WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brian J. White Wants Luke Cage Role

Posted: August 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brian J. White Wants Luke Cage RoleSubmit Comment
Over two years ago, Tyrese Gibson revealed that a script for a Luke Cage feature film was being written and that he and director John Singleton (Boyz n the Hood, Four Brothers) were on standby to begin working on the project. Obviously nothing has happened.

Now, actor/former NFL player Brian J. White (DOA: Dead or Alive, Fighting) has revealed that he would love to be considered for the lead in a Cage film, if it ever gets off the ground.

"I would love to be Luke Cage," he told Moviehole. "I've been saying it over and over again in the press for years! Those are the roles - Green Lantern, Green Hornet, Luke Cage. There's some other graphic novels some horror ones that I also like, but I really would love to do Luke Cage."

He continued: "I think I have the skill-set. Like Iron Man, you have to be able to handle drama and comedy; you have to have the physique to be able to take off your shirt; you have to have a certain statue if you're 5'8 it doesn't really work so well, unless it's a small superhero and you have to have a certain athletic ability. That's what I'm angling towards. These are $150 million movies, so I'm trying to pay my dues, and do the work, so that I might get a look-in."

Source: Moviehole


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 4:28:44 AM

Is Luke Cage still in demand?? The character reached its peak back in 2001, and I guess Tyrese Gibson nor John Singleton wants to do it anymore
Ranger writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 5:28:54 AM

And Gary Coleman is too busy with his security guard job at the mall...
SACdaddy writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 10:49:22 AM

Great, another J. White wants to mess up another perfectly good black superhero movie. Michael Jai White destroyed the Spawn movie! Please get a more established actor for the part or just wait for Wesley to get out of jail.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 10:58:02 AM

They should cast my man from Obsessed as Luke Cage. He's a hell of an actor (Spinger Bell on The Wire was of the best roles ever for an HBO series) and he's like 6'3".
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 12:26:39 PM

Michael Jai White would probably be better.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 12:45:13 PM

Who's Brian J. White?

A basketball player?
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 1:54:13 PM

SACdaddy, I love your suggestion of Idris Elba (hope I spelled that right)! He would be awesome for all the reasons you mentioned, he's tall, he's a thick dude (muscle-wise), and can actually act (a case for anyone who has ever been on The Wire). Love the suggestion, man. Can totally see him putting on a gold headband and 70's disco-era "look at my chesthair" shirt.
acslaterson writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 1:58:13 PM

@SAC, his nick name was Stringer, not Springer and I like the suggestion.
Ranger writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 2:31:01 PM

Yeah... Jerry Springer would suck as Luke Cage.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 3:48:15 PM

It's amazing how sports stars automatically think they're entitled to play roles in blockbuster movies, or get spin off video games.

I can't wait until Michael Vick's Dogfighting 10 from EA Sports!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 5:22:54 PM

@acslateron: Good lookin out. Don't know how I made that mistake. I've noticed a lot of these Wire guys poppin up everywhere. Its good to see that show make waves.
Jamall316 writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 6:58:09 PM

Whoa,Whoa,Whoa, SACdaddy. Michael Jai White did NOT destroyed Spawn. Matter of fact Spawn was the biggest movie of that time. Now ask me did it suck; Yes. Is M.J White the blame? No.

Besides, we only got like three good "well known" black superheros: Blade, Black Panther, and Storm.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 7:15:34 PM

"Matter of fact Spawn was the biggest movie of that time."

Actually it wasn't even #1 its opening weekend. It didn't even make $100 mill worldwide. It did make its modest budget of $40 mill back so it wasn't a complete flop I guess. Fans of the comic hated it though and it was a critical disaster thanks to your boy MJW and of course John Leguzamos.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 8:02:41 PM

well if they are gonna do this and ruining, do it right and just cast llcooJ...
SACdaddy writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 8:22:32 PM

@jamal316: Don't worry to much man the worm is turning. Will Smith is making big waves in the underground comic and superhero market with films like I Am Legend and Hanc*ck (which made over $650 mill!!!). Denzel is doing Book of Elisha with the Hughes Brothers, and it's good to see War Machine's role increasing in Iron Man series (maybe a spinoff down the line). The best thing about these black superhero roles and films is that because they are so few and far between in there representation, they seem fresher and more creative (how much sh*t did the Matrix and Underworld steal from Blade). Most of the films have been highly profitable too! Luke Cage, if done with the right actor (someone way above MJW abilities) just sounds like another step in the right direction of creating a more diverse market.

@lostwarrior: Have you been drinking tonight?
lostwarrior writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 9:00:07 PM

not yet. but soon................
minkowski writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 10:29:24 PM

"Besides, we only got like three good "well known" black superheros: Blade, Black Panther, and Storm."

"@jamal316: Don't worry to much man the worm is turning."

We? Who's this we you're talking about? Oh, I just love urban tribalism and institutionalized reverse racism. It's like the FUBU of film. What a wonderful world.
minkowski writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 11:52:21 PM

It's what you get into when you try reconciling the Gospel of Luke with the Gospel of Matthew, Mark and John.
acslaterson writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:23:55 AM

Ow Mink, you never cease to amuse me! They were just commenting on how african/African American superheroes are getting into the Hollywood spot light. I say f*ck all of them! Where are the god damn beaners?! I don't even know of one popular Hispanic superhero. Are they too sleepy? Perhaps, it is still f*cked up though. As an aspiring Hispanic actor it is depressing knowing that I will probably be cast as a gang banger in my first few roles. That or a pool boy, c'est la vie.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:00:39 AM

After 3 films I think El Mariachi qualifies as a Hispanic superhero. Oh yeah, there's that Zorro guy too. Hollywood has been making films and tv shows about him since black and white days. Not all superheroes come from comics or have to have super powers.
rocketman writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 6:08:24 AM

Modest chap.
KidCarib writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 5:17:27 PM

Hey I'm new here.

@Minkowski: "We" is meant to represent the "African-American" community. What, don't you know what black people look like? What's wrong with wanting more representation of what you look like in the general public?

@SACdaddy: While i thought Spawn could have been much better, I don't think Wesley is much of a step up.
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 12:43:35 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved