WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Dark Knight" Sequel to be Shot Entirely in IMAX?

Posted: August 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Dark Knight" Sequel to be Shot Entirely in IMAX?Submit Comment
If you went to see "The Dark Knight" in an IMAX theater, then you were treated to four action scenes that expanded to fit the giant screen. Now, AICN has learned that Christopher Nolan and Warner Bros are considering shooting the next Batman movie entirely using IMAX cameras.

In a featurette for "The Dark Knight" we learned that the IMAX cameras are extremely expensive and ridiculously heavy, but they provide the highest resolution out there.

The site says that the IMAX rumor comes from a reliable source, but there is no guarantee that the studio will end up allocating more money to make this happen or whether Nolan would want to construct the many rigs necessary to hold the massive cameras. Stay tuned.

Source: AICN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Snarebeast writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 4:34:59 AM

As much as I dug the IMAX scenes in the first one I hope they don't do this. Yes action scenes shot in IMAX are great but that's only going to be some of the movie. There's no need for dialogue scenes to be shot in IMAX. Unless it's a long shot. In a canyon.

Anyway, they should still shoot the action sequences and some of the city shots in IMAX like they did for the last one. But at this point in time IMAX cameras are too bulky and difficult to work with to make an entire narrative feature with one. Especially one that's actually going to attempt a story.
Charlie9 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 5:21:53 AM

Yeah Roy!
padfootbob writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 5:24:52 AM

Hmmm.. I dunno about this.
mdp711 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 6:22:59 AM

I am one in the minority who didn't think Dark Knight was fantastic. I thought it was OK, something to watch on rainy afternoon. But I didn't go ga-ga over it like everyone else.

As for the IMAX idea, go for it. What the hell do I know. IMAX movies make me dizzy and are not my thing, but the world is about change and taking chances so I say, why not?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 7:01:40 AM

@Snarebeast
Think u mean second film, everyone for some reason forgets there is a film called Batman Begins! lol

But yeah, no need for it in dialouges that i agree with.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 7:02:27 AM

ugh you think Facebook is distracting when you are tryign to write up an uni essay, they havent been on WP yet!!!!
CesarH_16 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 7:40:46 AM

That's a touch decision...
You have a good point Snarebeast, but when i saw it in IMAX, i was getting annoyed when it went back and forth to widescreen then to IMAX scale (especially on Transformers 2). But still, pretty awesome and incredible shots. I say go for it, so it can be worth the IMAX ticket. But like i said, tough decision...

I'm just hoping for an official greenlit for the sequel, with Nolan and his crew to return.
Ari Gold writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 7:51:22 AM

Bring back Mr. Freeze! Only Arnie can save this franchise!!
Sonic writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 9:15:58 AM

Just make it good.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 10:20:54 AM

If they can find a way around the noise issues and use the camera in dialogue intensive scenes then they should do it. First narrative film shot entirely on IMAX. It would be quite expensive but he just made Warner a billion dollars they won't mind.
NatG83 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 10:21:35 AM

I could see a move like this for a movie like Avatar, Transformers, or the next Terminator.

Batman Begins and Dark Knight had their special effects, but the movies do not rely on the visuals. Frankly, the entire Dark Knight Movie looked amazing in the theater and on Blu-Ray.

But if they want to fork out the cash for the cameras, and cripple the cinematographer, then so be it.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 10:31:50 AM

Pfister can handle it he knows how to use these cameras. A lot better than Bay and co... God what a failure Transformer 2's IMAX shots.
Blade12322 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 10:56:10 AM

i agree with Snarebeast
the action scenes would probably look amaaaaaaaazing on imax BUT
if the villain is Johnny Depp as the Riddler (which im REALLY hoping it will be), i dont think there would be too many amazing action scenes as opposed to dialogue and riddle solving
that being said, someone will have to get their ass kicked, but i dont foresee too many scenes like a bus flipping or something like that

Criminal Minds for life
NatG83 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 10:59:45 AM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7

I agree about Transformer's IMAX shots sucking. I went to see it at IMAX because my friend loves the experience. We were both disappointed by how fake the bots all looked...and by the movie in general.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:17:43 AM

dosent matter, just make the sequel!
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:37:07 AM

Nolan might decide not to do this once he realizes its pointless to shoot dialogue scene in IMAX. I wouldnt mind because the film would look spectacular and Nolan seems to like and try all these new techniques so maybe it will work out.
Lowryder writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:40:59 AM

hmm this could be interesting, only if nolan will return to direct
lost_addict writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:53:00 AM

they should make another nolan-batman and end this franchise as a trilogy.

unless joel shumacher want to remake batman and robin...
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:13:04 PM

Nolan wouldn't be discovering it would be pointless to shoot dialogue scenes in IMAX because he already contemplated it on Dark Knight. IMAX camera's run quite loud so loud that it interferes with the dialogue recording audio. That was his original explanation for why it wasn't shot in IMAX along with the high costs. I don't see how its a problem when most of the time audio gets recoded on a DAT that's totally separate from the camera. But if Nolan says that's the reason I'll believe him.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:13:52 PM

The Transformers 2 IMAX scenes were horrible because they weren't shot with the format in mind, they were shot as if it was 35mm.
acslaterson writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:55:23 PM

They might be shooting this in all IMAX but Green Lantern is in trouble? What the f*ck, WB/DC is f*cking retarded.
*WhisperingEye* writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:16:57 PM

I love IMAX films, but the whole movie in imax thats just alittle to much for me
ironhide-autobot writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:38:23 PM

Its not like they cant afford to spend money on buying the imak cameras.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:58:09 PM

I don't give a sh*t, as long as it's good.
nope.com writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 2:26:05 PM

Damn, the whole thing in IMAX... anyone else remember seeing the first shot over the buildings in IMAX? Yeah.. take that and the whole movie sounds wicked.

DO IT NOLAN!

The only iffy thing is that the source for this is Jabba the hut Harry Knowles
nope.com writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 2:44:13 PM

in other news.. The SUN (tabloid mind you) paper is at it again with this delightful lie.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/2606745/Megan-Fox-has-signed-up-to-play-Catwoman-in-the-next-Batman-movie.html

.. funny how The SUN would think Nolan just stops working on Inception to cast Megan Fox (actually I would in a heartbeat as well) without a script, story, pre-prod material, etc...
pomme writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 3:14:19 PM

please, no Megan Fox in IMAX Catwoman!!!!!!!
ian_918 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 6:29:42 PM

i went and saw this in imax and it was great but these people are retarded if they shoot it only in imax cams. do they not get that the econmy is in a struggle and barley anyone could afford this if they do that. it will take a tremendous ammount of box office money away from them.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 7:02:27 PM

How would it take box office earnings away from them? The film still gets released in traditional theaters. That's like saying making a film on 35mm is dumb cause it cuts out box office earnings from the theaters running digital projection systems.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 2:02:16 PM

@spookey exactly... its not like we the consumers have imax capability available at home. so please just make it good....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved