WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Fincher's Facebook Movie is Greenlit

Posted: August 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David FincherSubmit Comment
EndOfShow is reporting that Columbia Pictures has greenlit "The Social Network" movie, which is written by Aaron Sorkin and to be directed by David Fincher (Fight Club, Curious Case of Benjamin Button).

The new movie has a budget of $47 million and follows the formation of the social networking website Facebook.

Facebook was founded by Mark Zuckerberg in 2004, while he was still a student at Harvard University. Zuckerberg is now 25 years old and is said to be worth around $3 billion; Forbes Magazine declared him "[the] youngest billionaire on earth and possibly the youngest self-made billionaire ever." His company has been evaluated at $16 billion.

Source: EndOfShow, /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 7:30:14 PM

Base it on Joseph Fritzl and it'll be a smash hit

(wikipedia nasty bastard Fritzl if you're curious)
acslaterson writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 7:48:32 PM

The guy is a year younger then me and is worth $3 billion?! Holy sh*tballs Batman!
c-prime writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 7:51:30 PM

I have the utmost faith in Fincher, but a facebook movie would sound a lot cooler if he went the "Se7en" or "Zodiac" route and centered it around a serial killer who actually cuts off people's faces in puts them in a book. Sigh...a man can dream.
dandythelion writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 7:57:20 PM

let's just see what thye do. it could be billions of miles away from what we all think when we hear "facebook movie"
rob writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 8:33:23 PM

Facebook? I don't know... but Fincher? I do know, and he doesn't disappoint.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 8:44:24 PM

That's the most retarded thing I've ever heard.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 9:04:44 PM

@Spooky
No it aint, a 2nd,3rd,4th and 5th Twilight is the most retarded
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 9:18:24 PM

Fincher should take a hint from Aronofsky and have Mila Kunis chow down on some vag or else this movie will suck...
mariachi writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 9:46:56 PM

I knew that Sorkin was writing it but I had no idea that Fincher was directing!!! I hate the idea of a facebook-based movie but HOT damn, you can't go wrong with Sorkin or Fincher attached
Ari Gold writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 9:58:43 PM

I like Fincher. So I will wait to hear what this sh*t is about proper. But seriously, I dunno..
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:55:56 PM

"and follows the formation of the social networking website Facebook."

Yawn.

Must be very exciting to see some nerd buy a domain, add some basic html options, then sell out.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:56:16 PM

Sleeper Hit or just a Sleeper?
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:10:12 AM

Fincher succeeds, no? Well, except for Zodiac. All his talent for tension and suspense, and he makes Zodiac.

And looking at his IMDb filmography, he's losing some steam, arguably. A decline in quality.

He hasn't had a badass film in ten years.

After Fight Club, Panis Room. Not bad, but not great either.

After Panic Room, Zodiac. Still not bad, but a far, far cry from Se7en.

After Zodiac, The CCoBB. Still not a bad film, but the fact is, it's little more than a rehash of Forrest Gump, and borrowed from a F. Scott Fitzgerald short story.

In fact, the CCoBB is the ONLY (notice the ONLY) david Fincher film I have EVER turned off. It's the only David Fincher film I simply refused to finish. And I'm a huge Fincher fan.

So, this news about making a Facebook film is a disappointment.

Fincher is almost 50, and I'm starting to wonder if he's lost his verve. It's like he's starting to do the Stephen King thing.
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:19:11 AM

"Must be very exciting to see some nerd buy a domain, add some basic html options, then sell out."

I can't believe he's made so much money off of..Facebook. Maybe I'm getting old, but I just don't get why you'd want to make 'connections' with people you wouldn't speak to in real life. I admit, I don't know all that much about Facebook, and I don't give a sh*t. I do know millions of people on Myspace have 'friends', people they hardly ever talk to, people they wouldn't piss on in real life.

Facebook and especially places like Myspace are mastabatory websites for people looking to feel relevant by playing the popularity game. It's like high school clique social structures are now mainstreamed, and the average mental and emotional age of the human race has fallen by fifteen years.
TGDirector writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:59:39 AM

nope.com - Can I blame it on the alcohol and not on Joseph Frtiz? I don't think he's an alcoholic...

Besides David Fincher can do just about any project he wants at this point. Right after Benjamin Button, he could do any piece of sh*t idea. Like this one.
Clarence Worley writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:09:38 AM

I totally agree with Mink on this one, I just can't see the whole point of Facebook and MySpace etc... And I just can't get onboard with collecting pseudo friends online to validate my existence or boost my popularity.

I actually like c-prime's idea for a serial killer ripping off people's faces. Sounds like a fun direction to go...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:33:29 AM

"Maybe I'm getting old, but I just don't get why you'd want to make 'connections' with people you wouldn't speak to in real life."

Vast oppurtunities to get girls with daddy issues to take their clothes off for you through facebook.
Clarence Worley writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:39:02 AM

Hahaha, that's a good enough rebuttal for me Spook...
Kid_A writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 4:53:03 AM

At least he had great fortune by creating Facebook; in five or ten years, IF Facebook becomes unpopular, he would still have 3 billion dollars. And now somebody should come out of WorstPreviews and create another billion dollars worth website, come on! All you need is just an idea!
padfootbob writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 6:11:27 AM

Oh god.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 10:38:37 AM

FAIL!
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:45:34 PM

let's keep facebook on the internet where it belongs....please?....just because this guy is rich and made money off the website doesn't mean he needs credibility and more money from a movie benefit
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 5:18:28 PM

I really just don't understand this at all... why? Maybe if theres greater meaning to the story, like what the constantly evolving internet means for the human race, but other than that I really don't give a sh*t.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 5:25:14 PM

Oh also Joseph Fritzl is a f*cking monster. The local whorehouse said he was among the 1-2% of most demented customers, liked to have the whores pretend they were dead while he f*cked them. Well yeah, and he incinerates babies.

Also, Minkowski, I'm surprised you didn't finish Benjamin Button, that movie was great. Plus, he can't make badass movies all the time. He already proved he can do it and now he's trying new things.

Though I don't know if he needs to try 'facebook'.. LAME.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 5:32:18 PM

how can this be interesting? i feel like zuckerberg is a boring dude. i remember when facebook first came out, it was just ok. a lot better now!
Eben1277 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 5:06:05 PM

Maybe it will follow this dude Zuckerburg's decline into gambling and coke addiction, and eventual bankruptcy, before he gets wacked ... no that would be if Martin Scorcese was making it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved