WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ericson Core to Direct "XxX 3: Return of Xander Cage"

Posted: August 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ericson Core to Direct "XxX 3: Return of Xander Cage"Submit Comment
Ericson Core has signed to helm "XXX: The Return of Xander Cage," Columbia's third installment in the action franchise. Vin Diesel is reprising the role of the extreme sports athlete-turned-government operative he originated in the 2002 movie directed by Rob Cohen.

Last year, Diesel and Cohen agreed to re-team for the new installment, but in June, Cohen segued to helm "Medieval" for Regency. Columbia went on the hunt for a helmer, who also had to get the OK from Diesel.

Core recently made his directorial debut on "Invincible," starring Mark Wahlberg. He was also the cinematographer on Diesel's 2001 film "The Fast and the Furious."

John Brancato and Michael Ferris (Terminator Salvation) wrote the script for "Xander Cage." It involves Cage's return to the National Security Agency after an eight-year absence. Richard Wilkes, who wrote the original movie, did a recent polish.

The studio hopes to begin production early next year.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 4:37:33 AM

Yay? At least the director will deliver a hardCORE experience. No? Okay, the director will at least bring forth the CORE strengths of the character. No? The director will want Diesel to strengthen his CORE in order to be prepared for rigorous action scenes. *Mild chuckles* Thank you, thank you!!! I'll be here all week.
Snarebeast writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 5:18:02 AM

I wonder their explanation for him being alive now will be as brief as the explanation of his death in the second one.

"We thought you were dead."
"Nah."
"Fantastic. Anyway, deadly weapons..."
Ari Gold writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 7:22:05 AM

@snarebeast
LOL. I think you should write this one!

The guy who wrote 'TS'.. Not heaps promising, but I haven't seen 'Invincible.' The original xXx started off alright, mid way through it got gay.. I will watch this one either way, I don't mind Vin.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 7:27:26 AM

He wasn't said to be dead by name in XXX2. They only referred to the 'previous XXX', not Xander Cage. And hardly anyone has seen the sh*tty short that came with the Director's Cut of XXX, so bringing him back...easy.
Ari Gold writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 8:31:29 AM

You know what was sh*ttier than that short?! The sequel! Ice Cube chubby as f*ck 'passing' for a ex Navy Seal..
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 10:34:08 AM

I didn't mind the first XXX but I was a lot younger then. XXX2... Eh. I like Vin though so I'll probably go see this.
lost_addict writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 10:42:08 AM

they couldn't hire pitof?
Blade12322 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:00:31 AM

come on guys, its all about Pierce Brosnan...
haha noo but really, i liked the first one, i like the part in the second one where hes like "somebody better leave a note" but i dont know if ill see the third one in theatres, but i wouldnt mind watching it
lawman writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:10:15 AM

The need to make a Perfect Weapon 2!! Bring back Jeff Speakman!!!!!!!!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:28:14 AM

the first one was pretty badass actually & I like Vin so I'll check it out... maybe after a trailer though
Lowryder writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:44:15 AM

ahhh! this is the worst title for a movie! i hope they will just call it XXX 3, so it will then be a true sequel, they cant say "the return of xander cage" bcuz no one knows who that is anymore
*WhisperingEye* writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:20:47 PM

Wait what I thought he was dead???????? Alittle confused
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:58:43 PM

"XxX 3: Return of Xander Cage"

Get out.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 2:32:43 PM

Diesel's out of gas if he's begging ot make another XXX.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 3:48:59 PM

My uncle actually did the soundtrack (or a track for the soundtrack, I can't remember) for the second xxx with ice cube.

I wish he did the soundtracks for ACTUAL XXX movies.

I dig those guitar riffs:
wakka wakka chicka bow wow
Eben1277 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 4:46:42 PM

xxx2 was no worse than xxx, neither one was good. this one might be decent, Invincible was awesome.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 6:04:17 PM

I hope they explain how Cage is back because in the last one they said he was assassinated. It would be a huge f'up if they leave that out.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 6:07:05 PM

Oops, didn't read what Mink said. But totally agree with him, they said he was dead.
Fuegan writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 2:25:24 AM

minkowski: No, they said that Xander Cage had been assassinated in Bahamas. They referred to him by name.

But how hard could it be to bring him back? It wouldn't be the first time a character gets away from a near death experience that would have been sure to kill everyone else with less plot armour. :P
telur writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 4:27:46 AM

i don't believe ice cube again... he's lying about xander cage LOL
Trip Maverick writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 6:02:36 AM

Maybe hes doing any movie now cos he needs to get cash together for the hannibal movie that will never get made
StrongR3tard writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 3:56:44 PM

god i hate vin diesel
Ranger writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 6:36:38 PM

Don't know how they'd bring back Xander?

I don't know... how are they bring back Jolie for Wanted 2?

Same bullsh*t... different pile.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved