WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Neill Blomkamp Talks "District 9" Sequel

Posted: August 18th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Neill Blomkamp Talks "District 9" SequelSubmit Comment
Fangoria had the chance to speak to "District 9" director Neill Blomkamp last week about a possible sequel to the sci-fi thriller. And now that the film has earned more during its opening than the entire budget, a second installment may e a possibility.

"I'd love to make a sequel, because it's so creatively rewarding to me; there's just something about [the story]," said the director. "I'd really like to go back to the world of 'District 9' — which, without Sharlto's character, would be a very different kind of movie. So I think automatically the two of us will be reunited again, should the public decide that this film is something they want to see and it’s successful."

He added that while he would love to get back to work on the sequel, he already has plans for other projects as well. "I've actually got an idea now for the next film I want to do, which is [another] science fiction movie," said Blomkamp. "This kind of horror/science fiction genre— I want to be in that world, that's where I'd like to be."

Click here to read our "District 9" review.

Source: Fangoria


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Javicon writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 5:14:32 AM

WITHOUT SHARLITO'S CHARACHTER???? WP, if you're gonna spoil a movie, please, warn us.......
vwkombi writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 5:21:42 AM

Dude, believe me. That ain't spoiln' sh*t.
Javicon writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 5:26:52 AM

Thank you man. So, is the film worth it? It hasn't been released here in Spain yet, but I'm willing to watch it.......
vwkombi writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 6:06:34 AM

Yes, it's a unique, thought provoking and extremely well directed in a fantastic doc*mentery-esque style.
CesarH_16 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 6:14:29 AM

Yo, Javicon, he only mean that it would be different and wouldn't work w/o him. Lol

"So I think automatically the two of us will be reunited again"

and vmkombi, nicely said, it is worth it :)
Javicon writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 7:38:57 AM

Glad to read your good comments about it. I really wished this film to succeed. In a summer full of hyped dissapointing blockbusters (except of UP) it's great to see there are still brave directors with original ideas. And chapeu for Peter Jackson!
OneTime writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 9:28:03 AM

call it..sharlitos way...and al pacino will be in it.
acslaterson writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 9:58:02 AM

Awesome, still haven't seen it yet though(spent way too much money drinking this weekend, haha). I like what he said about sticking to this genre for awhile, because besides Sunshine, not too many sci/fi space based movies have caught my attention these past few years(really looking forward to Sam Rockwell's movie, Avatar, and Dennis Quaid's movie).
SACdaddy writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 10:27:26 AM

Blomkamp has got my money for at least his next 2 films.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 10:47:51 AM

This man can make whatever he wants, I'll see it
Popcorn101 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 11:12:40 AM

ac slateron- Are you talking about Moon as Sam Rockwell's movie? If so, that movie looks great. And to people who don't know whether they should see this...hell yes! To me, this was the 2nd best movie of the year behind Star Trek.
acslaterson writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 11:18:47 AM

@Popcorn, yes! I thought that was the name of it but I haven't seen the trailer since it first came out.
vip3r22 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 11:35:42 AM

This movie was awesome. One of the best movies to come out this year. Perfectly set up for a sequel as well. I won't spoil it for anyone who hasn't seen it though.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 11:46:52 AM

"They should just replace Tobey with Bruce Campbell. He is the only reason I watch the movies anyways."

Yea he better.

"WITHOUT SHARLITO'S CHARACHTER???? WP, if you're gonna spoil a movie, please, warn us......."

Blomkamp meant as in without Sharlto's character, it wouldn't be a good movie.

But back to Blomkamp:
"I've actually got an idea now for the next film I want to do, which is [another] science fiction movie,"

Yea, the wonderful technicolour dreamcoated world of DISTRICT 10.
ian_918 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 12:06:13 PM

I havnt been able to see this yet but i really want to. on a scale of 1 to 10 what would u guys give it?
SACdaddy writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 12:30:46 PM

@Popcorn101: Its good to see people still giving Star Trek props. I loved it too! This wasn't as fun as ST but it was definitely as good. These films might be the best movies of the year! They're definitely the best of the Summer of Crap.
Popcorn101 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 1:08:47 PM

I'd give it a solid 9/10, the acting was good but could've been better(especially the Nigerian rebel leader "You GiVe Me My ArM, I WaNt To EaT ThAt ArM") haha
RE4713 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 1:21:57 PM

@Javicon WITHOUT SHARLITO'S CHARACHTER???? WP, if you're gonna spoil a movie, please, warn us.......

I know eh?
BitterPeace910 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 3:51:42 PM

Just saw it yesterday and I wasn't let down at all. Extremely well done movie all the way around. The Lead Actor ( Don't know his real name ) was perfect I read he have never acted or took acting classes. Neill Blomkamp did a fantastic job directing. I would love to see a sequel to this but I want him to make a movie or two before he begins working on the sequel.
vip3r22 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 4:49:34 PM

@Ian
9/10
ian_918 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 9:26:01 PM

well i went and saw it today. and i thought it was great. hands down one of the most creative and awesome movies ive ever seen. i would love to see a sequel. 9/10
Vexatious Disease writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 10:22:49 PM

Star Wars > Star Trek
timex89 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 11:55:50 PM

'a second installment may e a possibility'

You learned well in university, did ya?
Popcorn101 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:27:36 AM

Disease,
Yes the Star Wars universe is better than the Star Trek universe but to me the new Star Trek movie was better than any Star Wars movie(needless to say that they were all great, except for maybe #2) but Star Trek I can watch over and over again, while Star Wars, it's like a every couple months thing.
lost_addict writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 10:44:15 AM

dah...the ending was quite clear about a sequel...district 10...aliens come back in 3 years...
bloeme writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 12:49:00 PM

He should be carefull with the sequel. I loved the movie though. Hell yeah!
padfootbob writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:50:00 PM

I trust Blomkamp.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 6:50:14 PM

wow another sequel, yeah the film is very good, it had some holes in it, but honestly what doesnt, and for a 1st time director he did a great job. but come on man, let it sit as a great piece of film all on its own.. Would a sequel work yes, but try something different, like not do one..
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 12:58:12 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved