WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Oliver Stone's New Controversial Project

Posted: August 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Oliver StoneSubmit Comment
Oliver Stone (W) is creating a ten-part documentary series for Showtime titled "Secret History of America." Narrated by Stone, the series promises to focus on events that "at the time went under-reported, but crucially shaped America's unique and complex history of the last 60 years," according to Showtime.

Subjects will include President Harry Truman's decision to drop the atomic bomb on Japan, the origins of the Cold War with the Soviet Union, to "the fierce struggle between war and peace in America's national security complex."

The project includes "newly discovered facts and accounts" from the Kennedy administration, the Vietnam War and the great changes in America's role in the world since the fall of Communism in the 1980s "through this epic 10-hour series, which I feel is the deepest contribution I could ever make in film to my children and the next generation, I can only hope a change in our thinking will result," Stone said in a statement.

The sure-to-be-discussed project will premiere on the network in 2010.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:19:34 AM

sweet i want to know our country's secrets.
dandythelion writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:21:19 AM

sounds interesting.
Eben1277 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:58:19 AM

Oliver Stone is great. And I think he gets high with Brad and Quentin. Only a true stoner could really give birth to the consipiracy theories he lays out. if im not making much sense forgive me, it's late and im tired.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:37:11 AM

In other words, more conspiratorial nut jacking. Anybody that gets 'history' from this guy is an idiot. He's infotainment for the tin foil hat demographic.

And from a guy that couldn't get even the Doors right, he REALLY overestimates his value to both cinema and history. He needs to realize he's a f*cking wack filmmaker, not the modern version of Herodotus or Joesphus Flavius.

"sweet i want to know our country's secrets."

Well, you won't get them from him. They're not secrets if Stone knows them, trust me.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:40:43 AM

Go Oliver. Can't wait for this to come out!
RickPeters writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 10:46:59 AM

I'm sure this'll be out on DVD sooner or later. It better be since I don't get Showtime but I'd love to watch this seeing as Oliver Stone is one of my absolute favorite directors and has been for years.
Jedimax writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 10:54:21 AM

I would really like to see A People's History of the United States by Howard Zinn be adapted into a a doc*mentary with Oliver Stone behind the wheel . I remember in High School that book blew my mind, and none of it was conspiracy theory.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 11:15:37 AM

This already sounds suspect. Although I'm a believer in nothing be as it is told in official historical records I fear Stone might go to far into his own beliefs to allow the TRUTH to be told.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 11:26:15 AM

I'm cool with this. Hopefully I have premium channels in my dorm. I like Oliver Stone's films. Watched him on Bill Maher a few weeks back, the man is really intelligent.
lost_addict writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:21:30 PM

he should have retired after 'JFK'...that was a f*cking masterpiece.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:36:33 PM

Oliver Stone's making another project about history. Meaning: Let's change all the facts and perceptions to a far left lean.
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 2:10:37 PM

I like him. But I have NO IDEA where that sh*t-show of a story idea for Wallstreet 'Money never sleeps' sequel (ugh!) is coming from.

As for the Kennedy assassination. Good luck getting ANYthing new on that.
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 2:11:32 PM

Maybe this is Michael Moore wearing an Oliver Stone costume?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:13:30 PM

Good.

Now if Stone goes missing we know where to look.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:34:59 PM

Cool, I loved JFK. I'm interested to see more of Stone's work on these secret topics in our country.
Ranger writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 2:04:04 AM

@mattcl23 - I too am a JFK (Stone) fan! But my faith in this man is a bit shaken. Have you seen the sh*t he's trying to shovel that is the storyline for Wallstreet2?! UGH! And if his 'facts' for this new series aren't positively credible, he could slide down the Micheal Moore path. I don't think Stone will. I think he'll come out on top. But this latest Wallstreet story and getting new facts on the JFK killing (mob pulling politicians strings... ahh... JOHNSON... DUH, is this a secret anymore?!?!)... he could fall flat.

Let's hope for the best.
c-prime writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 3:55:13 PM

Minkowski nailed it. Stone's sure to put a slant on these events. Though I guess when you read history books upside down, there's no other way to frame a story.

Christ, we already know his viewpoints on Kennedy. And he's already made three movies about Vietnam. He's repeating himself. The man should direct the next "Saw" movies - those movies guidelines are dictated solely by repetition. Plus, if he can butcher the smug, melodramatic white people in those films half as brutally as he did "Alexander", he'd be great.

Liked "Platoon" a lot though.

The "deepest contribution" he could make to this world would be a .45 ACP slug to his jugular vein. I'll be skipping this one.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved