WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Green Lantern" May Be in Trouble

Posted: August 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Green Lantern" May Be in TroubleSubmit Comment
The upcoming DC Comics movie "The Green Lantern," starring Ryan Reynolds, was set to start filming in Australia in about two weeks. Director Martin Campbell has already scouted locations in Sydney and Melbourne.

Now, Inside Film [via Production Weekly] is reporting that the shoot may be forced to move to another country, due to budget concerns. Even though Australia offers tax incentives, its rising Australia dollar is said to have blown out production costs.

Just recently "Justice League of America" was forced to shut down after Australia refused to give the film a tax break. Will "The Green Lantern" run into similar problems? Stay tuned.

Click here to read more about "The Green Lantern."

Source: Production Weekly, Inside Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:50:24 PM

nah, just a temporary skid in the schedule. Can;t wait for this movie
borat writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:51:02 PM

Never really like green lantern
he wears jewelry kinda gay
nope.com writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:51:08 PM

script is pretty faithful to the source as well (like Iron man and BB/TDK)

read the script for those who are hardcore GL fans
nope.com writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:56:30 PM

lol it is a pretty ridiculous concept if you think about it :D

but some of the best stories in comics came from this character series
Ranger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:41:47 PM

And the US $ will only buy them $1.08635 in Canada now.

Hey DC... just cough up the extra money you need and film wherever you excuse-making whiners!!!!

No wonder Marvel is kicking their all over the playing field. 2 weeks to filming and this guy is still scouting, and they're just working out exchange rates now?!

DC... you're a Lohan!
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:47:32 PM

Who cares if this cost a little more than they first anticipated, The Dark Knight cost like $200 million and it made 6 times that amount in worldwide box office...do it right and rake it the cash
nope.com writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 7:21:09 PM

It doesn't even have to meet TDK standards in terms of box office gross. Ironically, I think Casino Royale's territory will be satisfying enough for Warner Bros. I think they'll be happy with $400 mil plus... which would be more than what the teenage love fest Superman Returns pulled in disappointingly.
japaninmotion writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 7:21:51 PM

the aussie dollar isn't rising its the sh*tty dollar sinking
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:11:48 PM

I am completely indifferent to this article.

Simply because I don't give a sh*t about a faggot wearing jewellry and green spandex.
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:12:57 PM

Jeez what does Australia have against DC? Seriously they let Wolverine shot there. I don't get it
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:14:38 PM

Not a Lantern film but I am a Martin Campbell fan so I'm looking forward to this film.
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:26:29 PM

Ranger you crack me up.
Ari Gold writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:30:37 PM

I live in Australia and I have never in my life seen a comic book shop like the fat guy owns in 'The Simpsons.' Honest question, do they exist like that?

I haven't even heard of this bloke and I bet the majority of Australians haven't.

Im happy the Aussie dollar is rising!! sh*t will be cheaper when I rock Vegas next year!!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:07:53 PM

What, the comic stores or the comic book guys?

Because the comic book guys exist, and they work in comic book stores like how they look in the simpsons.
Ari Gold writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:09:23 PM

I have no doubt in my mind that people who read comics exist, Im just wondering if those stores are heaps common? Like are they in alot of American suburbs? Like eg Maccas?
acslaterson writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:20:18 PM

I live in Columbus, OH and I only know about 3 or 4 comic shops(it is the state capital). My home town only had one about 40 minutes away from where I lived.

Why the f*ck is Marvel, a brand new studio, able to film in the US, but WB/DC is pinching pennies and filming in Australia? Is it because they are more corporate? Makes absolutely no sense to me.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:26:23 PM

@Ari;

There's quite a few comic shops here, but they differ in quanity. Where I'm from originally, there's like one. There was more, but they went out of business.

Here in Dallas-Fort Worth, Lonestar Comics has several locations. Not only that but we have a chain of discount book stores, and they carry quite a bit in the way of comics.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:32:10 PM

Never thought i would see the day when the Australian dollar would be better than the US.

@Ari, we have comic book stores, ive been to two, but iam yet to see a compelte utter comic book nerd who acts like a tossar like the Comic Book Guy.Besides didn't the comic book guy f*ck Skinners mum......usually overweight, *sshole nerds don't get laid!!

Besides, we pay what $10 for a comic, screw that, i go to the Borders book store at Rundle Mall in Adelaide, grab a coffee from Gloria Jeans (Thats our version of Starbucks, only their aint 50 down one street)sit down and read a comic ( I read Watchmen, Long Halloween there without buying it), thing is 'Borders' don't give the sh*t.

So my advice is this, if you find a Borders with a coffee house in it, go in, buy a coffee, grab the book you want to read and read it there.So much cheaper!!
Ari Gold writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:43:09 PM

Thanks guys! I didn't mean to sound ignorant or anything, just curious.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:54:25 PM

You know that last comic book filmt aht was filmed here i think, was Ghost Rider. When i watched it, all i can see was, thats Melbourne, thats a gum tree, i swear i just saw a f*cking Koala in a tree, and theres that annoying Australian actress who aint funny. Apart from those points, the film it self sucked big time.

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:24:12 AM

There's like one where I used to live. It's funny because the stores name was "Heroes" and the owner looked 89% like f*cking Sylar.

But out here where I live now, there's like 1, and I wouldn't even consider it a comic store, just a place where 40 year old manchildren play Yu Gi Oh (no f*cking joke, I've seen them).
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:24:17 AM

"a place where 40 year old manchildren play Yu Gi Oh (no f*cking joke, I've seen them)."

Yeah, that's some f*cked up sh*t. But nothing will make your eyes twitch like watching old men argue over Pokemon trading cards. I really, really don't think the Japanese had that in mind when they invented anime trading cards.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:43:46 AM

yea, once you see that, you tend to print off some resumes and go to the gym and make lots of friends just incase.
telur writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 2:16:26 AM

go to Indonesia near Australia, i believe tax free :P
Ranger writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 3:55:32 AM

@Ari - you're weren't being or sounding arrogant. You were just asking a question.

@Mink - I remember seeing Lonestar Comics advertised in the Overstreet Guide (MANY moons ago).

I took the girlfriend (at the time) into a comic store about 12 years ago to show her what collecting was like for me (that's when I found out Marvel was bankrupt. I was shocked!!!).

Went into a comic store a couple of years ago to ask if they had any MINT Iron Man's 1-10 (original '68 series - I once had 1 - 150 in MINT, and now wanted to get the first 10 back) - they said no. I asked if I could be put on their list. They said they didn't keep such a list. I asked why not (thought they could make good $'s having people ready for good stuff when a collection came in to buy).

He said... eBay. And he was right. eBay has kicked the sh*t out of the comic book store. Which is why a lot of them have few comics (funny for a 'comic shop!' and a TON of Todd's (McFarlane's) toys.

So... that how I've seen the business change Ari. A new comic shop starting up nowadays wouldn't make it. Lonestar in Texas as a customer base.

Ahhh... but they were glorious places to visit in their day my friends!

And thx. to eBay I have my Iron Man 1-10 back.
James.Speed writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 4:19:36 AM

I dont think they will scrub the Australian filming. I auditioned for a minor role, just last week. I have friends who are hired in set building. It isnt as in-trouble as Justice League was.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 4:19:50 AM

I don't have high hopes for a good return on this film because with Batman, Spiderman or Superman, people outside of the comic world still knew those characters.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:16:31 AM

f*cking goddamn Aussies!
VN1X writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:38:48 PM

So what's so special about this charachter again?
Ranger writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 3:02:46 PM

@James.Speed - good reporting... thx.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 6:14:55 PM

What's with green. It must be cursed. First the Green Hornet was a hot mess and now this might follow. Oh boy...
raza12 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:08:23 PM

@Ranger... I sense a strong hatred towards Lindsay Lohan... Don't worry it's not THAT abvious. *COUGH* keep em coming Ranger.. You the man!
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 12:39:17 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved