WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brand New Photos from "Avatar"

Posted: August 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brand New Photos from "Avatar"Submit Comment
In the new issue of Empire magazine are several new shots from "Delgo" "Avatar," giving us a detailed look at the characters played by Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana and Sigourney Weaver. Check them out below.

Plot: An ex-Marine finds himself thrust into hostilities on an alien planet filled with exotic life forms. As an Avatar, a human mind in an alien body, he finds himself torn between two worlds, in a desperate fight for his own survival and that of the indigenous people.

The new 3-D movie is scheduled to hit theaters on December 18th.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Avatar."

Source: Empire, Market


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Coasterkid345 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 8:00:06 PM

I would love to see Michelle Rodriguez as one of those blue aliens. Other than that, I'm really disappointed.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 8:09:49 PM

Oh Alex, you f*cking cad you.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 8:20:36 PM

The only question I have is Why does Sigourney get to keep her regular nose and everyone else gets kitty treatment? LOL I saw those pics earlier and just noticed that.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 8:26:17 PM

I was wondering that myself.
RepoMan20 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 8:39:13 PM

I dunno if delgo really counts as a movie anyway....
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 8:47:23 PM

I can't get over those damn skin textures jeeze louise! This will be the first Blu-Ray I buy since TDK (more of a digital download guy) I want to see all the special features. If it took them 24 hours to render one frame in certain Transformers 2 CGI sections (which I believe to be bullsh*t but whatever) I want to know how Cameron and these guys did CGI rendering in real time during filming. This might not be as complex in terms of animation but it's still a lot of numbers crunching in order to pump out visuals of this caliber.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:02:38 PM

"If it took them 24 hours to render one frame in certain Transformers 2 CGI sections (which I believe to be bullsh*t but whatever) "

Could have been because

1. unoptimized textures, or they used like 14k textures

2. HUGE polycount. recall that Bay claimed just one of the transformers guns contained several thousand 'parts'

3 Animation data. If the animation data wasn't precached before the final render, then the calculations for tens of thousands of 'parts' per robot had to be calculated on the fly.

Bay's an idiot. There was no need for all that sh*t. There was no need to model what no one was ever going to see. I can't see the twenty thouand parts in Ironhides gun, but Bay felt the need to be 'realistic'. What a f*cking moron. It's like they let him call the shots on the CG, and they didn't care because dreamworks was picking up the tab on all the renderfarms going 24/7 just to render sh*t you can't see.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:09:51 PM

No my reason for not believing it is because how do you edit the film in time? If one frame takes 24 hours chances are the next frame will take the same as well because you can't have two radially different frames within the same second. So you end up with an extreme amount of hours just on one second of footage. Then you have the next second which could possibly be different enough to not require so much numbers crunching but what are the chances of that? It just doesn't make sense.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:11:14 PM

"Bay's an idiot"

I concur. What a failure Transformers 2 was.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:17:18 PM

Well, I heard it was 38 hours per frame, which translates into YEARS just for the CGI to finish rendering. I think they meant either 38 seconds, possible with distributed rendering, or 38 minutes.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:19:39 PM

Yeah it makes no sense. Also what is this British cut of Descent. I have an extended cut rip but I think it's from America. What's the difference? I thought the film was pretty good. I've seen some worse sh*t though lol.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:19:48 PM

And 38 hours might just be a peak render time. Not the mean render time.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:22:13 PM

Wait I looked it up, I did see the British ending. The American one sounds typical happy ending. Yeah when my friends and I saw that we were like "WOW THAT'S f*ckED UP". Though I don't think it's Funny Games f*cked up. God I hate that film yet respect it's strength.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:22:15 PM

Well, how does your copy end? Happy or really, really sad? The Uk version has the depressing ending whereas the 'American cut' ends with the lone survivor escaping.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:22:51 PM

LOL!!!!

Jake looks like he has down syndrome!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:27:29 PM

^^^ It's the f*cked up depressing end lol. I read up on the American one... weak!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:35:01 PM

Also, it's nice to see Major Chip Hazard will be in this, He hasn't been up to much since Small Soldiers...
ironhide-autobot writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 10:24:54 PM

i dont understand why all of you people think this looks like delgo,it doesnt look a thing like it,and the story line isnt even close.
nope.com writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:07:05 PM

wow it sure looks crappier the more I see things from this film, focus more on Weaver and Worthington.. the aliens.. not so much
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 12:12:58 AM

What the f*ck they're pictures of the film's recognizable stars to show off the CGI, not interviews on the film's plot or characters.
lost_addict writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 1:56:17 AM

oh god...looks so cartoonish...

why,jim,why?
lost_addict writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 2:38:47 AM

oh my god!!!you have to see this!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAPyipuT-Jg
TGDirector writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 2:46:23 AM

Mink - You're right. I don't see how the f*ck the render-time would make any sense whatsoever. If you so much as CUT a scene and move it to attach it to another part. You have to freaking render it again.

So what bothers me the most is how and why would any editor would pick that job. That would piss me off. It would piss me off even more that it's a Bay Film, so all that work would be a waste anyways since there's no real f*cking plot.

Avatar's gotta be an even worse Rendering time than Transformers 1 & 2....
TGDirector writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 2:56:01 AM

LOL!!!!!

Lost_Addict - That was f*cking hilarious! Just what you thought Hitler was stupid. He just like the rest of us how we think of Avatar.
telur writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 3:45:16 AM

stiil british magazine like empire and total better than american magazine

except EW, american magazine is a sh*t
Rich k writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 3:55:06 AM

i love how james cameron teamed up again with Sigourney Weaver, even if she isnt the main role.
jaz_mayor writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 4:17:54 AM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7, they don't just render one frame per machine then go to the next. They render multiple frames at the same time on each machine.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 6:03:43 AM

"they don't just render one frame per machine then go to the next. They render multiple frames at the same time on each machine."

Depends on how the renderfarm is configured. All the computers can work one frame with the queue manager assembling the final image, each computer can work on one frame, or one computer can have multiple processes, rach working on one frame.

I'm led to believe that the configuration used in Transformers was the first: one frame per computer. That makes to most sense, I guess. That means if they had, say 200 computers/nodes, then they rendered in 38 hours 200 frames. And that's probably a peak render time. So they can still say "38 hours for one frame". It's like if you have ten guys, and they're all digging a six-foot deep grave. One guy can dig 2 feet in one hour, and that's an accurate statement, but in reality the totality of the work is 20 feet an hour.
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 9:20:11 AM

The new official name of "Avatar" is "Delvatar" please next!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 12:07:02 PM

"Also, it's nice to see Major Chip Hazard will be in this, He hasn't been up to much since Small Soldiers..."

Haha I was thinking the same thing but hadn't realized it til you said it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved