WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Blockbuster Offers Movies for Your Cell Phone

Posted: August 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Blockbuster Offers Movies for Your Cell PhoneSubmit Comment
Blockbuster plans to offer movies that can be watched on Motorola cell phones. It marks the struggling rental company's first step into mobile video and is its latest effort at chasing down the customers that have abandoned its traditional video stores.

It did not say when the phone service will be available or how much it will cost. Kevin Lewis, Blockbuster's vice president for digital entertainment, said "thousands" of films will be available.

Blockbuster joins a growing field of video services on cell phones. Mobile customers can get clips on the mobile version of YouTube and movie rentals from iTunes store on the iPhone. Verizon Wireless also offers V Cast, which shows sports, news and comedy clips.

The company has also announced last month that it will allow customers to rent movies with their remote control on Samsung's latest high-definition TVs. Earlier this year, Blockbuster introduced a similar on-demand service offered through TiVo's digital video recorders.

Blockbuster is also promising 10,000 DVD rental kiosks to compete with Redbox, which is luring frugal customers with its $1-per-night DVD rentals.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:18:20 AM

screens too tiny for me. itll kill the battery too.
VDODSON writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:49:51 AM

Blockbuster deserves to go under, at last their overpriced/excessive late fee dynasty is coming to an end. All praise be to Redbox, the poor mans dvd rental shop of choice. I'll buy that for a dollar.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:30:05 AM

Haven't they made enough money, raping people with their exorbitant dvd costs and high rental fees? Now they want to destroy Redbox. THEY didn't come up with the idea of renting DVDs out of a vending machine, but damned if they won't let that get in the way of destroying the modern competetion.

And how many people are going to pay to watch a movie on a cell phone?! Jesus, a whole movie? Don't people have better things to do than stare at a screen smaller than the size of a playing card? It's like watching a film on a Gameboy Color. How's that going to work, anyway? What was the point of going high-def if people are going to pay Blockbuster to watch films on a phone? Would you pay for youtube? Then why pay to view a movie through an electronic keyhole?

Sounds like desperate marketing to me.

The VHS is long gone and very soon, Blockbuster, hopefully you will be too.
VDODSON writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:57:50 AM

Go to hell Blockbuster!
themovieguy writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 10:43:07 AM

You can already watch thousands of movies and TV shows on your 3G cell phones for free...it's called HULU.com
wasted talent HK5 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 11:37:00 AM

They should have kept the 'no late fee' policy.
kct003 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:15:13 PM

Technically, you can still do the "no late fee" option if you rent the movies for 5 days, which happens to be the same price that it cost to rent a movie for 2 days about 3 months ago. And why not offer movies for a phone, if people are stupid enough to pay for 'em, why shouldn't someone cash in on that?
Stuntastic writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:27:28 PM

As Stephen Colbert would say, "I tip my hat off to you inventer of the Redbox." They have done the greatest service to struggling recession struck individuals. People can finally have a movie night without breaking the bank. Just as long as your ass returns it b4 9pm the next night lol
m1234567g writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:40:32 PM

I work for BB and it's trying its hardest to stay relevant but it's far too late. With Netflix, hulu, fancast, and torrent sites, i'm still baffled by why people(the few left) still come in to rent. i mean, most of the time it's cheaper to just buy movies from amazon, bestbuy or walmart. I really hope BB goes under sometime soon, I f*cking hate that place. If i could get a job somewhere else, i would.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:41:01 PM

As someone who worked at Blockbuster in my teens, I laugh at their current financial struggles. Any day now until they announce they are joining Circuit City in bankruptcy hell. Go Netflix! and illegal downloading ;)
padfootbob writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:43:08 PM

I thought the title implied that we could trade in our cell phones for movies.
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:54:13 PM

Blockbuster at one time opened a new location every 24 hours. They've had their time in the sun. Stick a fork in them... they're done. Plus that stunt they're pulling on RedBox is bullsh*t!

Now movies on cell phones. As if talking on the phone while driving wasn't distracting enough. Now people will be watching movies whilst motoring... just what we need!

DIE BLOCKBUSTER... DIE!!!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:10:58 PM

AAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
lostwarrior writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 6:30:20 PM

watch in about amonth after they do this, vehicle wrecks will go up thru the roof. WHy cuz dumb f*cks will be watching their phone instead of driving... but at least now I wont have to suffer thru horrible movies that some ass munch is watching in his car, like fast and the furious. Hey maybe this wont be a bad Idea, more stupid people will die and when Im in a traffic jam I wont have to suffer thru watching bad movies that some ass hole is watching in his beater, that of course has 22inch rims on it.. go head blockbuster do this...
Deathscythe writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 9:03:48 PM

I've worked for Blockbuster for ten years, and I can honestly say that as much as you hate Blockbuster, the employees hate it twice as bad (and most stupid customers). I want to sit back and watch it burn, incinerated by its own dumb ideas.
Ranger writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 1:33:43 AM

@Deathscythe - nice to hear from a (Blockbuster) insider. Good post.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved