WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Daniel Radcliffe on "The Hobbit" Rumor

Posted: August 18th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Daniel Radcliffe on "The Hobbit" RumorSubmit Comment
Before Comic-Con, it was assumed that Peter Jackson would announce the actor who will play Bilbo Baggins in the upcoming "The Hobbit" prequel. The three actors thought to have been in the running were James McAvoy (Wanted), Daniel Radcliffe (Harry Potter) and David Tennant ("Dr Who").

A week later, Tennant spoke to MTV about the casting rumor, staring that it's just that, a rumor. "It's not something I know anything about. No one's talked with me," he said.

Now, Raddcliffe has revealed that he won't be playing Bilbo Baggins either. "I'd have to say, 'Thanks but no thanks,' not that anyone has asked me," he told LA Times. "Honestly, I don't think they would want me anyway, it's just too close [to Harry Potter]. Whatever I do next, I don't think there will be any wizards in it!"

So that just leaves McAvoy as the remaining actor rumored to play the role. "James McAvoy is fantastic," said Radcliffe. "I think he should play it. I've done the fantasy-film thing. Actually, so has he, with the 'Chronicles of Narnia,' of course. But I've done it for longer. He can take over. I'm done. I don't think anybody involved in that would want me to, either."

Last we heard, Jackson and director Guillermo del Toro have already decided on who they want to play Bilbo, but will not approach the actor until they have a solid script.

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
StrongR3tard writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 8:11:53 PM

that kid is a fag, hat would make that movie suck
Agent Calavera writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 8:24:14 PM

agreed StrongR3tard, a hat would make it suck.
Darkyne writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 8:25:22 PM

Why is Radcliffe suddenly so humble? Take whatever job you can still get Mr. Harry f*cking Potter.

Besides, December Boys sucked balls.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 9:09:12 PM

KEEP YOUR SPAGHETTI IN YOUR OWN FANTASY BOWL!
thedudeman69 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 9:30:46 PM

lol. daniel radcliffe is so ignornant.
lost_addict writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 9:55:13 PM

he looks like a sex maniac on the photo :-)
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 11:35:10 PM

or a coke maniac.

"I SAID GODDAMN, GODDAMN!"
minkowski writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 11:37:51 PM

Radcliffe is young magician to elder wizard like choir boy is to priest.


FFantasy1984 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 11:38:56 PM

Radcliffe would not be right for the part. And has he ever read LOTR or Harry Potter. They are nothing alike, maybe he should pick up a book.
minkowski writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 11:43:58 PM

Yeah, 'Suicide for Dummies'.
timex89 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 11:51:58 PM

"it's just too close [to Harry Potter]"

Really? I've seen all three LotR, and none of the Pothead movies, and I don't intend to. I see no resemblance what so ever.
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:11:16 AM

Daniel is humble. I saw him on Inside the Actor's Studio. Very grounded (unlike Rupert).

I sincerely hope this post is acceptable and doesn't get deleted.

Thank you.
lost_addict writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:15:20 AM

ranger=Daneil Radcliffe?
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:47:04 AM

No... Daniel wouldn't get censored like I've been... lol.
Lander writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 2:31:52 AM

Daniel - is gay, if he will play in Hobbit - it will be worse then Godzilla attack. But i agree,to him, MacAvoy would be a great Bilbo.
Rich k writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 3:22:51 AM

i think it would be awesome if James McAvoy played this role. There is no other person to paly tihs role so please just start filming with him as Bilbo.
IRONDAN writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 3:24:37 AM

why is the complaint is that he is "gay"? Are hobbits known for there love of p*ssy? I thought Sam and Frodo where a cute couple..... and correct me if I'm wrong was there a hobbit named Mary.....

I say lets get a super Gay Bilbo to top the first movies. you know who looks like a younger Ian Holm...Richard Simmons. He would be Delightful in the role!!!
rjd040487 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:08:04 AM

radcliffe isnt humble - he just doesnt have anything intelligent to say. i mean has anyone seen him "act"? its like a script reading in monotone
ghosttomost writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 7:20:44 AM

wow, why is everyone dogging radcliffe? i thought the worstpreviews readers were above the harry potter hating. they're seriously decent movies, and radcliffe seems like an ok guy. "That kid is a fag."? are you an *sshole jock in highschool? Get over it man..
VDODSON writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 9:48:00 AM

Radcliffe was great on that show Extra's. I agree with the guy above, he does look like a young date rapist.
Ranger writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 1:47:44 PM

I'm more curious as to how he knows exactly what a date rapist looks like!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved