WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Joker is a Harmful Stereotype?

Posted: August 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Joker is a Harmful Stereotype?Submit Comment
An influential report cited that The Joker from "The Dark Knight" is an example that Hollywood portrays people with mental health problems as being evil.

Dr Peter Byrne, a psychiatrist and film expert who wrote the report for the Time to Change campaign, said: "Mental health stereotypes have not changed over a century of cinema. If anything, the comedy is crueler and the deranged psycho killer even more demonic."

He continued: "Batman describes the Joker as a schizophrenic clown, and when the film's second hero Harvey Dent becomes Two-Face and embraces evil, the familiar stereotype of schizophrenia is activated. This is omnipresent in cinema misrepresentations the psycho killer is immortal and sadistic, motivated by madness."

A YouGov survey found that almost 50% of the public have seen people with a mental illness acting violently in films. And almost half the people polled (44%) believe that people with a mental illness will act violently in real life.

"The Dark Knight" was not the only film mentioned. Dr. Byrne said "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest" is an example of how movie stereotypes can last a generation. And that the comedy "Me, Myself and Irene," starring Jim Carrey, "represented a new low at laughing at people with severe mental illness."

But he said that there are some exceptions Daniel Craig's role in "Some Voices" and Russell Crowe's performance in "Beautiful Minds," are more realistic portrayals of schizophrenia.

Source: Wales Online


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 65 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:19:59 AM

But yet again, there are those Schitzophrenics who do go around killing people because their Dog/Cat/God told them to do it!!
Eben1277 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:40:00 AM

Well if the characters in these movies were "mentally well" rather than "mentally ill" chances are they wouldn't be going on these psychotic rampages, and the movies would be far less interesting.
thedotsays writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:47:37 AM

This psychiatrist is an idiot. When these character's actions go to the lengths they do in the movies, how else can they be labeled as? A schizophrenic is a schizophrenic regardless if he rides a bicycle or blows up a hospital. Why doesn't this so-called film expert do his homework to see the misconception of mentally disabled folks being these "cuddly cute gentle giants" or the ever popularly depicted "superhuman retard strength" see LA Law, Of Mice and Men, Goonies.
If there was another term out there to differentiate the schizophrenic clowns from the schizophrenic mathematicians this douche wouldn't have sh*t to say.
VDODSON writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:53:54 AM

This physchiatrist's qualms should be with the actual source material if any, and not the films being made. I honestly think he's a douche, and should know better being an avid watcher of films.
vwkombi writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 6:44:56 AM

So, does that mean Superman depicts all orphans as superhuman gods?
jaz_mayor writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:02:09 AM

What killer does not have mental problems?
dandythelion writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 8:01:38 AM

they never diagnosed the joker or two face in the movie and as far as i know bruce wayne is not a psychiatrist.

maybe bruce waynes just a mental illness bigot.
WV-Films writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 8:01:45 AM

This is stupid. These characters aren't crazy because they're evil. They're evil because they're crazy. One doesn't have to lend itself to the other. It's just a way for the writer to give foundation and motivation to the character.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 8:56:20 AM

"This is stupid. These characters aren't crazy because they're evil. They're evil because they're crazy. "

I think 'evil because their crazy' is exactly what he's talking about, this psyciatrist. Basically it's no better, and sounds worse. If you say you're evilness is caused by craziness, then anybody crazy is also evil.

"One doesn't have to lend itself to the other."

No and often the two are mutually exclusive, but the way you said it, it sounds like one is the cause and the other effect. And being crazy is the cause. Exactly what the psychiatrist said.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 8:56:56 AM

The truth isn't always entertaining to watch.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 9:09:59 AM

That's the basis of Oliver Stone's popularity.
BondMcClane007 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 9:40:44 AM

hmm... i never thought of it like that... i get what he is saying even though i disagree with him.. maybe this should be a heads up for hollywood because no matter how creative they are with the character and his/her behavior... they often revert back to the default unoriginal setting for the explanation of how they became the way they are... so no matter how creative a villain is.. he is still based in uncreativity.. i disagree with this guy though
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 9:56:02 AM

In the future, companies like Pixar will have a narrow range of characters. No more crazy fish like Dory from Finding Nemo (offensive to those afflicted by memory loss). No more Hamm Truck from Cars (offensive to pigs). No more EVE from Wall-E (offensive to robots). No more Syndrome from The Incredibles (offensive to short, big-haired evil people). And so on.

And shizophrenic people are often times very dangerous. Even women with mild post-partum depression have been known to kill either themselves or their children. And how can you have a character act in a crazy, dangerous way WITHOUT them having a mental disorder? Like sane, mentally healthy, well balanced and adjusted people go around blowing up buildings and killing people! Jesus Christ, almost every serial killer, murderer and whatnot criminal uses the 'depression' or the mentally ill defense every day. "I was abused, I need help, I wasn't loved, I'm sick, just don't send me to prison!". So it's ok for criminals to use this 'defense' to death, but to use mental illness to portray...mentally ill characters is somehow wrong?

f*ck this idiot psychiatrist.
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 10:02:51 AM

make me schizo so i can be immortal and sadistic! WP proof your work and others if you source it please.
BurmaShave writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 10:04:03 AM

Except the Joker's not crazy. He's not.
Dannoral writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 10:18:12 AM

Psychiatrists don't even understand the goal of a movie.. not always being realistic !
And as a futur (two years left) neuropsychologist I can afford to say that ^^
eddie499 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 11:01:01 AM

Alfred says it, "Some men just want to watch the world burn." The Joker is just a class case of being an extreme nihilist.
Bob82 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 11:28:32 AM

The thing that worries me the most is not Hollywood portraying anything, but the people believing what they portray is the actual truth.
Rarehunter writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 11:54:58 AM

YEah and Dora is a harmful sterotype also
Charlie9 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 11:59:14 AM

To be fair, Raymond Babbitt was one of the most violent characters I've ever seen. This is just stupid, there's always someone moaning about the content or portrayal of someone in a film, the feminists, animal rights now we have to worry if we should be enjoying a film with a mentally ill character in it.

"Me, Myself and Irene," starring Jim Carrey, "represented a new low at laughing at people with severe mental illness." With this logic we shouldn't be laughing at anything at all. In The Hangover 3 men think they've lost their friend and that he may be dead. That just isn't funny people!!
chase.rodgers writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:36:19 PM

I agree with "thedotsays" Heath did a marvelous job portraying Jack Nicholson's original role of The Joker and even though he had some issues of psychopathic standards, he played the role. Screw this guy who tells people that what they watch can damage their brain into thinking things that arent true, we all know we are watching a "movie" when we see it.. we know its not real before we enter the theatre. Like really? Come on,
goeygogo writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:40:08 PM

@Eben spot on dude!
jack bird writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:49:55 PM

Batman is a borderline multiple personality disorder with violent tendencies, prone to depression, obsessed with avenging the death of parents from childhood over all other goals. He's a touch suicidal and dresses as a bat. Dr. Byrne misses the point completely. Batman is crazy and he's the hero. It's good verse evil in extremely borderline exceptional humans who are two sides of a crazy coin.
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:10:28 PM

@jack - well said.

@burma - I agree... I don't think the Joker was crazy. He just had... goals (lol), as does the Batman.

This Dr. has too much time on his hands (as do I), but I'm not out there trying to use Heath's Joker to make a name for myself. As others have posted here... he missed out on a TON of references, and REALLY oversimplified things.

I say we find him and burn his house to the ground (oops... was that my typing voice?!).

skatemaster62 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:12:23 PM

what a bunch of sh*t!!!!! alot of mentally ill paitents are violent!!! you stupid f**k. i know this bc my uncle is mentally ill and guess what stupid jackass hes violent. now as for people laughing at it in such films as me myself and irene is bc jim c. made the charactor funny you ideolisic son of a bitch
WV-Films writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:19:57 PM

@ Mink. Oh right. I got it flip flopped. My bad.
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:27:49 PM

I know of a women. Got into the police force. Got past all the psych tests. Had a history of suicide in her family. Became a cop. Power-tripped on that for a while. Hated men (because of her father... had issues with his upbringing)... but f*cked tons of them (her nickname was 'The Mattress' in the military). Got sad.
Went Lesbo.
Tried having her fellow cops try to shoot her (death by cop).
Went to the nuthouse.
Lost her kid (to the ex).

Ummm yeah, I'd say she was dangerous (mainly to herself, but when she was a cop packing heat (and no, I don't mean her over-used vagina - Glock here)... who knows where and when a killing spree could have happened?

So Dr. Byrne, may I suggest you SUCK IT AND SUCK IT HARD!!!
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:45:45 PM

woman... typo.
BobMcBob writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 2:38:33 PM

I never heard of "Beautiful Minds" until now
RepoMan20 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 2:38:39 PM

Why so serious?
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 2:40:45 PM

Who Repo? The Posters, the article... who?
JRprime writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 2:41:43 PM

hahaha minkowski, no more eve (offensive to robots). so good haha
RepoMan20 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 2:46:35 PM

@Ranger-The article mostly
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 2:54:19 PM

@Repo - gotcha. It's a serious topic for sure. But I don't see how it's 'influential' as reported. The Dr. seems to be coming from a place of opinion mostly except for a couple of stats he quotes. And it doesn't explain where his 'movie expert' qualification comes from (maybe he has an extensive DVD collection...lol).

@Bob - 'Beautiful Minds' - (but it's actually called: 'A Beautiful Mind' - a must-see flick).
timex89 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 3:12:45 PM

Huh..but the whole saga began in like 1939..so a little bit late, aren't ya?!
The_Joker writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 3:41:31 PM

This psychiatrist is gonna get his face carved by the joker:)
Why So Serious??>:D
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 3:49:03 PM

@Repo - I forgot your line was a quote. Nice.
Horsemoney5 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:10:23 PM

"Beautiful Minds", great movie but the realism is still negative publicity for mental illness. He almost drowned his baby.
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:13:55 PM

How else would it learn to swim?
Horsemoney5 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:15:04 PM

Lol truth... ok I guess that movie is positive after all
acslaterson writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:20:14 PM

People are retarded and need to pick up a book. They didn't give the specifics of the survey, it could have been done in a shopping mall. Look how easy it is for Leno to make people look stupid. When surveys like this come out it doesn't surprise me. I heard one a couple of weeks ago that 20% of Christians think Christianity is an older religion then Judaism.
pomme writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:23:13 PM

it's a comic movie,guy!
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:24:14 PM

@Horse - there's always a silver lining my friend!

@acslaterson - Jay's 'Jay-Walking' segments... INSTANT CLASSICS and PRICELESS!!!!!

Ques: How many Eiffel Towers are in Paris?
Ans: Hmmm - 7 I think!
(swear to God that was a real question and answer).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:24:41 PM

People with mental health problems aren't evil, evil people with mental health problems are evil, you PC twats!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:25:25 PM

"So, does that mean Superman depicts all orphans as superhuman gods?"

BEST POST I'VE SEEN
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 4:25:54 PM

Same guy...

Jay: 'Where was the Berlin Wall?
Ans: Hmmmm... I should know this one... give me a minute?!

A MINUTE?! If I didn't think it would make you any dumber... how about a f*cking beating to the testicles so you can't breed?!
lostwarrior writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:29:12 PM

this is f*cking stupid. its called fantasy d*ck wad, wow. One Flew Over the Cuckoo's nest was great. and im sorry Jack is crazy so regarding your thoughts on that film, go an analayze jack you im sure u will see, how and why people think that. Cuz sometimes when a crazy actor is portraying a crazy person, you can see that sometimes sterotypes are true...(the last being a joke for those who are offened)
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:38:15 PM

oh wah. This is such a waste of time. And Underdog is a misrepresentations of how dogs really act. Give me a break
FFantasy1984 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 6:25:38 PM

I don't really see that honestly. It's a movie no different than if there was a movie that same a white man kills 25 people, doesn't mean that all white men are evil. Not that I really like that version of the Joker, nothing like th comic, but I think some people just have to find something to harp on.
Monroe writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:22:28 PM

what steryotype isn't in some way hamrless? some people just get offended to easily.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:22:35 PM

Who ever brought this topic to light needs to get a life. Crazy people will most likely do crazy things.
RepoMan20 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:32:53 PM

@Ranger- It happens, I thought the quote was a nice fit...I guess this guy isn't going to see shutter island
Adamtheflash writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:51:31 PM

This man is a jackass
nirvo25 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 9:07:55 PM

OMFG! MINK AND RANGER! SHUT THE f*ck UP! PLEASE!
Tyrkae writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 9:48:59 PM

How many normal people kills the people and where's his face like a mask? speaking of which i should finish gutting the dog cause normal people do that
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 10:07:00 PM

Joker may have been motivated by madness and the hunger for carnage- but Two Face was motivated by pure revenge...if you're a film expert maybe you should reread those chapters on 'character development'.

Do you think your report would make the world approach a ratty old woman mumbling to herself on the street corner instead of crossing the street to avoid her?

Ummm....

NO.
Ranger writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 12:03:57 AM

@Nirvo -- f*ck off.

Thank you.
Ranger writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 2:00:51 AM

Either contribute to the thread... or get off the computer mommy and daddy bought you.

Good little boy.
RussBurlingame writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 8:39:26 AM

On Russell Crowe's very, ahem, realistic depiction of true-life mad genius John Nash: http://monkeymigraine.blogspot.com/2007/12/beautiful-lie-truth-behind-beautiful.html

The Cliff's Notes version? "In fact, Nash was not allowed to give an acceptance speech at the Nobel award ceremony because they were afraid he was too unstable. He did give a speech afterwards at a party at Princeton, but it was not the one given in the movie. According to his biographer, Nash mainly made jokes about how he hoped the award would improve his credit rating."
lawman writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 2:51:57 PM

This doctors a fool. Not everyone that is evil is crazy. I dont think anything is wrong with me and I kidnapped and ate my UPS guy days ago. Sometimes your just hungry. Crazy has nothing to do with it. I havent ever listened to my cat and he is always telling me f*cked up sh*t to do. I just scream back at him in the unshadded window with my hooker skin suit on and he shuts right up!
Ranger writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 7:06:41 PM

@Russ - cool trivia. Thx. I loved the movie.
sexymck32 writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 1:34:43 AM

this is retarded and i know i used a bad word but i dont care
Mr.Purple writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 3:44:26 PM

yeah, because Artie Grape Forrest Gump & Rain Man were all just itchin to kill.
That_Genius writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 7:35:21 PM

ehhhh...I'm sorry is Batman a trained psychiatrist...his diagnosis isn't a reliable one and Joker has never actually been diagnosed with a mental disease...

and anyways I'm sorry when was the last time a totally sane person went out and started killing a whole bunch of people

pshhh...don't tell me some bullsh*t about what I think you prick...I know all mentally ill people aren't killers but I also know that most killers are usually mentally ill
ksplatt writes:
on August 31st, 2009 at 2:25:15 AM

there's also movies about retards and racism. we laugh cuz they are funny...and for christ's sake, the joker is a f*ckin comic book character. btw as i look to my right i read "megan fox is catwoman in "dark knight" sequel?"...i am pukin as we speak

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved