WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brad Pitt Trash Talks Tom Cruise's "Valkyrie"

Posted: August 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brad Pitt Trash Talks Tom CruiseSubmit Comment
Brad Pitt's "Inglourious Basterds" is currently playing in theaters, but the Jewish press isn't too interested in focusing on the movie because it doesn't pretend to be historically accurate. "There's no percentage in railing against [it] as blathering, self-indulgent drivel," said Jewish Daily Forward. "[It's] Jewish revenge porn."

But Pitt doesn't feel that way. While promoting "Basterds," he trash-talked Tom Cruise's "Valkyrie," which is a true story about Colonel Claus von Stauffenberg and his plan to kill Hitler. "It was a ridiculous movie," Pitt said about "Valkyrie."

He continued: "The Second World War could still deliver more stories and films, but I believe that Quentin [Tarantino] put a cover on that pot. With 'Basterds,' everything that can be said to this genre has been said. The film destroys every symbol. The work is done, end of story."

Click here to read our "Inglourious Basterds" review.

Source: Stern magazine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lostwarrior writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 6:06:24 PM

shut up and go smoke a joint man.; Yeah your a good actor who does pick good roles. but still,, kinda sounds like a d*ck to me when he says sh*t like that... even if the movie wasnt that great. inglourious is not the end to all when it comes to wwII films....
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 6:29:13 PM

Hmmm... Pitt should mind his mouth, for surely he remembers he stared in Forest Gump 2: My Baby Penis Be Wrinkly. Was that a pile of sentimental sh*t or what?
takai writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 6:31:57 PM

Hahahaha.

Saying that a completely fictitious movie can put an end to WWII films is total idiocy.

How the hell do you think a totally dreamed up fantasy tale about killing Nazi's completely covers everything in WWII?

I like Bradd Pitt, but the man says some really stupid things.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 6:34:28 PM

"starred in..." Damnit, typo.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 6:59:17 PM

at takai that is what happens when u smoke funk out of a can....
lost_addict writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 7:02:47 PM

brad pitt is angeina jolie's bitch.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 7:17:12 PM

@LA honestly who wouldnt be her bitch...
Vexatious Disease writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 8:15:34 PM

He talks like his sh*t don't stink
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 8:54:26 PM

!!!SPOILERS!!!

Valkyrie was a pretty good film, i give it credit. But Inglorious BAsterds was the sh*t, of course one movie explained how they almost killed Hitler, whislt the other was soemthing we wish actually happened....Making Hitler look liek the pie that Jason Biggs f*cked in American Pie by only using a sub-machine gun!!
Ranger writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 8:59:36 PM

It's just too bad Brad couldn't state his peace without having to bash another actor's work.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 9:15:35 PM

Mel Brooks' hitler rap was better than both these movies.
TeemSelami writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 9:44:29 PM

valkyrie sucked. every time i saw TC i could tell he was thinking of f*cking L.Ron
rob writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 10:44:51 PM

Spoken like a true liberal. A movie that tells the history of a plan to kill Hitler is ridiculous? But a movie by Tarantino starring Pitt isn't? Haha!

"With 'Basterds,' everything that can be said to this genre has been said. The film destroys every symbol."

What is he talking about? There has to be a Marijuana joke here somewhere.
acslaterson writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 10:59:26 PM

Yeah, I find it hard to believe this is an actual quote from Pitt after seeing him on Real Time last week. He was extremely reserved and polite in his interview, humble even. I have never heard of Stern magazine so it is suspect in my opinion.
nope.com writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 11:19:08 PM

Tyler Durden > Scientology anyday
KirkLazerus writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 12:34:59 AM

Ahhh Classic Tyler Durden, i love it
nope.com writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 12:49:12 AM

Tyler Durden killin 'Nat-zee's'

... even better, damn why didn't QT bring Edward Norton into the mix??
acslaterson writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 2:09:05 AM

I got this off of Stern's Wikipedia page:
"Internationally, it is most famous for publishing the Hitler diaries in 1983. Soon after their publication, they were revealed by scientific testing to be forged."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stern_(magazine)

Yeah, real reliable source(rolls eyes).
RE4713 writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 2:18:48 AM

I totally agree with him! Valkyrie was a sh*tty film!!! One of the worst films of the year...hands down!!!
FBO writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 2:40:49 AM

Seriously? Worst film of the year? Did you see any other film last year? Like; Seven Pounds; In the name of the King; Meet the Spartans; Strange Wilderness; P2; Jumper; Mamma Mia; High School Musical 3; QoS; Indiana Jones KotCS; or Max Payne? Are you telling me that you would rather see any of those films than Valkyrie? Is it cuz Valkyrie was something that could really happen instead of having some outlandish plot like where the USSR actually had enough money to own a nuclear missile for ever city in America over 50,000 people?
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 3:39:12 AM

i think when he said genre he meant the Grindhouse-esque fictional type of hollywood movie. While Valkyrie was based on an actual story, I think his defense aganist the jewish paper was justified. i mean, come on. When has QT ever made a serious docudrama award winning movie? Almost all of his movies are paying homage to cult films. Grindhouse. Jackie Brown. Kill Bill. PULP FICTION> That name just says it all. So idk. I like Pitt alot, I like Cruise pretty good, I say the Jewish newspaper is at fault.

But again that's just my opinion...
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 6:58:41 AM

Tyler Durden is f*cking real and he is Brad Pitt!!!
baba30 writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 9:53:54 AM

You see Inglourious Basterds and you actually wonder if he really imitated Marlon Brando. I was shocked when i saw this http://reelity.com/hollywood/did-brad-pitt-actually-imitate-marlon-brando/
SACdaddy writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 11:21:46 AM

Tom Cruise's response to Pitt's comments:

"Wait a minute. Why dont you take a few steps back and f*ck YOUR OWN FACE!!!"

God I love Tropic Thunder
timex89 writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 12:45:11 PM

Valkyrie = reality
Inglorious Basterds = fake

Basterds covers nothing at all, only that it is set in WWII and portrays nothing realistically. Really, he has good roles? I can't remember the last time I saw a good Pitt movie. Mr. & Mrs Smith sucked. The only time I saw him was in an episode of Friends. Thank god it's Tom Cruise coming back for M:I4.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 1:29:48 PM

Valkyrie is not my kind of movie but it is a true story about real heros. And if disrespects not only the movie but those men for Brad Pitt to bad mouth the movie. Pitt isn't even the best actor in the world and doesn't always pick great roles. That was just a classless thing to do
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 3:43:14 PM

What Pitt said obviously refers to the war film genre... He means in terms of what can be done on film-he feels everything that could have been done with the World War landscape has been said and stated already...

...the only way to go to be original in the genre was to be completely outrageous and out there with it since no one had come out and done that out of respect for historic accuracy.

So in a way I agree with him. I can't see what else can be done with the genre after watching IB. What else can they do? I mean there's even road comedy war films like Operation Dumb Drop...what else can be done with it that would be considered remotely fresh?

Sometimes I think Pitt is too smart for some of you people to follow...and that's kinda sad.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 4:27:02 PM

I agree with this guy ^
theslayer writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 5:03:32 PM

bratt sh*t aint nothing but a loser and his whore wife diaria jolie aint nothing but a whore wife now tom cruise aint nothing but a c*nt whore and his cuylt member haircut spurring c*nt whore cult member wife
both these movies suck the sh*t right out they own ass and love it they both suck
as do all celebrities who love being celebrities get real jobs you losers
theslayer writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 5:07:08 PM

oh look at me im a celebrity please love me and take my picture please think im cool and want to be like me f*ck all yall shut down hollywood and there crapass films they all suck anyway enough.let these cesh*tbrities get reakl jobs in the real world there where agents are not agents butt government employeees now what i mean.
theslayer writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 5:08:10 PM

man f*ck the world yeah
Ranger writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 6:58:18 PM

Ummmm...

From my chair you're coming across pretty jealous there my friend.

Barney Stinson writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 9:42:59 PM

Brad Pitt hasn't even seen Valkyrie. At least according to his spokesman.

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni0943290/
dhkenobi writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 11:23:54 PM

One thing that kept me from seeing Valkyrie was the fact that the main character (who happens to be German), does not have German accent.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 12:52:08 AM

Okay- I'll defend Valkyrie- its a good film and if you're ready to watch it it does deliver good performances from all- Bill Nighy is in it and that guy makes everything good.

...and the main German character speakign English is explained in the first few minutes. If you've seen 13th Warrior, it resembles the scene where he learns the Vikings language and slowly if begins to morph into present day English.

Cruise begins the film writing a letter in German, speaking German, and during that, the language morphs into English so the target audience can watch it without subtitles, while understanding that while they hear English, they characters are speaking translated German...

...sigh...you Americans and you're hate for subtitles.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 12:53:06 AM

I am drunk- g'night muddaf*ckas!
bacci40 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 4:38:56 AM

the movie is fiction and fantasy...yet the forward decided to issue a non comment, comment??? that was dumber than the alledged pitt comment, which if made, was done totally tongue planted firmly in cheek
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:32:20 PM

rock on Brad Pitt! hahahaa
KidCarib writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 5:42:17 PM

Valkyrie was not good. It was decent. My main issue with TOm Cruise is that he doesn't seem to try at his roles enough. He seems virtually the same in every role (ie Sam Jackson--but you gotta love that guy). Brad Pitt is at least versatile in his acting. I don't think he should have outwardly called the film ridiculous, though it was. I haven't seen Basterds, but I only hear good things.
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 8th, 2009 at 1:53:51 PM

First time Brad has annoyed me. First off Tarantino is washed up and I don't care if people loved this movie or not. I'm super interested in anything WWII but not this.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved