WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Peter Berg Reveals "Hancock 2" Details

Posted: August 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Peter Berg Reveals "Hancock 2" DetailsSubmit Comment
Will Smith's "Hancock" earned $625 million on a $150 million budget, making it successful enough to warrant a sequel. Smith believes that there are many characters left unexplored and that a second installment will "definitely" happen soon.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

The original revealed that Hancock (Smith) was actually an immortal god who became vulnerable only when in the presence of his goddess companion (Charlize Theron).

Now, director Peter Berg has confirmed to Sci-Fi Wire that a sequel would elaborate on the film's mythology. "There might be another god out there," he said. All the gods supposedly matched up and died, except for Smith and Theron. So what is this third god?

Berg also confirmed that the subplot of Jason Bateman's publicist character should pick up where it left off in "Hancock," where he's starting his charity campaign.

The director added that Columbia Picture would love to set up the sequel as early as possible, but he and Smith are in no rush. "They like to fast-track it, but Will's busy, I'm pretty busy," Berg said. "We're excited to do one, but we want the script to be right and the movie to be right. We don't feel a burning imperative to go right back into it."

Click here to read our "Hancock" review.

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:15:46 AM

Woo! I liked Hanc*ck.
thedotsays writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:59:53 AM

Ha berg is the man but if you say someone IS busy and you say that you are PRETTY busy, then you're really not busy at all. Loved Hanc*ck the movie although the actual story it came from was INFINITELY better. I'm unsure about a sequel.
vwkombi writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 6:52:55 AM

I didn't mind the first Hanc*ck, i would be interested in a sequel as long as they improved on the mistakes of the first.
jaz_mayor writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:35:18 AM

The Charlize Theron moments ruined the movie. If she'd died in the first then the sequel might have sounded better.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:39:36 AM

"We're excited to do one, but we want the script to be right and the movie to be right"

Why the change in attitude?

And why is it that the ONLY criteria to greenlight a sequel is how much money the first film made?
shayhiri writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 8:28:05 AM

First film should have finished halfway through.

Imagine how much worse it will get if they go on with the story. Now THAT's money-grabbing, Mink. Appaling.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 8:57:13 AM

^^True. I can't and won't disagree.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 8:59:26 AM

The first was fine I suppose, not really dying for a sequel but if they can churn out a strong story I guess I'll go see it.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 10:58:05 AM

What bullsh*t, the movie was flawed by Smith's involvement. His PR people and he refuses to allow himself to be portrayed as anything other then likable Will Smith. I liked what the movie could have been before the Smith PR rewrites.
RickPeters writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 11:00:28 AM

I really wanted to like Hanc*ck. I like Will Smith, I think Berg is a good actor and director (The Rundown is an underrated action flick) and Bateman and Theron are good actors. Plus, I love superheros and all that stuff.

But it just didn't gell for me. Although, if the same cast and crew made a sequel I'd probably check it out, I'd just skip the theater this time and rent it.
lost_addict writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:20:31 PM

hanc*ck should get drunk again...those were the best parts of the movie.
coldplayesence writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:52:44 PM

^^ exactly, that maked me go to the theaters
Shan writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:01:12 PM

Storyline seemed a lot around the MAX comics unverse of Supreme Power. Can anyone else say Hyperion?
whoever writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:38:15 PM

If you want to know how much of a train wreck Hanc*ck really is read the story it's based on "Tonight, He Comes" -

http://www.simplyscripts.com/2008/07/13/tonight-he-comes-hanc*ck-script/
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:45:08 PM

@jaz - well said. I didn't see the point in Theron's character, other than for Hollywood to follow the formulaic love-hate-triangle (Smith, his ex and her hubby). And talk of a set formula: the glib character played by Bateman.

Hanc*ck should be alone on this planet... hell is Superman isn't going to do it, Hanc*ck may as well move ahead with the story. He should be a drunk, unhappy, lonely character of tragedy.
Rich k writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:49:18 PM

handc*ck f*cking sucked, if they make a sequel, ill buy a ticket to the movie throw a large popcorn at the screen then leave.
padfootbob writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:54:39 PM

I thought Hanc*ck was kind of silly, but I remember thinking that a sequel could POSSIBLY be decent, if done properly.
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:55:03 PM

@Rich - lol.
Derp88 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 2:03:20 PM

Hanc*ck was a rubbish movie
oneman_wolfpack writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 2:46:57 PM

They shouldnt do hanc*ck 2. The first one sucked balls. Only positive part of it, Charlize Theron in tights.
masKritic writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 3:00:30 PM

haha Rich they'll still be getting your money so they wouldnt care what you thrown at the screen.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 3:08:04 PM

The first film is a perfect example of how a radical tone shift can kill a movie. I actually quite enjoyed the first half of Hanc*ck because it allowed Smith to play a despicable character who was funny because of how much he didn't give a sh*t (don't delete this post because of this naughty swear, Alex). The second half then turned much more serious with its "mythology" *pukes* and pretended that people actually cared about a character who shifted from being a badass who says what everyone is too scared to say to a prisy "reformed hero" *slits wrists* who is charismatic as a block of wood. Boy, did that tone shift absolutely kill the film or what?
timex89 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 3:09:10 PM

It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either. I the movie was a few dozens of minutes longer with better angles, it would have been better. If they don't take years to make it like MIB 2 to MIB 3, I'm looking forward to this.
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 3:28:19 PM

@Douche - exactly.
Dre-EL writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:06:08 PM

Hanc*ck sucked ass in a major way, the film made money cause people liked Will Smith. He'd better stay away from a sequel cause if he keeps doing krappy movies people will start say all his movies suck ass. Thus he can kiss that 20m paycheck goodbuy.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:27:52 PM

"And why is it that the ONLY criteria to greenlight a sequel is how much money the first film made?"

I know you're being sarcastic and know exactly why, but I'll tell you anyways:

GREEDY JEWS ALL DAY EVERYDAY
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:49:31 PM

There's a bumper sticker!
lostwarrior writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:22:40 PM

this will be awful.... and spookey that was more priceless than mastercard. if u want Ill make the bumper stickers and we can split the profits 50/50. lol
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:42:06 PM

"He'd better stay away from a sequel cause if he keeps doing krappy movies people will start say all his movies suck ass. Thus he can kiss that 20m paycheck goodbuy."

That exact sentance can be applied to Christian Bale. The guy is a completely great actor, but he did the batman voice in terminator, now everyone thinks he sucks at acting, which isn't true at all!

Oh yea, and the bumper sticker thing, I don't care, public domain, profit off it if you want.
BigUnit writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:48:30 PM

I agree... i think Christian Bale is a really talented actor but very under rated in the public eye... Critics love him though!
mattcl23 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:26:52 PM

I thought Hanc*ck was great. New twist to the ideal superhero. I'd be real excited for a sequel.
danomaso writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 10:39:57 PM

It started out pretty good, but then it just got out of hand and rediculous. So count me out.
telur writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 1:13:08 AM

Will Smith know hard to find great black superhero from DC and Marvel. Nick fury and Luke Cage only for Samuel L. Jackson and Tyrsee. So He made new one....Hanc*ck!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 9:21:26 AM

@Douchenozzle: I took a day off and miss a ton of good topics! As usual though, you hit the nail right on the head. You could almost here a flushing sound when the tone shifted in that movie. It crashed and burned the minute Charlize Theron's character was introduced. I had no idea it made this much money though. Guess that's just a testament to the sheer marketing power of this is Will Smith. Anyway, keep it coming Douche and stop reading my mind!
Chewbacca writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 1:39:37 AM

I don't know what's stupider. This "sequel" or the Joker being offensive towards mentally challenged. Bah, whatever they should just greenlight "Gone with the Wind 2: Rhett gives a Damn" while they're at it.
Ranger writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 4:43:38 PM

"It crashed and burned the minute Charlize Theron's character was introduced." - yep!
theslayer writes:
on August 24th, 2009 at 4:31:24 AM

peter berg f*ck you anmd hanc*ck 2 aswell as 1
just because people were stupid enough to fall for the first movie and so it made some cash dont mean it was any good and therefor desurves a sequel.
and will smith dont put your ugly ass kid in another movie and then pretend like he won trhe audition ok
the f*ck cant act and rewends every film he is in plus he is a real *sshole

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved