WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron to Promote 3-D TVs

Posted: August 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron to Promote 3-D TVsSubmit Comment
Panasonic and Sony have been working on building and promoting TVs that can properly display 3-D content. Both companies are planning to start selling these 3-D TVs next year. At this point, it is not clear how much they would cost.

To become a 3D leader, Panasonic has signed director James Cameron to give the company ideas for technological improvements and help with promoting the product.

Panasonic plans to have several vans driving around in the US and Europe next month with large-screen 3D TVs inside showing "Avatar." In Japan, footage from the movie will appear in ads for 3D TVs.

"I believe 3D is how we will experience movies, gaming and computing in the near future. 3D is not something you watch. It's a reality you feel you could step into," said Cameron.

Source: Associated Press


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 68 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lost_addict writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:10:27 AM

oh god,why did he do 'titanic'???imagine how many more cool action movies we would have seen in a different time line....
bacci40 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:33:12 AM

funny...weve been hearing the same thing since the 50s, and each time, its basically a gimic...the man may have been the only honest person at comic con when he admitted that hollywood had taken over the con...but here, he is being just a total whore
nope.com writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:40:40 AM

oh please just sell your movies jimmy
rocketman writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 5:25:23 AM

talk about being up yer own arse.has he ever thought people might not want to watch a film with a dumb pair of glasses on the end of thier noses?i know i don't.could not give a sh*t about 3D
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 5:37:39 AM

"imagine how many more cool action movies we would have seen in a different time line...."

Yeah, he would've made True Lies 2.

And just when you thought that 52 inch plasma 1080i was the end, here comes James' Camo-Vision3D! And then, you can expect to upgrade to UHD Television. This is all just the beginning. Which sucks. Because as long as I can see what's going on with the film, I couldn't care about whether it's 3D or high def.
theslayer writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 8:04:44 AM

hey cameron , take a sh*t and put on your 3d goggles and try to eat it c*nt
jaz_mayor writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 9:05:51 AM

3D TV, technology moves on your supposed to embrace it not bitch about it. Let them do it. If its more than a gimmick then cool, if its not then at least they can use the tech for other reasons even medical. I remember when people bitched about blu-ray and high def TV, now they're lapping it up. Lets bitch about it after we see it.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:09:46 AM

Jim Cameron can suck my nuts. 3-D, at the end of the day, is just a gimmick.

It's not the "future of movies", it's not a new frontier. It's just a sh*tty gimmick to get more kids to see the latest Pixar film.

I just bought a 47 inch samsung, now this faggot expects me to buy gimmick-0-vision? f*ck that.

You're losing your touch, Jim. I can see the Lucas Neck Fat™ already starting to appear.

"now they're lapping it up."

That's because clearer picture wasn't a gimmick in the first place, it was just a clearer picture.
dandythelion writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:14:56 AM

3d is terrible. it's not even that great. it's fun for every now and then but today they are announcing movie with 3D in the title wich only desuades me from seeing it. it's a stupid medium and shouldn't evolve any more than it has
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:21:21 AM

" it's a stupid medium and shouldn't evolve any more than it has"

In the 50's, 3-D was trying to be a big thing, but people got bored with it.

Again, in the 80's, 3-D tried to come back, but nobody fell for it.

Now, it's here again, thinking that a few movies and two cameras glued together and promises of gimmick-o-vision will change the way movies are made. It won't. I may not have any faith in people when it comes to their taste in movies, but they know a gimmick when they see one.
BlueMobius writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:56:44 AM

Well, this thread just put me off WP. You guys are honestly the angriest, saddest, loneliest bunch I've seen in a long time. I honestly wish I was rolling in cash they way you all seem to be doing so I could crap all over everything anytime someone tries something new. If you don't want to buy a 3D-TV, then don't. Who cares? You'd tell me to stay away from WP if I didn't want to read the vulgarity that pours into this site. You know, I'll take that advice. Get a life, y'all. <>
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 12:08:03 PM

"Well, this thread just put me off WP. You guys are honestly the angriest, saddest, loneliest bunch I've seen in a long time."

Because we can see that Cameron is turing into Lucas? Way to reveal yourself, fanboy...

"I honestly wish I was rolling in cash they way you all seem to be doing so I could crap all over everything anytime someone tries something new."

3-D tv's aren't new, they were talked about in the 50's. More recently, ever hear of "Spy Kids 3-D"?! You didn't need no 3-D tv to view that, either.

"If you don't want to buy a 3D-TV, then don't. Who cares?"

We do, because the reason we don't want to buy one is because it'll cost over 7000 dollars to buy a tv with messed up picture quality if you don't put on glasses.

"You'd tell me to stay away from WP if I didn't want to read the vulgarity that pours into this site. You know, I'll take that advice. Get a life, y'all. <>"

Cool story bro. You're the one who'll be buying a 3-D tv, so don't call us losers.
RickPeters writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 12:13:19 PM

This 3D gimmick is a waste of time. I can't think of any movie that I thought, "this would be so much better in 3D." I've seen a number of 3D movies and they never look real, or even watchable. Maybe Avatar will be different, but I doubt it.

And, 3D TV? So are we gonna have sitcoms and the news in 3D? Maybe the ridiculous Fox News logos and animations can fly out of my screen and explode and transform right in my face.

I like Cameron's movies, but he's should drop the 3D thing, its weak gimmick. Just focus on making a good movie. In 2D.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 12:25:12 PM

Yea, It's what happened to lucas with thinking that cgi was the new frontier in movies

or zemeckis peddling his motion capture.

Now cameron will be on that list too.
jaz_mayor writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 12:53:06 PM

I think when hes saying 3D TV he doesn't mean what we're seeing in the cinema at the moment with 3D glasses. If you have ever been to some tech shows you'd see people who have developed some actual 3D technology that you can actually move around instead of sitting down and watching at 3D cinema type experince like Imax. I was hoping they go in that direction.

As for saying they have been talking about 3D back in the 50s, well they never had the tech then to do jack besides some crappy coloured glasses. I doesn't count.

As for high def and spooky saying 'thats because clearer picture wasn't a gimmick in the first place' people didn't think you could get clearer than a DVD quality picture because of preconceived ideas they had about what it would be like.

They thought it was just another gimmick to get people to buy a new format and more expensive TVs. They had the same kinda debate as this calling it a gimmick. Guess what they once they finally saw what they had been bitchin about they shut up because seeing is believing. They never got to see the product just heard about it instead. Same with this, lets see what it is first instead of complaining about something preconceived in our imagination.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:04:12 PM

"They never got to see the product just heard about it instead."

I've seen f*cking 3-D before. And you're comment contradicts each other.

You said they've been talking about this since the 50's, yet you go to say that people were calling dvd an blu ray a gimmick because they haven't seen it before.

The reason why 3-D tv's have been trying to get into our homes for 60 years but never did is because it is a gimmick. A gimmicky gimmickal gimmick gimmick. it's been around longer than any other gimmick around in film making, and people are so bored with it now, they're not going to plunk 7k for a tv that has the images pop out at you somewhat (even though you will still need glasses, it's impossible to have 3-d images be seen without 3-d glasses).

I didn't knock blu ray or dvd's when they first came out, because they were new, they brought something unique to my movie watching experience, something I've never seen before. I've seen 3-D before, and it's absolutely nothing special whatsoever.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:08:45 PM

I'll bring up the spy kids 3-d argument again.

All I had to do was set my picture to when the bars on the test screen looked black and white, then I could go on to enjoy my sh*tty movie, but at least it was in 3-D.

That worked, that was fine, but Cameron is promoting the fact that he wants to rip chumps like BlueMobius and jaz_mayor off. And that's just plain wrong.

The only reason he's peddling this sh*t is because he realizes nobody will notice his super awesome (sarcasm) camera if it's in 2-D.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:33:17 PM

Hmm deny what you will but 3d is the future. If movies can't kickstart it then videogames will. And I thought Coraline in 3d was pretty awesome, personally. While it wasn't necessarily more immersive, shots like the tunnel extending were given a decent amount more impact. The problem is the f*cking glasses. If they could figure a way to do 3d without glasses, it would be very successful. Something to do with refracting light or something... or maybe a light frequency that could confuse your eye into focusing on the image a different way. I really have no idea, but theyll pull it off, or some other invention than the tv will come along and we can watch movies in a whole new way. 3d as is though... is a gimmick. But f*ck its gotta start somewhere.
jaz_mayor writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:36:35 PM

"You said they've been talking about this since the 50's, yet you go to say that people were calling dvd an(d) blu ray a gimmick because they haven't seen it before"

No I didn't say that. I said.
"people didn't think you could get clearer than a DVD quality picture because of preconceived ideas they had about what it would be like."
Then I said.
"As for saying they have been talking about 3D back in the 50s, well they never had the tech then to do jack besides some crappy coloured glasses. I doesn't count."

I wasn't promoting anything I was simply saying If were reading more clearly.
"I think when hes (James Cam..) saying 3D TV he doesn't mean what we're seeing in the cinema at the moment with 3D glasses."
So I go on to say..
"If you have ever been to some tech shows you'd see people who have developed some actual 3D technology that you can actually move around instead of sitting down and watching a 3D cinema type experince like Imax."

I was "hoping they go in that direction"

At the end of the day If it looks like crap I won't buy it. The public has the right not to buy. You make it sound like James Camaron is gonna to come down our houses with an army of machine gun weilding gestapos saying If you don't buy our TVs we're gonna slit you and your familys throats.

Now stop misquoting things I write.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:36:45 PM

"But f*ck its gotta start somewhere."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3-D_film#History
HankTheTurtle writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:38:02 PM

Well, the 3d technology out now doesn't work on me, so I guess I'm sh*t out of luck in the future.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:38:24 PM

@moneyhayabusa

That's like saying that an incompetent 28 year old virgin racist masochist sexist who still lives with his parents will make it big in the comics industry one day because of his astounding 3rd grader level artwork.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:40:16 PM

I didn't misquote you, I paraphrased, get it right.

And I honestly could give less of a sh*t what some person who still thinks that 3-D could change the industry thinks.
jaz_mayor writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:58:39 PM

Wow you paraphrased something to make less sense in what I was saying. You even added quotations.

I never said it would be the future of the industrie. Hey they're just clutching at straws. If you don't give a sh*t then please don't comment on me. I wasn't even being nasty to you.

Grammer and mispellings are a given when this site doesn't have an edit button. Dammit.
Kid_A writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 2:06:00 PM

Agreed with minkowski; till Hollywood makes better movies than cliche actions and dramas, the only way to make people watch movies is to play with the sentence of 'watching a film', only to chance the 'watch' and make it a 3D. I believe in 3-4 years, there will be 3D televisions which will of course be very high priced.

But another point is that, 3D is not a great way of watching movie - I mean, it would be entertaining to watch 3D movies - as your eyes might become teary or tired. And think of that you need to wear 3D glasses each time you want to watch TV... so, I'm not sure whether it is good or not. But media and marketing of it will be very, very much - at least Cameron is on it.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 2:06:31 PM

"Well, the 3d technology out now doesn't work on me, so I guess I'm sh*t out of luck in the future."

And that's ANOTHER thing.

I can't see any still pictures as 3-d because it just looks inverted instead of extraverted.

I'm lucky because that's all i can't see, but a lot of people can't see 3-d at all, so there's just no f*cking way this will happen.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 2:09:07 PM

"at least Cameron is on it."

Because he realizes his camera will be worthless if people don't start watching 3-D, he's kind of obligated to be in this.
WV-Films writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 2:18:11 PM

"And just when you thought that 52 inch plasma 1080i was the end, here comes James' Camo-Vision3D!"

You don't jump from plasma to 3D TV. They recently started making 1080p 240Hz OLED screens with 2 million:1 contrast ratios in massive sizes that would make plasma look like a tube in comparison.

Way to date urself Mink.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 2:24:29 PM

WV_films fails at insulting. He just ends up looking like a nerd that knows d*ck about what he's talking about.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 2:26:43 PM

Eh I don't need 3D in my living room, I barely want it in the cinema.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 3:48:08 PM

"That's like saying that an incompetent 28 year old virgin racist masochist sexist who still lives with his parents will make it big in the comics industry one day because of his astounding 3rd grader level artwork."

Uh, yeah I guess... if you equate "28 year old virgin racist maschist sexist" with multiple "Supermassive Media Entertainment and Hardware Conglomerates" and "making it big in the comics industry" with "being the industry", you might be right.

You paint it all very black and white, thats probably why everything you say is so polarizing. I didn't say it was gonna be instant success, but its not gonna be a failure either. If Avatar is good, and animated movies keep being released in 3d, kids who see it will want to watch movies at home in 3d. Its not that they'll demand it, its just that the idea will be in their heads from when they're young. Brainwashed!
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 3:51:30 PM

You don't jump from plasma to 3D TV.

I never said anyone would, did I *sshole? Do you know what 3D TV looks like? So you know anything baut the technology? We went from VHS on bulbous thick glass screens to RVR on flat TVs to HD on thin LED and Plasma technoogies. The films aren't gettin better, for sure, but 3D TV is an evolutionary concept. It's a superset of plasma and LCD. Get it? Plasma and LCD are a **SUBSET** of 3D TV.

They recently started making 1080p 240Hz OLED screens with 2 million:1 contrast ratios in massive sizes that would make plasma look like a tube in comparison.

Way to date urself Mink.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 3:54:36 PM

the only way I would even tolerate 3d is by watching the execution of lohan by a meat grinder (aka her new girl)LOL MINK....
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:00:31 PM

Continued from above...

Why is 3D TV a likely superset? Because by the time they come out, the resolutions for 3D TV are going to be SUPERIOR to LCD and Plasma resolutions. 'Progress' in zombification marches on, huh?

But like I care about the 'latest tech', shich is what idiots like yourself focus on in a pathetic attempt to have anything to talk about.

"They recently started making 1080p 240Hz OLED screens with 2 million:1 contrast ratios in massive sizes that would make plasma look like a tube in comparison."

Well, good for them. Is your life complete now, WV? I hope you don't die before Sony mass produces the first UHD tv sometime in 2020. I mean, I'd hate for you to die without fulfilling your purpose. I mean, when civilization collapses, I'll be storing books to restart society, you'll be either food for the rats or some biker gangs road whore.

"way to date urself Mink."

Yeah, I know, I just can't keep up with the latest bullsh*t consumer devices like you. I actually still read those ancient thingies with all the sheets of paper. You know, books.

Which is why I'm smart and knowledgeable, and you're an idiot that follows the latest in plastic mass-produced junk gadgets. How's that working out for you?
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:01:01 PM

Thanks lostwarrior.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:03:41 PM

bravo mink.
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:04:28 PM

"You don't jump from plasma to 3D TV. "

You don't??? You mean you go back down to Betamax and Zenith televisions with vacuum tubes, right?

Oh, that's right! When I went to mp3, I had to downgrade to 8-tracks and my rusty harmonica first. I'm glad I have you to tell me about television technology. Thanks! You're SO knowledgeable. I mean, what would I have done without that MSNBC tech news excerpt?
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:06:58 PM

Thanks Spooky, but as you can see, I'm very f*cked up right now. sh*t.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:07:43 PM

at least you aren't trying to peddle 3-D tv's to your fanboys!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:13:56 PM

This also makes me wonder who really gives a sh*t what Cameron thinks anymore? The guy leaves for 12 years only to come back with a kids movie. The average movie goer is between 15-20 something, so most of the movie going public haven't even seen a Cameron movie in the theater. And with a tagline like "From the director of 'Titanic'", people will think that avatar is a romantic drama in space.

So...

Cameron is starting to suck.
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:14:58 PM

Yeah, as mush as I like the Cam Man, he's really starting to annoy me with this 3D advocation thing. Like someone said above, 3D TV isn't the greatest idea ever. It's a nice option, sure, for GOOD 3d movies with GOOD 3d (not like that garbage Journey to the Center of the Earth with that plastic faced Brendan Frasier) but I'll tell you this right now:

Hollywood, Sony, Toshiba, whoever, take back your HD films, your BlueRay, your flat screen, your LCD and your plasma tvs. Give me just this

1. a big tv.

2. Dvd and no more

3. SOME AWESOME f*ckING MOVIES FOR ONCE!

I'll happily trade 15 years of TV tech for five years of badass good films. But guess what? Not going to happen.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:18:44 PM

No, because that would be easy and simple to do, and hollywood doesn't do simple things, they only cater to simple people.
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:20:13 PM

"they only cater to simple people."

Exactly.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:21:42 PM

I'm shocked more people aren't outraged by all the sh*tty movies that are being made, because it's what hollywood thinks we all like as a general audience. They're laughing in our faces and we're taking it.
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:29:38 PM

Well, Hollywood constantly turning comic books and f*cking toys into mainstream fluff-and-filler films hasn't helped.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:35:56 PM

Yep.

But anyways.

Do you agree with 3-D tv's?
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:36:49 PM

"They're laughing in our faces and we're taking it."

I'm not taking it. That's why I download a film BEFORE I pay ten dollars (at least, for one person, or like FIFTY if I take a girl. Goddamned fifteen dollar hot dogs..).
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:37:20 PM

"Do you agree with 3-D tv's?"

Dunno. What's their position?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:45:36 PM

In a way we can only blame ourselves (the people) for the horible sh*t films to great films ratio. If people didn't help sh*t like Transformers 2 make 201 million in five days, maybe someone would give a sh*t or two about story. I remember the writers of Transformers 2 saying it was easier to get a 150 million dollar film made than a small arthouse film made and that's just a tragedy.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:45:39 PM

Lol

I only pay when I know that a movie is good. and even if it isn't THAT great (like district 9), i'll still buy the dvd, just to support the independant film makers.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:51:49 PM

"It was easier to get a 150 million dollar film made than a small arthouse film made and that's just a tragedy."

That's just a f*cking sickening thing to say.

If I ever see J.J's writers in public, they'll never see anything except the fiery depths of hell.
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:58:04 PM

Sorry, Spooky, I'm out. So can you tell me who's JJ? Abrams? Are you talking about Orci and kurtzman? If so, you've hooked me in. I'd pay ANYTHING to see those two dipped in steak sauce and whale blood, and then fed to a tank of starved sharks. Star Trek, Transformers, The Island...everything but MI3. WORST big budget 'action sci-fi' film writers ever.
minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 5:02:30 PM

Way, way off topic, but...I'm watching Rounders, right? And I'm wondering...does this film ever get good? I mean, it's not bad, but the film..it's like it's stuck in first f*cking gear. I haven't seen a damned thing in about 45 minutes.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 5:03:19 PM

agreed, and all that fringe did was be like lost mixed with x-files but made it SOOOOOOO f*cking boring.

And lost sucks now too.

f*ck orci and kurtzman.

They supposedly did some rewrites to watchmen, but all that snyder ended up doing was using the comic as a script after the opening credits anyways.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 5:03:59 PM

I haven't seen rounders
WV-Films writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 5:57:47 PM

Minky every time you try to explain urself further u really just reveal your own ignorance. I love how one comment can send you over then deep end resulting in tons of counter comments as you try to validate ur own idiocy.

And no you don't jump from plasma to 3D. There has been LCD, LED, and OLED since plasma was introduced.

So sorry your filibuster answers don't work on me. You should really stop arguing with people just for the sake of it, and continue talking out of your ass, as it's all you're good at.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 6:26:41 PM

"to validate ur own idiocy. "

ya dude mink is so stoopid ur toaly rite i agree
Ranger writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:13:53 PM

Hope this isn't already posted... but, as continued from the Baywatch thread...

3D marketing. Lost Cameron. Get Scarlet Jo's tits!

I'd buy one.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:25:37 PM

The only thing that would motivate me to buy one, well, split on one, well, watch it over at a friends house, is 3-D porn.
Ranger writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 10:39:34 PM

With 'Scratch n' Sniff O'Vision!'

KEWL!

minkowski writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:31:30 PM

"And no you don't jump from plasma to 3D. There has been LCD, LED, and OLED since plasma was introduced."

Like I give a sh*t about TV technology. But thanks for that information moron. Now that I know LCD, LED and OLED are between plasma and 3D (according to you anyway) my IQ just rocketed fifty points. Like, OMG, I'm almost as smart as WV now.

Hey, moron, knowledge isn't intelligence. Now don't you feel like a f*cking stooge you can't compete?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 11:59:50 PM

I wouldn't even call many of those evolutionary steps either because a Pioneer Plasma still topples an LCD and LED. OLED is newer and still hasn't proven itself yet so we'll see. Ugh I can't imagine watching everything in 3-D. That would annoy the f*ck out of me lol. When I went to see Avatar at the IMAX, ugh the glasses were so uncomfortable. Why do they have to look so terribly goofy too? Can we get some designer 3D glasses not some sh*t that looks like it was crafted in the 80s.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:01:44 AM

lol, That's f*cking hilarious!

I want some d-9 or transformer news so I can say that I'm repainting the buffalo (spelling?) vehicle transformer into one of those MNU vehicles...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:03:47 AM

"Can we get some designer 3D glasses not some sh*t that looks like it was crafted in the 80s."

Funny you should mention that, I showed my Father the trailer yesterday and he's a huge Cameron fan, on top of saying "Son... I am dissapoint." he and I also got into a long conversation about 3-D and how if 3-D catches on (after over 100 years), then designer glasses will be popular.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 12:18:36 AM

LOL. Seriously like 3-D tech is alright and all but it doesn't need to be everywhere. I actually think the bigger problem is the cinematography that goes into 3D films. Another reason why I thought Transformers 2's IMAX scenes were atrocious. You have to go about filming a movie differently when you mess with IMAX and 3D. From what I saw of Avatar so far, Cameron and his DP have got that down. To be honest the Jungle bit in the 16 minute preview sold me on the entire film. That and the flying bit but more so the Jungle. I think that can easily sell any skeptic.
minkowski writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 1:06:29 AM

"I wouldn't even call many of those evolutionary steps either because a Pioneer Plasma still topples an LCD and LED. OLED is newer and still hasn't proven itself yet so we'll see."

That was EXACTLY my reasoning as well. When WV started shooting his mouth about organic LED, I wondered if he had access to technology nearly no one else has seen

I know that I saw Journey to the Center of the Earth in 3D. I know it sucked. I now that if you're going to use 3D, the film had better damned well be filmed to showcase and effectively USE that technology. I mean, when the floating rocks move toward you, adnt they pop from the screen, that's cool, but it's a gimmick that didn't catch on fifty years ago, so why now? Why push for TVs when only one guy like Cameron can use the tech properly, and arguably at the expense of the STORY!

So what's going to happen when people lose total interest in 3D, when they realize that no one else can use it correctly or to proper effect? Will we THEN get back to good stories?

I know technology has advanced significantly in 3D since the fifties, but aren't we still using the goofy glasses? How is that novel or interesting? Sure, Cameron's Avatar is a groundbreaking 3D film and though I haven't see any of the 3D footage, I'l assume its amazing. So after I've grown accustomed to 3D effect, will I care anymore? I mean, I'm surrounded by a 3D world in rela life and I hardly care or notice. How is turning a film into something of a visual rollercoaster constantly sell me on a film?

I just don't see how 3D, no matter how amazing, is going to trump traditonal 2D fillmaking. I can't see people putting on glasses to watch television. I think this is all Cameron posturing to sell his latest fascination, his latest toy. He thinks because HE'S absorbed and caught up in 3D film, everyone else is going to become a convert, and that 3D will become the norm. How can I deny that? It's an effective technology in the right hands, and I think Avatar will prove that. I think Avatar will sell 3D like no other.

But my real issue is this:

3D is cool when done right. Cameron has obviously done right and Avatar looks to be grooundbreaking. 3D in TV is likely inevitable. Even if Avatar's 3D, even in IMAX, blows me away, will I care if the story is subpar or boring or derivative or simply unrememberable, if I dislike the film? How can 3D, little more than a powerful when done right VISUAL GIMMMICK replace a genuinely good story? Will it? Good CG didn't herald a new age of filmmaking, Pixar aside. Lots of sh*tty 3D films. And 3D is far more revolutionary than 3D, Avatar or not. And we've seen how people will easily trade style for substance. Look at GI JOE and Transformers for recent examples.

My concern is that though Cameron (and he's really an exceptional director IMO) has used 3D to good use, few other will, and they'll use the tech to sell films that will fall farther down the quality scale.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 9:01:44 PM

Dead on Mink and you're already seeing what you are speaking of. Flick after flick with the "Experience in 3D" sticker slapped right on the poster. Stories are put on the back burner constantly. The business aspect of Hollywood is really crushing the creative component that made the industry what it is in the first place which is really sad. The fact is I see more genuinely interesting stories, mostly independent short films, on websites like vimeo than in the cinema. With all that said I'm still continuing on my fools errand to become a director who makes films about characters and their lives instead of 2 hour tech demos.

grizzle writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 7:00:35 PM

Well, I am sure glad that everyone on this site knows how to make movies better than James Cameron. You had me really worried there for a minute. I mean, making the highest grossing movie of all time and winning academy awards and working with professionals for several decades doesn't qualify them to promote a new medium, does it? They have to sit around and tell people to suck their nuts on discussion boards all day first right?


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved