WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Trailer Sucked on Purpose

Posted: August 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Trailer Sucked on PurposeSubmit Comment
The trailer for the upcoming James Cameron-directed "Avatar" might have set the "most-viewed" record on the Apple website, but it did not impress that many fans. According to Sam Worthington, that was the whole point.

"It's interesting that [Cameron] released that trailer and then the next day goes and shows it on IMAX," Worthington said of the 16-minute preview released on August 21st in IMAX theaters. "One extreme to the other. We get the criticism, and then we get the rave reviews of what it really looks like in its own formula. That's obviously going to get people to think and go, 'Well, damn right. I'm going to go see this at the cinema.' Jim has always said to me he wants to bring people back to the movies. And he's a smart enough man to be tactical."

Worthington added that he has read lots of comments about the trailer and understands the disappointment. "It's got a hell of a lot of hype," he said. "I read all what was said yesterday about the trailer. I can see their point. But, as I said, it wasn't meant to be built for an Apple Mac. It's built for IMAX. It's built for 3-D."

Click here to read more about "Avatar."

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 184 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dandythelion writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:53:25 AM

well, it still looks just plain awful
telur writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:24:09 AM

Still I will watch AVATAR
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:34:45 AM

So far all we have is teh graphics, really haven't got too much detail yet on plot, the story might be fantastic
BurmaShave writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:57:42 AM

Ahhh, so it was supposed to look awful. Of course, of course. And the creature designs, which was one of the main points of criticism, will somehow not suck when they're coming at you on a huge screen in 3-D? Gotcha.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 7:10:03 AM

so is that the excuse that they're throwing at us? gee, i wonder whats their excuse for this movie being similar to Delgo. perhaps that was on purpose too?
Forrest75 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 7:16:37 AM

I know I usually enjoy trailers on my "Apple Mac." Not so much on my "Computer PC" though.
Ryanlawson writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:01:13 AM

hell yer, sam worthington is the man. he has a point. one ofthe things cameron spent so long creating was the 3d cameras and teqniques to capture the 3d performance in a way in which has never been done. maybe this is what will make 3d actualy be undeniably awesome like it should be.
Ryanlawson writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:02:04 AM

hahaha then i look on my WP display picture and it says "change avator" never saw that option till just then.
Jasper666 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:04:02 AM

Apple Mac...PC...IMAX, it still sucked
rocketman writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:04:08 AM

'sucked on purpose' my arse.it sucked.period.
thats a lame excuse if ever i saw one.and lets be honest,all the folks who saw the 16 mins in 3d were either die hard Cameron fans or arse licking journo's(i'm talking to you Empire mag)
Kill-the-director writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:22:58 AM

it was a teaser trailer of course its guna suck
Ari Gold writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:24:08 AM

'Avatar Trailer Sucked On Purpose'
Hahahahaha!! Nice..
Jim later commented 'I wasn't even trying!'
Maybe this will leak on purpose like 'XO: Wolverine'
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:35:08 AM

LOL, and now i have to belive this sh*t, come on tell TRUE! this movie suck! Thats a fact!
Agent Calavera writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:41:26 AM

Lot of you seem to hate this film already.. did i miss some advanced screening you all went to? NO
vwkombi writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:38:48 AM

I think this movie might be an entertaining sci-fi action film, i have faith in Cameron. But that CGI was disapointing.

On a side not, i hate when people defend the movie by saying "you havn't seen it yet so don't judge". If a films pre-release marketing sucks then there's a pretty heavy chance of it sucking. That's kind of the point of pre-release marketing, to make the film look good. When you see a trailer that sucks, it's safe to assume that the film it's based on didn't have any decent footage worth showing off.
thetheeyecreature writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:39:25 AM

3D doesn't work for me, so it's not a great selling point. I'd be much more impressed by a good script (something "Titanic" could have used).
MontoyaWA writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:42:54 AM

Buncha hateful MFrs in this place... Not one person in here has ever been right about a movie in their life, and yet they'll go out on "limb" and say this movie will "suck." GTFO...
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:54:00 AM

Most of the people here are morons. They exlaim die hard support for almost ANY piece of sh*t film. I saw far less hate for Pet Detective 3.

They j*zzed in their pants over the Inception teaser that showed virtually nothing, just because it had a bomm-boom soundtrack. Unbelievable.

But because Avatar didn't live up to the dumbass hype they built up in their act-first think-later brains, they've become even more reactionary. They hate Avatar because it isn't what THEY thought it would be. Kinda sad.

I just get the feeling they get some sort of deranged pleasure hoping Cameron will fail. No gratitude for what the man broought to the screen previously.

And what kills me is how they'll defend viciously a film like, I don't know, Red Heat, or any five hour turd Jackson sh*ts out. Shhhh, don't criticize District 9 or GI JOE. Those films are their latest obsession. THEY liked them, so how dare YOU criticize them? But Avatar, they haven't seen, much less watched in 3D, so they have to get on the majority bandwagon by trashing it.

Morons. A bunch of f*cking morons. "Look at me, I'm hating the film already too!" Idiotic group mentality.

And I couldn't give a sh*t about Avatar.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:58:42 AM

And yeah, the CGI looks like pretty bad. Cameron may have bitten off more than he could chew, so to speak, but I've already said that.

"Not one person in here has ever been right about a movie in their life,"

I was absolutely right about Transformers, so that's one. But then again, I read the SCRIPT before it came out. None of these dipsh*ts have bothered to go that far with Avatar, have they? But tell them Nolan or Jackson are making a film about sh*tting roosters, or Myspace, and they go crazy with anticipation.
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:09:30 AM

minkowski you are wrong! i dont haye this sh*t, dont insult people for telling the TRUE, this loud mouth Director (CAMERON) said that this movie is the best of his work, for what i seen it doesn't, I belive in democracy people can tell what they want is a free country! and remenber the name of the web side WORST PREVIEWS, no one is gonna skeap well of any movie here, and i agree with the inception, what is about that trailer i dont get any feeback!
MontoyaWA writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:17:35 AM

"I was absolutely right about Transformers, so that's one. "

Touche.. Point being that these mofos are ridiculous with their hate for this movie. I cared nothing about it one way or the other previously, but now I'm almost rooting that it to be a success just so these j-offs can get slapped in the face with a big floppy dyck.
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:32:20 AM

I don't hate the game i dont hate the players, but you know at the end of the day, that the bigest disappointing was the big expectation that Cameron make about this movie, The True is much clear now he was liying, this movie will suck and you know it!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:33:35 AM

Get the f*ck out of here Worthington.

I'm suprised you didn't say "OH WELL T4 SUCKED ON PURPOSE TOO CUZ T5 WILL BE BETTUR".

Lol @ everyone trying to cover their own ass for this sh*tty excuse for a decade without a cameron movie.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:34:28 AM

Cameron never said this was going to be his 'best work' AFAIK. He said he was going to make a film like you've never seen. So, has ANYONE seen this damned film in IMAX3D? Have you?? Because THAT'S its intended venue. Cameron is pushing groundbreaking 3D, so unless you've seen it THERE, perhaps you haven't seen what it the way he's intending.

Quote:

"Our goal with Avatar is to revolutionize live-action 3D moviemaking, and I have no doubt that it will look and sound incredible in IMAX 3D," said director James Cameron. "The larger field of view and powerful surround sound of an IMAX theatre will completely immerse the audience in a way that cannot be experienced anywhere else."
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:37:58 AM

"Lol @ everyone trying to cover their own ass for this sh*tty excuse for a decade without a cameron movie."

I have no vested interest in the film one way or the other. MY issue is with people splooging over JUNK they haven't seen, defending JUNK they HAVE seen, and then attacking a film's (they also haven't seen)lackluster trailer because it didn't live up to the bullsh*t hype they built in their minds, that undeserved subjective bandwagon hype that never had little justifying evidence.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:38:40 AM

"No gratitude for what the man broought to the screen previously."

Listen, I don't say "WELL U GUISE SUK FOR MAKIN FUN OF INDY 5 CUZ U HAS NO RESPECT FER THE OTHER MOVIES SPEILBERG BROUGHT US" do I?

"THEY liked them, so how dare YOU criticize them?"

I couldn't give a sh*t if they didn't like them. I don't see anybody defending G.I. Joe, and whoever here liked D9 liked it for what it's worth, a 7.6.

I expect a letter from Cameron saying this:
"
Dear film going public, my name is james cameron. over a decade ago i concieved of an idea so fantastic that i had to lock myself in a cave waiting for technology to let me realize my masterpiece. well i apologize, but it seems i emerged early expect...ing it to be sometime around 2025. Turns out you savages don't even have 3d tvs. Without them avatar will suck. Its not my fault, promise."
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:40:32 AM

"because it didn't live up to the bullsh*t hype they built in their minds"

I'm sorry Mink, clearly you've never been to the IMDB board that's been up for god knows how long.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:41:29 AM

In short, Cameron's delivering on what he said he would, not on what everyone THOUGHT he would.

And that disparity, caused by people's general oh how can I put this lightly?) stupidity, is the issue here.

Avatar is doing exactly what the 1995 scriptment depicted.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:43:14 AM

Yes. With cliche characters and boring character arcs all included.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:45:49 AM

Not to mention Blue cats, 25 feet birds flying (lol), and mountains floating which means that basically the blue cat people should all be shooting up into space.
NatG83 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:46:32 AM

I will not discredit Cameron or Avatar, but this movie is doing nothing for me.

Crappy CGI or not, a good film isn't only defined by how it looks. But frankly, it just doesn't look as fresh as Cameron claims.

Frankly, I don't buy that they meant for the trailer to suck. I could see the studio executive dropping a brick on the spot.

I'll definitely see they movie, but I'm not paying $10 for a ticket (definitely not $16 for IMAX). I'll wait for the rental, or the HBO release.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:47:04 AM

Star wars battleships, Starship Trooper uniforms, and that fish from hellboy.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:52:31 AM

"I don't see anybody defending G.I. Joe"

There was a WHOLE f*cking thread, nearly 200 comments, from people defending the film and bashing me! Did you somehow forget that thread? If so, how the f*ck could you?? Did you read the hundreds of hateful replies to critics over at RT? For having the temerity to question GI JOEs quality, critics got bashed on everything from their sexuality to their hairstyle. Kinda like here, in fact.

When I said one thing about D9, I got hammered by one insulting comment after another. Do you just forget everythng before the present day? Are you like that girl in 40 First Dates?

"I'm sorry Mink, clearly you've never been to the IMDB board that's been up for god knows how long."

Yeah, a bunch of LOSERS crying that a 2D trailer for a 3D FILM didn't give them what they expected. I like this one:

http://www.imdb.com/rg/title-tease/boards-subject/title/tt0499549/board/nest/145858573

"BOYCOTT THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!"

""State of the art technology"

"Revolutionise the way we watch movies"


.... BULL$HIT!!!

So much for false hope.

You've all been lied to! Same Hollywood crap. "

LOL! This IDIOT hasn't seen the film in IMAX3D. Have YOU Spooks? I don't think so. You've seen a 2D trailer that DOES NOT PUT THE 3D TECHNOLOGY ON DISPLAY. Period. These peope are pissed off because they're STUPID. It's like if Caterpillar made a new backhoe, and claimed it will increase digging efficiency by 200%. So some dumbass gets in, fires the thing up, and drives it ten feet. He starts yelling about how this new backhoe doesn't do ANYTHING NEW. And the Caterpillar rep asks him: did you try DIGGING sir?

People are so goddamned dumb, it seems. When Cameron said 3D, people thought "Man, he's going to blow Pixar away" because when the average fool thinks 3D, he thinks something like Toy Story or Halo. And that's NOT the 3D Cameron was talking about exactly. LOL.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:53:47 AM

"Yes. With cliche characters and boring character arcs all included."

One question, and answer the question HONESTLY: have you, or have you NOT, read the 1995 scriptment?

I await your HONEST answer.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:00:06 AM

"Crappy CGI or not, a good film isn't only defined by how it looks. But frankly, it just doesn't look as fresh as Cameron claims."

Have YOU read the scriptment?

I can't believe I'm defending a film even I don't like already. I hated Titanic. I didn't like The Abyss that much.

I think Avatar deserves some criticism. The story is gegeric, but aren't most films, especially nowadays? Why is that SUDDENLY a bad thing. District 9 raped plenty of sources. And Cameron never tried selling Avatar on the story, did he? And almost NONE of you have read the scriptment, right?

Like Halo the game wasn't HIGHLY f*cking derivative, but that never stopped anyone from playing the game, huh? Or begging like yelping puppies to get a Halo movie, right?
lost_addict writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:02:10 AM

the first half of the trailer was solid before the cartoon started...
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:03:20 AM

"Star wars battleships, Starship Trooper uniforms, and that fish from hellboy."

And yet, the fact that JJ ABrams Star Trek film unabashedly ripped off Star Wars, Cloverfield(!), Battlestar Galactica and "Days of Our Lives" never stopped anyone from fanatically loving THAT film, did it? A stupid film with cheap flat characters and an insipid love triangle, but people loved it, not DESPITE the flaws, but loved it claiming it HAD NO flaws.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:08:35 AM

Yea, I've found a copy online.

So basically these cliched government-coporation types put him in an alien body 'just because'. Then he goes to this moon, then the humans start attacking the moon while he's on it.

YES. MAKES SENSE.

There's some blue elf drama, that no one will care about because they don't exist. Some cool scenes where they sh*t all over laws of physics. I'd honestly give the sript 6/10
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:10:33 AM

Yea, but Abrams didn't wait 15 years to make star trek, he didn't promise us "The future of star trek canon", or "the best storyline ever in a star trek movie" or any of that.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:12:02 AM

Star Treks budget wasn't 300 million and JJ didn't piss most of that away by gluing two cameras together to make 3-d look more real, but in anything other than 3-D that camera is useless.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:13:02 AM

Star Treks budget wasn't 300 million and JJ didn't piss most of that away by gluing two cameras together to make 3-d look more real, but in anything other than 3-D that camera is useless.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:17:02 AM

Avatar has issues fot sure.

1. Bad human, good alien crap. Story borrowed from mythical and romanticized and historically inaccurate White European meets Native American.

2. Obvious alien/human love story.

3. Generic aliens look like cliched tribal Native Americans, and the creatures aren't special either.

4. Powerloader from Aliens.

5. Subpar CGI.

6. Unrealistic floating mountains. I mean, how does a primitive alien race create anti-gravity on aplanet with normal Earth gravity? And in GIANT mountain-sized rocks?

It also has:

1. unbelievable animation for 3D characters.

2. supposedly unbelievable 3D visuals. By 3D, I mean the kind where you put on goofy glasses, not Transformers 3D. Actual SPATIALLY perceived 3D, not prerendered screen CG.

Unfortunately, if you had actually LISTENED to Cameron, and READ THE f*ckING SCRIPTMENT, instead of forming ideas in your echo of a mind, you would've seen all this coming. this is EXACTLY what the scriptment predicted, and EXACTLY what Cameron claimed it would be.

Neither the script nor Cameron are in error. Your unsupportable expectations are in error instead.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:21:03 AM

"1. unbelievable animation for 3D characters."

I hate the argument "BUT U CAN C DER EMOSHUNS BEST CGI CHARACTER EVERRRR"

You could see Gollum's facial expressions and twiches, as with Dr. M, in fact, with Dr. M, the animators made sure that you saw that, because it was crucial to the plot.

"Neither the script nor Cameron are in error. Your unsupportable expectations are in error instead."

Yea, I kind of have this thing about being lied to.

I don't like being lied to.
AP102390 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:21:12 AM

so there was very little real audio and no clear cut plot just to piss us off? oh james cameron, you're a wily son of a bitch aren't you? just PLEASE give us a legitimate trailer with sound and a plot and we can decide whether we hate you or not thanks
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:21:15 AM

You're in error Spooky. Avatar costs 200+, not 300+. Please source check your erroneous and unsubstantiated 'facts' before tossing out strawman arguments.

http://theplaylist.blogspot.com/2009/03/james-camerons-avatar-budget-could-have.html
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:22:25 AM

"Yea, but Abrams didn't wait 15 years to make star trek, he didn't promise us "The future of star trek canon", or "the best storyline ever in a star trek movie" or any of that."

Can you PLEASE post a link to where Cameron said ANY OF THAT? Because I'm pretty sure he never did. You're just talking out your ass.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:23:45 AM

This movie isn't revolutionary whatsoever, just another children's flick with a pg13 rating. The camera is useless in anything other than 3-D, the storyline is crap, every element or most of it is ripped off, and whatever isn't ripped off is defying laws of physics and basic sciences of gravity.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:24:54 AM

"JJ didn't piss most of that away by gluing two cameras together to make 3-d look more real, but in anything other than 3-D that camera is useless."

I'm very sure you don't understand one damned thing concerning the technology behind Cameron's 3D camera.

http://www.5min.com/Video/How-to-Experience-A-New-Generation-of-3D-2881700
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:26:16 AM

"Can you PLEASE post a link to where Cameron said ANY OF THAT? Because I'm pretty sure he never did. You're just talking out your ass."

I'm just changin Camerons promises of "REVOLUTIONARY 3-D" and "PHOTOREALISTIC CGI" to fit in with JJ's movie.

Just a joke, lighten up.

For a guy who is "indifferent" to this movie, you sure want to put a fight.

"You're in error Spooky. Avatar costs 200+, not 300+. Please source check your erroneous and unsubstantiated 'facts' before tossing out strawman arguments."

Oh yeah, sorry, because a quarter of a billion budget REALLY makes a big difference, I forgot.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:27:44 AM

"I'm very sure you don't understand one damned thing concerning the technology behind Cameron's 3D camera."

No, I do, it will look like one camera, not two, on my 47 inch hd flat screen T.V. which will completely defeat the purpose of it's "revolutionary" technology.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:29:18 AM

Unlike the people defending this movie, I'm not gonna apologize to Cameron for being a caveman and not living in 2027 where everyone has a 3-D tv.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:29:48 AM

"This movie isn't revolutionary whatsoever, just another children's flick with a pg13 rating. "

I'm starting to wonder if you really are a f*cking moron.

"The camera is useless in anything other than 3-D,"

That's because it's a f*ckING 3D CAMERA! Jesus Christ. It's like you saying a car isn't good for anything other than traveling from point A to B.

"the storyline is crap"

I don't think you've actually READ the scriptment. It's not even on the internet anymore, and hasn't been for years since it was pulled. So how did you read it again? And I'm not talking about JBlos review either.

Tell me what happens on page 37. Paste an excerpt. I bet you can't.

"every element or most of it is ripped off"

You've seen every element, now have you? And that never stopped the Matrix from becoming massively popular.

"and whatever isn't ripped off is defying laws of physics and basic sciences of gravity."

Like you know anything about gravity other than when you drop something, it falls and goes boom.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:33:31 AM

"Oh yeah, sorry, because a quarter of a billion budget REALLY makes a big difference, I forgot."

Yeah, because when Spooky's running his mouth, a 100 million is really no money at all.

"No, I do, it will look like one camera, not two, on my 47 inch hd flat screen T.V. which will completely defeat the purpose of it's "revolutionary" technology."

And...that's YOUR f*cking fault. cameron made the film for the THEATER not your f*cking television. It's like bitchig that the infinite resolution of film is worthless because your Digital Tv has limited scanline resolution, so what's the point? I mean what's the point of seeing the film on the BIG SCREEN if you can't get the sae xperience on your crappy television, so why go see it, right? I mean to hell with innovation and technology if Spooky can't get it in his home right now.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:34:40 AM

"Paste an excerpt. I bet you can't."

No, I can't for two reasons

1. it's not a text doc*ment, pdf
2. I had to reinstall windows twice in the last 2 weeks. That's the last time I DOWNLOAD porn!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:36:07 AM

"cameron made the film for the THEATER not your f*cking television."

Ok, so is the movie going to be forever playing in theaters? No. It won't.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:36:36 AM

I'm just changin Camerons promises of "REVOLUTIONARY 3-D" and "PHOTOREALISTIC CGI" to fit in with JJ's movie.

I'm pretty sure Cameron never said 'photorelistic CGI', and I'm pretty sure that's what other people said because they totally misunderstood what Cameron was talking about when he said 'revolutionary 3D'.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:38:27 AM

"I mean to hell with innovation and technology if Spooky can't get it in his home right now."

It's camerons fault that he expects me to go out and buy a 7k 3-D tv just to I can enjoy hid dinky little kids movie.

Here Mink, I got this for you:
http://www.greenzer.com/blog/blog_image_store/2009/05/johnson-and-johnson-baby-shampoo-chemicals.jpg

Now let's stop crying over this movie, and go make fun of Terminator 4.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:41:22 AM

"1. it's not a text doc*ment, pdf"

BULLsh*t.

Random paste

"The Matriarch, MO'AT POHATSUA examines Josh closely. She

looks at the viperwolf bite on his arm. She says

something to the Patriarch, MATO'A TE KAHA NAHGOITEWA, and"
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:43:22 AM

"Ok, so is the movie going to be forever playing in theaters? No. It won't."

Then don't buy the damned Bluray or the DVD! Doesn't make any sense what your saying.

I'll pay to see it on IMAX3D before I determine if it doesn't do what Cameron PROMISED. Unlike you.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:44:13 AM

Another paste:

They enter a clearing filled with chest-high ferns. She

signals him to stop, then shows him a creature perched on

a nearby fern.

Josh sees a black, stick-like lizard thing perched on a

frond ahead of him. It is about a foot long and ugly as a

toad. As he approaches it goes SNAP!

A long spine lying along its back snaps around in a

circle, unfurling a bioluminescent membrane of bright

orange and blue... a perfect disk almost a meter across,

opening like a Chinese fan. The rapidly distending fan-

wing imparts enough angular movement to spin the creature

like a frisbee. It glides, spinning, through the

darkness. It floats across the clearing to another branch

where the wing furls, vanishing as suddenly as it

appeared.
RoorToken writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 12:12:06 PM

ahaha, do you boners have jobs? this argument is priceless!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 12:17:53 PM

Are you old enough to get one?

FACT: over 90% of WP members who say they're 19+, aren't.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 12:47:08 PM

"Ok, so is the movie going to be forever playing in theaters? No. It won't."

I think this is why Cameron is pushing the 3D televisions now so to experience the film how its meant to be.

Damn, i just bought my LCD :(
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 1:05:47 PM

Imagine if Lohan was in Avatar. What a section of comments that would be!
Frankichiro writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 1:14:35 PM

I think this movie seems awesome and I'm really looking forward to it. It reminds me of the art of Roger Dean and old classic sci-fi comics like in Heavy Metal.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 1:41:55 PM

"Heavy Metal."


Now THAT'S a CGI movie Cameron should spend 15 years on.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 1:44:35 PM

@Mink: Hey I defended Red Heat on this site and was one of the few that supported this Avatar trailer! You might want to give Red Heat a chance too. (just kidding, I could give a f*ck) Its good to here you being realistic and open minded about Avatar though. I've seen you dog Cameron and his films (Titanic, Abyss, True Lies) before and always thought you had it out for the guy. At least those were informed opinion made after seeing the films.

Spooky, see the film. Then bitch.
nope.com writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 1:50:52 PM

lol, guess we'll see on the 21st

still looks crappy
RoorToken writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 2:02:07 PM

Lol, yes, I do have a job. I find no reason to lie on a website that allows me to read up on movies. Thats just f*cking retarded.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 2:02:20 PM

I don't think you can really dog the film if you haven't seen it in IMAX 3D. Like it was really incredible. I disagree with the subpar CGI because the skin textures on these Na'vi look absolutely spectacular. The real thing that sells you is the lighting and the mo-cap. Plus Spooky these is the millionth time you've titled the 3D aspect as the revolutionary part of the film which it is NOT. The revolutionary part is real time CGI rendering of what you are filming. THAT IS THE REVOLUTIONARY COMPONENT. The film is only in 3D because Cameron believes that CGI looks more realistic when presented in 3D.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 2:15:03 PM

BTW I love the stealth trolling on the title WP lol.
Bob82 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 2:27:18 PM

Reminds me of M. Night Shyamalan saying he made "The Happening" bad on purpose, like an homage to B-movies, well homage or not, that movie really sucked!

I'm still excited to watch "Avatar", anyway, the preview was great.
Jedimax writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 2:36:14 PM

The point is really not if you (someone who frequently posts on Worstpreviews) is going to see it or not. Which by the way is also calling myself out on the fact that I am going to see avatar. But avatar was made on a budget that puts The Dark Knight to shame. and on that note puts...lets say puts Beowulf to shame.

Beowulf was made on 150 million, and probably spent about another 100 on advertising. it ended up grossing less then 200 million worldwide, thats not a success. And I don't think this is going to put that much more people in theaters then Beowulf did, because of how it looks, and because of who will naturally be targeted to this movie. And even if I am wrong on that note, it certainly will not put triple the amount of people who saw beowulf in theaters if it ends up sucking, which is probably somewhere close to what it will take for them to break even.
NatG83 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:07:37 PM

"Have YOU read the scriptment?"

No, Mink, you are right: I have not read a script or treatment. I did not knock the film, I just don't think it looks fresh, or revolutionary, like the hype claims. Props to Cameron for not doing a remake, but this will not draw me to the theater.

I do like some of the actors involved. I personally feel that Giovanni Ribisi is one of the most under utilized actors at the moment, and that Worthington is valuable.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:22:48 PM

"ahaha, do you(r) boners have jobs? this argument is priceless!"

Why, do you have a job for my boner?
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:27:15 PM

@SACDaddy: the trailer looks better now that I've seen it more than once. The CGI looks better now. I think it's all preceptions and misconceptions. Maybe I'll give some other films a second chance.

"Lol, yes, I do have a job. I find no reason to lie on a website that allows me to read up on movies. Thats just f*cking retarded."

No, you just troll and try to start some sh*t and you generally have no f*cking opinion at all regarding films, which is what this place is about, not your idiotic and unjustified need to forcibly jam yourself into conversation.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:51:55 PM

I will offer an apology to Spooks. No offense intended, but all the hate the trailer is getting is totally f*cking ridiculous. Seems like I took some of that frustration out on you, rather than all the idiots on here, IMDb and other places. I stand by what I said, but I should've been more...what's the word? Oh yeah, diplomatic.

Anyway, I don't offer apologies often. Don't think for a second this signals that I'm getting weak. But after rereading my comments, I believe you legitmately deserve an honest apology.
mdp711 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:54:11 PM

I didn'think it looked all that bad. It looked kind of interesting.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 4:09:58 PM

wow so much bitching, how about you guys go and make a film, then you can reserve the right to bitch about others.which is all you ever do..( you will actually have expierence to back up what u say on here so you can tell people that u know what your are talking about.( cuz it just seems like your argueing about technical sh*t, and unless you have actual hands on expierence how the f*ck does anyone fully know what they are talking about, any *sshole can read a f*cking manual, monitor or what ever and then call out sh*t and make it seem like you know what the f*ck your talking about.. Jesus f*cking christ, Just cuz someone has a f*cking degree doesnt mean they know how to use it either.. And if im wrong and if either one of you had in the past made and or worked on an actual motion picture film, then my apologizes to you both. if not who the f*ck cares, its a film, if you dont dig it great if you do great.. but cameron has a lot more expierence than the both of you.. You both arent fan boys, your anti fan boys, which in reality makes u sound like haters.. perhaps you both need to blow each other and share the soggy cookie.. oh and by the way, who the f*ck are you to tell someone they have no taste in film cuz they have a preference, that right there mink makes your sound like a pretentious know it all c*nt, its their choice to like it or not, not yours. oh and rounders is f*cking bad ass for the f*cking record....
mattcl23 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 4:16:40 PM

Nice try but your not going to fool me. It was meant to look awful and get sh*tty fan reviews on purpose, who the hell does that? If it was intentional then he's running the risk of losing fan base by showing a purposely bad trailer. I don't get it at all.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 4:21:35 PM

mdp711 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:54:11 PM
I didn'think it looked all that bad. It looked kind of interesting.

That's what I initially took from it and that's what a lot of people at the 16 minute preview walked out saying. Something that has been totally looked over on WP is the universe. I think it looks incredibly cool and it's a nice spin on an overused story. The creatures look like something I've never seen before. The Na'vi themselves look different. Just the overall design of the environment looks inventive. It's incredibly hard to come up with something new to look at on screen. Also to all the people claiming "oh generic story", what movie in recent memory has had a completely original story? Yeah they are an EXTREME minority.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 4:24:51 PM

Well, lostwarrior is in his angry drunk mode again. Not sure what he's rambling about. Something about Rounders, which was a well made but horrifically boring pile of sh*t. As for the rest, he's yaking incoherently about something. I think it's about Avatar. Pretty sure I was sticking up for Avatar, but now that old man LW is on the bottle again, I'm less sure.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 4:26:13 PM

"Also to all the people claiming "oh generic story", what movie in recent memory has had a completely original story? Yeah they are an EXTREME minority."

Umm, that's exactly what I said.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 4:34:00 PM

Yeah but it's like people don't get it. I don't understand why people bitch about not getting what THEY want out of a film... it ain't your f*cking film to be demanding things. You want a certain thing in a movie, go make it. It seems a lot of people on this thread just want to hate on it for the sake of doing so. It's fine though cause I guarantee they'll eat crow come December 18th.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 4:55:55 PM

no mink its clear u missed, and forgot what u wrote earlier when u said that people on here are morons and started talking about wht people like is completely sh*t... that pissed me off, and regarding what u said last week about rounders you and the hostess bitch boy, sometimes you come off like you know it all and sh*t.. and today was one of those days... also the one thing i give you props for is saying ill make my opinion on it the day it comes out.. that i agree with , but when you were just going off and telling people they have no taste and they are completely morons thats what pissed me off, do i think you were talking to me no. but that is besides that point.. like i said you just come off like you know it all, and what u say is as true as the fake god people pray tooo.. that is what pissed me off and i felt you were being an unreasonable *sshole in that statement, and just know im not callin you an *sshole, im implying that your statement made u sound like one. just didnt want any confusion and have u take it the wrong way or something....
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 4:59:07 PM

@lostwarrior:

*glub* *glub* *glub*

MoneyHayabusa writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:01:43 PM

Mink said..."I will offer an apology to Spooks. No offense intended, but all the hate the trailer is getting is totally f*cking ridiculous. Seems like I took some of that frustration out on you, rather than all the idiots on here, IMDb and other places. I stand by what I said, but I should've been more...what's the word? Oh yeah, diplomatic."

f*ck that man I enjoyed reading that battle! Plus Spooky can be such a f*cking d*ck, Karma demands he take a beating for a bit.

Especially about the home technology aspect of it, 3D tvs and whatnot. 75 years ago, people listened to the radio and only saw movies in theaters. 50 years ago people got small, sh*tty black & white TVs with no home viewing equipment (vcrs, projectors, whatev). 30 years ago people started watching colored TVs and could watch movies at home with external devices. 15 years ago DVDs, with the best visual quality, came out. In only the last 10 years we went from regular tvs to flatscreen, widescreen and HD, Plasma, DLP, CRT, etc., with 1080P established as 'best' just a few years ago.

And what, that f*cking train is just gonna stop now? HUH? True 3D tv doesnt just mean TV... it means your phone, your computer (if thats what either of those will even be in 20 years), billboards, f*ck even lights and sh*t. The 21st century isn't about an end all... its about a never ending, ever-faster spinning cycle of technological advancement.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:11:59 PM

"The 21st century isn't about an end all... its about a never ending, ever-faster spinning cycle of technological advancement."

Agreed but:

Yeah, well, I'm not about to go broke paying for it all. Like BlueRay. They'll pry my thousands of DVDs from my cold dead hand before I start plunking down another fifty grand updating.

And why is all the advancement in the area of entertainment? It's like they know people are an easily stupified bunch so they spend all the R and D on the davancment of entertainment media, just so we keep paying and paying. It's not like all this technological entertainment is making people brighter, but arguably the opposite.

Cure for Cancer? Nope. Moonbases? Nope. Suborbital intercontinental flight? Nope. But hey, in ten years, I can start updating my (non-existent) BlueRay movie collection to Holo-Ray or whatever. Nothing says 'technological advancement' like getting brainless in front of the boob tube. And now, when I watch NYPD Blue in HD, I can see every pour on David Caruso's hairy ass. Yes!

(and no, that's not a homosexual dig. If you can recall, that was a controversial TV moment when Caruso went bare ass)
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:17:06 PM

"This movie isn't revolutionary whatsoever, just another children's flick with a pg13 rating. The camera is useless in anything other than 3-D, the storyline is crap, every element or most of it is ripped off, and whatever isn't ripped off is defying laws of physics and basic sciences of gravity."

A. Some of us have inner children.

B. "What the f*ck is this useless paintbrush, it may be made from pigs hair and apply paint perfectly but it can only be used with paint on canvas!", "WTF is this useless Film camera, it can only shoot a few frames at a time, like for filming a horse running! AND ON TOP OF THAT, you need a PROJECTOR to run the film through just to watch it!"

Just because you're too stubborn and unimaginative to figure a way to put to use a 3D CGI rendering camera doesn't mean nobody can.

C. Every story ever has been written by applying previously told/experienced stories. Its HOW the story is told that matters. Cameron 'told' Titanic and it captivated half the goddamn planet, even with EVERYONE knowing what happened to the Titanic. Would that movie have been that successful with a different director?

I hope you weren't influenced by any other stories when you were writing your WorstPreviews opus, Spooky, and I hope you don't pull story elements out of the same cavernous ass you store all your 'facts' and 'quotes' in.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:19:31 PM

Hey guise I found the Avatar dvd cover

http://i25.tinypic.com/xb0j7p.jpg
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:20:51 PM

Oh wait, that can't be it, because you don't need a 7k tv to watch that movie in 3-D
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:22:03 PM


"Yeah, well, I'm not about to go broke paying for it all. Like BlueRay. They'll pry my thousands of DVDs from my cold dead hand before I start plunking down another fifty grand updating."

Hahaha yeah I agree totally. BlueRay has its place, but I still think my Extended LOTR dvds look f*cking KILLER on my old 52 inch HD CRT. If they can pull that quality out of DVD, I don't even need to adopt blueray.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:27:47 PM

Uh, oh! Nolan is going to be pissed. The Inception plot has gotten out. Seems like Inception is a remake of (Spoilers!!! Spoilers!!! Cover your eyes, children!!!) Dreamscape. Not really, but remeber the basic idea of the film and you have an idea of what it will be like. That's right, people going into other people's dreams.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:42:57 PM

yea thats the sound u make when you hostess bitch boy and your mom are taking turns sucking my c*ck,,, and just for the record I hardly f*cking drink.. but wait do ireally need to justify one damn thing a person who has an avatar that makes him look like he has downsyndrome and a person who lies about his age and desperately needs to suck you c*ck. no i dont. go ahead say what ever u want.. cuz in reality what the f*ck do u or your bullsh*tting counter part matter...oh thats right u dont....
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:00:42 PM

Ok, whatever lostwarrior, back to your Jack Daniel shots.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:05:06 PM

@lostwarrior: You can use adblock plus to block people's avatar images. I did it on my computer because I was tired of looking at mink's douch-tastic face and wondering why there was sh*t on his chin. Anyway, it's pointless arguing with fools. Stick to conversation with the smart people on here...
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:20:06 PM

Looks like c*mslinger and the town drunk are beer buddies. Someone call a f*cking cab.

"Stick to conversation with the smart people on here..."

Yeah, because you're a well of brilliance. Right? All those genius comments you make? Oh wait, that's right, you hardly post. And when you do, it's to attack someone. Great job contributing, loser.

And the sh*t on my chin is what I got when I ate your mother out.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:24:39 PM

I'm sorry, I wasn't listening...
BlueJulias writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:40:19 PM

You know, I didn't read all of the other 98 comments, but a lot of you are too upset over this film. I am aware that the graphics are somewhat reminiscent of films like Beowulf, but I think patience will pay off. I had a wrenching disdain for the trailer when it first came out, but after downloading it in HD (1080p) I have a lot more hope for the movie, and IMAX 3D should kick ass with this film. Besides all that I have faith in the man that brought us the Terminator franchise and the revolutionary (at the time) graphics in Titanic.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:42:30 PM

Well, I wasn't speaking. I was typing. So you meant to TYPE 'I wasn't reading', right?

Good, glad we could clear that up. It's always a fine thing to have someone intelligent to talk to. Don't you think so?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:52:59 PM

Mink, it's the same f*cking thing.

When people start correcting grammatical errors, that means yer defending a lost cause.
JRprime writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 7:16:22 PM

interesting.. a lot of this thread is people bashing other peoples opinions.

exactly what i was wrongly getting accused of a few days ago...makes sense.

oh and i have to say, i didnt read all of it, but the fight on this thread is definitely in the top 5 WP fights. the dedication and intensity is hilarious!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 7:22:12 PM

It's also funny when people first claim they're indifferent, and then write novels based on their "indifference".

Also hilarious.
JRprime writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 7:33:18 PM

but dude, we have to realize their ideas rule out everyone elses, duh.
RoorToken writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 7:40:26 PM

actually minkowski, i wasnt trying to start sh*t with anyone. i think its pretty funny how serious you take this sh*t. do you get paid to talk sh*t on here? get a f*ckin life.
nickyd26 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:15:02 PM

i love how everyone who bashes on this movie has not gone to see the 16 minutre preview.. no duh it was terrible...ill agree with everyone on that, but i def will say that the movie at the IMAX was freakin incredible... the 3D effect isnt a typical 3d movie. When the movie comes out and hopefully you go and see it, youll see the biggest difference. Everything from the color and more is hightened to a point better than my LED HD-LCD TV
nickyd26 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:19:51 PM

meant the trailer was terrible above lol
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:22:13 PM

stfu nicky d I stayed over at a friends house an hour and fifteen minutes away to see that footage. It was crap.

Ok, so imagine beowulf, but in 3-d.

Yea, it's like that.
RepoMan20 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:34:25 PM

" we uh....yeah we meant to do that..."
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:41:46 PM

"Jim has always said to me he wants to bring people back to the movies."

Well pissing away 15 years of your life on a kids movie is no way to get people back in theaters to see your movie, Jim!
GIJOE was a cock garage writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:01:03 PM

I'm gonna guess they removed the forum filter since the top three posts on the homepage deal with teenage erectile dysfunction problems.


Also, this movie is sure to disappoint.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:02:07 PM

"I stayed over at a friends house an hour and fifteen minutes away to see that footage."

You have friends, spooey? And could you whine any louder?

And mink, you should really have that underbite looked into...

Cameron can take as long as he wants on his movies. Fewer movies got my blood going more than Aliens...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:12:24 PM

"You have friends, spooey?"

Yea, want me to tell you what it's like to have them?

"And could you whine any louder?"

Ok, NOW I see where mink is coming from. You can't hear text, moron.

And I'm not whining, i'm just not going to see the movie (legally).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:13:05 PM

"Cameron can take as long as he wants on his movies."

Good, I hope his next feature takes up the rest of his miserable life.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:16:53 PM

"Worthington, go tell the press we made it suck deliberatly"

Sam walks out into the press junket

"LOL GUISE YA IT SUCKED ON PERPOSE"

Backstage
"Do you think they bought it?"

"Well the fans who blindly followed it for 10 years did, but anyone with an i.q. over 101 and who has an open mind is pretty pissed"

"Oh, well f*ck those people, they aren't the general audience that hollywood is trying to reach out to these days."
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:34:41 PM

Good one spoo. Now get a job.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:34:43 PM

Good one spoo. Now get a job.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:10:30 PM

You know spooky for a guy who claims to be so intelligent you sure showed none of that intellect when you decided to listen to the words of a director trying to sell you on his film it's took him 15 years to make. Boy you were a sucker. Get over it. Move on. Don't go see it December 18th. The solution is as simple as that. You want everyone else to be as outraged as you but that's not gonna happen. I've seen the 16 minutes and I was impressed. If that means I'm apart of the general audience who you think are retarded so be it. You can be a skeptic all you want chances are your backbone which you like to think is so strong right now will snap come December 18th and you'll throw Cameron cash anyway so who's the idiot then?
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:19:33 PM

In a related story, spooky sucked on purpose. My father says thank you.
Ryanlawson writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:46:59 PM

seriously, stf up everyone, movie isnt out yet. stop getting your nerdy panties in a bunch
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:08:29 PM

"And mink, you should really have that underbite looked into..."

Are you saying I have prognathism? LOL.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:11:08 PM

Wow. That took you a loooong time to look up, mink.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:14:36 PM

What took me a long time was trying to figure out if you EVER know what the f*ck you're talking about.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:15:26 PM

Oh, my ribs...
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:16:08 PM

And the answer is no, no you don't. Then again, you DO use idiotic 'words' like douche-tastic. I mean, 35 and you still talk like your ten? But come on man, I want to 'hear' you sulk some more.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:17:00 PM

btw, do the caps mean you're shouting? I'm not getting to you am I?
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:20:37 PM

Shouting? It's called emphasis. And is your little life that empty, so empty that you hope, you pray, you'll say something, anything to get to me? lol. Pathetic.

Well you have, you've wounded me terribly. Please, I beg for mercy.

Ok. You can now get back to your 'Friends' marathon.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:27:35 PM

You're hilarious. The right words don't need that kind of emphasis, moron. It looks more like sad, frustrated desperation.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:35:30 PM

You got me there.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:35:51 PM

And how did you know I was 35, mink? You did what you do best and looked it up! Good job, buddy!
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:36:57 PM

You got me again! Good job, Gunslinger.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:40:01 PM

No, you da man!
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:42:49 PM

Uh-huh.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:55:28 PM

?
Gunslinger writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:04:54 AM

.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:17:42 AM

Why are you adding a period? The whole game was to post a character smaller than the last. A space (void) is the smallest possible.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:21:34 AM

No. The period is what you must be on, since you're being such a little bitch.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:22:10 AM

This movie looks good!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:27:38 AM

"December 18th and you'll throw Cameron cash anyway so who's the idiot then?"

Oooh, hefty offer, Either see the movie illegaly, don't give cameron or the theater my 14.50 and get to criticize is AS I'm watching it.

OR I can go to see it in, not only imax (14.50) but in Imax 3-D (21.00), with some popcorn and a drink (about 35 now) and to top it off with 7 bucks for gas.

HMMMMMMMM

Interesting offer, but I think I'll stick to my illegal cams.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:28:44 AM

That was a good comeback, no doubt, Gunslinger. It easily deflects attention from your patent inability to play even a simple game. Kudos.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:29:45 AM

also @ gunslinger

mink looks like Jesus, but without that hippy peace and love bong smoking hair.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:30:41 AM

Thanks, bitch!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:31:24 AM

Also did you hear Raimi is remaking Evil Dead (...for the fourth time)??
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:32:50 AM

Well, thanks Spooky. I think. Are you saying I'm a two thousand year old corpse? Well, I've been called everything but that, so...
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:33:25 AM

Gunslinger learned to talk like that in prison.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:34:23 AM

Naw man, If jesus existed, was white, and then travelled two thousand years into the future, cut off his hippie hair, shaved a bit, got a job, then posted on WP, then his username would be Minkowski.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:35:28 AM

"Gunslinger learned to talk like that in prison."

this is me reading your comments:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=px8Fnu6_vR4
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:42:57 AM

ok, so you're not still annoyed/pissed/whatever with the hateful harshness I tossed down? This morning was a bad day. Damned air conditioner went out. Woke to torrent of sweat. But that's no excuse. Unlike a lot of these folks, you've been cool. Sorry, man.

And believe or not, I agree with much about what you said concerning Avatar. I'm just sick of the all the hate for a film that's meant to be appreciated in Imax3D. Anyway.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:45:27 AM

Awwww. You guys kissed and made up! Isn't that precious? You must have a great couples counselor.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:48:51 AM

Well that's where I have a problem mainly, It's that a truly good movie shouldn't have to be enjoyed on a certain screen with a certain gimmick. A lot of great cameron movies could be enjoyed without 3-D, hell, all good movies can be enjoyed without 3-D.

I'm pissed that Cameron went on such a long Hiatus for this, I supposed I'd be pissed with whatever he made to begin with. He should have been busy directing T3, T4, True Lies 2, and Titanic 2: Big door blues.

Then, in 2015, THEN he could've gone on a 15 year hiatus, and brought out Avatar just when 3-D tv's would become economically in reach.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:49:22 AM

You're so goddamned predictable, yogurtslinger. I mean, doesn't it suck knowing you'll be dead one day, a box of dry bones, forgotten, and you can't even master, in life, the art of spontaneity?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:52:43 AM

"Awwww. You guys kissed and made up! Isn't that precious? You must have a great couples counselor."

See? this is another tell-tale sign that you don't have any friends: YOU THINK IT'S A BAD THING THAT WE BOTH MAKE UP.

You see Gunslinger, the reason you don't have friends or any social life is because whenever you make friends, and they do one thing you disagree with, you f*cking hate them for everything.

Mink and I have social lives, jobs, interaction with other people asides from our moms, and we see daylight on a daily basis. We don't stay in basements getting hairier and greasier like you do.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:53:24 AM

Your momma.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:54:02 AM

"He should have been busy directing T3, T4, True Lies 2, and Titanic 2: Big door blues."

Well, he got his money from Titanic and said f*ck it. He went on temporary retirement. Cameron has always been about Cameron, and not his audiences, which is a good thing and also of course a bad thing. Had he not made Titanic, he could've made True Lies 2 before 9-11 changed his mind altogether. He could've made T3 had he not decided the story closed. So there's alot he could've done. i admit that his decade hiatus, and this rather disappointing Avatar trailer, has me considering abandoning him, but I think if I've waited all these years, I can wait till Dec 18 to pass judgement. That'll be Cameron's Judgement Day. Let's just hope his career doesn't get terminated. Unless he deserves it. I'm hoping he won't.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:54:28 AM

I've been getting paid for this...now that's funny.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:55:19 AM

Gunslinger needs a hug. Awwww.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:56:36 AM

"I've been getting paid for this...now that's funny."

What? The street corner cross-dressing gig didn't work out?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:00:37 AM

"That'll be Cameron's Judgement Day."

Oh shi-

"What? The street corner cross-dressing gig didn't work out?"

I think he's at "work" right now.

So, he's in between mowing his dads lawn, and mowing his mothers lawn.
Ehiguy101 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:01:04 AM

I don't what to think, I mean the trailer was disappointing yes, but I really want to movie to be good. So if the trailer is meant to suck, then why did they even release it?
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:02:40 AM

"So, he's in between mowing his dads lawn, and mowing his mothers lawn."

He'll mow anyone's lawn for the right price.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:02:50 AM

"then why did they even release it?"

Well, Spiderman 3 sucked, but why'd they release that?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:03:43 AM

"He'll mow anyone's lawn for the right price."

He mowed lohans lawn and her radio active firecrotch dropped his brain cell count in half.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:06:41 AM

lol.

That and he's been hanging out with (c)los(e)twarrior. They both get wasted and toss eggs at street signs. Then they post at WP.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:08:57 AM

While Jerking each other around(/off).
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:11:20 AM

"I've been getting paid for this...now that's funny."

Well, you've posted about twenty times in the last two hours, so what's 6.50 times two, divided by 20?
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:13:38 AM

"While Jerking each other around(/off)."

Well, GS should watch the jerking. I hear LW is a mean drunk. I hear he once beat a prostitute to death with a bag of chips. That's how they both met, at Gunslinger's mother's funeral.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:15:32 AM

"Well, GS should watch the jerking. I hear LW is a mean drunk. I hear he once beat a prostitute to death with a bag of chips. That's how they both met, at Gunslinger's mother's funeral."

Seriously, why don't you have your own show on HBO yet?
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:19:02 AM

I tried several years ago. They said they had room for one show featuring a mean white guy, so they went with the nicer of the two. They chose the Sopranos. Go f*cking figure.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:24:13 AM

I'm sure there's gotta be some timeslot...

I know whenever Dane Cook is on, they can play your show.

nobody watches Dane Cook.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:25:56 AM

Who the f*ck is Dane Cook?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:33:36 AM

Some d*ckweed comedian who's every single joke is ripped off by someone infinitely better than he is.

only kids 18 and under think he's the sh*t, because kids 18 and under are sh*t,
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:36:26 AM

Well, he did star in Employee of the Month, only to get totally upstaged by Jessica Simpson's rack. So that's something. Right?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:39:07 AM

Dane Cook annoys the living f*ck out of me and I'm just about to turn 18 LOL.
minkowski writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:49:41 AM

I hate the way he talks. I know that seems a little shallow, but he has this voice that comes off like he just hit puberty and wants everyone to know he has a masculine voice.

That, and everytime I see him, I feel the need to scrub my self with a Brillo Pad. He looks like he never showers or shaves. The K-Fed look just doesn't work for him.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:53:06 AM

Yea, he also reminds me of myself when I was 13, I never showered, or shaved (lol), and I poorly retold jokes to my dad who told me to stop being such a faggot and go take a shower.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 2:14:44 AM

^^^LMAOOOOOO!!!
JRprime writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 2:23:32 AM

Good to see everyone's keeping things on topic.

Avatar to Dane Cook..? Haha.
theslayer writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 2:45:21 AM

ok f*ck this sh*t avatar sucked on purpose yeah sure they will say anything to steel your money to go see this sh*t again jc thinks he is so clever to get away withj this sceme f*ck him everybody who wants to see this sh*t steel it from the net
dont give yor money to them they wont give it back when yiu think it sucks
leezy84 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 10:29:23 AM

lmao @ spooky he got owned in an arguement by mink now hes licking his arse saying hes like jesus omg
triggax writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:26:05 AM

Holy christ... Don't you f*cking losers have anything better to do with your time? f*ck.

I went to the screening last friday. It blew the f*cking sh*t out of the trailer. It really does need to be seen in 3D. In the Imax. f*ck the blue alien homos everything else in the film is f*cking unreal.

You're all f*cking losers. Get a f*cking life.
Rarehunter writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 3:28:40 PM

i dont care if its supposed to be for Imax its still looks like a crappy video game, excuses, excuses
raza12 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:50:26 PM

I don't quite understand why people who are supposed to love movies... Mainly bitch about them.. Sigh..
mickrussom writes:
on December 23rd, 2009 at 4:26:03 AM

Avatar stunk to high-hell. If it weren't for Cameron's Abyss, Aliens and T2, this movie would be derided, lampooned and called out for the pile of festering caramelized feculent slime that it is.

This movie is rife with terrible acting, horrific dialogue, and its 'message' is delivered through constant abuse of moral hazards. We have moral relativism, betrayal and treason being perpetrated for the greater good.

This was a 3D wrapped celluloid that without the stunning (yet stupid looking) visuals would, especially in novel form, be a bloody laughing stock.

The aliens stunk horribly. What's with the talking bi-peds with two eyes, a nose and a mouth. Has it ever occurred to these creative people that new life might be a colony of nano-bots, a slime mold with intelligence, life that aspirates with copper based blood, non-DNA self replicating life forms? Why is everything a blue monkey? At least in 1969 when Star Trek was populated with "old-form" Klingons that looked like a bronzed human they were on a near-zero budget, but at least they were totally re-defining sci-fi and giving a window into the future.

Crap like Avatar, especially after T2, Star Trek, Star Wars (Ep 4,5 only), is shocking. Its showing that Cameron is a master of marketing mass subscribed explosion fests laced with politically motivated parables and drivel and sub-themed with nothing intellectual because there is nothing beyond the visual veneer, it is fundamentally puerile trash that's been hussied up to look like way more than it actually is.

Anyone who defends this movie is simply a below average or nearly average mind that can't see past visuals that are no more complex of a stimulus than a piece of string is as a cat toy. They are incapable of rational or critical thought and are very likely a wage slave heavily in debt working towards no particular end, lost in life, and movies like this are a form of escapism where they "want to believe" and become immersed in something because their own lives are basically mundane, insignificant and unimportant.

Moral hazards. Identity politics. Thinly veiled political positions. Preaching to the customer/consumer/viewer. Moral relativism. Severe lack of plot, dialogue and finally acting capability.

This is a turning point for the world. It is showing how things that stimulate basal sensory centers in the simplistic human mind lead the herd into mindless oblivion.

I mean, the Avatar are flawless, they have no strata in their society. The bad guys here are 100% bad, and have no capacity for rational thinking or empathy, except scientists in white coats, they have all the wisdom, empathy and intelligence and are always right. The characters were utterly simplistic, like toys and images made for pre-verbal children. Its like having tele-tubbies in massively expensive exquisite 3D where every frame is lovingly crafted to present to you some of the flattest, most uninspiring characters ever created.

This movie is clearly below average, if you liked it you are the reason Hollywood is cranking out garbage these days. This man spent 10 times what District 9 costs and made a movie far worse, (not that that was any benchmark or the cat's meow), and this huge budget could have given 10 directors a shot at making something good.

This block-bustering famous director / famous actor garbage has to stop.
mickrussom writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 8:26:58 PM

McDonald's sells the most hamburgers but they are crap. Yet with your logic, and the logic of the Avatard or Avatar fan, you celebrate crap because its popular. You don't care that the hamburger is responsible for deforestation using slash and burn farming (rather than sustainable rotation), you don't care the ingredients are unsuitable for human consumption. You like the taste and the price. You are a feral prole seeking self pleasure. You want your BREAD and CIRCUS. Doesn't matter if its good, bad, moral, amoral, toxic or not, you don't give a hoot. You want to pleasure your brain.

You are celebrating the success of foisting corporatist crap on the public, charging a premium for it and all through a movie that tries to communicate that corporatism is morally reprehensible.

All this demonstrates:

1) People are generally stupid. And given how stupid the median intelligence is, and half the people are dumber than that.

2) Crap outsells quality. That is why all the plastic crap in Walmart is made in China. People are just too stupid to pay for or care for quality. I can PROVE the toxicity of phthalates, alkylphenols, bisphenol A (BPA), PBDEs, PCBs, PAHs, diglycidyl ether, PFCs and leeching formaldehydes. I can PROVE it. And I can show you that phthalates, alkylphenols, bisphenol A (BPA), PBDEs, PCBs, PAHs, diglycidyl ether, PFCs leech from cheaply made products and poison you. Yet you keep buying the stuff up.

3) A misguided notion that volume sales are a sign of success. So when a certain drug company sells things like thalidomide or Viox at record sales levels yet its later shown this trash is toxic and causes heart attacks and birth defects, you would celebrate the commercial success?

This movie allows idiots, dolts, dullards, mentally deficient persons, addleheads, pinheads, dimwits, dodos, blockheads, boneheads, dopes, nincompoops, dummies, microcephalics, coelenterates, ninnies, nitwits, numbskulls, twits, momos, morons, imbeciles, cretins, dunces, fools, ignoramuses, retards and the feeble minded to mentally masturbate, to enjoy the BREAD and CIRCUS.

This movie has the following traps that have lead people who like this movie (Avatards) down a pathetic path.

1) Escapism. Because reality is unbearable for these morons.
2) Justification. If you feel food about this movie you can't be "wrong." It allows you to continue to live at standards of living that are not justified by your intelligence level or value to humanity and justify it all because of how you feel.
3) Allowing one's already weakened mind to be further perverted by utterly simplistic and childish renditions of scenarios that are some of the worst material for parables and demonstrations of societal mores.
4) Lust. Celebrating the sexual predation of an interloper with a primitive noble savage while said savage is going through vulnerable circ*mstances.
5) Gluttony. You stuff your fat faces with toxic popcorn (oils in popcorn when heated are very toxic), and artificially flavored candies while you enjoy your BREAD and CIRCUS.
6) Extravagance. The pomp and flair of this spectacle and the ridiculous budget that could have been better used to allow tens or more directors a shot at making better films is simply extravagant all channeled through a man with 5 ex wives and a huge helping of hubris.
7) Greed. The greedy nature of James Cameron and his pseudo intellectual movie that portrays greed as evil yet this very vehicle, the movie itself, was fostered out of greed and the love of money.
8) Apathetic listlessness. Those misanthropes who fester in melancholy use this bread and circus to further justify their acediac dispositions and behaviors. None of those who watched the movie actually believe in true meritocracy, libertarianism or self determination. They live in and actively produce a society which is antagonistic towards liberty and self determination through the creation of an authoritarian and autocratic state. Cameron uses the deep seated rage against INGSOC and the oligarchies controlling everything from cradle to grave to keep your morons to buy tickets and love it all the while making a billionaire richer.
9) Despair. This movie allows the festering in sadness and despair to not do something about it, but to gather for bread and cirus to make the promoter rich while ignoring endemic issue on the society they are pretending to rail against.
10) Again, another sedentary activity for the fat idiot moviegoer. The average Avatard ate a daily allowance of food whilst doing nothing for three hours. Then the same corpulent cowboy for freedom and justice uses his sausage fingers to type praise for this piece of trash on various forums.
11) Embracing rage. This movie depicts a an who is coursing with anger, rage and wrath. He lead the noble savages poorly and every executive decision he made was poor resulting in many deaths. It took divine intervention to swing the tides of war. Yet the protagonist is enjoyed as a hero. His rage, anger and wrath was satanic and nearly cost the noble savages everything.
12) Envy. The protagonist was green with envy over the noble savages carefree lifestyle and uncrippled/superior bodies. Not only would he be able to walk, he would be superhuman. This protagonist was no uber mensch. His Envy lead him to betray his own people, potentially dooming millions/billions to loss of life without obtaining the needed fuel to survive all to sate his envy.
13) Pride. This protagonist, despite being a disastrous executive, smiles ear to ear after "his victory." Yet in the scenes depicted it was divine intervention that saved the noble savages, not the protagonist. Yet as he participates in the rounding of the people he betrayed in a very fascistic manner he grins ear to ear with pride. He is not only full of pride but also of great vanity. He was the opposite of humble.

Already long ago, from when we sold our vote to no man, the People have abdicated our duties; for the People who once upon a time handed out military command, high civil office, legions everything, now restrains itself and anxiously hopes for just two things:

bread and circuses

(Juvenal, Satire 10.7781) (c. 150AD)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved