WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

New "Spawn" Movie is Being Written

Posted: August 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
New "Spawn" Movie is Being WrittenSubmit Comment
"Spawn" creator Todd McFarlane has announced that he has officially started working on the screenplay for a new movie based on the character.

"The story has been in my head for 7 or 8 years," McFarlane said. "The movie idea is neither a recap or continuation. It is a standalone story that will be R-rated. Creepy and scary. The tone of this 'Spawn' movie will be for a more older audience. Like the film 'Departed.'"

McFarlane previously revealed that he doesn't want to make a big blockbuster. He instead would like to make a low-budget film, in order to keep some creative control.

"You're not going to get an [origin story] with a rubber costume," said McFarlane. "As a matter-of-fact, you'll never see Spawn in his full regalia, because to me, he's more of a sentinel, like a living shadow. I've shown the artwork [to potential investors] and he's all black; he doesn't look exactly like what people have seen in the comic book."

He added: "To me, it's more along the lines of 'Jaws,' where you didn't see [the shark] for half the movie, and then you caught glimpses of him. Jaws was somewhat fantastic in that movie, and to keep it low-budget I can't have spaceships and super-villains and all that stuff."

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 7:31:13 PM

Wow... my who-the-eff-cares-o-meter just broke the record since the news of the Spice Girls reunion was announced.
acslaterson writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 7:41:19 PM

He probably wants Spawn to look like he has in the past few recent issues(#189-192) where he is all black and has spikes coming off of him everywhere. This movie sounds retarded though.
BigUnit writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 8:36:25 PM

finally! we all have been waiting far too long! YESSSSSSS
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 8:46:52 PM

"You're not going to get an [origin story] with a rubber costume," said McFarlane. "As a matter-of-fact, you'll never see Spawn in his full regalia, because to me, he's more of a sentinel, like a living shadow. I've shown the artwork [to potential investors] and he's all black; he doesn't look exactly like what people have seen in the comic book"

Yer the one who made the first movie, you dope.
Rich k writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 9:44:53 PM

so if in this movie you just catch glimpse of him, and dont see him through half the movie, doesnt this mean he wont be the main character? Because in jaws the shark wasnt the main character, how funny that sounds. Roy Scheider was.
BigUnit writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:00:31 PM

yes rich k that does mean spawn wont be the main character and if you actually watched the HBO series, spawn wasnt the main character
Ranger writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:10:34 PM

I think comments like: "To me, it's more along the lines of 'Jaws,' where you didn't see [the shark] for half the movie,...' gives too much away.

And... WTF?! Didn't we get a report only a while ago he was going PG so his teenage kids could see it?!?!?

Rich k writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:10:57 PM

i didnt.
acslaterson writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:22:17 PM

I think i saw on another site that he wants to focus on the two cops...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:24:23 PM

"I think i saw on another site that he wants to focus on the two cops..."

Ugh.

f*ck you McFarlene, stick to comics and toys.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:08:14 PM

Yeah spooky I'm with you on this one... I don't know what the f*ck McFarlane is thinking. Whatever I'm not big on Spawn anyway, though I think visually he's a fierce looking motherf*cker.
Milhouse writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:29:42 PM

It seems like what he "wants to do" changes every time he talks about it. I have heard the Sam and Twitch rumors before too. He seems like he's leaning towards his "horror movie" idea though since that's what we keep hearing. Spawn is such a cool character in a cool universe. Such a waste.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:58:18 PM

That batman and spawn comic was really f*cking cool, you learn about how they're so alike.

But... I can't see there EVER being a good spawn movie with McFarlene attached. Comic writers =/= good directors.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:22:53 AM

Ha I just packed away my comics and saw the Spawn and Batman combo one. Batarang to the forehead.. ouchy.
Lordchristo writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:23:38 AM

Batman/Spawn and Spawn/Batman sucked big time. In every way possible. Todd McFarlane is worse than Hitler. This movie will fail, just like the last one, and I will be there on the sidelines laughing.

Except if 'the two cops' show up. Sam and Twitch actually worked really well, but if ol' Toddy M has any say in it nowadays, it's gonna be real bad.
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:29:57 AM

"That batman and spawn comic was really f*cking cool, you learn about how they're so alike."

And how they're not quite as equally crazy as you'd think, which is more of a Batman thing because Bats can redeem himself, step back and see how dark his soul has become, how close he's come to the edge of the abyss.

On the other hand, Spwan just comes off as a nut, playing off of Batman's psychological hangups. He's damned, has no soul and doesn't give a sh*t. Not like he's ever going to have Wanda and his kid back. And he knows it.

Really, the Batman/Spawn comics I have aren't that well written at all. Neither character get's a decent treatment, and the entire story is mostly the two of them competing and trading barbs.

Anyway, Spawn was hot property a long time ago. A LONG time ago. Twelve years ago, the film was made. And it didn't do too well, right? So how is ANOTHER film a year or a few years from now, when Spawn has slid even further into obscurity, going to succeed?

Sure, Spawn still has some fans, people that remember the comics, and even those people recall being burned by the 1997 film. Right? Or was that a masterpiece too? Like Gi Joe? Anyway, virtually no one wants to see another Spawn film.

Just stick to your toys, McFarlane.
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:31:43 AM

"Batman/Spawn and Spawn/Batman sucked big time"

YEah, but Spawn/Batman was DEFINITELY the better of the two. I couldn't even finish the one NOT written by Frank Miller and McFarlane.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:15:39 AM

"Frank Miller and McFarlane. "

Yea, that one is the one I was talking about. The one with the rather thick cover.

I liked it because It was one of the few spawn comics I have with any other superhero except himself in it.
Ranger writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 4:31:53 AM

I liked both because Lohan wasn't in either!
Aaron writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 6:37:28 AM

The Idea for the new one sounds dope.

DEEEAAATH becomes clearer!.. through bloodshoT EYES!

If nothing else, the original movie had a handful of cool songs on the soundtrack...
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 10:46:22 AM

this is the exact same story we all read months ago and its gonna suck pure ass! Oh yeah lets have Spawn without Spawn! good f*cking idea
keeeef writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 3:08:11 PM

if its like the hbo spawn cartoons, i'll be happy
VaderWasFramed writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 10:41:01 PM

Does anyone remember when the film was originally about Twitch Williams and Sam Berk? kinda glad he switched it up..
Ranger writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 3:09:56 PM

@keeeef - I agree. The HBO Spawn were exceptional. I only saw a few of them... but they certainly seemed to capture Todd's vision.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved