WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Update: Brad Pitt is a Villain in "Sherlock Holmes"

Posted: August 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Update: Brad Pitt is a Villain in "Sherlock Holmes"Submit Comment
According to the Daily Mirror, director Guy Ritchie has asked Brad Pitt to join his "Sherlock Holmes" movie as the title character's evil nemesis, Professor James Moriarty.

Pitt has previously worked with Ritchie on "Snatch" and has agreed to film some additional scenes in order to have the new villain in the movie. Apparently, the request to add Moriarty came directly from the studio.

"It was an oversight in the film not to make a bigger deal about Moriarty. He is mentioned as Holmes' arch enemy, but the bosses wanted Guy to make more of him," a source told the newspaper. "Jude Law (who plays Dr Watson) and Robert Downey Jr (Holmes) have already shot their scenes. But now that 10 extra days have been added to shoot the new ones, they may be called back for a day or two."

Update: Lander's comment below is absolutely correct. This story turned out to be fake. Here is what Warner Bros had to say:

"The report in today’s London Mirror is completely inaccurate. Brad Pitt is not joining the cast of Sherlock Holmes and we're extremely pleased with the production of the film. As planned, it will be released on Christmas Day, 2009. In order to complete the movie, we've scheduled a few days on set to shoot a couple of additional scenes, obtain pick-up shots, and perfect some of the visual effects elements, all of which is standard filmmaking practice."

Click here to read more about "Sherlock Holmes."

Source: Daily Mirror


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 6:35:21 AM

cool?
Lt. Mike Harrigan writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 7:19:30 AM

Hmm... I though this had wrapped shooting?
dandythelion writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 7:24:23 AM

i hope thiss sudden change doesn't look to hastily done in the final film.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 8:27:44 AM

So I'm guessing that Moriarty is NOT a big character in this movie. WTF! It not fair to cast Pitt this way. No one should be asked to portray one of the best literary antagonists of all time on a few days notice. This is not a good sign for the film!
BREALZ writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 9:02:27 AM

Ouch!......can you say d*cksicle.
dandythelion writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 9:58:19 AM

they're probably setting it up for a sequel
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:03:06 AM

Major oversight on Ritchie's behalf, good catch and good luck in bringing in Pitt as the important Moriarty. I hope this movie isn't lame because trailer did nothing for it.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:38:32 AM

@ Lt. Mike Harrigan - I thought the same.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:52:49 AM

Daily Mirror is NOT a source.
Janus writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:59:34 AM

@Lt. Mike Harrigan. That's why it's called retake. Pretty common with a lot of movies. With Lord of the Rings they were constantly retaking scenes or simply making new addintional scenes.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:29:45 PM

Nice to hear these studio's are keeping an eye on things. Normally I don't like that Big Brother sh*t... but between Raimi f*cking up Spidey so badly (and yeah... HE DID!), and this guy choosing to overlook (SAC and Johnny said it best - Space_Ghost is just a boy tug!) Moriarty... ugh!

Nice to see Brad step up to the plate. I'd like to hear what his salary is for the 10 days. He's da Man!
acslaterson writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:53:02 PM

Maybe all they are doing is setting him up for the sequel? I don't know why this would be a bad thing!
lost_addict writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:55:11 PM

afraid they are?hmmm?box office failure prevent they wish?hmmm?
Rich k writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:34:08 PM

i love this! we finally get to see pitt as a bad guy, and i think this will be awesome.
Lander writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:54:39 PM

Already proved that this was a fake.

And anyway, Pitt as Moriarty was a f*cking bad idea.
dandythelion writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 4:35:35 PM

well, i'm glad. i prefer another actor like Daniel Day-Lewis or Udo Kier to play Moriarty anyway
Bob82 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 5:57:01 PM

Sounded fake all the way, but I really like Brad Pitt, and the idea of him being the villain sounded great also. So... that sucks!
secondbest writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 6:34:41 PM

Eh, he wouldn't have been a good choice anyway.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 6:39:13 PM

I'm at a loss of words, don't know if this is good or bad really....or even true.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 6:39:57 PM

Nevermind...missed the update.

Yea it was a pretty bad idea
thedudeman69 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 9:04:39 PM

f*cking epic.
autiger10 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:52:42 PM

youtube {Take it to the next level} its a guy richie nike soccer commerical. the best sh*t ive ever seen
Lander writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 3:10:18 AM

Oh my god, i was mentioned in news!! That's really best day of my life!)))

Yet.=)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved