WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

New Lestat in Anne Rice's "Vampire Chronicles" Movie

Posted: August 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
New Lestat in Anne RiceSubmit Comment
Bloody-Disgusting is reporting that they have received word from a very reliable source that Universal Pictures is looking to re-start Anne Rice's "The Vampire Chronicles," which tells the tale of vampire Lestat Du Lioncort, a nobleman-turned-vampire in the late 18th century.

Tom Cruise has previously played Lestat in "Interview with the Vampire" and Stuart Townsend portrayed the character in "Queen of the Damned." So which actor is the studio lining up to take on Lestat next?

The site has confirmed that Robert Downey Jr (Iron Man) is currently in close talks. No word on which book in the series the studio will tackle.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:29:59 PM

Wow! Iron Man is paying off for this guy way better than any cocaine habit ever did.
matternm58 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:30:30 PM

Stuart Townsend was awesome as Lestat. But why not destroy the franchise and let that dude from Twilight, beings that he's about to be in every damn teen movie coming out now.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:31:57 PM

Wow, this project came out of nowhere. No doubt the success of Twi-fleshlight led to this. I will watch RDJ in anything, though, and the original Interview was better than expected, so I will possibly see this. Possibly...
acslaterson writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:38:24 PM

I don't see RDJ as Lestat, he is too old. Lestat is suppossed to be in his early 20s. Plus, Anne Rice is a money grubbing whore. She went back to the Catholic Church a couple of years ago and was suppossed to reject all this "devilish talk". f*ck her, she used to write some good fiction but now she is banking on that fiction even though it is sinful? I love hypocritical Christians!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:39:51 PM

Oh, Ranger, me and TGDirector wanted to get a hold of you to ask you if you have a MSN Messenger or Windows Live Messenger? Alex (the administrator) will be trying to draw some attention to the Director Project. Ranger, go to the forums in order to see what we have thought up so far. If you could possibly download messenger, all of us involved with the project could quickly exchange ideas about the script and such. Oh, and Minkowski, we would love for you to download Messenger also to contribute more of your great ideas concerning the Director Project. Sorry this post is so all over the place.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:42:07 PM

f*ck, there is not supposed to be a question mark at the end of the first sentence.
telur writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:47:31 PM

everybody want a make vampire movie. i think robert pattison is fit for Lestat :P :P :P ...
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:09:52 AM

@DN - got it.

Thx. 4 the invite (but, despite my appearances on here), I wouldn't have the time to participate.

Please thank TG 4 me.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:16:57 AM

Sure thing, man. I understand, buddy.
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:19:59 AM

TY
minkowski writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:26:48 AM

"Oh, and Minkowski, we would love for you to download Messenger also to contribute more of your great ideas concerning the Director Project. "

Thanks for the invite and your comments DN. But I think I'm out. You guys already have a very clear game plan, and I think that's awesome, looks like you're doing great so far. I just think at this point I wouldn't have anything to offer. Anyway, thanks again and good luck in your venture. I'm sure whatever you do will succeed.

Oh. and Lindsey Lohan sucks.
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:32:37 AM

... women.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:38:08 AM

Thanks for the kind words, Minkowski.
minkowski writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:49:46 AM

my pleasure DN.

And. Lindsey Lohan has a 'lazy-eyed' anus.
minkowski writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:50:02 AM

lol @ Ranger
o0bubblefly0o writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 5:26:12 AM

you know as far as im concerned the movie interview with a vampire was and will be it for anne rice she cant beat it. if she wants to try go ahead and use the new washed up actor robert downey maybe his prostitute picking up and drug using days as experience for his character... who had no use for them!
geez whats up with the story she could use tom cruise still if she wanted too cuz hes a "little man" that really hasnt grown or changed for that matter since that movie... just got really weird... and hopefully she has a big surplus of money to spend on the movie cuz to get any of the origanal cast will cost an arm and a leg... i could go on forever but im watching spice world and cant be bothered!
dandythelion writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 9:13:55 AM

awesome
scotty7471 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:36:24 PM

they DESTROYED the vampire chronicles when they did that hacked version of QUEEN..., they really should leave well enough alone.
BREALZ writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:38:03 PM

good choice
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 2:03:51 AM

RDL will be great, but i still be happy to see Cruise back again as Lestat, played the character well, and bonus points becuase the author actually liek his performance in 'Interview with the Vampire'
simplerules10 writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 2:07:53 AM

naw with rdj attached this movie is gonna have a larger budget which allows for a better movie, the first movies were crap because of the effects.
Lander writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 7:49:07 AM

Thank God it isn't f*cking Twilight. But damn , one more thing called "Vamipres bla-bla-bla" and i'm gonna cut myself like i did while watching Batman & Robin
SACdaddy writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 11:05:06 AM

The Vampire Lestat might be the best book in the series. I would love to see Johnny Depp tackle this devilish character but with his schedule and huge price tag there's probably no chance. RDJ would have been perfect for the part maybe 10 years ago. Cruise would be awesome again but with so many Cruise haters out there I doubt he'll be offered the role. Its too bad, he was great in Interview.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 11:33:16 AM

f*ck YEAH!!!! DO IT!!! DOOOOO IIITTT!!!
Ranger writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 12:42:59 AM

Well said Space_Ghost. Well said!

I too think they should: 'f*ck YEAH!!!! DO IT!!! DOOOOO IIITTT!!!'
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:29:20 AM

Bring back Cruise or forget it. I'm tired of this series being raped after the horribly insulting Queen of the Damned movie.
Darkyne writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 6:55:26 PM

I can kinda see if he plays the part he'll be good at it... but its more creative license to the director to screw up an Anne Rice character, because he really doesn't fit the image.
PhoenixTalon writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 1:11:55 AM

You know that I don't like this choice when I have to sign up to a website just to post my opinion.

I have nothing against RDJr. However, I have read the series of books, and like many who are fans of the series I hate having it ruined. The first movie was the best though I don't like Tom Cruise as Lestat, this is because I just don't see him as my Lestat.

Now then, I enjoyed Queen of the Damned, however perfered the book. There was so much that was changed that it simply ended up having character names being the same. The rest was just...compleatly FALSE!

Now then. LESTAT is 21, six feet, and blonde. Not that hard to find a young enough actor that can be good. please stick with someone under the age of twenty five for this.

Marius is NOT Lestat's maker, nor is he anything like how Marius was portrayed in QOTD. Marius was about 40 when he was turned, and ROMAN. He was blonde with blue eyes.

Armand was 17 when he was turned. He has auburn hair. He is no where near being Antonio Bandarez. QOTD was better at portraying him, but not much because he was a MUCH bigger part of the story than his one speeking line.

I'm sorry if I'm ranting but I am TIRED of no one paying any attentions to the detales of the series. I mean come on! WB had the rights to both The Vampire Lestat and Queen of the Damned for years and only made the movie when the rights were about to expire. Two movies should have been made way before then.

If another movie is made, especially one that is supposed to portray The Vampire Lestat, I would hope that the actor for Lestat would be young and blond, that they remembered the characters of Lestat's mother and Nicky, that they remember Lestat met Armand in a Paris church.

It isn't that hard for the film makers to take fifteen minutes to go on wikipedia and look up the decriptions of the characters or the plots of the books.

The way I have come to see it is that Anne Rice hates fanfiction, so she should sue anyone who is going to butcher her work when making it into a movie because in the end, it all becomes a work of fanfiction.

Lastly, Anne Rice's books should not be made into movies. Just like True Blood, the Vampire Chronicles should be made into a tv series. There is far too much to fit into two hours in a theater.
PhoenixTalon writes:
on August 21st, 2009 at 1:14:29 AM

PS. Sorry for making that comment so long.

PPS. BEN BARNES FOR NICKY!
freudismyhomeboy writes:
on August 22nd, 2009 at 3:45:12 AM

Fantastic, yet another vampire film in the making. I'm curious as to how this is going to pan out exactly, actually, being that they can't possibly think the Twilight crowd is going to enjoy this. I doubt that an older audience is going to pay much attention to it, to be honest, because there's simply so much vampire stuff going on at the moment that it's impossible to take anything seriously and given the way that the past two Anne Rice films were butchered, I doubt this one will have any credibility.

Personally, I'm more than a little sick of vampires. It's when you get eleven year old girls claiming that they are, in fact, vampires themselves and are searching for their "Edwards" (wonderful. Who needs arranged marriages when you can simply tell your daughter the guy's a vampire?) to the fact that I went into a bookshop the other day and saw a range called "Bella and Edward's Pick".

To be honest, I think the film's going to flop, regardless of who's playing Lestat. Maybe that's just the cynic in me.
VampireOutlaw writes:
on November 21st, 2009 at 8:59:59 PM

Well, thank God it's not Warner Bros anymore and lett's just hope UP is actually interested in adapting the books and do not wait until it's almost too late and then just go shamelessly on and completely butcher the novels.

I never liked Tom Cruise too much. He did well for Louis's view of Lestat but for the final Lestat - the actual "Brat Prince" - he wouldn't make it, in my opinion. Stuart Townsend might. I think he showed such a potential in the QOTD film, even if the version was generally taken far from true Lestat. He highlighted and captured the childlikeness, the brattiness and the sensitivity, whatever little of those were left in there. A dream come true for me and many others would be if Stuart Townsend reprised as a truer version of Lestat.

I don't know anything about RDJ but if Anne Rice is as thrilled as she is, I trust he would be great. Maybe not my image of Lestat but as long as he'd pull the novel's Lestat off well, I'd have no complaints.

As is revealed by Anne Rice, Lestat would look like an older man of today, so I guess the actor's age shouldn't be a problem especially if he looks youthful. Cruise and Townsend too were 29 when they portrayed a 21 year old Lestat. In my opinion, Townsend even LOOKED around 21, which always was my image of Lestat but after Anne's announcement, I stopped having a problem with older looks. It's just that in my mind Lestat always did and always will, look aeound 21. So far of the actors, Stuart Townsend has gotten clearly the closest to my image of Lestat in every way (except the eye and hair colour.)

I hope the new film will be high quality and focus on "The Vampire Lestat". The world deserves to see on screen Lestta's mortal life and early vampire years. Such an epic and impressive tale, if told truefully! And I really hope it would include Lestat family life because it's very essential to who he becomes, and the wolves, and Nicki, and Magnus of course - and it should really pay attention and respect to how essential Marius and his relationship with Lestat is - having everything to do with Lestat's parental issues, (his daddy issues especially), and how Magnus added to his thirst for knowledge. They can not push much aside Marius and his meaning to Lestat if they are to tell a trueful story about Lestat.

freudismyhomeboy;
It is the cynic in you. There is no way to predict whether the film is a succes or a flop since absolutely nothing is officially decided about it yet, much less done.

I fear the worst and hope for the best. Maybe Hollywood has learnt the lesson.
QOTDfan writes:
on January 7th, 2010 at 1:40:51 PM

If Anne Rice has any sense she will regain artistic control of her books like JK Rowling, so that she has final say over any movie scripts.
Lestat De Lioncourt writes:
on March 9th, 2010 at 5:49:21 AM

I have been looking forward for years to seeing all of Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicals made into movies. It's spelled De Lioncourt, however, not Du Lioncort...
DelvinF writes:
on July 22nd, 2010 at 4:14:43 PM

I can't wait. Hopefully they don't remake "Interview With The Vampire", it's perfect as it is! They should continue it with the Chronicles in order. The books are magnificent and, if done right, these movies will be as amazing as the first. Anne Rice has done her job with the story, it's up to Universal Pictures to back her up~!
christinerenee1987 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:36:05 PM

I did not like the guy that play him in queen of the damed, he sucked and messed up the whole movie, I have read ever singel book of the seires and only the frist movie did not go alot with the frist book it just like the twilight movies they sucked they got messed up bad and did not go along with the books what so ever
christinerenee1987 writes:
on July 23rd, 2012 at 11:36:44 PM

I did not like the guy that play him in queen of the damed, he sucked and messed up the whole movie, I have read ever singel book of the seires and only the frist movie did not go alot with the frist book it just like the twilight movies they sucked they got messed up bad and did not go along with the books what so ever
Ana-von-Tristania22 writes:
on October 21st, 2012 at 9:27:41 PM

(you know it is a pain in the ASS to have to register on here just to comment..)
well it's about time there's some sort of concrete evidence of a remake of the VC films.

i've been hearing rumors float about on the web about this topic for over a year and haven't read anything that was remotely solid.

like most of the people who have seen the VC films in the past, i've read the books and i honest-to-god hope that Universal makes a film of "The Vampire Lestat". that or a remake of "Queen of the Damned" to make up for butchering the novel in 2002 with that god-awful waste of film. either way, i don't particularly care, so long as it's 10x better than QotD (Interview was okay, but Louis was sort of off in his own pity-party through most of it, poor thing.). and at least a good-looking Lestat, too! I mean, seriously, it's not that hard to find guys that're eligible to portray the brat prince, is it? I'm still not 100% pro RDJr portraying Lestat because he looks too old to be faking 20-21, but if the film turns out great then i'd let that slide.

hopefully Universal gets the story straight unlike how Warner Bros. did back in 1994 and in 2002. really looking forward to seeing a leaked trailer sometime in the future. that'd be epic.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved