WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Goyer on "Magneto" Spin-Off

Posted: August 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Goyer on "Magneto" Spin-OffSubmit Comment
We've been talking about "Wolverine" and "Magneto" spin-offs for over two years. "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" has already been released and is currently in the process of developing a sequel. But where's the "Magneto" movie?

MTV News caught up with director David Goyer, who revealed: "They're still thinking about doing it. They're definitely looking into doing other X-Men spinoffs."

It sounds like "Magneto" is simply not a priority now. 20th Century Fox is instead focusing more on "Wolverine 2," "Deadpool" spin-off, and "X-Men: First Class," which will feature a young Cyclops, Jean Grey and Beast.

But Goyer feels confident that "Magneto" will eventually pick up speed. "I've been in touch with them," he said. "I'm sure that project will move forward in the next year or so."

Click here to read more about "Magneto."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 4:30:29 PM

I like Goyer when he's just a writer, once he starts directing things fall apart, The Unborn and Blade Trinity say "Hello!"
BrandoFresh writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 4:30:59 PM

They're "thinking about doing it"? I thought they were doing it for certain. They could honestly do a million X-men spin-offs if they wanted. Do you guys really wanna see a movie about Magneto?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 4:40:17 PM

There hasn't been one good xmen movie.
NatG83 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 4:54:12 PM

I think they should focus on Wolverine and Magneto movies. I don't want to see Origins for Cyclops, Jean Grey, or Storm. Jean Grey was explored in the last stand.

Even though Magneto had a slight telling of his origin in the original, there is so much left to explore. I'd like to see them cast Paul Bettany for a younger Eric (Erik)?

I only hope it is better than Wolverine. I was disappointed by that in many ways. I did like Liev's Sabretooth, but boy did they butcher Deadpool.
rob writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 5:19:05 PM

Origins for Magneto? Wasn't that in the first one? Anyway, how boring for a supervillian movie that would nbe!
Kevin Hock writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 5:45:52 PM

It really sucks how they've messed things up. If they were going to do a deadpool movie why did they dig themselves such a stupid hole they've going to have to try and get out of? I have no interest in the first class. Magneto could be cool, but i'd rather it not be a prequel. Prequels are dumb in my opinion. They shouldn't leave x3 as the last x-men movie in the timeline.
Kevin Hock writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 5:47:11 PM

Maybe if it showed Magneto in the current timeline and it had a continuing flashback storyline going on with whatever is happening now, that could be good.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 6:20:27 PM

wait til fox sells or looses the rights and it goes back to marvel then reboot x-men.... thats the only way this franchise has a chance of being awesome...
nope.com writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 6:47:51 PM

It's FOX so of course they're going to screw it up
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 9:14:05 PM

Why do people have such a high tolerance for these movies? they're the worst movie series of the 21st century.

Seriously. I also see a lot of 'Avatar' fans commenting on this with tolerance for these movies.

Figures.
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 9:39:14 PM

I couldn't care less about X-Men. I thought the first two were technically well made but boring as dirt. The third one was stupid but full of action. And Wolverine looked like ass.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 9:48:20 PM

I agree with mink (doing this quite often lol) I could never bring myself to say the first two XMen were poorly made I just thought they were terribly uninteresting for the most part (though X2 has one of the coolest opening segments I've seen). I don't know what it was cause the casting wasn't bad. I think it was the scripts, David Hayter should really stick to playing Solid Snake.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 9:50:21 PM

I don't know why the protesters in the xmen movie were so passive about there people with supernatural abilities in the first place. Shouldn't the world be like "holy sh*t, maybe we should accept them because one guy with nuke powers could kill us with one blink".
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 9:51:42 PM

yea i still haven't changed my thoughts either....bring on x-men 4 already and move on from there....i'm tired of these origin spin offs....waste of time and money...they could've done x-men 4 and had it released by this year...could've had ian mckellen and patrick stewart reprise their roles for their involvement against apocalypse...but that's forever ruined now isn't it?...could've made more money off that too....but of course, they wanna take it as slow as possible so that they can make as much money as possible off of every last person caught off guard that they can get to.....another thing i'm still confused on....it seems only deadpool, magneto, wolverine, and gambit are the only mutants to have their own movie?...so why them and not other mutants?...did somebody in 20th century fox scramble up the word 'ptusdi' and think nobody would notice?...stop bullsh*tting the original fans already and give them what they want...been going on for way too long like that
telur writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 11:25:43 PM

it's hard to make spin off magneto because his bad guy. How ending the spin off magneto is hard enough. because could be he become good guy or what....because the ending is become bad guy obviously sad ending
goeygogo writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 12:01:10 AM

boooorrrrriiiiinnnnngggggggg....and dumb
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 12:11:31 AM

"They're still thinking about doing it. They're definitely looking into doing other X-Men spinoffs."

Great.

The fact tha FOX can do this means that people are stupid.

Hell, the fact FOX can do ANYTHING means that people are stupid.
Sonic writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 6:52:01 AM

He's a good writer but a bad director
lawman writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 1:22:25 PM

They need to make a LOBO movie. Not the sh*tty, low budget one with Lattimer/Leatherface, but a real, highend, dark, evil version. LOBO would be great to watch!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:04:57 AM

eh... with all the other films going on I really couldnt care. I mean eventually maybe but not now. If you have the time and actually read into Magentos story its pretty good but of course they wouldnt even do it close to justice. So I dont care, if they do though Scarlet Witch & Quicksilver definetly need to be in it!
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 7:23:13 PM

i'm sorry but i've lost all hope since i saw the first x-men...why would i trust 20th century fox to make up for those mistakes??...i didn't think they would on 'wolverine'...turns out i thought right
Ranger writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 11:56:54 PM

Sorry folks. A Magneto movie... no thanks. I heard about this (as we all have) years ago.As someone has already posted, they covered his origin in the first X-Men.

It's done.
Leave it alone.
Move it along.
Get original.
Don't care.
Never have.

Pull the stick out your ass and stop thinking these supporting characters need their own movie (because Catwoman sucked more than the Tootsie Rolls in her litter box!).
raza12 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:26:51 PM

If i am at all honest.. The two X-Men movies that entertained me the most are the least liked of them all. I found X-Men: The Last Stand to be quite entertaining, despite the obvious atrocity's and the same goes for X-Men Origins: Wolverine.
raza12 writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 9:28:40 PM

Furthermore, I don't particularly find the character of Magneto to be that interesting.. Definitely don't see this being even as good as Wolverine.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved