WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writer Hired for "Spider-Man 5" and "Spider-Man 6"

Posted: August 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writer Hired for "Spider-Man 5" and "Spider-Man 6"Submit Comment
Sony Pictures is already looking toward the future by hiring writer James Vanderbilt (Zodiac) to pen scripts for "Spider-Man 5" and "Spider-Man 6." Vanderbilt was the first of three writers on "Spider-Man 4."

Director Sam Raimi didn't embrace all of Vanderbilt's ideas, but executives at Columbia Pictures and Marvel Studios have. The goal is to eventually make fifth and sixth movies with an interconnected storyline. That's what was originally discussed for "Spider-Man 4" and "Spider-Man 5," but the idea of shooting the two films back to back with the original cast was scrapped.

Sources said it was unclear whether Raimi, Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst will be back. If they aren't, Vanderbilt's script would be the blueprint for a franchise reboot. It is already known that Raimi will direct "World of Warcraft" after "Spider-Man 4," which will create a huge gap between the fourth an fifth films. This might not work for the studio, which will likely replace Raimi.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 67 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 4:06:18 AM

Yes! Oh, wait, did you say Spiderman? Nevermind.
lost_addict writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 4:26:45 AM

gary coleman to replace tobey?
RickPeters writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 4:29:24 AM

As much as I like the current cast, they're starting to look too old for these characters (and some actors, like Dunst, just seem bored). With a new cast (and maybe even a new director, as much as I like Raimi) I think this franchise could be revitalized.

The shock and awe factor of seeing Spider-man swing through New York is gone and can never come back, but since this is an established money-making franchise, I wish they'd take some chances with the storylines. Make it a bit darker (but not too dark, this is Spider-man here, not Batman/Spawn/The Punisher) and get into some more obscure villians.

Could be done, probably won't. But I'll be honest, I'll keep watching Spider-man movies in theaters or on DVD as long as they keep making them.
VDODSON writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 6:10:48 AM

Ranger, send me ten grand ASAP. It will go to fund the cause.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 6:33:34 AM

i cast a vote for sony to give up the rights to marvel if they decide to go thru the reboot process.dont think sony could pull it off in a big way again. wonder what raimi has against vanderbilts original ideas.
Sonic writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 7:11:13 AM

thay are going to be stupied.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 8:28:37 AM

Kill me now.
Rarehunter writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:14:37 AM

These movies are Gonna get stupid and nobody will see them, but in 20 years well get the reamke
Rarehunter writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:15:03 AM

*Remake
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:29:55 AM

a 4th one, okay I think they can still do something with whatever left after the 3rd one pretty much blew but no thanks to a 5th one. Just end it all at once after number 4.
Special K writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:33:10 AM

after seeing success of the first few films, they should have just shot back to back for movies up to 6 to prevent the actors from aging to quick and ending up with a harry potter situation where the actors and actresses don't fit the proper age.

OH WELL! when will Hollywood ever learn?!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:02:44 AM

We do not need THAT many!

This isn't the 'Rocky' series (Rocky started getting bad at the 4th one, not the 3rd)!

What, is Spidey gonna come out of retirement when sportsnet shows that Spiderman would win in a virtual fight against chameleon? I bet he goes to Mary Janes grave, but not after closing his restaurant by the same name! He teams up with this inner city youth and they get a dog and call it "webby". Then it's on to the fight, chameleon ends up winning, but it doesn't matter, because Spidey has proven to himself that it's not winning that matters, it's being able to have gotten back there!

"Spidey Balboa" coming 2017
takai writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:12:33 AM

With all of the re-visionings the comic has, I don't think they should have a problem.
rfernandez writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:24:16 AM

You mean after Drag Me to Hell and W.O.W. Yea these movies have seen their better days number 2 was good but with Raimi's shooting style and three villains the movie looked so sh*tty.
rfernandez writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:25:15 AM

*Number 3 looked sh*tty not number 2.
Blade12322 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:03:50 PM

I wish they had a better storyline overall and focussed more on spiderman and not freaking boring ass mary jane or aunt may or the tenants in his damn apartment, if u think about it all those scenes are the worst in the whole movie
now i know you cant get rid of them, but itd be a lot better if there was a lot LESS of them

personally, idk if this sounds stupid, but i wouldnt mind seeing a more mysterious type one where the villain has a secret plot and spiderman has to figure it out and try to stop them
im not saying go all Sherlock Holmes on his ass but at least make it a little more interesting
plus, tobey mcguire looked nothing like how i imagined peter parker so if they DO replace him i hope its someone more masculine (no homo)
alsoo, i dont like Dunst as mary jane that much, i dont think shes hot enough or even interesting enough

MAKE SPIDERMAN MORE INTERESTING, GET RID OF ALL THE EXCESS CRAP

ill still watch it though lmao
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:13:37 PM

Sam... considering Spidey 3 and all that EMO crap and Peter's pining and getting sh*t on the entire movie by MJ weren't your best calls, and you have NO f*ckING IDEA WHAT YOU'RE DOING! It's about time the studio stepped in (onto your throat).

Just as Supes should kick that wet spot for Lois sh*t, Peter should at least dump wet dog MJ (at least go after Gwen... mmmm... Gwen!), and GET ON WITH BEING A SUPERHERO!!!!!

But, writers' for 5&6... talk about getting ahead of yourselves...

I haven't lost a little respect for Raimi. I have lost ALL respect for him.

If Marvel stepped in... that is likely Kevin Feige (I hope). He is coordinating the entire vision of Marvel right now (Hulk, Thor, CA, IM into the Avengers).

Raimi... are you reading this?! YOU SUCK Ego man. About time the studio clipped your wings.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:14:20 PM

@lost_addict... lol. Nice!
Lulupendragon writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:26:28 PM

This is what happens when you try to do more that 3 movies in a series. The first Spiderman movie was awesome, 2nd was good, and the 3rd was ok. They should move on to another series after Spiderman 4, because this one is starting to rot.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:30:28 PM

It started to rot 1.5 movies ago. But I hear ya.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:41:26 PM

Whoops... lost count there for a second. Spidey 2 I didn't mind. The 3rd. re: EMO, Peter (wet puppy chasing MJ only to get sh*t on repeatedly) - not so much.
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:12:53 PM

ummm....ill wait and hear more
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:18:56 PM

OK then...

skatemaster - I like you. I have found your posts entertaining, and you're a great addition to this site.

(good enough)?
onthejon writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:30:46 PM

They should just replace Tobey with Bruce Campbell. He is the only reason I watch the movies anyways.
lawman writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:32:55 PM

Just as long as they replace Maggie Gylenhall in the next batman I dont care whats done with spiderman. She was actually difficult to look at she is so ugly. She is VERY unfortunate looking!!!
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:34:03 PM

I think if Raimi sticks to his bread and butter which is horror he would regain his lost respect. Superhero films are just out of his range.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:35:55 PM

@lawman - wasn't Maggie toast in the last Batman (I mean... literally... TOAST!)?!
lawman writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:39:05 PM

Your right. How could i have forgotten that. It was the BEST part of the movie for me when they got rid of that skeeve! She looked like she was wearing a burn mask!! Just hoping she wont be back in dream sequences of in any other movies....EVER!
lawman writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:42:08 PM

There has to be something wrong with me for disliking someone so much just based on their face but I have a whole list of them. I also can not stand
Juaquin phonex
elija wood
timothy dalton
timothy hutton
flavor flav

this list is nowhere near totality. And just based on their faces. Damn! I am f*cked up but god damn it if murder were legal Flav would go first.....HARD!!!
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:42:44 PM

And Batman (with the killing-off of Rachel) - has quickly gone to where Spidey has failed to do in 3 movies, and Supes has failed to do for decades... lose the boat anchors that are the outdated remnants of stories of he past. Lost Lois and MJ and get on with things. Either find new women that put-out, are better looking, and don't (truly) mind Peter and Clark out there doing their Superhero thing. All these 2 have done is bitch at their men for all the movies they've been in (and Smallville). Maybe it's too true to life... whatever. But superhero movies are about they doing SUPER STUFF!
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:43:59 PM

@law - no one likes Flavor Flav... no one!

That dumb f*cker can't even tell time!
lawman writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:46:13 PM

I can tell you this. EVERY woman I have EVER dated would be psyched to have be come f*cking carrening in the wondow dressed as batman knowing I just got dont laying wicked f*cking beatings on some bad guys! What is wrong with these movie bitches? My Fiancee now would lose her sh*t if I came skulking in with a cod piece on and was sh*tass rich with a f*cking cave and sh*t!
lawman writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:49:22 PM

If I was a superhero i would have to be ironman. He flaunts his sh*t! I couldnt be bat man. I would f*cking abuse that goddamn bat car! I would whip that sh*t all over the f*cking highway. I would take it to the 7-11 to get chips. I wouldnt give a f*ck! I would go thru my millions putting gas in that motherf*cker!!!!
WV-Films writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:04:52 PM

Why are u guys obsessed with Gary Coleman? (mostly Ranger)
lawman writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:08:07 PM

@ WV>> If you have to ask that question you should be shot. Gary Coleman will RULE YOU!!
lost_addict writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:15:15 PM

will peter parker f*ck someone for the first time in spiderman 4?
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:17:36 PM

LOL! Couldn't have said it better myself Law!

As for Bat's using the car to get stuff at 7-11...or a generic convenience store... they should write stuff like that in. As you say IM is the sh*t. In IM2 he's up in that big doughnut in the sky (sign) having lunch. Marvel is getting the subtle stuff right, whilst DC butt-f*cks Superman for another decade.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:18:26 PM

why not replace tobey with jake gyllenhaal?...he's built now...and could certainly give that 'sarcastic-dork' humor that we see in the 90s cartoon...unlike just 'dorky' in raimi's version...and how come still no carnage?...they need to stop making it so dramatic and have more fun with it...like tim burton did on the 1st two batman movies
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:19:37 PM

@lost_addict - other than himself by chasing MJ, I suspect you're asking?

Probably not. Sam Raimi was one of the guys hitting Tobey on the head with a knapsack as Parker dropped his papers and books. I think Raimi has a sad childhood... and he's making Tobey/Parker pay for it.
lawman writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:21:37 PM

f*ckING FORGET IT IF I WAS SUPERMAN. I would fight in the UFC or bounce full time. Compete in Worlds strongest competitions. Whatever the f*ck I wanted to do. sh*t, you could make a nice living just heating and cooling sh*t with your powers of lasereyes and ice breath sh*t! Its a good thing I dont have that going on. Write a movie about a superhero who does normal sh*t. Like superman going to the beach or replacing his John after he takes a savage sh*t! Make them closer to the real man and more will watch!
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:23:22 PM

You haven't seen Hanc*ck yet, I'll assume?
lawman writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:24:49 PM

I saw it. It was cool. But they had to f*ck it up with the stupid twist. could have ended it on him cleaning up his act and appreciating his gift.
dlrippr writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:28:27 PM

If: "how can we make great spiderman movies?" is the question, then i have the answer:

Sell the rights back to marvel, and let them put their own stories on the big screen.
(there, that was really simple)

Also, as long as spidey is property of marvel again, how great would it be to see him kicking ass with the Avengers?

And, not that Tobey or Kirsten were all that bad in their roles, i think its best to just re-boot this series with fresh faces and fresh ideas.
lawman writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:33:24 PM

I think the Tim Burton Batman's SUCKED. The batman I know was like he is now. Dark, nasty, and violent. Just like the Punisher. The Punisher with Tom Jane was crappy. He was an *sshole in the comics. Like he was in the last Movie or the little credited Dolph Lundgren version. He was a d*ck, he beat asses and didnt care. Tom Jane was good but he was kind of a puss. The worst thing they could do to Batman would be to let Tim Burton touch it again. Batman is dark, keep him that way. Spiderman might be pretty coolif they tried that with him too. Make him rougher, bigger, less easily beaten.
Rich k writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:34:51 PM

stop with the spiderman movies, the third one sucked.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 3:06:08 PM

@law - you're right. The female (past) love interest wasn't req. He should have been a lone figure on this planet, and just cleaned up his act. I too prefer the Nolan Bats over Burton.

@dl - Spidey in/around The Avengers... I have thought of that myself. I have actually enjoyed Tobey as Peter/Spidey. From an old comic book collector, he has captured the frustrated, hormonally inbalanced teen that was Parker really well. I don't think we need him out for a fresher face as much as he needs to kick lesbo-wannabe Kiki Drunkst to the curb and he get it on with Gwen, and his life!

The Punisher was out in comics after my time in them. I liked Thomas Jane in the movie. Don't see why they laid out the cash for Travolta though (other than use of his obvious name). The fight with the Russian was priceless! But yeah, he could have been a LOT MORE ruthless (I would be... revenging my family). And the talk (ever) of a Punisher sequel? Why? He avenged his family. Close the book.

Should Spidey's rights revert back to Marvel? ABSOLUTELY!!! And babysit Raimi if he is to continue as Director. He could leave the franchise now for all I care.
lawman writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 4:19:17 PM

I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to see a LOBO movie. and not the crappy indie version starring Latimer from "The Program/ Texas Chains saw massacre". Get someone unknown to play the Main man. He was the ultimate a hole and ass kicker.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 5:02:40 PM

How about you make sure the fourth one doesn't mount up like the third. If the next one fails, I'll be done with Spidey.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 7:01:24 PM

We all have your back on that one my friend!
Dre-EL writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 8:28:46 PM

They should do a marvel team up. Spidey and xmen characters like wolverine or Thing & Torch cameos.
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 8:49:48 PM

i have faith that Rami can turn the franchise around and make something good. He has said in the past he never wanted venom in SM3 and that the studio pushed him into movie. Call me an optimist, but I belive in second chances; but on a second note if he screws up again...its over faster then a fat studio exec's d*ck in Lindsy Lohans mouth...stupid slut
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 8:58:26 PM

sorry everyone Raimi*
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 9:30:37 PM

@Skate - lol. Thx. for carrying on the Lohan mantle.

Fine on the lame-o Venom. But I'd bash in the nuts whoever thought EMO Parker was a good idea.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:02:42 PM

if they do it, just make it to 6 cuz everyone wants the sinster 6 movie. Me im tired of spidey, unless they make a civil war comic film. That would be crazier than a bird dog with a butt plug..
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:14:41 PM

lol no problem there bro, i feel the same way you do about the bitch ha ha...kill her haha. i also agree with you on the EMO think, there was a little too much crying from o-Parker. and i say little VERY loosely
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:19:57 PM

"That would be crazier than a bird dog with a butt plug.."

ha ha hi larious
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:23:30 PM

p.s. i hope im not alone in this...but i really wish marvel would by back the movie rights to the rest of there characters, so that they can put decent movies out and incorporate the idea they have with Iron Man, Thor, Captin Amarica, Hulk, and others
psylocke writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:45:00 PM

ok.. i love spider man but they screwed up the third movie but ill go see just cause i love the superhero

i like tobey maguire he actually looks like spider man idk bout kirsten dunst though i like her but if they replace her with someone better i wont mind

@ranger--> ur rite emo peter wuz stupid but dont go dissin venom like that he is a cool bad guy
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:55:28 PM

i agree with you bro Toby is great and looks the part, but i have to disagree with you on venom..although i think he is a great character was ok in the film(minus him refering himself as "i" rather than "we" like in the books) it just added WAY too many villians
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:59:40 PM

i would like to see them do carnage as well
ChristianNYC writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 1:15:56 AM

I am not sure I am liking that Spider-man 4 is coming out let alone 5 and 6
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 1:39:10 AM

I've lost some faith in Raimi, and I can't believe they're talking about a writer for 5&6 when 4 isn't out yet. The ONLY reason they'd do this is to tell the public they're that confident #4 will be that big of a hit... but we'll all see... won't we?
Duffman writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 2:27:51 AM

Ranger maybe itll be a hit cuz you'll be able to see gwens tits, that would make me forgive them for #3 ohhhhh yeahhhhh
Ranger writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 2:57:29 AM

@Duffman - you're my new hero!!!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 3:37:40 AM

"They should just replace Tobey with Bruce Campbell. He is the only reason I watch the movies anyways."

QFT

Raimi should've sticked to what he does best: Comedic Horror (without Mac)!
vwkombi writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 5:14:10 AM

Bruce Campbell as Mysterio and give Venom his own movie with Carnage as the villian.
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 12:58:55 PM

carnage!! carnage!! carnage!! really wanna see him in there would be great him and shocker or the crock team up would be great

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved