WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Inglourious Basterds" Dominates Box Office

Posted: August 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Inglourious Basterds" Dominates Box OfficeSubmit Comment
Quentin Tarantino's "Inglourious Basterds" took first place at the domestic box office this weekend by grossing around $38 million. This is the biggest Tarantino opening by far, beating "Kill Bill Vol 2," which bowed to $25 million back in 2004.

At the worldwide box office, "Basterds" took in a total of $65 million, almost making back its $70 million budget.

"District 9" finished in second place after falling just 49% in its second week to $18.9 million and a 10-day total of $73.5 million. The film cost only $30 million to produce.

The weekend's other three wide openers bowed softly. Robert Rodriguez's PG-rated family fantasy "Shorts" brought in $6.6 million and ended up taking sixth place; Fox Searchlight's comedy "Post Grad" earned $2.8 million and took 10th place; Disney's sports documentary "X Games 3D: The Movie" -- slotted for one week only in 1,399 3-D venues -- brought in just $800,000.

Click here to read our "Inglourious Basterds" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 7:34:26 PM

Sweet, I hope good word of mouth keeps Basterds going well into the $100 million range! I looks like District 9 will be doing the same. Big month for August!
Popcorn101 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 7:52:53 PM

Both of the movies(Basterds and District 9) were great movies and the best movies of the summer by far(unless you count Star Trek). To me, Basterds was funnier than The Goods haha Brad Pitt for actor of the year and the one nazi(the one that searches for jews) for best supporting actor.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:11:02 PM

AC is this really a big month? I mean in comparison to July? And last years box office numbers? Then again there was a TDK and Tropic last year. Yeah I guess this is a big month. I'm surprised this is his biggest opening, Tarantino's movie's kick ass.
Ranger writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:16:47 PM

I'm not surprised. Brad Pitt... decent marketing. A great idea for a flick - this fictitious WWII stuff is good (like Kelly's Heroes with Eastwood). And considering I think Kill Bill sucked (don't get on me about it... it's just my opinion) as compared to IB's... well, they always make comparisons, but they shouldn't. The only thing similar is QT. This is just more proof that The Brad can do it all (incl. Angelina). HAWT!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:28:57 PM

It absolutely deserved it. IB might be my favorite Tarantino flick, ahead of Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill Volume 2. Tarantino's use of dialogue to increase the tension during various sequences worked masterfully. The direction, the music, the performances, everything meshed together, in my opinion, gloriously. Though Waltz will deservedly get most of the accolades for this powerful performance, Brad Pitt's delightfully larger-than-life performance absolutely won me over. I was surprised at how funny he was in the role, sort of channeling the humor he displayed in Burn After Reading. Pitt is so damn badass/hilarious in the role. Damn good flick.
Ranger writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:54:01 PM

That's a nice review Douche.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:01:04 PM

Yeah he said this film was his film to go against all the claims that he couldn't do suspense. I think he certainly proved those pricks wrong. I don't know though, Pulp Fiction is like godly so damn good. I saw Jackie Brown again for like the first time in 6 years the other day... quality stuff.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:17:21 PM

Thanks, Ranger! :)
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:26:59 PM

TheDarkKnight, yeah, I probably can't objectively say it's my favorite without seeing it a few more times still, yet I like it's chances as possibly my favorite. I know some people hate KB Vol. 2, but that happens to be one of my favorites of his, so take my opinion with a grain of salt. I pretty much love all his work.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:33:25 PM

Yeah I put him number 3 on my top five for Directors.
tcu21 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:15:25 AM

If the Oscars were held today, here's what Inglourious Basterds should win and should at least be nominated for:

Best Picture
Best Actor-Christoph Waltz (don't go with that best supporting actor crap)
Best Original Screenplay-Quentin Tarantino
Best Director-Quentin Tarantino

I disliked Pulp Fiction, enjoyed Kill Bill immensely, and Inglourious Basterds is hands down one of the greatest movies I've ever seen and absolutely deserved this box office take and then some.

The scenes that were filled with dialogue were more intense than 2 and a half hours of Michael Bay blowing sh*t up in Transformers 2.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:21:31 AM

I don't think this film is taking any Oscars though. The Academy is full of sh*t anyway. Just a bullsh*t award ceremony to let filmmakers know if they're getting a boost in their pay rate. This film is still great.
Ranger writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:55:26 AM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7 - I was going to add to your comment, but see you covered it in the second half. The Oscar's are extremely political, and are only for status... thus the pay raise. You're right.
acslaterson writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:46:24 AM

@TDK, most movies that open in August don't gross $100 million. TDK came out in July, not August. August is usually reserved for popcorn flicks that Hollywood puts on the backburner. That is why there are two horror flicks that are coming out this week(The Final Destination and H2).
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 10:42:25 AM

AWWW YEEAAH!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 3:37:30 PM

This really was some of QT's best work. IMO, much better than the Kill Bills and Jackie Brown. I agree with most thats already been said, so let me just add that I thought it was worth dispelling with history just to see that "special someone" get the brutal end he actually deserved at the hands of the Basterds. I was also a big fan of August Diehl's performance as Gestapo Major Dieter Hellstrom. His scenes were every bit as intense and hair raising as Waltz's and there was NOTHING funny about him. I'm a big fan of German bad guys in film and I'd put there performances right up at the top with Hans Gruber, Ralph Fiennes's Amon Goeth in Schindlers List, and the guy with the hot poker in Raiders of the Lost Ark. Its good to see it's making money. Can't wait to see it again!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 4:28:20 PM

That's true cause Thunder was the only thing that came out last august that was you know big. I guess IB is the one big movie of august this year. Oh god don't remind me Halloween 2 is coming out. I hope rob zombie chokes on something... Better yet he needs to stop casting his wife IN EVERY FILM HE DOES. THE DAMN GIRL CANT ACT!
The_Joker writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 12:37:02 AM

This movie was awesomeee:)
Loved the part where donny killed the guy wit the bat:)
JRprime writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 1:08:27 AM

i wish this was a true story
Eben1277 writes:
on August 26th, 2009 at 5:09:11 PM

I haven't watched the Oscars since Titanic won best picture over LA Confidential
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 12:41:19 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved