WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"District 9" Dominates Box Office

Posted: August 16th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"District 9" Dominates Box OfficeSubmit Comment
The sci-fi thriller "District 9" grossed an impressive $37 million from 3,049 theaters to win the domestic box office race, largely on the strength of males. The film, produced by Peter Jackson, was made for only $30 million.

Placing No. 2 for the weekend was Paramount's "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra," which fell 59% to an estimated $22.5 million from 4,007 theaters for a new total of $98.8 million. "Joe" has earned $165 million in worldwide ticket sales, which is still short of its $175 million budget.

It was a busy weekend at the domestic box as four other new releases opened in addition to "District 9."

The romantic drama "The Time Traveler's Wife" came in No. 3, grossing an estimated $19 million from 2,988 theaters. "The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard" did only modest business in its opening, grossing an estimated $5.3 million from 1,838 locations to place No. 6. "Ponyo" grossed an estimated $3.5 million from 927 screens in its debut to come in No.9.

Not making the top 10 chart in its bow the teen musical-driven comedy "Bandslam," which grossed $2.3 million from 2,121 theaters.

Click here to read our "District 9" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 6:39:58 PM

f*ck YES.

It already made back it's budget!

""Joe" has earned $165 million in worldwide ticket sales, which is still short of its $175 million budget."

Here ya go, Sommers: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48rz8udZBmQ&feature=related
Rarehunter writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 6:57:00 PM

Good the movie was great and im happy to see it did well in the box office
johnny_boy writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 7:00:01 PM

nice
borat writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 7:18:26 PM

Sequel yessssssss
WV-Films writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 7:22:38 PM

So are we going to need to wait 3 years for the sequel? Or are they just going to push it out like hollywood likes to do so much?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 7:25:48 PM

"Or are they just going to push it out like hollywood likes to do so much?"

3 years was clever because between a movie and a good (if not better) sequel, 3 years is usually what it takes to get it made.

this one will obviously have a bigger budget, but I hope Blomkamp doesn't get too excited over that and remembers the story.
ironhide-autobot writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 7:43:53 PM

im am pleased,this moie was incredible
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 7:47:20 PM

This reminded me of 'Blood Diamond' with aliens for some reason. It's not a bad thing, it's just that I found the second act very similar.
jaz_mayor writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 7:56:07 PM

Ponyo will only really do business when it comes to DVD sales. Shame about Sommers big dumb fun movie. It will still make its money back though. District 9, finally a movie (unlike transformers 2) that makes its money back and actually deserves it.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:05:03 PM

I can't believe this only cost $30 mill to make! That was some of the most seamless CGI I've ever seen in a major sci-fi film. What the f*ck are these other directors spending so much money on? The going rate for bullsh*t must be pretty high these days.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:10:33 PM

Its a shame the Goods didnt do so well...But they blew the marketing for that one. Most people didnt even know it was opening this weekend with all the steady D9 and Time Travellers Wife exposure the last month.
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:14:13 PM

@Spook - sorry bro. I'm being 'censored' again. SG just personally attacked Mink for no reason. I guess he was un-accepting of Mink's opinions and felt it worth airing.
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:17:04 PM

@SAC - $30mil is usually just the lead actor's and the director's pay. THEN the rest of for effects, sets, craft services. I'm sure your question was rhetorical... but if not, well, there you go.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:37:40 PM

"Please keep all comments on topic. Any comments that are offensive or spam will be deleted. If you consistently break the rules, your will be banned."

Is this on other peoples screens too, or just mine?
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:38:27 PM

It's on mine too (and Mink's I'll guess)...lol.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:39:22 PM

Oh sh*t

"your will be banned."

I hope i'm will not be banned!
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:40:14 PM

I'll save the banning thing and move along. Plenty of other sites without whiners to bend a Moderators ear. I put censorship right up there with book burning by the Nazi's. I don't suspect this post will remain... as the truth sometimes offends.
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:42:20 PM

I will comment on this movie however:

Wow... it looks neat.

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:44:48 PM

Can't wait for the sequel

SPOILERS:

I hope when christopher returns, the movie will be about wikus having to decide whether he wants to return to his human life where he will be shunned by most people, or go with chris and the other aliens to their planet.
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:45:21 PM

(LOL).
OneTime writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:48:47 PM

i wanna see aliens and humans f*ckin in the sequel
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 8:50:11 PM

OUCH! OFFENSIVE!
Dre-EL writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 9:13:08 PM

It deserves it this movie was really good. I hope word of mouth spreads in Jamaica, barely any came out to see it. GIJoe is still playing to sold out cinemas.
tino78 writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 9:16:07 PM

dont get the hype of this movie????? i thought the movie was ok. its plot wasnt the greatest. aliens land on earth and where is the us, nato, etc. the aliens seemed to be stronger and faster then humans but r contained by the south african govt. i really dont get why so many people love this movie. dont get me wrong it was better then gi joe but thats not saying much.

i think im on right thread now lol
minkowski writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 9:31:21 PM

Greatest film ever. Blows GI JOE and Transformers away. Can't wait for the sequel. Maybe the sequel will have some of the big alien things blow up some of the smaller human stuff. More action. More explosions. Maybe Christopher Nolan will direct so Blomkamp can do Halo FTW. Yes!
takai writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 9:45:04 PM

What's funny about Ponyo, is that it only grossed $3.5 in the US , but $187 worldwide.

Miyazaki owns him some GI Joe. haha
lost_addict writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 9:46:16 PM

district 10:rise of the cobra
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 10:22:57 PM

"Blomkamp can do Halo FTW. Yes! "

Uh, no!

To even think that this amount of talent was almost wasted on a halo movie instead of this great oscar worthy film makes you (not you, but like other people) retarded!
JRprime writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 10:30:46 PM

the three years thing makes sense if blomkamp directs halo next
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 10:34:26 PM

Is everyone forgetting that he said that he wouldn't be interested in doing a halo movie?
minkowski writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 10:53:41 PM

No, not everyone, just JRprime.
minkowski writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 11:11:42 PM

And I'm not sure PJ should put his name to sell something. When you intentionally attach a celebrated name to a film that's someone elses, really, you should expect people in general to expect that person's quality, if not their vision.

In the other words, if you try to sell some a film by attaching a famous name, like saying, using a non-film example, 'Nike Presents ...the Croc', expect the buyer to wonder later if he was misled into buying a product.

This is done al lot these days. From the maker's of....from the producer of....Quentin Tarantino presents...a very deiberate attempt to shove off on the public stuff that wouldn't sell as well without. It's called misleading. They cal it synergism or whatever. I call it person-product placement.

People hearing PJs name attached might expect more of a PJ film. When it's not, people say "PJ wasn't the director!" Then why the f*ck was his name used? They did that with Transformers. A film from Stephen Spielberg and....Michael Bay. Transformers looked nothing like a Spielberg film! Like some people who watch ANY films don't know Bay is no Spielberg. But they do that to catch those that can't tell the difference.

Sony presents...the cardboard box, and people would buy it.

And I'm NOT commenting on D9, so don't get your little ruffled lace panties in a wet knot. I'm referring to the practice of misleading people into buying a product via the attachment of a celebrities name. Sad to see Hollywood adopting info-mercial sales tactics.

They could've sold D9 on it's own merit, without old PJ. It's certainly no Transformers.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 11:15:43 PM

probably the best review I've heard yet.
JRprime writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:46:36 AM

sorry, didnt see he wasnt interested. dont need to be a d*ck about it.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:51:11 AM

JR - you greatly dislike when people do things, or say things differently, or have opinions that differ from yours, or if they express said opinions differently than how you'd prefer they do... don't you?

It's called life. Deal with it.

Save your little jabs for your Mother's sloppy vagina. Otherwise read, post relating to the topic, or keep your f*cking punk c*cksucker shut.

Back on topic. Haven't seen it yet, but loving the comments (unless they're from little tough mouth JR hammering away on the keyboard in the trailer park earned from his sister's whoring).


Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:51:44 AM

PS: JR... just teasin Bro. Lol.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:57:31 AM

I felt the burn over here. Daaaaamn.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:02:51 AM

Yep... whiners like Space_Ghost and JR's constant bitching on here give me a chuckle Mink.

But back on topic: I really like the trailers on TV for this movie. They don't show you much, so the mysterious element is there leaving a potential ticket-buyer wanting more.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:17:05 AM

Screw the whiners. They complain on anything that doesn't go their way. Little kids.

And I downloaded the cam for this film so I could look at it more. I can see why it cost only 30 million. It's not a bad film, but it's not as praiseworthy as the hype. I didn't think it would be. Way too much unneeded gore...anyway, I'm not going to start a war with criticisms. Lets just say the CGI is not as 'seamless' as they claim, and the 30 million dollar budget might've been too much. Like I said, it's NOT a bad film, but don't ruin the nostalgia of a truly epic film by comparing it to D9.

Oh, and one more thing. When they talk about Blomkamp doing Halo, it's NOT because he's a such a 'visionary' director. If that was the case, they'd argue for an Aronofsky instead. That's either a smokescreen or the opinion of somone parroting another person's opinion. The REAL reason they want Blomkamp to do Halo is because D9 features

1. guys in military suits

2. mech-like robots

3. aliens in rubber suits

4. All three above shooting at one another in showers of bullets and bloody gore.
JRprime writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:27:25 AM

Well I never had a problem with you Ranger, so I'm not sure why youre calling me out. Pretty sure the only two things I posted here are clearly on topic. And no, im not bigotted. So thanks. Can you actually find a comment from me saying that my ideas are right and yours are wrong? I'd like to know where you're coming from.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:30:10 AM

Umm, what about the OTHER threads, dude? Like these two post on this thread are the only things you've ever said. Are you forgetting the last couple of days? Methinks you're being transparently dishonest, eh?
JRprime writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:35:33 AM

Well in that case, we can say the same for you. And I think half the users on this site will agree you do more whining in your pages among pages of comments you leave in every thread.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:37:58 AM

@JR - I do thank you kind reply. I was just 'calling you out' because some of your comments (you know the ones) were personal, and directed against others. The last slam I took in your direction was a joke (a lot of misinterpretations happen over email/blogs, etc.). No harm, no foul my friend. Thx. again for the kind post.


minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:44:38 AM

Yeah, but I don't claim otherwise, now do I?

And contrarily, since I agreed with you for the hell of it:

whine: To complain or protest in a childish fashion.

Not sure 'criticism' or pointing out the FACTS, or simply reviewing a person's position or a film's merit (as in GI JOE or D9) constitutes whining. Simple 'negativity' or 'negative' or critical remarks are not whining, nor is it complaining. Let's see what's the definition of complaining.

complaining: expressing pain or dissatisfaction of resentment

key word: resentment. There's absolutely no resentment in anything I say. On the OTHER hand, I get NOTHING BUT childish whining, complaining and resentment from EVERY TIME I say something you do NOT like. You people get offended by any remark you deem insulting to your opinion. THAT'S whining. THAT's complaining. THAT'S resentment.

Simply saying a movie sucks or it's not high caliber material, or tearing down a foolish comment like "too much hype around Avatar" is not whining. It criticism, correction whatever. Use a dictionary dude.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:50:40 AM

I wish posts on here would have post count numbers, that way I can review them in order, just to see how many of them are 'whining' or even negative. The last ten I reviewed in the Matt Damon thread weren't even negative!

Then again, I'm not some skirt wearing sissy crying to the admin every time I read something unpleasant, or starting wars over somebody's post that offended me, posts I could've just ignored rather than cry over.

NOTHING on here offends me. NOTHING.
JRprime writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:55:57 AM

Are you trying to impress someone? Because I'm not wasting my time reading your paragraphs.

Dude
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 1:58:46 AM

Then the matter is closed? Yes? Good for you dude, letting it go. Thanks again dude. Have a good night dude.
RickPeters writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 4:33:53 AM

I really enjoyed this movie, but I don't think its the greatest movie ever made, not by a long shot. But, I'm really glad that its making money and I hope it keeps making money because it definitely tried something different. Yes, there were a lot of similiarities to other movies and video games but I liked the fact that the main character is flawed and kind of a jerk for most if not all of the movie. And the ending is a little bittersweet. I give it credit for making money while not being a franchise name, based on a comic or TV show or whatever.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 8:17:12 AM

@Ranger: Little late but of course that was a rhetorical question. Too much budget is wasted paying the "market value" of starring actors.
@Mink: If this ain't great CGI I don't know what is. You really should actually pay your $7-$10 and see the film in a proper setting. As for the PJ marketing, in the long run its a business like anythingelse. Nike uses Michael Jordan, Hanes uses Charlie Sheen (and MJ), Hollywood uses Peter Jackson. Frankly I'm glad they marketed it that way. I went to the movie feeling like I was at least going to see the type of effort PJ puts into his films refected in this one. I'm happy to say (again) that it ended up blowing away my expectations. Mink, drop your defenses for once and GO SEE THE f*ckING MOVIE!!! You to Ranger ya old RSOB!
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 8:44:59 AM

Great Movie, District 10 would be horrible. sick of cry babies on this site. Take Er Easy Guys. its sad cuz i came here for all my movie info... now i have to go on ComingSoon.Net.....just like when i was younger some *sshole fell off the tire swings and they took all the tire swings out of the city. once again Loved all the regulars on here. Mink, Ranger, Synthetic, Prevalent, and a few others i will actually miss your anecdotes? lol. will see. btw. you know who the narc is from whoever writes "gosh" or "darn" or any f*ckin loser watching there f*ckin mouth.
"Please keep all comments on topic. Any comments that are offensive or spam will be deleted. If you consistently break the rules, you will be banned."
This cannot be an american site....i didnt know america had their balls removed and given to lindsey lohan.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:30:21 AM

awesome, awesome indeed.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:36:32 AM

oh and Ranger & Mink, I said what I said now let it go - jesus, talk about being "mature" and dragging something out. If you were really "above me" or all of us you wouldve read what I said, said your bullsh*t and dropped it. Sorry if what I said is keeping you up at night but move on. I've always kept a distance from you d*cks but your continuous ranting and sarcastic bullsh*t went over the limit. Ranger you tell me to keep on topic? Yeah thats indeed the definition of irony for you and Mink seeing as the comments on here go 100 different ways most of the time. And you two being the main ones throughout. Now, just be a good person so you dont get banned and so you dont have to go to another site to call other people witty and "oh so mature" names that worked in highschool.
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:20:38 PM

Blow me Jr.

Not even reading your posts (which others should learn to do on here if they don't like the writings of certain Posters - instead of running to their surrogate parent that has become Alex - f*cking, constant, whining douche-bags!).
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 2:28:03 PM

too bad we can't offend...things are starting to look like 'demolition man' type of censoring if you ask me....NOT! lol...glad to see people would rather pay to watch this than other horrible movies
goeygogo writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 6:18:25 PM

god, right when i got out of the movie all we could talk about was how this guy (or team if you're including Jackson) could make an awesome Halo movie!! those prawns could've easily been turned into Elites! just do the storyline well (because Halo does have a good story)...maybe even break it into 2 movies...and you got some sweet sh*t! i'd be excited for that!
iblackedout writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 9:44:47 PM

goeygogo I agree these guys would make a sick halo movie.
vwkombi writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 2:30:42 AM

I am very happy that such a unique and intelligent movie is making money.

But Mink, don't watch some sh*tty ass cam version. Go and see it in theatres, the CGi isn't "seamless" but it's pretty good. It's worth the $10 or however much your local cinema charges for it.
jeux banat writes:
on August 16th, 2016 at 5:52:58 PM

طريقة اللعب بها بسيطه وجد سهلة مثل بقية العاب بنات التي يوفرها موقعنا حيث لا تحتاج لذكاء وجهد فكري او معرفة مسبقة ، فكل ما عليك هو اختيار زي مناسب للطفل والاعتناء بمظهره العام حتى يكون شكله النهائي مرتب و غير فوضوي .
العاب بنات تلبيس
العاب بنات جديدةal3ab banat
seorangblogger writes:
on June 15th, 2017 at 12:34:49 AM

Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri
Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved