 'space' monster. It features NONE of the exploration of ideas or traditonal sci-fi tropes. No space bases, no time travel, no alien civilization, no space exploration or futuristic weapons. No future calamities. Does he think he's making the next Children of Men, or 2001, or Contact? The Matrix is science fiction, the Blob is HORROR, but in that latter film, instead of a masked and undead goon, or some scarred creep with knived fingers, the victims are hunted by a space alien. A gelatinous, nebulous space alien that doesn't even have it's space ship, alien language or ray gun.
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 10:58:13 PM

"slusho is like j*zzwhinger"

...and fagolicious and exhaust_voyeur...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 11:01:50 PM

"the Blob is HORROR"

Yes mink but this isn't "The Blob" it's "Not a big red blobby thing".
minkowski writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 11:12:50 PM

What the f*ck ever. Zombie is getting pretentious on top of being a piece of sh*t trashmonger. He wants to do sci-fi? He's not smart enough to do sci-fi. He does horror because that's all he can do. Shock people with his soulless and heartless torture porn that reflects the empty depravity of his little mind. Zombie talking about doing sci-fi is like hearing OJ wax ecstatic on the beauty of wedding vows. This guy just needs to blow himself up in a meth lab. In fact, I'll bet you Slusho's last testicle Zombie will make his Blob remake even less 'sci-fi' than the f*cking original. He's such a f*cking tool. He has all the tact and finesse of a hack saw in the hands of Michael J. Fox.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 11:31:47 PM

d'awwww

don't make fun of hack saws!
Tyrkae writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 12:13:56 AM

will lindsy lohan play the role of the blob?
BrandoFresh writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 12:16:47 AM

Holy balls! I have no problems with that. Rob Zombie is actually a decent director. [as far as modern horror goes]
Tyrkae writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 12:49:23 AM

making fun of Michael J. Fox not cool but hey also very true why make fun of him when you can use Lohan i guess its a little easy to do that
slusho writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 2:14:19 AM

"f*ck with the bull, you'll get the horns."

haha, i'll remember that next time I care about something you post!..
slusho writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 2:35:49 AM

@ spookycupcakes

are you really comparing the blob to citizen kane?..
RastaMuffin writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 4:25:22 AM

Sheri moon is good looking i bet she gets eaten by the blob for sure. She always has a free pass to be in the movie of any rob zombie flick.
OtisDriftwood990 writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 12:41:51 PM

This is the act of Rob Zombie f*cking himself over. How could the man behind "Werewolf Women of the SS" do something like make three movies in a row that he shouldn't be making. If Sheri Moon Zombie stars in The Blob, as some annoying f*cking "dark" character, I'm just gonna eat my face off.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 1:32:46 PM

remakes are not going to rule hollywood forever...these idiots will learn either the easy way (which is highly unlikely)...or the hard way (whish is what it looks like every passing day)
Tyrkae writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 7:38:35 PM

Why do people have to keep raping old movies in the ass? Omega man,godzilla,The blob,halloween,scream(oh wait this one sucked already) have we ran out of movie ideas i think we have because we are going to have an astroid,candyland,monopoly,battleship really quit raping old movies and old board games
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 8:17:47 PM

it'll be alright...still plenty of ideas out there
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 9:26:15 PM

Just gonna end up being more disgusting than the original, Zombie doesnt know how to write, he can just direct a boring gorefest

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved