WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"28 Weeks Later" Director to Helm "Bioshock"

Posted: August 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"28 Weeks Later" Director to Helm "Bioshock"Submit Comment
"28 Weeks Later" helmer Juan Carlos Fresnadillo is in talks to direct "Bioshock," the Universal Pictures adaptation of the Take-Two Interactive video game. He will replace "Pirates of the Caribbean" director Gore Verbinski.

When the budget of "Bioshock" rose to $160 million, Universal Pictures decided to save some money by filming the movie abroad. The move put Verbinski into a tough situation due to his commitment to "Rango," an animated film starring Johnny Depp. He eventually decided to step out of the directing position, but remains the movie's producer.

"Bioshock" takes place in the underwater city of Rapture, where a pilot crash-lands near a secret entrance and becomes involved in a power struggle. Last we heard, "Prison Break" star Wentworth Miller might have a role in the upcoming movie.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:36:09 AM

"28 Weeks Later" Director to Helm "Bioshock"

He can helm "Juan Carlos Fresnadillo's big day of getting the f*ck out of here".
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:40:31 AM

The only way this will make money is through the fans.

People will be crying left and right about "OMG KILLING LITTLE GIRLS" and it'll probably end up having the "good ending" and the "Bad" ending will have to wait until the dvd release.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:43:21 AM

"bad" ending or as I like to call it, the most rational ending.

The only way the "good" ending could have been good is if the little sisters all grew up magically an they had an orgy.
syrup writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:52:16 AM

In the game it was a passenger who is the main character not the pilot, wtf
acslaterson writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:58:19 AM

Spooky, hahaha! I totally do the good guy my first play through on games like this. If this ever becomes a movie I will totally be up for it. The game was such a great experience and I will gladly pay $5 for a sh*tty adaptation.
acslaterson writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:59:31 AM

@syrup, good catch on the editing!
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 2:02:54 AM

So the Fallout film isn't far behind right?
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 2:03:50 AM

Bioshock: the military's codemame for the Lindsey Lohan viral STD.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 2:17:36 AM

I hope my ending ends up becoming true.

Both bad endings were so rediculous and rushed.
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 2:24:54 AM

Oh sh*t. It's the 28 WEEKS later guy, not the 28 DAYS later guy. My interest just plummeted.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 3:20:07 AM

Minkowski, they are already making a Fallout movie, it's called The Book of Eli.
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 3:21:30 AM

Oh yeah, you're right. So, what's with all the people calling that film 'original' then?
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 3:23:08 AM

Yeah, the 28 Days Later guy is busy with other stuff like winning Oscars and sh*t like that. Some Indian movie or some sh*t. Hehehe...
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 3:53:44 AM

lol
Javicon writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 4:01:09 AM

Maybe "the 28 weeks later guy" makes a awesome movie that makes you shut your mouth. This "guy" has a previous movie, "Intacto", wich is really good, and is waiting for the greenlit for a movie which Spielberg is producing. And to me 28 weeks is better than 28 days..........
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 4:05:27 AM

To you? Who cares? 28 days later is vastly better. This Fresnodildo guy can eat sh*t rather than make it for all I care.
padfootbob writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 6:14:20 AM

I loved this game, and the story! I'm pretty excited about this.
Javicon writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 6:53:05 AM

"To you? Who cares? 28 days later is vastly better. This Fresnodildo guy can eat sh*t rather than make it for all I care."

Am I gonna be censored 'cause my english is not good? Oh, sorry, didn't remember that people here in MINKPREVIEWS just care of what YOU say.... I DID like 28 days, but just the first 10 minutes of 28 weeks chilled me like I didn't in the whole first movie. Fresnadillo is a great director, you'll see
Sev writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 6:59:01 AM

I'd rather see a film by Juan Carlos Fresnadillo than Gore Verbinski. I'm actually quite shocked at the 28 Weeks Later hate, was a great sequel.
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 7:40:14 AM

28 Weaks Later is a straight horror gore film, no beauty like in 28 days. Later nothing special. Fresnodildo can't compete with Danny Boyle's brilliance.

And yeah, Gore Verbinski sucks. His best film is The Weather Man. Not exactly a ball of fire on the resume.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 8:27:42 AM

Nice, 28 Weeks Later was a very worthy sequel to a classic. This gives Bioshock some cred.
Foxyllama5 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 11:48:02 AM

"He will be replace "Pirates of the Caribbean" director Gore Verbinski."

LOL! They have a grammatical error.
Other than that, i've never played the game, but i wanted to. I'll probably see the movie.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:43:25 PM

yea screw 28 weeks later....cuz now there's 28 months later if i remembered correctly...and my thoughts there haven't changed....after that it'll 28 years, 28 decades, 28 centuries, 28 milleniums, 28 infinities....i'd like to see hollywood go further than infinite...cuz that would put the s in stupid for sure...but they're already doing that and have been for a long time with other unneeded sequels or remakes
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 4:22:25 PM

My big question I'd AC where the hell do you live that movies are five dollars?! sh*t I wish. This movie idk because the main twist of the game works because it's based off the players interaction in the game. I don't know if that twist works with a film audience that isn't having an impact on what they see on screen much like you do in a game.

I'm totally with everyone on the 28 Weeks Later hate. I recently saw the new one and I was like meh. A lot of people thought it was a great sequel, not me. So much dumber than the original, it's nothing but the gnarlest bits of a Romero movie shot on high end cameras.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 5:11:39 PM

I'm still waiting for Uwe Boll's Far Cry...f*ck this
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 5:45:45 PM

This game was one of my favorites..unfortunately no matter who directs this film its still going suck man d*ck. And 28 weeks later was entertaining at most.
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 6:42:22 PM

"LOL! They have a grammatical error."

Yeah, f*cking hilarious.
ian_918 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 7:13:00 PM

I dont know if he could do this right but i loved 28 weeks later. i thought it was just awesome. but wasnt a big fan of 28 days later thought it was kinda boring.
ian_918 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 7:17:12 PM

Is it just me or do other people think that the somewhat new game "Prototype" should get a movie? i loved that game and the story and the character alex there is something about him that is awesome. he has a type of badassness that is just raw. i think it would be a great movie if they got the right director and actor to play alex. anyone else think so?? and if u do give me some ideas on who you think the director and actor to play alex should be.
Attos writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 7:55:57 PM

It could be worse.
Weeks was a decent movie in itself, but as it's a sequel to a much better movie, it loses something along the way.

And as far as your completely off topic question about Prototype, wouldn't Alex have to be Barry Pepper?

I mean can't you see Dale Earnhardt slicing people in half?
I could...
ian_918 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 10:34:53 PM

well we were on topic about games into movies so i thought i would bring it up. and yeah pepper has the voice but he looks nothing like alex.
Attos writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 11:13:14 PM

Barry Pepper can do any thing.
He's like a less cool Karl Urban.

BurmaShave writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 5:23:25 PM

Very good director, entirely wrong style.
Ehiguy101 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 12:50:16 AM

its gonna suck
*WhisperingEye* writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 1:58:43 PM

sweet can't wait for it to be made
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 1:44:18 PM

Whatever, this guy is a super competent director.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved