WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeremy Piven Cleared in Sushi Dispute

Posted: August 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeremy Piven Cleared in Sushi DisputeSubmit Comment
Jeremy Piven has been cleared of wrongdoing in a dispute with producers of Broadway play "Speed the Plow," who were upset when he left the show complaining of mercury poisoning from eating too much sushi.

A representative for Piven said the arbitrator's decision was based on medical testimony from doctors, and that the actor spent three days in a hospital as a result of his condition.

"I'm pleased with the outcome of the arbitration and to be completely vindicated in this matter based on the facts and the medical evidence," Piven said in a statement.

Many believe that a person would have to have a constant diet of sushi in order to get mercury poisoning. But in a 2008 NY Times investigation, involving the testing of tuna sushi from 20 Manhattan stores and restaurants, resulted in a finding that a regular diet of six pieces a week would exceed the levels considered acceptable by the Environmental Protection Agency. Sushi from 5 of the 20 places had mercury levels so high that the FDA (Food and Drug Administration) could take legal action to remove the fish from the market.

Source: Reuters


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 7 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 6:13:24 AM

ha sure
NatG83 writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 10:44:48 AM

I know someone who got mercury poisoning. I can see this happening, but...

1) Why were you eating so much Sushi, Piven? You're like 5'6"

2) Why not return to the stage to please the theater people? I know contracts don't work that way with the stage, but he made no effort.

Don't get me wrong, I like Piven. But I think this is a bit "fishy"
Ari Gold writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 11:06:10 AM

Awesome! I will use this excuse from now on when ever I want to get out of something!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 11:16:34 AM

Too bad he didn't die of mercury poisoning.
nope.com writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 12:13:32 PM

Still think he should have chosen a more reasonable excuse than the ever so lame "mercury poisoning"

Also agree there was no death in this story
Ranger writes:
on August 28th, 2009 at 10:07:28 PM

So he stays in the hospital to justify the 'look' of his 'mercury poisoning'... sweet.

I know a bit about this. I went for chelation (sp?) I.V.'s to have it taken out of my system (that took MONTHS!) and had my mercury fillings taken out (FIRST thing next to the I'V's to do if Piven had mercury at high levels).

3 days in a hospital isn't enough time to get mercury out of your system.

He's lying, and he's a douche bag.

And Lohan smells.

RastaMuffin writes:
on August 29th, 2009 at 4:29:45 AM

The goods was was good but trying so so so hard to be like stepbrothers or hangover but just did not have to creativity those films had, maybe someone asked him about that and suddenly got food poisoning ha ha sushi is so good not at huge gathering events cause we all know when there are lots of people to feed, chefs cut corners haha

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved