WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dakota Fanning to Star in "Wizard of Oz" Sequel?

Posted: August 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dakota Fanning to Star in "Wizard of Oz" Sequel?Submit Comment
According to the Daily Express, Dakota Fanning (War of the Worlds) is currently in negotiations to star in a sequel to the 1939 "Wizard of Oz" film. The new movie is inspired by a toy line (see photos below) created by Todd McFarlane, the man behind "Spawn."

"It will be set in the present day and feature Dorothy's granddaughter," said producer Basil Iwanyk (Clash of the Titans). McFarlane added: "You've still got Dorothy trapped in an odd place, but she's much closer to the Ripley character from Alien [Sigourney Weaver] than a helpless singing girl."

Screenwriter Josh Olson (A History of Violence) is planning to take the toy line and tone it down a fit. "I saw those toys, and Dorothy as some bondage queen isn't something I want to do," he said. "The appealing thing about the Baum books to me is how wildly imaginative they are. There are crazy characters from amazing places. I want this to be 'Harry Potter' dark, not 'Seven' dark."

Toy Line Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: Daily Express


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dandythelion writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:52:43 AM

i love the mcfarlane toys like this but the films isn't ever goiing to get made. it just has that vibe going about it. bad idea all around.
Javicon writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:19:51 AM

I loved 1985 "Return to Oz". It was already a very dark take on the story (ok, without bondage stuff...) that really scared me when I was a kid. With "Labyrinth", one of my favourites childhood movies...
This one... well, let's see who helms it..... Christophe Gans?
johnny_boy writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 7:13:16 AM

wow,i'm just impressed that the headline for this was "sequel" rather than remake or reboot.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 7:53:57 AM

They'd make a hell of a lot more money if they just remade it. If they go through with this dumb idea, it'll bomb.
Agent Calavera writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:38:40 AM

Man i loved return to OZ, was far better than The Wizard of OZ.
Agent Calavera writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:40:04 AM

And that Lion needs a little less courage if you ask me
Hitodama writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:53:04 AM

Awww, man. I was excited looking at those toys...but if it's gonna be Harry potter dark then I've officially lost interest.
MovieFanAttic writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:20:08 AM

AINT NO REBOOT!!!
I don't like this... unless it's dark and sexy... and has guns.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 9:26:11 AM

^^^ sexy? its gonna have dakota fanning. shes jailbait.that'd be f*cked up to have her in and make sexy,as u seem to want it
bobsakamano writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 10:34:53 AM

I like how directors say stuff like, "I like this concept, but only on it's basest sense. I going to change as much of the original design as possible and try to make a halfway decent movie out of it. I'm sure the original creator won't mind at all." *cough cough*anything based on the creations of Alan Moore*cough cough*
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:14:50 AM

I WISH
nitishbhat writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:28:48 AM

HOLY sh*t!!!!!!!!!!! those action figures look so awesome!!!!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 11:47:44 AM

calling thse 'toys' is an insult in a way. Like you can 'play' with them like a kid plays with Hot Wheels. They're 'collectible action figurines'. So they're kinda cool to look at, but ultimately pointless.

No opinion on the movie other than: remake the original FIRST. Seventy years ago came the first film, so I think a good remake is in order.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 12:00:55 PM

'Good' and 'Remake' should never be side by side, mink!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 12:18:49 PM

I want to see that actress who played "Luna Lovegood" in harry potter in that getup.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 1:18:11 PM

i'd rather this be a dark twisted version of wizard of oz made into a playable game....much like 'american mcgee's alice'...now that would be a good direction...and THEN i'd consider seeing a movie based on those twists
Ranger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 2:30:39 PM

Mmmm...

I want to see Dakota tied up and blindfolded.

Sing your way outta THAT ONE Cutie!





SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 2:40:55 PM

I'm completely with ranger on that one.
Ranger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 2:53:39 PM

Hey... I just posted on 'The Runaways' thread. I seemed to have overlooked that in my absence.

Got it covered tho.
Ranger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:24:33 PM

Todd's artists that create these collectibles are out of his NJ Office. They do amazing work.
TGDirector writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:38:43 PM

Oh you *sshole McFarlane!

"I want this to be Harry Potter, Not Seven Dark." - yes...like everyone is going to be happy with that movie tone. Like it hasn't been done many times over in movies. It doesn't always works

I, for one would have LOVED to see a darker version of Wizard of Oz. Especially in freaking Modern Times.

"What I like most about the book is how wildly imaginative they are."

Yeah and you directed Spawn.It sucked. Now you wanna ruin another movie for us? Awesome...

*blinks*
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:40:07 PM

an R rated Oz would have been too awesome for theaters.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:41:00 PM

I want to see munchkins gang raping dorothy, and the lion ripping the sh*t out of guards, and the tin man basically being the f*cking terminator, with the scarecrow being like bruce campbell.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:41:27 PM

The wizard can be Alex DeLarge.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:41:45 PM

The witch could be Lohan
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:43:02 PM

But the good witch could be a completely nude Zooey Deschanel.
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:43:46 PM

Evanna Lynch has future street slut written all over her...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:43:46 PM

which would be awesome because she played dorothy in the sci fi series
TGDirector writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:45:47 PM

I'm afraid for this project if McFarlane were to ever touch it.

But now that he's actually talking about it, it scares me.

Spooky - Lohan would make a good witch, she'd just be a whore and people would mistaken witch for bitch. But seems about right anyways..
mdp711 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 4:23:15 PM

Don't foreget about "THE WIZ" with Michael Jackson.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 4:28:09 PM

Dakota Fanning makes me feel so old wasn't this girl just like 5 running around behind Tom Cruise in another one of Hollywood's more useless remakes?
Hollywood1086 writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 4:41:36 PM

what the f*ck?
c-prime writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:06:47 PM

Thanks for the support, Ranger, regarding that "Runaways" thread. You had me rolling on the line "I want to see Dakota tied up and blindfolded." Ha ha. Good stuff. Sounds like a spinoff of "Man on Fire" - "c*nt on Fire", maybe? Gimme some feedback 'cause I'm ready to shoot this sucker (hey, I think I found your opening line).
BigUnit writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:57:14 PM

Javicon - Im so glad you said that cuase i feel like everyone has forgotin about that sequel, i loved that movie and i forgot what it was called till now, thank you
Monroe writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:49:24 PM

i don't mind Dakota Fanning...but why? like i said before...are there no new ideas in hollywood?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 8:16:59 PM

WELL.

I'M GONNA DIRECT THE TRUE MCFARLENE TOY VERSION OF WIZARD OF OZ.

HARD X RATING HERE WE COME.
Lulupendragon writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:52:26 AM

I wonder if this is going to be anything like the movie Return to Oz. That was an awesome movie.
Lowryder writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:48:31 AM

tell me...how the f*ck can they make a sequel to a 70 year old movie?!? especially when its a great classic, just leave it the hell alone!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 7:15:44 PM

@ Monroe, i think there's still plenty of great ideas out there...the fact of the matter is that hollywood just gets more pathetic....there ARE good ideas out there...but they're not using them...therefore...they are pathetic as well as beyond that
raza12 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 8:56:25 PM

I dont think a remake will go down well to be honest... All people ever do when they here about a remake is bitch about it. I Think a different take on the idea of Oz is a good idea. Would be very interesting to see how this turns out.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved