WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James McTeigue Talks "Superman" Reboot Ideas

Posted: August 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James McTeigue Talks "Superman" Reboot IdeasSubmit Comment
Director James McTeigue (V for Vendetta, Ninja Assassin) is currently rumored to be the man to reboot the Superman franchise. He has yet to confirm or deny his involvement, but already has some ideas about what he would do with the character.

"I think if I was ever going to go near Superman, I would do a complete reboot take it in a direction that you would absolutely not expect, actually," McTeigue told MTV News. "So, that would be my thinking on it, if I was ever going to go near Superman."

Warner Bros is currently under pressure from a lawsuit to get a new movie into development by 2011, but without the use of the character's origins.

"I think it's good that they just had a court case where, basically, if you make another Superman movie, you can't touch Superman growing up that's part of the story that you can't touch any more," he said. "That wouldn't be a bad thing. I think everybody's a bit sick of seeing the origin story."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 6:14:32 PM

James McTeigue can get talk about getting the f*ck out.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 6:14:53 PM

He gets it!!! He f*cking understands why the ruling in the court case is a GOOD thing for Superman fans!!! He understands everyone is sick of the origin story!!! God damnit, Warner Brothers, get this man f*cking on board this project!!! Oh, and it is pretty obvious he is going to be doing the film. "If I were to do it" Like he would say that if he wasn't extremely close to signing on the dotted line.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 6:16:02 PM

Sorry, got a little excited there. Hehe...
IRONDAN writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 6:25:46 PM

Your right nobody wants to see superman growing up again... how about a superman movie where Lex Luthar isn't the main villain... maybe get a little Doomsday, Metallo, or Brainiac action going? i just wanna see superman fight someone that you thing can match up to him
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 6:36:46 PM

"I think it's good that they just had a court case where, basically, if you make another Superman movie, you can't touch Superman growing up that's part of the story that you can't touch any more," he said. "That wouldn't be a bad thing. I think everybody's a bit sick of seeing the origin story."

Ok, he can stay...
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 6:59:04 PM

My only potential problem with the Wachowskis and McTeigue coming on board is that they might cast Keanu Reeves as Superman. That gets me a little worried, but I'm sure they will choose the right person. Jon Hamm for Superman!!!
lost_addict writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 7:00:05 PM

i just don't get it...they make all kind of movies in the last years about some super-heroes wannabes and yet when it comes to the most bad ass and famous super hero there is always a problem.why?f*ck all the other super heroes,make 10 superman movies directed by different directors,i don't care.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 7:09:14 PM

its about f*cking time, showcase supes real powers.. moving planets. and finally a real villian,. hope they show a few smaller villians, of course the atomic skulls possible faora and one perhaps two main villians. And even though doomsday would be kool, i personally think they should work their way up to him. Perhaps solom grundy, he would be a great way to reboot it, then of course lead up to doomsday...
lostwarrior writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 7:10:40 PM

no NEO would never work as superman.. keep brandon on board, he has the look and was one of the only good things about supes return..
japaninmotion writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 7:24:18 PM

hes right i think anyone who doesn't know the origins of superman would never see a superman movie. jon hamm would be great and the film should be 50s style so clark can always smack lois on the and say NIce Gams!
PHURBY1984 writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 8:21:33 PM

I LOVE HOW YOU CAN'T TALK ABOUT SUPERMAN'S ORIGINS ANYMORE...I GUESS WE ARE SUPPOSE TO THINK SUPERMAN APPEARED ON EARTH LIKE A FART...COME ON I'M OKAY WITH SKIPPING THE ENTIRE PART OF PUTTING HIM IN THE SHIP AND SENDING HIM TO EARTH sh*t...BUT I GUESS YOU CAN'T ASK SUPERMAN WHERE HIS FROM BECAUSE IF YOU DO HE WILL SAY...I PLEAD THE 5TH AND I DON'T WANT TO GET SUIT...PLEASE WARNER BROS. ADN THE FAMILY OF THE ORIGINAL CREATOR OF SUPERMAN NEED TO WORK SOMETHING OUT BECAUSE OTHER WISE, JUST RELEASE SUPERMAN RETURNS AGAIN...BECAUSE I DON'T WANT ANOTHER sh*tTY ASS SUPERMAN MOVIE...
Ranger writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 8:54:14 PM

We're not as 'sick' of the origin story, as much as we've seen it done already... and done well. Get the hell on with it already.

Oh wait! I have an idea!

HOW ABOUT SOMETHING COMPLETELY NEW?!?!?!?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 9:00:33 PM

"I LOVE HOW YOU CAN'T TALK ABOUT SUPERMAN'S ORIGINS ANYMORE...I GUESS WE ARE SUPPOSE TO THINK SUPERMAN APPEARED ON EARTH LIKE A FART...COME ON I'M OKAY WITH SKIPPING THE ENTIRE PART OF PUTTING HIM IN THE SHIP AND SENDING HIM TO EARTH sh*t...BUT I GUESS YOU CAN'T ASK SUPERMAN WHERE HIS FROM BECAUSE IF YOU DO HE WILL SAY...I PLEAD THE 5TH AND I DON'T WANT TO GET SUIT...PLEASE WARNER BROS. ADN THE FAMILY OF THE ORIGINAL CREATOR OF SUPERMAN NEED TO WORK SOMETHING OUT BECAUSE OTHER WISE, JUST RELEASE SUPERMAN RETURNS AGAIN...BECAUSE I DON'T WANT ANOTHER sh*tTY ASS SUPERMAN MOVIE..."

Calm your sh*t down.

Superman returns was alright, but it was during the trend of turning all superheroes into whimpering crybabies, so it falls flat by todays standards.
acslaterson writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 9:14:38 PM

You don't need the origins, start with a kickass fight scene right away ending with Supes giving one of his poses. Credits, and newspaper covers chronicling his actions, first as a red/blue blur and eventually as Superman. Not hard, who the f*ck doesn't know Supes origins anyway?
acslaterson writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 9:15:17 PM

Oh, then start the story for the movie.
rob writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 10:04:42 PM

I'm looking forward to a new Superman, if he is portrayed correctly! I'm tired of seeing him get his butt kicked by a bunch of 2nd rate villians. Also, Superman isn't supposed to be "dark". Tired of reading about "We want to make him darker, like The Dark Knight". That's why he and Batman don't get along... they are different!
acslaterson writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 10:35:56 PM

^^^ Haha, that was my previous avatar!
nope.com writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 11:15:41 PM

I dig the fact someone in Hollywood FINALLY understands that we don't need to see the tired old origin story.

baby boy comes to earth in a ship sent by Jor-El through a meteor shower.. yadiyada..

looking forward to the reboot
coldplayesence writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 11:36:45 PM

And Lex Luthor will rise again!!!!
BlueMobius writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 2:37:28 AM

Please, please, please no more Lex! If they can't give us a monstrous super-villain (a la Doomsday or Darkseid) at least give us another crack at Zod. If I have to sit through one more Superman movie where Lex has cracked up some crazy real estate scheme, I might start crying and never stop.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 3:41:28 AM

f*cking JLA vs. the f*cking Legion of Doom. Start that sh*t up Mcteigue.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 3:41:54 AM

oops sorry I meant Superfriends, which would actually be cooler than the JLA lol.
Ranger writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 5:13:10 AM

@rob - I suspect (and I won't speak for others) that the 'dark' they may be referring to, is even for us to see Supes... REALISTIC! Less comic-booky. Less pining for Lois sh*t. More Solomon Grundy, Doomsday. The TRUE LAST SON OF KYYPTON - which means NO Super: cousin, dog, horse... or more Kryptonians running around Earth like in Smallville.

Just the Last Son of Krypton - with a hardened heart... and orphan, making the best of his situation here. Kicking ass and taking names.

Three WAS a GREAT place for the Christopher Reeve movies. They had to be campy. People were NOT accepting of comics being made into movies (even in the 70's) - which is why they brought in heavy weight Brando for creditability. But those movies paved the way so we can get serious about super heroes now.

I just WISH the writers of Superman treated him like... SUPERMAN! Move planets. SAVE the universe. Fly through the sun. Instead of trying to make him weak like Earthlings.

Let him GROW UP already.

That... is what I believe some people mean by making him 'darker.' Either that... or they want Will Smith to play him.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 12:51:44 PM

Finally!!! The origin story needs to go and never come back. And don't have Lex as a villian. Not sure of what I'm more sick of.
Blank x2 writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 6:36:06 PM

Spooky, did you say that Superman Returns was an "alright movie"? Please make a note to never bash another movie ever again.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 10:57:19 PM

"Spooky, did you say that Superman Returns was an "alright movie"? "

Tell me, how was it bad?
Milhouse writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 12:35:32 AM

Superman returns was boring. It was like a chick flick in comic form. And they made Lex suck as a villain. Wasn't really funny or very threatening.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 1:36:25 PM

blah blah blah why does everyone have such major wood for Superman?! its never gonna happen.
Kevin Hock writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 5:49:55 PM

Yeah I wish they'd just make a kick ass action Superman movie, with a director who gets the characters and wouldn't make a chessy movie.
Kevin Hock writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 5:50:27 PM

I meant Cheesy, sorry.
goeygogo writes:
on August 25th, 2009 at 12:05:41 AM

this guy talks the talk so far...but wait until warner bros. puts the clamps down on his balls...hopefully he can deliver though!
tinyokie writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 2:54:11 AM

It will be good to not have the origin in the next movie just because it's probably the most well know super hero origin, and there isn't a lot more you could add to it. As far as the making the movie darker, I'm not sure, if they can the kind of tone that spider-man 2 or the latest marvel movies, not including spider-man 3 or Wolverine than I would finally be able to see a superman movie in a theater and not feel cheated. Also, I wouldn't have a problem with Luthor being in the movie, just don't have him being the sole villain. He works well especially with Bizzaro or Metallo. Just my two cents

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved