WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Trailer Screenshots

Posted: August 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Trailer ScreenshotsSubmit Comment
The teaser trailer for the upcoming "Avatar" film has appeared online yesterday and today we have a few screenshots from it in order to get a closer look at the footage and the characters. Check them out below.

Plot: An ex-Marine finds himself thrust into hostilities on an alien planet filled with exotic life forms. As an Avatar, a human mind in an alien body, he finds himself torn between two worlds, in a desperate fight for his own survival and that of the indigenous people.

The new 3-D movie is directed by James Cameron and is scheduled to hit theaters on December 18th.

Screenshots: (click to enlarge)




























































Click here to read more about "Avatar."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
darkknight1985 writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 8:00:56 AM

I don't know if the film will be good and I can see there is a significant "difference" in the visuals compared with other cgi movies.

But if anyone says the CGI is better or photo realistic I'll hav 2 laugh at his face. Those blue Night elves are NOT photo realistic. They look like bloody cartoons.
It looks as if live action people were stuffed into a cartoon. And I don't remember anyone telling me that Space Jam was being remade!
SeWerin writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 8:40:20 AM

So much about famous CGI:

http://i30.tinypic.com/hun9jb.jpg
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 8:52:57 AM

hahaha AHH the blue jarjar`s bink`s poor cameron after this only xxx for him, it will be cool see the jarjar´s f*cking (sarcasm) this movie is pure crap!
Hitodama writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 9:25:45 AM

Fern Gully anyone?
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 9:44:41 AM

The technology he created allows filmmakers to actually view CGI rendered animation while actors motion capture, so these CGI figures might as well be ON SET. You can see exactly what you're going to get instead of motion capture first and rendering later- THAT'S AMAZING.

But CGI will always look like CGI, because well- its cheaper to use REAL people instead of painstakingly rendering animation until it looks real...

...and people will always be disappointed by their own expectations.
darkknight1985 writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 10:28:53 AM

@ PrevalentMind
"The technology he created allows filmmakers to actually view CGI rendered animation while actors motion capture, so these CGI figures might as well be ON SET. You can see exactly what you're going to get instead of motion capture first and rendering later- THAT'S AMAZING."

Mate I'm not doubting the value of this technology. I'm criticizing the outcome.
It doesn't matter how helpful the technology is when the end result is bad. The graphics look too cartoonish. The rendered aliens look fake and are not photo realistic at all.

Take this example that our friend SeWerin gave yesterday.

This is photorealistic and looks authentic

http://theeulobby.files.wordpress.com/2009/07/davy-jones.jpg

and this looks cartoonish

http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/8639/50963103.jpg

Look at the stark difference between those 2 photos. This is what I mean. It doesn't matter how amazing the technology is as long one can get a better outcome with general CGI tech.

PS - I'm not criticising the film, story or the direction here. Its just that I'm disappointed with the huge hype they tried to create saying we are taking you to another world. Now that maybe true if you take it literally. :-)
Bob82 writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 10:58:21 AM

Please tell me the one firing a gun in the helicopter, who's about to get chewed by that monster, isn't the villian of the movie. I hate it when they put spoilers in the trailers, but because they go so fast, they think we don't remember them, cuz I do!

Anyway, I've seen the teaser several times and my exciment is growing. Call me crazy, but those images are becoming more and more real, and I'm only a few hours away from watching the 15 minute preview, so that'll be enough.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 11:06:51 AM

NOPE! still looks like a video game!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 11:08:21 AM

SeWerin:

AAAAHAAHHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HOW THE f*ck DO YOU MANAGE THAT?!?!?!?!?!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 11:28:59 AM

Cont'd for SeWerins post

300 million dollar budget, 12 years in the making, and an error that large is in the flippin trailer?!?!!

Jesus Cameron, only your fanboys will watch this.

And I don't think there's over 300 million between all of them.
BlueMobius writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 11:52:43 AM

Man, I am so amused at people calling this cartoonish. THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A BLUE ALIEN! Right there is why you think it looks cartoonish. LOL. <> Oh man, it's seriously funny. How could it possibly be "photreal" if the thing doesn't exist. It has nothing to do with the CGI (which, as I've mentioned on the trailer post, looks amazing in longer context) but has everything to do with art direction. The Davy Jones pic you linked needed to look "real" because Verbinski was trying to sell it all as something that could really exist in our world. Cameron isn't going for that at all. He stated that the purpose of the look and feel of this film is to make us connect to something completely alien; something we're unfamiliar with. I have absolutely no doubt that his artists and programmers could have created an exact duplicate of a human being with their tech and skills. What would that have accomplished? Had Cameron never made his lofty claims, everyone would be sh*tting themselves over how fantastic this film looks AS A FILM! The story has adventure, romance, war, action, and humor and what I've seen of it had me completely entertained. This film is a scifi film and appeals to those of us who have been waiting for a good scifi a la Heinlein. I couldn't care less about the CGI at this point because the movie has more promise than its animation.

OK, I'm getting of my soapbox. I'll eat my word if this film doesn't blow the roof of the box office this holiday. Someone remind me and I'll gladly apologize for having a little faith in American cinema.
darkknight1985 writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 12:46:09 PM

@ BlueMobius

So a guy with an octopus molded into his head can exist in our world?

Its all about texturing mate. True the alien may have weird blue skin but when you actually look at it you can see that it's face doesn't look right.
I kept an open mind about this film as well. Still do. Hell the film still haven't been released. What I'm disappointed is that with all the hype about this new CGI being used and the money spent on it, I would have settled for even a small amount of footage that looks more real than the CGI We've seen so far. But what we've gotten is a whole world (and characters) that looks fake.

I'm still hopeful that this movie will do well at the box office. James Cameron's vision and dedication is worth that much even though the outcome of that in my eyes turned out to be disappointing to me.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 1:01:45 PM

@ blue mobius

http://i30.tinypic.com/hun9jb.jpg
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 1:26:44 PM

Is this the same trailer we're to watch tonight at the 6 minute Imax shows?
triggax writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 1:36:20 PM

You know bottom line, whether you enjoy the film or not. Cameron shouldn't have made the claims that he made. It's started a debate now on whether it looks real or not. f*ckin' the 3rd pirates piece of crap cost 300 million to create.. difference being Verbinski didn't go around telling everyone it would change the course of filmmaking FOREVER dun dun dun... Cameron made a mistake in saying what he did. Though Im sure there are going to be just as many people that think it is and just as many that think that it isn't... I dont think it really matters..
Cupcakes Pulp Fiction still blows and you're still a f*cking tard. I love that you stayed online all day yesterday because of your supposed "sick day" whats your excuse today I wonder. That you live with your parents and don't actually have a job?...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 1:43:08 PM

"Cameron shouldn't have made the claims that he made. It's started a debate now on whether it looks real or not. f*ckin' the 3rd pirates piece of crap cost 300 million to create.. difference being Verbinski didn't go around telling everyone it would change the course of filmmaking FOREVER dun dun dun... Cameron made a mistake in saying what he did. Though Im sure there are going to be just as many people that think it is and just as many that think that it isn't... I dont think it really matters.."

Way to go, now you're making buttloads of sense!

"Cupcakes Pulp Fiction still blows and you're still a f*cking tard."

...scratch that.

triggax writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 1:56:22 PM

Its true though isnt it?.. Cameron could have very well kept the film a secret as he did and it would have still built hype having his name attached to a project at this point is enough to build a healthy amount of hype, if he would have just kept his mouth shut about it in general im sure a larger collective of people would be sh*tting over the effects in the film.
Unfortunately that wasn't the case. Regardless Im going to the screening tonight and i suppose you never know. Back a couple of months ago I read an interview with Peter Jackson where he had said that he thinks that motion capture can never look REALLY real in a film because its 2 dimensional... So maybe ill have a different mind when I come out of a 3d screening..? Who f*cking knows..
I think that regardless this movie is going to make its money back.. It's what? PG13?.. at best and its 3d and its coming out at christmas... I wouldn't be surprised if more kiddies and moms see this than fan boys...

Who f*cking knows... i say truce to you cupcakes.. and pulp fiction still blows...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 2:03:34 PM

"Who f*cking knows... i say truce to you cupcakes.. and pulp fiction still blows..."

No f*cking way man.
triggax writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 2:08:21 PM

No truce or no that Pulp fiction blows.

Well f*ck yourself then either way.

Pulp Fiction was Tarantino's weakest project, f*cking jackie brown was better. I don't give a sh*t who says anything about it. He's a better writer than he is director simple as that.

True Romance, excellent, Reservoir Dogs, excellent. Everything else.. Mediocre.

The soundtrack however, I love.
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 2:32:16 PM

I don't understand the people why they continue attacking SpookyCupcakes, he is only criticizing that excrement of film, perhaps Cameron`s paying so that you defend it, did he f*ck you or what? Did you like it? Come on people you know this movie its cost would not pay, Wake up! Get out of the Matrix! the trailer of Star Trek was best by far!
triggax writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 2:52:24 PM

Why do you keep defending cupcakes? Did he f*ck you?...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 3:03:55 PM

I guess this movie will only appeal to xenophiliacs and furrys.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 3:10:31 PM

They do remind me of Abe from Hellboy.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 3:24:15 PM

Say what you will, but this still looks bad-ass!!
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 3:30:28 PM

Hey spooky in one of your comments for "The Avatar Trailer is here" you said you were "jerking these faggots".....I bet you were. Anyways the film has a close to 3 hour run time and your taking a sh*t on it because you saw a 2 min teaser trailer. Its funny because everyone that's bashing this film right now will be the first ones lined up to see it come December.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 3:36:13 PM

"Anyways the film has a close to 3 hour run time and your taking a sh*t on it because you saw a 2 min teaser trailer. Its funny because everyone that's bashing this film right now will be the first ones lined up to see it come December."

I'm taking a sh*t on it because it's "SUPER ADVANCED MOSHUN CAPCHER ND CGI" is horribly done and rendered really poorly.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 3:37:36 PM

which is dissapointing considering the massively high budget that will never make it's money back.

Oh and most of it was spent on gluing two cameras together.

WOW. REVOLUTIONARY.
triggax writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 3:42:14 PM

It is revolutionary. When the f*ck have you EVER heard of a director gluing 2 cameras together? Hmm?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 3:59:23 PM

"It is revolutionary. When the f*ck have you EVER heard of a director gluing 2 cameras together? Hmm?"

Never, because it's a stupid idea and waste of money.
Rich k writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 4:02:26 PM

i just love the jungle screenshots, this new form of cgi makes this look so good.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 4:05:04 PM

How could you possibly know it won't make its budget back? Compared to all of the sh*t out this is going to be epic. But just don't say you wont see it because when its all said and done you know you will.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 4:20:15 PM

"How could you possibly know it won't make its budget back? Compared to all of the sh*t out this is going to be epic. But just don't say you wont see it because when its all said and done you know you will."

Of course I will, illegally mind you. If I didn't, you idiots would be spouting "BUT U DINT EVEN SEE IT U TROL!"
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 4:35:46 PM

"OH NOES HE POSTED SUMTHNG AND POINTE OUT HOW WE WERE LIED TO BY JAMES CAMERON ABOUT THE CGI QUICK CALL HIM A TROLL!"
Hollywood1086 writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 4:52:59 PM

am i the only one who thinks this actually looks kind of cool? the aliens are a smidge cheesy, but it has potential
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 5:46:27 PM

triggax hay dont insult me bastard! why do keep defending this crap movie, did Cameron pay you? or did he raped you when you where a child!
i dont like this crap So? WHATS THE PROBLEM! I need to adore Cameron why? becuse you said so? go and eat the blue penus of the avatar of SAM W.!
BlueMobius writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 2:34:17 AM

Alright, Cupcake, I'm not sure what your little marked-up screenshot was supposed to prove but I'm honestly feeling sorry for you. I've said it a dozen times already: CGI can NOT look REAL out of context. That means that ALL CGI looks like sh*t until your eyes and mind can be fooled. Traditional animation, video games, even live-action film, works on the same principal. It's illusion. This teaser doesn't give you any time at all to be fooled into believing it's real. Also, I'm beginning to wonder if you have any imagination or if you were ever a kid who wished he could visit an alien world. I've also pointed out that I've seen a chunk of this film and I am soooo in theaters for a midnight showing. I simply can not wait for this thing.

And yes, before you get all persnickety over the picture you linked, I did get it. You were pointing out that the human person in the blurry still shot you linked to looks fake. Yes. Yes he does. I would bet you dollars to donuts that the driver of the robot was not even motion-cap but that the robot itself was and they added a driver in post. Pretty cool idea if I'm right. Does it look amazing? Nope. Is the whole movie about CGI? Nope. Is it even about that one mech driver? You guess it...nope.

And to the person who commented about the faces looking weird: Yeah, they do. When you get to see them up close, they look familiar but still alien. The Avatars look oddly malformed and manufactured while the Na'vi look more organic and natural. There is less humanness about the Na'vi then there is in the Avatars which looks to be a major theme in the story.

The best scene, which isn't even in the teaser (so...well...spoiler alert) is when the two main characters are walking through the forest at night. The plants start to glow and the whole nightscape comes alive. It looks a great deal like an underwater fantasyland on crack. These little dandelion seeds light upon the main guy's skin to show he's been accepted into the world and the movements as he tries to swat them away come across so natural and realistic that, for the entire scene, I completely forgot I was looking at an animated creation and instead felt like I was watching someone wearing really advanced make-up. I was lost in the moment and that's what Cameron was going for, according to him.

And finally...and then I HAVE to shut up about this...I don't blame Cameron for boasting. He's proud of this. Is this any different than Stephen King telling his readers that the final Dark Tower book was going to blow us away (for a lot of people, it fell short)? Any artist is allowed to be boast, crow, and brag about his/her newest project. If Cameron loves this thing and is in love with how it looks, nothing you or I will say or write will change that. Believe me, he'll be fine as he falls asleep on his giant pile of money.
holtlt writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 1:35:41 PM

Who's the guy with the scars? ohh that's STEPHEN LANG, the guy who killed Johnny Deep in Public Enemies...incredible
Lander writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 3:09:59 PM

I didn't liked the footage of Avatar's day.
It just wasnt something new. I already saw those naavis.

Well, i just.. Just missed something probably.
buttabean writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 12:10:46 PM

I went to see the 16 minute preview at the imax here. I have to say it looks pretty damn good in 3D. The jungle scene with that dino is really cool. I definitely think it looks a lot better than the trailer they showed.

The movie reminded me of a blend between Turok and Halo.
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 12:51:44 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved