WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Anne Rice Comments on Robert Downey Jr as Vampire Lestat

Posted: August 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Anne Rice Comments on Robert Downey Jr as Vampire LestatSubmit Comment
We recently learned that Robert Downey Jr was in-talks to play Lestat Du Lioncort in Universal Pictures' reboot of Anne Rice's "The Vampire Chronicles." Tom Cruise previously played the character in "Interview with the Vampire" and Stuart Townsend played him in "Queen of the Damned."

Now, BSC Review got a chance to ask Rice to comment on the casting news. "I cannot confirm or deny the rumor. I have not received official word as to the truth of it yet," she said. "But I can say without hesitation that I love Robert Downey Jr and I think he would make a fabulous Vampire Lestat."

She continued: "He is a major actor, a powerhouse of talent and personality, and he evinces an irrepressible and seductive charm. He would bring great energy and skill to the role. I would love to see this happen. So I hope the rumors are true."

"Some are saying he is too old to play the part. This is absolutely not true. He is quite youthful. Besides, Lestat is a man when he is made into a vampire. A twenty year old man in the 18th century is the equivalent of an older man today. Age just shouldn't be an issue here, not with an actor of this scope and charisma. ó Iím thrilled at the prospect that this rumor might be true.
"

Source: BSC Review


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 7:18:10 PM

Once again screw this hypocrite, trying to make more money off of her "devilish work". If I see this it will purely be for the casting of RDJ. I haven't read one of this women's works since she went back to Catholicism.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 7:18:20 PM

WoW too old for the part. well considering now Lestate has been portrayed by two other actors, who are completely different ages I say who gives a f*ck. Its another vampire movie. yeah Cruise did a good job in the 1st one. Townsend did a ok job, but the that might be because the second movie was in no way shape or form as good as the 1st. Interview had a great cast, Pitt, Banderas, and dunst when she was unable to be annoying. So even though RDJ is in this, its has to have a good supporting cast, or it will bomb.
acslaterson writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 7:23:51 PM

woman's*
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 7:24:11 PM

'A twenty year old man in the 18th century is the equivalent of an older man today.' - she's right there.

Besides... all the top $ Actor's in Hollyweird are in their 40's anyway.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 7:43:42 PM

there is so much news about things I could give less a f*ck about, but when something comes up about a movie I like, it's rare. A movie I hate? frequent!
Firemanphil writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 7:44:45 PM

As others have said before..this is just stupid. They chopped up her 2nd and 3rd books and made Queen of the Damned, which in no way shape or form related to her books. Marius made Lestat huh? What ever happened to Magnus? Lol.
Dre-EL writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 8:05:27 PM

I hope the rumor is true too, RDJr would make a great Lestat.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 8:15:43 PM

Well there ya go, sign him up! She seems to want it and he'd be awesome for it so yeah... sign him up!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 8:38:58 PM

i'll watch this just because of RDJ - he is an incredible actor!
iblackedout writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 9:36:46 PM

Robert Downey Jr is great and a new quality vampire movie is needed.
Firemanphil writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 9:37:26 PM

She just didn't want to eat her words again, like last time when she talked trash against Tom Cruise. I'm sorry..but "Age shouldn't be an issue here" Yes it should. When I think of an actor to portray Lestat, RDJ does NOT come to mind. Just my .02
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:25:57 PM

i kinda preferd Townsends depiction of Lastat...i mean Cruse sucks more balls then Lohan....i liked the new face...but thats just me
SACdaddy writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:35:46 PM

@Firemanphil: I'm with you. RDJ is my boy and all but I don't picture him in this role either, but if Anne Rice is cool with it so am I. Its her creation, she should know best.
minkowski writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 2:09:25 AM

"a new quality vampire movie is needed."

Oh yes, for sure. A new vampire film and a new zombie flick. The world can ALWAYS use more of those.

The world needs another vamp flick like Lohan needs another genital wart.
Donald Kaufman writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 2:48:53 AM

Vampire movies, zombie movies, war movies, kung fu movies, super hero movies, alien movies, cops and robbers movies...etc, etc, etc. What are we talking about? Genre films. They get made every year. There has been no sudden influx of them, just special attention paid to certain categories of genre films, ie. Vampire films--thank you Twilight, you unforgivable c*nt. Point being, genre films will always poor in, the good ones, however, are rare. I would hope that this might be one of the good ones.
minkowski writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 3:47:42 AM

"Vampire movies, zombie movies, war movies, kung fu movies, super hero movies, alien movies, cops and robbers movies...etc, etc, etc. "

Yeah, but vampires are more of a subject genre, whereas all the rest are more topical. In other words, with a war movie, you have vast historical periods to work with and innumerable characters to puppet about.

Vampire films are FAR more narrow. Guy has sharp teeth and likes blood. He sucks some person's neck. He gets killed. He blows Dracula. He sparkles. whatever.

Yeah, some 'suck' like Twilight and some do not, like Blade. The issue isn't whether there's a variety of quality ranging from the low end to the high end, the question, to me anyway, is why bother CONSTANTLY pumping out new vamp films when even the ORIGINAL source material is shallow and repetitive, and thus the resulting modern films are little more than derivative drivel of those very lackluster media.

I mean, good takes happne, but utsually NOT by expanding the scarce vampire mythology, which in itself is highly repetitive, but by adding more than vampie leads, action scenes and such. There's just so little to work with really, and once you've seen a good vamp flick, you've seen them all.

Vampire films have about as many ingredients as lemonade. Water, sugar and lemon. The bitter, the sweet and the tasteless. And that's the sum of the vampire genre. f*ck Vampires. Do a good Lovecraft film for once.
minkowski writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 3:50:00 AM

f*ck.

"I mean, good vamp tales happen, but usually NOT by expanding the scarce vampire mythology, which in itself is highly repetitive, but by adding more-than-vampire leads, action scenes and such."
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 9:42:46 AM

Wow is she so hard up on cash or something? I mean come Anne I love your work but it's Tom or nothing.
lestatlover writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 8:37:03 PM

i think its a bad idea for him to play le stat stuart townsend plays a sinster le stat not only that he's sexy.i have ann rice's vampire chronicle books great books!!!!!!! PLEASE IF YOU PLAN ON RE MAKING A MOVIE ABOUT LE STAT STUART TOWNSEND IS LE STAT COME OUT COME OUT WHERE EVER YOU ARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lestatlover writes:
on August 20th, 2009 at 8:40:18 PM

WHAT DOES EVERYONE THINK DOWNY JR.OR TOWNSEND I JUST DONT SEE HIM MAKING A GREAT VAMPIRE BUT WHO KNOWS.VAMPIRES ARE HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
alsj writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 4:22:25 AM

If a sizzling hot vampire who can mesmerize & seduce both sexes, who looks the part & can perform like a rock star is what the movie studio wants then there is only one choice. Check out Adam Lambert's official music video version of FYE and see if you don't see what I see.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved